Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 9th June

• 08-06-2012 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭

My very, very confident selection for tomorrow is 7.30 Windsor Ginger Ted 20/1. Probably rates as my NAP of the month. Write up to follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Rossom,

Any concerns about ground if it rains more? Soft at the moment. Already into 12s on bet365.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Rossom,

Any concerns about ground if it rains more? Soft at the moment. Already into 12s on bet365.

The more rain the better

Good stuff. 11s now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

Got on at 20/1. Still 20's on PP.

Just got a few quid on it on PP, had to deposit there, my Qaaraba monies were on Bet365. Got it at 20s then 30 secs later it moves into 12s!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

don't see what how it could be a "Nap of The Month" tbh

Its good to have a couple of accounts (bad too :P) some bookies are slow with the odds changing.

I have accounts all over the place online but rarely keep money on them, bet365 is my main one though. Had issues with PP in the past so rarely bet on there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭dchris

At 9s now on PP. I like it a lot, Lady Bayside screams at me so maybe I will reverse forecast . Still think Rossoms tips are a good as there is. I can't write like him so tend to keep my tips to myself as couldn't back them up in the same way he can. If you don't object Rossom, I might pop a few tips on your posts that I also think, without the in dept quality write up you give

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭dchris

14.55 at Newmarket - High Standing
    15.10 at Chester - Area 51
    16.55 at Doncaster -Getabuzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Stuart Williams one of the best if not the best trainer for pulling off a gamble imo. So early money for any of his horses always gets me to take notice. Just looking at Ginger Teds form his run behind Hoof It at York last summer off 89 must have a great chance running off 80 today. Low draw could be a worry though. Think its high numbers that suit best in sprints at Windsor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Goldcupfav wrote: »
    Stuart Williams one of the best if not the best trainer for pulling off a gamble imo. So early money for any of his horses always gets me to take notice. Just looking at Ginger Teds form his run behind Hoof It at York last summer off 89 must have a great chance running off 80 today. Low draw could be a worry though. Think its high numbers that suit best in sprints at Windsor.

His last two runs were abysmal though. He has bounced back after runs similar to those before.

Normally the low numbers grab the rail at Windsor but when its soft they go middle to far side so the draw won't be a problem.

The horses aren't running particularly badly but Williams is without a win since April 25th with 38+ runners.

The only thing I can see that points to something is that Williams has only had the horse for 2 runs but they were dreadful.

No doubt he's well weighted and in a class 4 race.

Good luck with it rossom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭The Jman

He's 9/1 now, Gutted I didnt see this last night :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭markc91

Best Priced 14's on BetVictor now?

Really like the look of Qulinton in the 5:00 Worcester
    looks to be on a handy mark back over hurdles with the shorter trip and better ground also likely to be in his favour
    also interesting that Scudamore is on this rather than the favorite

Back out to 20's.

Who won?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭DelSutton

rossom wrote: »
    My very, very confident selection for tomorrow is 7.30 Windsor Ginger Ted 20/1. Probably rates as my NAP of the month. Write up to follow

hmmm ?

Maloney_o9 wrote: »
    Who won?

think Ted is still running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

So much for nap of the month :rolleyes: Didn't even place... Not sure who won though..

Cardinal Won it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Rossom has shown himself to be a good reader and follower of the racing game. He may be guilty of a littler over exuberance there though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Rossom is a very good poster who always (apart from when he has a hangover :-) ) puts up well reasoned thought out explainations for his tips

I'd wager anyone following him blindly would be in profit. We all tip losers, sometimes the ones we're most confident about let us down.

Relax!

he puts up some good selections, with some good reasoning behind them, but he can tend to over-hype his selections

(and I thought it a bit cheeky to claim a 9/2 winner on wednesday when there were 3 non-runners that made up about a 25p R4)

Some disgusting responses here. Shame on some of you guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

rossom is a top class tipster with a great knowledge of the handicap marks that horses are running off. Keep tipping rossom, you can't win them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I'm surprised by some of the ass responses. Fair enough the horse was over hyped but I've often really fancied a big priced horse and it inevitably loses.

