Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soccer or Rugby?

• 07-06-2012 9:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

In the spirit of getting to know your fellow atheists,
    may I propose the survey:

Do Atheists prefer Soccer, Rugby?

Soccer or Rugby? 146 votes

Soccer
    0% 0 votes
    Rugby
    42% 62 votes
    G.A.A.
    43% 64 votes
    G.A.A. is two (at least) sports not one
    4% 7 votes
    I hate all sports.
    8% 13 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭doctoremma

In the spirit of getting to know your fellow atheists,
    may I propose the survey:

Do Atheists prefer Soccer, Rugby?
    As a girl, I am obliged to prefer whichever sport fields the fittest men. As my top ten "to do" list has long included Thierry Henry, I'm a football girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

doctoremma wrote: »
    As a girl, I am obliged to prefer whichever sport fields the fittest men. As my top ten "to do" list has long included Thierry Henry, I'm a football girl.
    I thought Rob Kearney would would be on that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Can't beat a good game of Hurling really. Best sport when two evenly matched teams are going hell for leather... Followed by Rugby and then soccer and Gaelic football are about the same. The occassional cracking game of soccer/football can't make up for all the shíte ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

Ice hockey. Soccer's too slow but rugby can get pretty exciting.

Deedsie wrote: »
    Can't beat a good game of Hurling really. Best sport when two evenly matched teams are going hell for leather... Followed by Rugby and then soccer and Gaelic football are about the same. The occassional cracking game of soccer/football can't make up for all the shíte ones.

Although a lot of friends say very similar,
    I find it very hard to watch and wonder what the hell the tactics are?

Also, Hurling, GAA look too influenced by Soccer / Rugby. The shape of posts are a rip off from Rugby. And the idea of a goal is a rip off from Soccer. Also, the fact they aren't international makes GAA sports a lot duller.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Soccer, because I've played it (and still do) for 20 years. Don't support a team, though used to be a big Juve fan in the 90's.

I watch Leinster and Ireland rugby, too.
    But as I haven't played the game for a looong time, I feel I have less connected to the sport. It's more a tribal thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Congratulations, you've just insulted every "girl" who actually has an interest in/plays sport for sport's sake.

Rugby for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I pretty much hate all sports. I don't even get into the whole argument of "They're just a bunch of millionaires running round a field for an hour" etc, I just don't enjoy watching, discussing or listening to sports.

I especially hate it being presumed I'm interested in sports, which is equatable to it being presumed you're going to baptise your child and get married in a church. Mitchell & Webb pretty much summed up perfectly everything I hate about sport:

Although a lot of friends say very similar,
    I find it very hard to watch and wonder what the hell the tactics are?

Also, Hurling, GAA look too influenced by Soccer / Rugby. The shape of posts are a rip off from Rugby. And the idea of a goal is a rip off from Soccer. Also, the fact they aren't international makes GAA sports a lot duller.

Nonsense, Hurling is far older than either rugby or Soccer. So perhaps they were influenced by hurling?

I disagree with everything you posted there. What makes the international aspect less dull? Did you watch any of the 2010 world cup? So very boring! Take a look at the 2010 all Ireland Hurlong final. Unbelievable game, atmosphere, skill, excitement...

Also Gaelic Football is the descendent of an Irish sport Caid, far older than soccer & Rugby so any influences are possibly coincidental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

Where's the "like all of the above sports" option ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Rugby is ghey.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

where's the starcraft option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Both, that said there's not a lot of sports I won't watch (even cricket:eek:).

That said both rugby and soccer have their fair share of religious nutcases, I'm thinking specifically of those Saffas at Ulster and the Scottish prop(?), Euan Murray is it? who doesn't play on Sundays.

Penn wrote: »
    I pretty much hate all sports. I don't even get into the whole argument of "They're just a bunch of millionaires running round a field for an hour" etc, I just don't enjoy watching, discussing or listening to sports.

I especially hate it being presumed I'm interested in sports, which is equatable to it being presumed you're going to baptise your child and get married in a church. Mitchell & Webb pretty much summed up perfectly everything I hate about sport:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VF_uOgyBK1c
    I love that 1st M&W sketch, cracks me up every time!

