You are a skanger if

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭antonymous

If you call yokes/pills billy baloopas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Shryke wrote: »
    Nonsense, it just so happens that almost all are lower class. It's an inherent thing for the poorer off everywhere. You're jumping through hoops to justify slagging off people who were born and raised in an environment/social strata that breeds "skanger" type behavior.
    I don't mind a bit of a laugh but I see way too many people being consistent and serious in bashing certain types on here. It would be great if we could all be as well off.
    There's a real ugly side to this kind of thread and you don't have to look too deeply to see it.

Its not nonsense. Not everyone from lower class background becomes a skanger. Also I know a few from middle class background who turned into skangers when they grew up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Nonsense, it just so happens that almost all are lower class. It's an inherent thing for the poorer off everywhere. You're jumping through hoops to justify slagging off people who were born and raised in an environment/social strata that breeds "skanger" type behavior.
    I don't mind a bit of a laugh but I see way too many people being consistent and serious in bashing certain types on here. It would be great if we could all be as well off.
    There's a real ugly side to this kind of thread and you don't have to look too deeply to see it.

No this is nonsense. I know people from "lower class backgrounds" and they are not skangers, I also know people from "really good backgrounds" that are.

It's a frame of mind and an attitude, not a class or money thing.

EDIT: Just saw the above post, oh well. Those agile pandas win again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭johnROSS

hair shaved to a 1 on top, 0 at the sides. Fake nike airmax tracksuit (preferabbly in neon orange or green livery) White scummy trainers, which you call "tackies"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Its not nonsense. Not everyone from lower class background becomes a skanger. Also I know a few from middle class background who turned into skangers when they grew up.

Did I say everyone was?
    Did I say the middle class didn't have a few scummy types?

I said that most skangers come from lower class backgrounds. You're putting words in my mouth and you're missing the meaning of my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Orange tan, badly bleached/coloured hair with loads of extensions, alternatively hair can be pulled into a migraine-inducingly high ponytail, cheap 'gold' argos jewellry, nail extensions, fake designer bag, hula-hoop size earrings, permanent scowl.

Traveller women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭mrroboito

This thread is just offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Nah - I personally used to know literally hundreds of people from around where I lived who were most definitely skangers - it was a typical middle class suburban area.

And actually my sister still lives there, and jesus her millions of friends are complete skangers.

It's a way of being, nothing to do with class at all.

Some of the least skangery people would be typical born and bred working class.
    It means nothing imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Syllabus wrote: »
    if you're from the northside!!!

1: Tallaght, Inchicore, Clondalkin.
    2: Clontarf, Malahide, Raheny

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭KingK

I know loads of very nice people who you would never in a million years call a 'skanger' from areas i'm sure alot of you on here would associate 'skangers' with such as Finglas,Ballyfermot and both the North Inner City and the South Inner City.

At the same time I know young lads and girls also from 'posh' areas such as Clontarf,Howth and Sutton to name a few that dress and carry on like 'skangers'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

your a skanger if you have any of the below

A honda civic - modified of course, with the sticker "powered by the dole" proudly shown - a honda civic is considered the cream of skanger transport, only rivaled by dublin bus

In said car there are about 10 young ones crammed into it because its a "savage yoke" and this will get you noticed

you elongate every ending of your sentences ya knowwwww

congregate at chippers for something to do
    then you have the posh skangers, the ones from the better off classes as they like to be known, they're basically the same as above but instead of having civics they have flashy minis, bmws and such and we all know daddy paid for that now don't we

The dart is also know as the "darsh"

In saying all this most of my friends come from "poor backrounds" and they hate skangers, so i agree not everyone's like this but for the ones who are well that's usually what i see around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Non-stop spitting on the pavement, or anywhere for that matter. Not just a mild-mannered spit, but preceded by the loudest, filthiest grunt before expelling the gob.

Constantly asking for cigarettes, change for a bus etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

KingK wrote: »
    I know loads of very nice people who you would never in a million years call a 'skanger' from areas i'm sure alot of you on here would associate 'skangers' with such as Finglas,Ballyfermot and both the North Inner City and the South Inner City.

At the same time I know young lads and girls also from 'posh' areas such as Clontarf,Howth and Sutton to name a few that dress and carry on like 'skangers'

And how do these two groups carry on like skangers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Nah - I personally used to know literally hundreds of people from around where I lived who were most definitely skangers - it was a typical middle class suburban area.

And actually my sister still lives there, and jesus her millions of friends are complete skangers.

It's a way of being, nothing to do with class at all.

Some of the least skangery people would be typical born and bred working class.
    It means nothing imo.

That's fair enough. In my area it's a different story and it does mean something. It just goes to show somethingsomething.

Skang is a sub-culture, not a class. The Skangers around my area drive Audis and can afford to party 7 nights a week. Its easy when they suppliment the dole with selling hash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,736 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

You are a skanger if you end every sentence with d'knowhatImean, without waiting for a response.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

smash wrote: »
    If you start or end a sentence with "n'anyways"
    ....and end it.

Edit: I need to learn how to read.

Surprised dutch gold hasn't been mentioned yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

davet82 wrote: »
    seriously though i've 2 from the list already, where can i get de-skangerised?

Out the back Dave with the soap and the wire brush. Cold water FTW. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

antonymous wrote: »
    If you call yokes/pills billy baloopas

The funniest thing I ever heard was in a class in 6th year, few lads were talking about bum dropping a few deadlies at the weekend!!!

Deadlies or disco biscuits are names they used to call them

If you communicate by whistling. If you can have a conversation spanning two blocks without using a phone. If you call someone on the street by shouting "He-yor" .

You greet people with "Shtohri"

You enquire after peoples well being by asking " Are you AlREE?"

You say goodbye to people by saying "Selater bud!"

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Peetrik

(double post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Peetrik

The insecurity of some people is a little sad and more than a little boring at this stage. From my experience they don't concern themselves with you nearly half as much as you concern yourself with them which speaks volumes to me.

Just be glad you've had better opportunities 'roysh'.

syndeyfife wrote: »
    The funniest thing I ever heard was in a class in 6th year, few lads were talking about bum dropping a few deadlies at the weekend!!!

Deadlies or disco biscuits are names they used to call them

Also yip yaps was another one I remember,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭KingK

Funglegunk wrote: »
    And how do these two groups carry on like skangers?
    Which groups? I assume you mean the ones from posher areas?

Here is how. Girls with fake tan and make up plastered on them in track suits with there 20 John Player Blue. Lads with bottoms tucked in to socks carrying bags of Dutch Gold or other cans of piss in to a field. Thats an example of the behaviour

Peetrik wrote: »
    The insecurity of some people is a little sad and more than a little boring at this stage. From my experience they don't concern themselves with you nearly half as much as you concern yourself with them which speaks volumes to me.

Just be glad you've had better opportunities 'roysh'.

I live in da mun and slag skangers Roish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

KingK wrote: »
    Which groups? I assume you mean the ones from posher areas?

Here is how. Girls with fake tan and make up plastered on them in track suits with there 20 John Player Blue. Lads with bottoms tucked in to socks carrying bags of Dutch Gold or other cans of piss in to a field. Thats an example of the behaviour

Why is Dutch Gold considered a bad drink? I like it. I've gone out of my way to get it before. Even my friends will see me walk in with a pack and be like "Would you not get proper drink?"

The mind boggles but that is probably a story for a different thread.
    The Dutch not the mind boggling.

If you hang around outside shops.

Nickname ending in o, micko, johno, dano, podgo, steo, anto (guilty, as charged), damo, tomo,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Hands down the front of tracksuit bottoms