This is the opposite of talking through your pocket imo. Defending a post because the guy who wrote it has made you money when some of us flagged up the selection as having no angle at all. Your only as good as your last tip, game, job, comment, etc.

I was so looking forward to reading why it was fancied but we got no write up. Rossom has put up great selections but thats neither here nor there.

Some disgusting responses here. Shame on some of you guys.

WTF? disgusting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭scon86

he didn't make you back the horse, and there is no such thing as a sure thing in horse racing and if you didn't know that then you shouldn't back horses :D:D

scon86 wrote: »
    he didn't make you back the horse, and there is no such thing as a sure thing in horse racing and if you didn't know that then you shouldn't back horses :D:D

It's got nothing to do with backing horses for me. I didn't back the horse because I caouldn't see why it would be fancied, especially as a "NAP of the month". I am just very curious

He is taking time out of his own life to do write ups about horses, he isn't getting a single penny for it. People coming into this thread and having a go at him about his tips and being too enthusiastic are a complete joke. Maybe I should phone the police and send them round to their houses to help them with the guy that has a gun to their head making them back these horses.

FWIW, I don't back every horse rossom tips but I enjoy reading his writeups because you can tell he puts a lot of time and effort into researching his selections.

Maybe I should phone the police and send them round to their houses to help them with the guy that has a gun to their head making them back these horses. QUOTE]

I back very few of his recomendations, i enjoy reading his write ups and find some of them amusing in the way he likes to over emphasise his point.
    I would however enjoy seeing a rossum log backdated the last few months Not so much the amount won/lost but the very very confident aspect against what actually wins, i would guess a number of people look here for sure things (which do not exsist), even frankel,BK, Camelot etc someday may lose. But by stating that he is so overwhelmingly confident, it does give people a false hope, as you say no one is forcing these people to gamble with their money, but it is their money he is losing by exaggerating a horses chances.

I hope he will continue to give his tips and his writes ups, i do enjoy a good read. But to remind him people are like sheep and will following blindly while others will stand around and BAAAaaaaaa.

DelSutton wrote: »
    Maybe I should phone the police and send them round to their houses to help them with the guy that has a gun to their head making them back these horses. QUOTE]

I back very few of his recomendations, i enjoy reading his write ups and find some of them amusing in the way he likes to over emphasise his point.
    I would however enjoy seeing a rossum log backdated the last few months Not so much the amount won/lost but the very very confident aspect against what actually wins, i would guess a number of people look here for sure things (which do not exsist), even frankel,BK, Camelot etc someday may lose. But by stating that he is so overwhelmingly confident, it does give people a false hope, as you say no one is forcing these people to gamble with their money, but it is their money he is losing by exaggerating a horses chances.

I hope he will continue to give his tips and his writes ups, i do enjoy a good read. But to remind him people are like sheep and will following blindly while others will stand around and BAAAaaaaaa.

1. Well if that is the case I guess they are just idiots then

2. LOL, do you actually believe this? HE is losing their money? Yeah, OK! God, give me strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Del Sutton how many winners have you given us

Seems like a missed a lot of fun on here. I don't really care about the people having a go at me as thats bound to happen. I know for a fact that if you backed all my horses you'd be in profit. Since the Cheltenham Festival some of the winners I have posted up are are Son Of Flicka 40/1 NAP, Bajan Tryst 22/1 NAP, Titus Gent 16/1, Snap Tie 16/1, Maarek 12/1, My Girl Anna 11/2 + forecast paying €36.16, Regal Tramp 7/1, Apache Drums 6/1 (posted up first two home in the race but didn't advise the forecast), Ducal 5/1, Grandeur 9/2 NAP , Cats Eyes 9/2, Rosairlie 4/1,Qaraaba 5/2 NAP although I could be forgetting some more. I've also posted a multitude of decent priced place horses such as Light Burst 50/1, Conquisto 40/1 Greensward 25/1, Derfenna Art 22/1, Negin 20/1, Bahr Nothing 16/1, Mon Brav 16/1 to name a few of the bigger priced ones. I think my record speaks for itself so no need to defend myself from anyone having a go.