As I said before, I enjoy watching sport, but I don't engage in the level of fanaticism displayed by your average football fan. Top-level sport is a business akin to the entertainment industry. Some people like horror, others prefer romcoms - no different to those choosing rugby over soccer. Others shun the Hollywood mainstream and instead watch low-budget arthouse shoite - LOI fans anybody?:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I don't hate all sports. I just don't believe in them.

I will occasionally watch rugby, but only for the bits where huge people smack into eachother at speed. It feeds my love of ragdoll physics. The game itself matters nothing to me.

they're both boring

Nonsense, Hurling is far older than either rugby or Soccer. So perhaps they were influenced by hurling?

I disagree with everything you posted there. What makes the international aspect less dull? Did you watch any of the 2010 world cup? So very boring! Take a look at the 2010 all Ireland Hurlong final. Unbelievable game, atmosphere, skill, excitement...

Also Gaelic Football is the descendent of an Irish sport Caid, far older than soccer & Rugby so any influences are possibly coincidental!
    It's not.
    IRFU is actually older than GAA. Games like taic were played between pitches but the GAA got their ideas of having rules, regulations, post, competitions the shape of a pitch being rectangular from Soccer / Rugby.

I loved soccer when I was young but I find it very difficult to watch it now. Very boring. And I hate the diving.

It's not.
    IRFU is actually older than GAA. Games like taic were played between pitches but the GAA got their ideas of having rules, regulations, post, competitions the shape of a pitch being rectangular from Soccer / Rugby.
    To drag this thread in a slightly atheistic direction, one of the main flaws of rugby is the subjective nature of the rules, especially at scrums. And this forum over most understands the dangers of people having their own interpretations of so-called sacred (rule) books.

It's not.

I loved soccer when I was young but I find it very difficult to watch it now. Very boring. And I hate the diving.

Your claim was posts and goals... Posts in rugby are far higher than in GAA... Goals are far wider in soccer. The FA and RFU may be older than the GAA but hurling and football were played prior to 1884. The regulations were more in relation to standardizing team numbers and the playing rules. The essence of both games was in place prior to modern day soccer and Rugby. The dimensions of a GAA pitch are nothing like a soccer pitch either. Far bigger in fact.

Also this happened 125 years ago, do cop on, of course different sports are influenced by others.

Are you actually trying to refute the claim that hurling is older than Rugby. Associations that govern them be damned... That hurling some how copied soccer or rugby is one silly comment!

I see the soccer lads have umpires behind the goals lately. I can't watch soccer anymore they are copying GAA regulations.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    To drag this thread in a slightly atheistic direction, one of the main flaws of rugby is the subjective nature of the rules, especially at scrums. And this forum over most understands the dangers of people having their own interpretations of so-called sacred (rule) books.

Scrum is a major problem alright but what's the solution? Get rid of the scrum - one of the most fantastic spectacles in all of rugby.

What's an utter joke is the steps rule in GAA. IT is as if they change their mind what four is. At least with a scrum it can be very difficult to say who is cheating and you can get get cases when both are. The steps and tackle rules in GAA are nonsense.

Your claim was posts and goals... Posts in rugby are far higher than in GAA... Goals are far wider in soccer. The FA and RFU may be older than the GAA but hurling and football were played prior to 1884. The regulations were more in relation to standardizing team numbers and the playing rules. The essence of both games was in place prior to modern day soccer and Rugby. The dimensions of a GAA pitch are nothing like a soccer pitch either. Far bigger in fact.

Also this happened 125 years ago, do cop on, of course different sports are influenced by others.

Are you actually trying to refute the claim that hurling is older than Rugby. Associations that govern them be damned... That hurling some how copied soccer or rugby is one silly comment!

I see the soccer lads have umpires behind the goals lately. I can't watch soccer anymore they are copying GAA regulations.
    Show me evidence of the first competive game GAA played under agreed rules please?

