Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW FOR JUNIOR CERTIFICATE HISTORY

• 08-06-2012 11:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 36

AGE OF EXPLORATION

Achievements of Portugese voyages of exploration (Conquistadors)
    Effects of exploration on conquered nations (Peru + Mexico)
    Conflict between European countries as a result of explorations (Treaty of Tordesillas)
    Conquests of Mexico and Peru

REFORMATION

Religious wars
    Impact of reformation on Ireland
    The Counter-Reformation

PLANTATIONS

Effects on:
    Religion
    Politics
    Language and Custom
    Culture

REVOLUTIONS

Causes of each revolution (Irish, French, American)
    Events of each revolution
    Results of each revolution
    Influence of American Revolution on France and Ireland

INDUSTRIAL AND AGRICULTURAL REVOLUTIONS

How agriculture was improved
    Why industrial revolution began in Britian
    Development in transport
    Living and working conditions
    How people spent their time
    Effort of British government to aid Ireland during Great Famine
    Impact of the Famine
    Problems faced by emmigrants
    Contrasting British and Irish lifestyles

POLITICAL DEVELOPMENTS IN TWENTIETH CENTURY IRELAND

Home Rule Crisis
    1916 Rising
    First Dail
    War of Independence
    Anglo Irish Treaty
    Civil War
    Cumann na nGaedhal government 1923-1932
    Economic War
    Blueshirts
    Ireland during WW II
    First coalition 1948-1951
    Sean Lemass as Taoiseach
    Civil Rights Movement in NI

INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS IN THE TWENTIETH CENTURY

Mussolinis achievements 1922-39
    Nazi Youth
    Holocaust
    Expansion of Nazi Germany and drift to war
    Fall of France
    Battle of Britian
    The Blitz
    Operation Barbarossa
    D-Day
    Berlin Blockade, Korean War, Cuban Missile Crisis

• Registered Users Posts: 6 sorcharose

JCHelp wrote: »
    AGE OF EXPLORATION

Conflict between European countries as a result of explorations (Treaty of Tordesillas)

REFORMATION

Religious wars
    The Counter-Reformation

PLANTATIONS

Effects on:
    Religion
    Politics
    Language and Custom
    Culture

REVOLUTIONS

Development in transport
    Impact of the Famine

Home Rule Crisis
    1916 Rising
    First Dail
    War of Independence
    Anglo Irish Treaty
    Civil War
    Economic War
    Blueshirts
    Ireland during WW II
    Sean Lemass as Taoiseach

Nazi Youth
    Holocaust
    Fall of France
    Battle of Britian
    The Blitz
    Operation Barbarossa
    D-Day
    Should I learn the African and Asian nationalism question if I am not doing the cuban missile crisis or the super powers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭Troxck

sorcharose wrote: »
    Should I learn the African and Asian nationalism question if I am not doing the cuban missile crisis or the super powers?

Yes, it's almost a guaranteed question every year

• Registered Users Posts: 41 puttuporshutup

What should I learn for people in history?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 concerned student

do we need to know the first year part of the course?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭iliketwixbars

AGE OF EXPLORATION

REFORMATION

Religious wars
    The Counter-Reformation

PLANTATIONS

Effects on:
    Religion
    Politics
    Language and Custom
    Culture

REVOLUTIONS

Development in transport
    Impact of the Famine

Home Rule Crisis
    1916 Rising
    First Dail
    War of Independence
    Anglo Irish Treaty
    Civil War
    Economic War
    Blueshirts
    Ireland during WW II
    Sean Lemass as Taoiseach

Nazi Youth
    Holocaust
    Fall of France
    Battle of Britian
    The Blitz
    Operation Barbarossa
    D-Day

Thanks for narrowing it down so much....you may as well have posted a link to the syllabus :P

No, you have an option of doing either. Most do the Cold War (cuban missile crisis, korean war, berlin blockade).
    Troxck wrote: »
    Yes, it's almost a guaranteed question every year

Yeah, but you ALWAYS get the option of a cold war question with it. There is no point in doing both.
    What should I learn for people in history?

Learn most of them, if you must narrow it down..leave out the ones that came up last year.
    do we need to know the first year part of the course?:D

Yes, you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 JCHelp

I honestly don't know I never done it

Thanks for narrowing it down so much....you may as well have posted a link to the syllabus :P

No, you have an option of doing either. Most do the Cold War (cuban missile crisis, korean war, berlin blockade).

Yeah, but you ALWAYS get the option of a cold war question with it. There is no point in doing both.

Learn most of them, if you must narrow it down..leave out the ones that came up last year.

Yes, you do.

Shut up I'm just trying ta help but looking at past exam papers anything that could come up is there. And no you don't really need to know the first year part because if you know Irish and European History well enough you won need first year part except for 1 or 2 short questions. Stop being a smart alec.

1st year could come up in the following sections:

Picture Question
    Documents Question
    People in History
    Q6 (A)

It's your choice if you believe there is no need to learn it.

1st year could come up in the following sections:

Picture Question
    Documents Question
    People in History
    Q6 (A)

It's your choice if you believe there is no need to learn it.

94% mocks studying these topics and terms from 1st year history

If you know all about 6(c) and (d) you won't need to know 6(a) at all ... I would learn all 2nd year topics for Sources question

1st Year Topics --- Pictures, Documents and Short Question (I just learn the key terms)
    2nd Year Topics --- Sources and Short Questions
    3rd Year Topics --- 6 (c) and (d) and Short Questions

And then obviously about 12-15 people in history questions
    At least 5 learnt very well

Honestly I think this is enough

If you know all about 6(c) and (d) you won't need to know 6(a) at all ... I would learn all 2nd year topics for Sources question

1st Year Topics --- Pictures, Documents and Short Question (I just learn the key terms)

You love letting people know about your academic achievements :P .