In terms of people saying I over-emphasise or over-hype my selections sometimes. I disagree. I state how confident I am and if I am wrong so be it. I'm fairly selective in my betting and I would generally have a couple of pretty confident selections per week. My write ups contain facts and its not like I am making stuff up of the top of my head.

In relation to Ginger Ted today, I was definitely disappointed with how he ran. Haven't been home since last night until now so couldn't do a write up. For those interested, the key points would have been

-he was 5lb below his last winning mark.
    -he was 9lb below an excellent 1.5L beaten 3rd behind Hoof it last year.
    -in previous seasons, he has generally needed two reappearance runs to be seen to best effect which I felt negated his last two awful starts prior to today
    -It was the first time he encountered soft ground this year which would suit.
    -clearly goes well at Windsor with 1 run resulting in an extremely unlucky 1L beaten 4th
    -he has consistently performed in higher grades off higher marks and the form of all those races is very strong.

I apologise to anyone who lost any money on him today but I lost a good chunk myself. Nobody can be right all the time and today I got it wrong. End of story. I do these write ups not for my benefit but for the benefits of others as I hope people will read them and make up their own minds. I'm not trying to proclaim myself to be infallible and we all get it wrong every now and again. I'll continue to post here as I know the vast majority of people respect the work I put in and to those who had a nice little pop with petty comments good for you, and may I add I love all the winners you post up here.

sonnky wrote: »
    Del Sutton how many winners have you given us

None and i never will, this is one of the reasons i never tip. I dont have the inclination or feel any need to pass on anything, i like to gamble and anyone who wishes to lose money can pick their own way of doing it..

I hope he will continue to give his tips and his writes ups, i do enjoy a good read. .

Thats it, i enjoy his writting and hope he will continue. Never said i disrespect him, you need to know someone to do that, i have never met him or probably ever will. Do i believe he tends to over-hype some horses, yes i do. Is this a disgusting personal attack on him of course it not and anyone that thinks so is being a bit silly.

To rossom...

I apologise if you feel i insulted you, tbh i am pretty sure you wont give a ****e anyway (i know i wouldent), that was not my intention, keep writting i will keep reading, possibly wont back many of them, but i never did :)

Thats it, i enjoy his writting and hope he will continue. Never said i disrespect him, you need to know someone to do that, i have never met him or probably ever will. Do i believe he tends to over-hype some horses, yes i do. Is this a disgusting personal attack on him of course it not and anyone that thinks so is being a bit silly.

To rossom...

I apologise if you feel i insulted you, tbh i am pretty sure you wont give a ****e anyway (i know i wouldent), that was not my intention, keep writting i will keep reading, possibly wont back many of them, but i never did :)

No worries. Stupid to get insulted by remarks made over the internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I apologise to anyone who lost any money on him today but I lost a good chunk myself. Nobody can be right all the time and today I got it wrong. End of story. I do these write ups not for my benefit but for the benefits of others as I hope people will read them and make up their own minds. I'm not trying to proclaim myself to be infallible and we all get it wrong every now and again. I'll continue to post here as I know the vast majority of people respect the work I put in and to those who had a nice little pop with petty comments good for you, and may I add I love all the winners you post up here.

There is no need to apologise to anyone on here, you have given the forum many winners, nobody can be right every time! if that was the case we would all be rich, people can make up there own mind on horses anyway and if they are following you on every selection should be able to take the good with the bad. Keep the selections coming anyway it's very interesting to read other peoples thoughts on horses every day and you have a great strike rate.

Sorry if I came off aggressive before but it really is one of my major pet peeves when people give out when a "tip" doesn't win.

Listen lads, I didn't lose a penny but that's cause I'm too cynical. Fair play to Ross O'M for all his tips and/or selections. I've nothing against him putting up selections on the forum or anyone following him. I, and I imagine others who have read his posts, voiced reservations about his latest tip due to the confidence attributed to it. I really couldn't see why it was so fancied.

Rossom: fair play to you. You obviously can see the wood for the trees and having read your reasoning for your selection I can see why you would have had some faith in your selection though it still wouldn't have given me faith to back the horse personally.