My claim is hurling and taic, caic or whatever you call it was just some makey up thing. The GAA brought structure, rules etc and made them into sports. They got these ideas form Rugby, Soccer.

IT's like saying the history of Rugby is British Bulldog or murder ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Why can't we Atheists all agree on one sport? You're like a clowder of cats. :rolleyes:

I love playing soccer, 6-a-side Astro pitch. Great craic. Rugby wasn't 'available' in the part of Dublin where I'm from. Soccer is great because all we needed, as kids, was a ball and jumpers for goalposts.

The premiership matches annoy me lately with all the diving, but I can't wait for the Euros!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MisterEpicurus

Is this not a strange discussion for a forum on A&A, surely it's more After Hours than here...what difference does the question make if you're atheist... :P

Because we are rational - that's why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MisterEpicurus

Because we are rational - that's why.

Irrational reply ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Is this not a strange discussion for a forum on A&A
    It's still managed to turn into a debate. :pac:

Scrum is a major problem alright but what's the solution? Get rid of the scrum - one of the most fantastic spectacles in all of rugby.

What's an utter joke is the steps rule in GAA. IT is as if they change their mind what four is. At least with a scrum it can be very difficult to say who is cheating and you can get get cases when both are. The steps and tackle rules in GAA are nonsense.
    No doubt there's plenty of rules in GAA that could be reviewed. # of steps is near impossible to police, handpass rule also. Offside in soccer is another one - I read somewhere how it is physically impossible for a linesman to accurately determine the striker's position at the exact moment the ball is struck.
    I also think hurling often suffers from being lumped in with the same rule-book as Gaelic football. Two different sports.

As for the scrum, I also wouldn't like to see it removed. Having lived in Australia briefly and having to endure the dross that is league is one good reason! It does need refinement and improvement though, whether that is changing technical aspects (# of players, taking out the 'hit') or technology (pressure pads on jerseys to determine correct binding?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    As for the scrum, I also wouldn't like to see it removed.

I think it's more to do with the whole brain damage thing.:pac:

I like both, although only international Rugby and only club football.

What really pisses me off is not calling it fooball.

Of all the sports called football, it is the one that involves the most amount of feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭equivariant

Show me evidence of the first competive game GAA played under agreed rules please?

My claim is hurling and taic, caic or whatever you call it was just some makey up thing. The GAA brought structure, rules etc and made them into sports. They got these ideas form Rugby, Soccer.

+1 to this.

I love hurling and football (grew up playing football), but I have no time for the whole "hurling is more than 2000 years old" waffle that is regularly spouted by the gaelic culture mafia.

The idea that modern hurling is the same sport as some games played a thousand years ago between entire villages is ludicrous. Perhaps they were both played with sticks and balls but that is about it. There have been football type games around for at least as long.

This whole "ancient game" rubbish smacks of a desperately insecure attempt to validate the supposed superiority of gaelic culture. Its the same as a lot of the waffle and BS that surrounds the Irish language (more properly Irish Gaelic I think).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

This thread has amazingly shown that yet again atheists do not have anything more in common with each other than the they do with non-atheists except for the lack of belief in a god.

Hurling and Caid are just some makey up thing... How did other sports come into existence? Almost every field sport in the world is played on a rectangular pitch. Cricket, Aussie rules are two exceptions I know of. Do you have a problem with them or is it just GAA sports?

Perhaps the rules of Hurling & Football would have been regularised earlier but if you take a look at the history of Ireland for the first 84 years of the 19th century there was a fair bit to be getting on with...

Emmigration, Famines, rebellions, land agitation, home rule movements, labour conflicts and lack of industrial movements all got in the way of Ireland's native sports being codified at the same time as soccer and rugby in Britain.

Soccer and Rugby may have been organised first but to claim you don't like hurling cause they just copied other sports is an incredible stance to take.

I don't care of you don't like Gaelic games cause they are bog sports, culchie sports, to rough for your delicate sensibilities or you just find them dull... Your stance actually reminds me of a religious stubborn nut that refuses to be reasonable about an issue...

