Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PRIUS MK II 65mpg 4.3 L/100km

• 01-06-2012 8:54pm

YES I've beaten Toyota's official mpg rating for the Prius 2 weeks in a row now! :D

On my way home from work I hit 860 kms and have 3 bars left, though it went to 3 bars on the way home so possibly closer to 2.5 bars. Still not bad for a petrol automatic of it's size! :D

Not bad for a 45 Litre tank!

SO I'm down from 4.6 to 4.3 just by using the regen energy more than I normally would have.

20120601_211834.jpg

20120601_211847.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

How's the handling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I bet those 860km were full of JOY! Excitement! FUN! Smile on your face! Oh wait....

*sorry, I could not ressist ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Must say I always found the Prius very good to drive hard, Top Gear as a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

i'm getting 72mpg (3.9L/100km) on average from my skoda superb estate on a 80mile round trip to work (motorway, rural, urban roads) and I don't have to worry about a battery.

What sort of roads, traffic etc are you driving to get a figure like that? I'd expect more from a hybrid

How accurate is the readout ?

I'm sure it's not a bad car - in fact it most certainly is the way forward. I just can't warm to the looks. I know for the most part they are a necessity for drag.

Impressive figures though - are they calculated?

But wouldn't driving a Prius hard be bad for the mpg Colm:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yeah, I wasn't paying for the petrol, the other guy that regularly drove the car would always leave the battery full,

after a trip with me driving, the batteries would be empty ;)

whippet wrote: »
    i'm getting 72mpg (3.9L/100km) on average from my skoda superb estate on a 80mile round trip to work (motorway, rural, urban roads) and I don't have to worry about a battery.

What sort of roads, traffic etc are you driving to get a figure like that? I'd expect more from a hybrid

What engine is that? Are you going from the readout? Air con off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

I'm getting 7.5l/100km with a 1.5dci Scenic.

Hah!

What engine is that? Are you going from the readout? Air con off?

it's the 1.6tdi Greenline. Aircon is on most of the time and I go by calculating brim to brim.

Last summer I drove from Dublin to Roslare - Cherbourg to LaRochelle with a full tank, full boot with passengers and the fuel gauge hadn't gone in to the red!!

i've attached a screen shot from the trip computer after a 60 mile drive across a couple of national roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Dartz wrote: »

Hah!

I think you misunderstand how l/100km works. I can get that from my 8 year old petrol Mondeo over the corse of a tank of combined driving.

I bet those 860km were full of JOY! Excitement! FUN! Smile on your face! Oh wait....

*sorry, I could not ressist ;)

LOL yeah sure tonnes of fun, But I drive it as I did the A4 Multitronic diesel and it averaged 48 mpg, but I did love the A4.

As for handling the Prius handles much better than the A4 did, but the A4 had 200,000 miles on it when I sold it!

3.9 from a superb? my mate's fiesta 1.4 tdci can't get that!

Nice car though! But a bit big ?

I think it's great for a petrol auto, and I don't have to worry about the battery, it's proven to last well over 300,000 miles!

Mixture of roads, mainly old N9 to Kilcullen from near Carlow town to M9 Motorway from Kilcullen to Grange castle business park. So anyone that knows that route knows the driving speeds, mixture of 80kph to 120.

I hate the N7 yuck esp at the big ball it's evil. I think the big ball is possessed and has special powers to slow down the traffic!

Dartz wrote: »

Hah!

Surely not ?

3.9 from a superb? my mate's fiesta 1.4 tdci can't get that!

Nice car though! But a bit big ?

I needed big, comfy, full of toys, estate and very frugal (will be doing approx 40k miles this year) and it ticks all the boxes.

still need a proper weekend car mind you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

ninty9er wrote: »
    I think you misunderstand how l/100km works. I can get that from my 8 year old petrol Mondeo over the corse of a tank of combined driving.

Depends on who's paying for the diesel ;)

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Must say I always found the Prius very good to drive hard, Top Gear as a lot to answer for.

It is good to drive, I especially love the torque for climbing the wicklow mountains, that was a surprise.

By the way that tank included a trip to the wicklow mountains last Sunday, to the Sally gap, to roundwood, to Laragh, to Glenmalure, Aughavannagh to Baltinglass to Carlow Town so that is impressive!

RoverJames wrote: »
    How accurate is the readout ?

How accurate is the pump ? nothing is 100% accurate ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I can get an average of 4.5L/100kms fill to fill with an Astra 1.7cdti.

52L tank and over 1100kms possible to a tank. I've done it a couple of times but mostly I need to actually get to work on time:P. I actually think it takes more concentration to get those figures then it does to drive fast.

How accurate is the pump ? nothing is 100% accurate ?

Well the pump would be potentially alot more accurate than the readout as the pump is calibrated and certified.