As you say, just having glanced at your selections, anyone following your posts would be in profit regardless of Ginger Teds performance. I'm sure you can understand the cynicism of the posters who made clear their reservations before the race was run and also that not every one is going to agree with your opinion. Clearly you are of the mind not to take great heed of the criticism of people posting on the net. Maybe you remember my post in reply to Maarek a few weeks ago? I don't doubt your ability to pick winners and make profit. In this particular occasion, in my case as you can imagine, I was keen to hear your reasoning behind your selection. I'm satisfied with your reasoning despite it being after timed (like some of the criticisms).

I'm sure nothing like this will deter you from posting again and I look forward to hearing your points of view in the future.

That is the official response!

Fair play to you man, your doing brilliantly and may it continue for you. I was just desperate to hear why you fancied it so much! Keep em coming though. I hope you can see the posts in this thread for what they are unlike some people.

To rossom...

You really need to post your opinions on the race BEFORE criticising though, either way its after timing. How about you contribute more? The more the merrier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭scon86

Seems like a missed a lot of fun on here. I don't really care about the people having a go at me as thats bound to happen. I know for a fact that if you backed all my horses you'd be in profit. Since the Cheltenham Festival some of the winners I have posted up are are Son Of Flicka 40/1 NAP, Bajan Tryst 22/1 NAP, Titus Gent 16/1, Snap Tie 16/1, Maarek 12/1, My Girl Anna 11/2 + forecast paying €36.16, Regal Tramp 7/1, Apache Drums 6/1 (posted up first two home in the race but didn't advise the forecast), Ducal 5/1, Grandeur 9/2 NAP , Cats Eyes 9/2, Rosairlie 4/1,Qaraaba 5/2 NAP although I could be forgetting some more. I've also posted a multitude of decent priced place horses such as Light Burst 50/1, Conquisto 40/1 Greensward 25/1, Derfenna Art 22/1, Negin 20/1, Bahr Nothing 16/1, Mon Brav 16/1 to name a few of the bigger priced ones. I think my record speaks for itself so no need to defend myself from anyone having a go.

In terms of people saying I over-emphasise or over-hype my selections sometimes. I disagree. I state how confident I am and if I am wrong so be it. I'm fairly selective in my betting and I would generally have a couple of pretty confident selections per week. My write ups contain facts and its not like I am making stuff up of the top of my head.

In relation to Ginger Ted today, I was definitely disappointed with how he ran. Haven't been home since last night until now so couldn't do a write up. For those interested, the key points would have been

-he was 5lb below his last winning mark.
    -he was 9lb below an excellent 1.5L beaten 3rd behind Hoof it last year.
    -in previous seasons, he has generally needed two reappearance runs to be seen to best effect which I felt negated his last two awful starts prior to today
    -It was the first time he encountered soft ground this year which would suit.
    -clearly goes well at Windsor with 1 run resulting in an extremely unlucky 1L beaten 4th
    -he has consistently performed in higher grades off higher marks and the form of all those races is very strong.

you f**king tell them kid. I follow you tips and have got some nice winners from you and i also backed ginger Ted yesterday but **** happens and you didn't make me back it i done it off my own back i don't see people coming on when you give a nice big winner offering to send you on a few quid ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭thedirtydevil

Keep them coming Rossom. You have made me a lot of money and to be honest i would pay for some of your write ups as they are very informative and you see things most of us dont see when looking at form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭trinib

Keep them coming Rossom, any for today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,114 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

How anyone can come on here and criticise Rossom over a loser is beyond me. He takes his time to put up selections here and has thrown out a good few winners. You dont have to back his tips you can have your own opinion on the race. I wish the people complaining would put up selections everyday. Rossom puts up his opinion on a race its upto yourself if you back it. I wish the poeple on here coming in after the race would put up an argument before the race on why not to back the horse instead of coming in and mouthing off. Keep up the good work Rossom love the tips keep them coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

For the sake of transparency I'd love to see a breakdown of horses tipped and the profit to level stakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

mike65 wrote: »
    For the sake of transparency I'd love to see a breakdown of horses tipped and the profit to level stakes.

you must work in the Revenue :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

mike65 wrote: »

For the sake of my sanity I'd love if all the pocket talkers didn't clutter up threads with a whinge-fest

(not directed at you btw Mike)