I have played all sports on your list, rugby is best to play, hurling is best to watch, soccer is best to drink too... Hon Ireland tomorrow and Sunday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'd say he's very good with his hands anyway, the cheating cúnt.:mad:

I like both rugby and soccer, prefer soccer though as i am sometimes a little lost as to the exact rules of rugby. I also love the tennis - Sharapova and Nadal for the french open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Soccer (not that I ever use that word but it makes things clear here). Play 5 a side and as a kid we'd play it on our green jumpers for goalposts style.
    I have an irrational love for the Irish and Manchester United teams (but then when is love rational?) and they can actually affect my mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Congratulations, you've just insulted every "girl" who actually has an interest in/plays sport for sport's sake.

Rugby for me.

I used to be a girl. Then I grew up and became a rugby playing woman.

Can't abide soccer. My 5 year old granddaughter's recent soccer commentary would sum up my views
    'Kick. kick. kick. run. kick. kick. sigh. kick. Why did he fall down?'

Her rugby commentary is more ' HIT HIM! Go go go! Pass. OUCH. GET HIM!!! Go. HEEAVE!. c'mon pass it - RUUUNNNNNNNN!!!!'

Depends what soccer it is, FIFA or Pro Evo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

I love a good (association) football game. I loved to play it as a kid, and a really great game (sadly, not all that common) is a thing of beauty.

I apreciate rugby and hurling as good spectacles. I've never gotten into them, but that's just circumstance. Gaelic football is an ugly hybrid game sorely lacking a tackle.

Hurling and Caid are just some makey up thing... How did other sports come into existence? Almost every field sport in the world is played on a rectangular pitch. Cricket, Aussie rules are two exceptions I know of. Do you have a problem with them or is it just GAA sports?
    Baseball.
    Perhaps the rules of Hurling & Football would have been regularised earlier but if you take a look at the history of Ireland for the first 84 years of the 19th century there was a fair bit to be getting on with...

Emmigration, Famines, rebellions, land agitation, home rule movements, labour conflicts and lack of industrial movements all got in the way of Ireland's native sports being codified at the same time as soccer and rugby in Britain.

Soccer and Rugby may have been organised first but to claim you don't like hurling cause they just copied other sports is an incredible stance to take.

I don't care of you don't like Gaelic games cause they are bog sports, culchie sports, to rough for your delicate sensibilities or you just find them dull... Your stance actually reminds me of a religious stubborn nut that refuses to be reasonable about an issue...

I have played all sports on your list, rugby is best to play, hurling is best to watch, soccer is best to drink too... Hon Ireland tomorrow and Sunday!
    I see it the other way around. GAA heads get indoctrinated from a young age and the hole sport is based on parochial attitudes - getting one of over Jimmy who owns the big field. The majority of people who play it or follow it are doing it because they were indoctrinated into it and the association is the only sporting organisation to have rules in it forbidding members playing other sports (probably because they are afraid they are better).

I think if it was an international sport, there might be some more tactical development and better rules to make it a proper sport.

Considering the amount of emigration from Ireland, the sport should have caught on somewhere - like good ideas usually do - else by now but it hasn't and never will. The only thing keeping it going is the amount of land the GAA own. Most kids would prefer to play Soccer or Rugby and many GAA heads I know are p*ssed off they never could play Rugby.

If it was tidied up a bit and structured a bit better it (they) would be far better sports. Proper rules and not this steps nonsense which has to be the stupidest rule in any sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

My conclusions from the stats so far... :D

Rugby 43.48% - High, as rugby followers tend to be from a perceived upper class with higher education - Higher education tends to result in more atheism. Roish.

GAA 0% - Predominantly rural sport in good ol Catholic Ireland.

I hate all sports 15.22% - Fits quite well with the sterotypical atheist of male, pale, weak, 25-40 year old, single, science fiction/comic book/gaming fan, general couch warrior. Probably met Joe Higgins at one point.

Soccer 34.78% - Purely due to the universaility of the game. No major assocation with Atheism.

G.A.A. is two (at least) sports not one 6.52% - Rebel culchies - The black swan that hides their atheistic tendencies.