Yeah, it seems like your well covered for an A.

You love letting people know about your academic achievements :P .

Yeah, it seems like your well covered for an A.

Yes I am proud of my academic achievements in Business Studies, Spanish and History. I am the one who needs help in the other subjects.

Business A
    Spanish A
    History A
    CSPE A
    Maths B
    Science B
    Geography B
    Religion B
    English C
    Woodwork C
    Irish D

I am no genius nor am i stupid but am proud of my achievements in the subjects which i need for my future ... I am also willing to help other students in need of help

• Registered Users Posts: 4 concerned student

My school did not cover 6 b or 6c so i guess i better go over first year stuff :p

My school did not cover 6 b or 6c so i guess i better go over first year stuff :p[/QUOTE/]

That's not good i would revise past exam papers Q6 (a)

• Registered Users Posts: 20 xTwizLaH

AGE OF EXPLORATION

REFORMATION

Religious wars
    The Counter-Reformation

PLANTATIONS

Effects on:
    Religion
    Politics
    Language and Custom
    Culture

REVOLUTIONS

Development in transport
    Impact of the Famine

Home Rule Crisis
    1916 Rising
    First Dail
    War of Independence
    Anglo Irish Treaty
    Civil War
    Economic War
    Blueshirts
    Ireland during WW II
    Sean Lemass as Taoiseach

Nazi Youth
    Holocaust
    Fall of France
    Battle of Britian
    The Blitz
    Operation Barbarossa
    D-Day

So basically revise the whole syllabus in a few days?

xTwizLaH wrote: »
    So basically revise the whole syllabus in a few days?

Well not in a few days ... You should have been studying long ago ... this list was just to help people in case they forgot to revise a certain topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭lynchy101

You don't have to know that much for History because there is so much choice.I got an A in the pres and I went in with only 6 accounts learned off covering irish History,people in history and industrials relations.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

hey guys. I was just wondering what People in histories you are focusing on.
    The ones i know are :
    Leonardo Da vinci
    Magellan
    Martin Luther
    An archaeologist
    A leader (revolution)
    cold war or leader involved in peace.
    Farmer during agricultural revolution.
    a person living in the stone ages

My teacher said that an archaeologist is very likely to come up and so is the reformation or explorers. What do you guys think? Also have i covered enough people in histories?

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭yoyojc

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    hey guys. I was just wondering what People in histories you are focusing on.
    The ones i know are :
    Leonardo Da vinci
    Magellan
    Martin Luther
    An archaeologist
    A leader (revolution)
    cold war or leader involved in peace.
    Farmer during agricultural revolution.
    a person living in the stone ages

My teacher said that an archaeologist is very likely to come up and so is the reformation or explorers. What do you guys think? Also have i covered enough people in histories?

Sounds good!

I know
    Lord / Lady
    Revolution leader
    Renaissance Painter
    Renaissance painter from outside of europe
    A serf
    Cold War Leader
    Unionist
    Factory Worker during the industrial revolution
    A reformer other than Martin Luther
    A person from a named civillisation from outside of rome

What ye think :)

Any idea of what People In History might come up? I'm well prepared in all the other sections but not in this and I really want an A.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭dazzadazza

how does the OP know that we have to learn that ??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

dazzadazza wrote: »
    how does the OP know that we have to learn that ??

For the third time... That's a list of all the chapters since 1st Year that you should of revised. You can look it up in your book and it will be exactly the same.

The OP only posted it here to allow us check and see if we have everything covered.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 56

What to learn?!? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭dazzadazza

lee3155 wrote: »
    For the third time... That's a list of all the chapters since 1st Year that you should of revised. You can look it up in your book and it will be exactly the same.

The OP only posted it here to allow us check and see if we have everything covered.

Jeez chill lol... i was only asking i didnt read the whole tread. :o
    someones letting exam stress get to them :p

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭Hannah_2012

Any tips on remembering information fully? I know most of my stuff, its just revising & remembering. I always seem to leave bits out.

Most my friends use mind-maps and that seems to help, myself I just re-red information and it goes in. Depends on the person really.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 theCRAIG

so who have yous studied?
    Are you doing European political issues or Irish History?
    Any predictions for q4/6

All JC HISTORY HL/OL Discussions go here!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6 sorcharose

lynchy101 wrote: »
    You don't have to know that much for History because there is so much choice.I got an A in the pres and I went in with only 6 accounts learned off covering irish History,people in history and industrials relations.
    What were your 6 accounts on?

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Music4Life085

AGE OF EXPLORATION

REFORMATION

Religious wars
    The Counter-Reformation

PLANTATIONS

Effects on:
    Religion
    Politics
    Language and Custom
    Culture

REVOLUTIONS

Development in transport
    Impact of the Famine

Home Rule Crisis
    1916 Rising
    First Dail
    War of Independence
    Anglo Irish Treaty
    Civil War
    Economic War
    Blueshirts
    Ireland during WW II
    Sean Lemass as Taoiseach

Nazi Youth
    Holocaust
    Fall of France
    Battle of Britian
    The Blitz
    Operation Barbarossa
    D-Day

This and most people questions will get me through the exam, Really?

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭I hate school

I have done nothing for this exam :(
    An all nighter is what i'm going to have to do if I want an A :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 20 xTwizLaH

" a settler on a named plantation in the 16th or 17th century" comes up every two years I think