+1 to this.

I love hurling and football (grew up playing football), but I have no time for the whole "hurling is more than 2000 years old" waffle that is regularly spouted by the gaelic culture mafia.

The idea that modern hurling is the same sport as some games played a thousand years ago between entire villages is ludicrous. Perhaps they were both played with sticks and balls but that is about it. There have been football type games around for at least as long.

This whole "ancient game" rubbish smacks of a desperately insecure attempt to validate the supposed superiority of gaelic culture. Its the same as a lot of the waffle and BS that surrounds the Irish language (more properly Irish Gaelic I think).
    A lot of the rules such as "sin bin" would make perfect sense in GAA but they hate the idea of taking idea of rugby but they loose this mystical romantic nonsense. There's no doubt in my mind they took a lot of ideas from Rugby. Bit of co-incidence both sports are also 15 aside and that a Gaelic Football is the same thing as a Soccer ball. They have made minor modifications such as changing the dimensions of the posts or making the Football heavier. but if this sport were really as old and unique as they claim I'd be expecting a lot more originality.

I see the GAA a bit like the Protestant Churches. A rip off of another Church and then claims that they are older than what they ripped off.

The GAA are hardly going to admit they ripped soccer / rugby off?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    My 5 year old granddaughter's recent soccer commentary would sum up my views
    'Kick. kick. kick. run. kick. kick. sigh. kick. Why did he fall down?'
    Probably so that -- after a suitable interval rolling around on the ground, clutching his shin and howling in silent pain while surreptitiously looking around for the linesman or referee -- he can suddenly wobble to his feet, dramatically stagger one or two tentative steps, then shake his head, launch into a light jog while casually brushing his formerly well-groomed, luscious and ever-so-slightly man-sweaty hair away from his face, rapt with as much concentration as a soccer player can muster after he realizes that unfairly, the ref somehow just didn't fall for the forty-seventh instance of the same thing in that half of the game.

Baseball.

I see it the other way around. GAA heads get indoctrinated from a young age and the hole sport is based on parochial attitudes - getting one of over Jimmy who owns the big field. The majority of people who play it or follow it are doing it because they were indoctrinated into it and the association is the only sporting organisation to have rules in it forbidding members playing other sports (probably because they are afraid they are better).

I think if it was an international sport, there might be some more tactical development and better rules to make it a proper sport.

Considering the amount of emigration from Ireland, the sport should have caught on somewhere - like good ideas usually do - else by now but it hasn't and never will. The only thing keeping it going is the amount of land the GAA own. Most kids would prefer to play Soccer or Rugby and many GAA heads I know are p*ssed off they never could play Rugby.

If it was tidied up a bit and structured a bit better it (they) would be far better sports. Proper rules and not this steps nonsense which has to be the stupidest rule in any sport.

Your contempt is pathetic, what rule says a GAA player can't play another sport? Gaelic games are by far the most popular sport in Ireland!

Most reasonably talented GAA lads play a bit of rugby/soccer in the winter. Not the elite intercounty lads for the most part but your average GAA lad will play a couple of sports.

Baseball is very similar to rounders a GAA game in Ireland today...

Netball you can't take one step, basketball double dribble... The steps rule in Aussie rules... Double movement in rugby all adaptations of the same premise.

How is indoctrination? Are you forced to play? No! You are prejudiced against the GAA for some crazy reasons. A rectangular pitch and the fact a player can't run more that four steps without bouncing the ball on their hurl, toe or ground?

You must hate basketball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭legspin

Much prefer rugby.
    The biggest problem with the wendy-ball is it's sheer ubiquity. Thanks to Murdoch's mob it is on pretty much 24/365. If I was world despot the season would last from Sept. 1st to April 30th. No training, transfers, scouting or talking about the game in the media would be allowed outside of these times. Also, no one individual or company would be allowed to own a club. It would be owned by it's members. The same rule would apply to rugby however.

Prefer cricket to both though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

legspin wrote: »
    Much prefer rugby.
    The biggest problem with the wendy-ball is it's sheer ubiquity. Thanks to Murdoch's mob it is on pretty much 24/365. If I was world despot the season would last from Sept. 1st to April 30th. No training, transfers, scouting or talking about the game in the media would be allowed outside of these times. Also, no one individual or company would be allowed to own a club. It would be owned by it's members. The same rule would apply to rugby however.

Prefer cricket to both though.

I'm quite fond of cricket - gotta love a game that breaks for lunch, afternoon tiffin and tea.

Years ago Channel 4 used to show minority sports and I really used to enjoy watching Kabbadi - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kabaddi.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Rugby is the only sport I will watch.
    My lovely hubby gave me the prezzie of the French rugby team calender a few years back.
    I still have it on my wall.
    Made me a rugby fan forever.
    Huttzzz :D

A lot of the rules such as "sin bin" would make perfect sense in GAA but they hate the idea of taking idea of rugby but they loose this mystical romantic nonsense. There's no doubt in my mind they took a lot of ideas from Rugby. Bit of co-incidence both sports are also 15 aside and that a Gaelic Football is the same thing as a Soccer ball. They have made minor modifications such as changing the dimensions of the posts or making the Football heavier. but if this sport were really as old and unique as they claim I'd be expecting a lot more originality.

I see the GAA a bit like the Protestant Churches. A rip off of another Church and then claims that they are older than what they ripped off.

The GAA are hardly going to admit they ripped soccer / rugby off?

Rubbish, sinbin rule was trialled in 2005! It didn't work out. It's to be trialled again. Besides this came from penalty box in Ice hockey. Rugby union copy ice hockey in 2001... But if the GAA bring it in they are copying rugby. More BS...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Big football fan, regular down in Dalymount Park.

Little interest in Rugby, will watch the odd match if it's on tv.

Even less interest in GAA (football or hurling).

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I've had an epiphany, and seen the Light.

UTB is where it's at, baby!

Your contempt is pathetic, what rule says a GAA player can't play another sport? Gaelic games are by far the most popular sport in Ireland!
    There used to be rule that was repealed in the 70s that said that a GAA member could not even attend a Soccer or Rugby match. It was real Catholic Church sh*t. Control people's minds because and don't let them think about anything else.

Netball you can't take one step, basketball double dribble... The steps rule in Aussie rules... Double movement in rugby all adaptations of the same premise.
    The scrum laws in rugby are difficult to enforce because when Props are really good they can make it look the other Prop is cheating not him. They do this by going in at an illegal angle really quickly. There's actually a skill in doing it.

The 4 step rule in GAA should be easy to enforce because it is just a number - but it is applied only every now and again. They should get rid of it or change it 10 like it is in Aussie Rules.

The travelling rule in basketball is consistently enforced and I don't have a problem with it.
    How is indoctrination? Are you forced to play? No! You are prejudiced against the GAA for some crazy reasons. A rectangular pitch and the fact a player can't run more that four steps without bouncing the ball on their hurl, toe or ground?
    There is indoctrination. Although you could say the same about a lot of rugby schools.

There's aspects of GAA I don't like. The fact there is very little tactics. The fact that there isn't really that many moments of sheer inspirational brilliance - for example what's the equivalent of a drop goal from the half way line - a few amazing off loads? I used to like the side steps from the Gooch but compare them to Jason Robinson or Drico or Fitzgerald when if you mistime a side step you'll get creamed. It just not compare.
    You must hate basketball?
    No. It's a good sport.

Rubbish, sinbin rule was trialled in 2005! It didn't work out. It's to be trialled again. Besides this came from penalty box in Ice hockey. Rugby union copy ice hockey in 2001... But if the GAA bring it in they are copying rugby. More BS...

It didn't work out because half the Northern Teams were being sent off.
    It also meant that fouling a player, which is actually a tactic because there isn't a proper tackle couldn't be used.

The fact the sin bin did not work shows how flawed the sport is. It should have got rid of cynical unskillful play and put more emphasis on skill. But they actually want fouling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

I can't believe I'm the only person to vote GAA. I like all sports though so I could have answered any of the above.