From your reply it seems you haven't compared them.

I'm sure it's not a bad car - in fact it most certainly is the way forward. I just can't warm to the looks. I know for the most part they are a necessity for drag.

Impressive figures though - are they calculated?

But wouldn't driving a Prius hard be bad for the mpg Colm:p

It's as ugly as a Donkeys arse! I'll be the first to admit it!

But the price we got it was too good to ignore, really happy we got it!

Yes driving it hard like any car will hurt mpg, but the Prius has tricks, and knowing when and how to use the battery power is very important and took a lot of practice!

There is also a mode up to 72 kph where you lift off the accelerator and push gently and it gives you neutral so you are not consuming petrol or battery and it works like a dream.

Lifting off the accelerator and pushing gently until the power comes from the battery can increase mpg a lot, it mostly keeps momentum it has not got the power to drive the car but it's like you coast much further than you normally would.

It took a lot of practice but I have beaten Toyota's mpg!

I doubt they rely on the readout for their figures tbh, unless they're a shower of gnomes.

Well the pump would be potentially alot more accurate than the readout as the pump is calibrated and certified.

From your reply it seems you haven't compared them.

I have indeed but I lost the figures, I'm going to fill her up tomorrow and will post the figures as I don't want to give the " off the top of me head" is that fair enough!

Actually I really should go back to the pump I filled up last week ? Who really knows how accurate each pump is ?

.........Who really knows how accurate each pump is ?

There's a sticker on the side of them I believe, or at least there should be. From that the tolerance allowed on the pump can be found (perhaps not directly, you may have to make a phone call or send an email). I imagine it would be more accurate than your read out.

I would have thought a chap so into technology etc would have intuitively known the cars read out of fuel consumption is not at all accurate in most cases. The nissan leaf folks are :pac:

I can get an average of 4.5L/100kms fill to fill with an Astra 1.7cdti.

52L tank and over 1100kms possible to a tank. I've done it a couple of times but mostly I need to actually get to work on time:P. I actually think it takes more concentration to get those figures then it does to drive fast.

Yeah there are diesels that will beat the Prius MK II but I don't want a diesel again after 400,000 odd miles I want a change!

A polo bluemotion 3 pot 80 hp 0-100 in 13 seconds is a no no for me, and 3 pot rattle of a diesel ? no, probably could get close to 80 mpg from it too!

But for the size of the Prius and being a petrol auto is really good!

I know by the feel of the car now without looking at the screen what mode I'm and I keep to the limits and flow of traffic. And I leave when herself leaves and usually I'm in work 30 mins early and have me coffee.

I used to be the one weaving in and out of traffic and boot down, no more, it doesn't appeal to me now, maybe cause I've had a head on calmed me down! Lesson learned, now I realise that once I hit Rathcoole I just catch up on whatever edjit was doing what I used to do!

There's a sticker on the side of them I believe, or at least there should be. From that the tolerance allowed on the pump can be found (perhaps not directly, you may have to make a phone call or send an email). I imagine it would be more accurate than your read out.

I would have thought a chap so into technology etc would have intuitively known the cars read out of fuel consumption is not at all accurate in most cases. The nissan leaf folks are :pac:

Indeed I'm sure it is as with all cars, but mostly I go by what it used to cost me in the A4 TDI, it costs me far less in the Prius and that's good enough for me!

....... Who really knows how accurate each pump is ?

A quick google reveals the legal specs...

http://www.nsai.ie/Our-Services/Measurement/FAQs.aspx

".......... between -0.5% and +1% ............"

1 in 8 were found to be out of spec in 2010.

............. it costs me far less in the Prius and that's good enough for me!

I like that sentiment but you just started a thread claiming you are getting 65mpg and have beaten the official Toyota figures, it turns out your figures may be not at all as good as you think they are.

I'm fully aware of discrepancies in the readouts of car mpg calculators!

Actually speaking of the Leaf, there are several reports of capacity loss after just over a year in Arizona, and about 18k miles, but that is reported to be due to extreme heat and leaving the car charged at 100% for extended periods, now who would do such a thing ? keeping a close eye on it, but mostly there is no capacity loss after 25k miles in more moderate climates! Watching with great interest!

I'm fully aware of discrepancies in the readouts of car mpg calculators! ........

So do you still reckon you're getting 65mpg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

i obviously win this, in my 2.5 pajero im currently getting 16l/100km, a ha eat yer hearths out...

So do you still reckon you're getting 65mpg?

I estimate 1 mpg off. But really the A4 was not accurate, neither is me ma's micra or me sisters 308, and I assume no car is accurate 100%.

But being able to do the Wicklow trip and 5 days to Grangecastle and back is very good for under 45 litres of petrol wouldn't you say ?

i obviously win this, in my 2.5 pajero im currently getting 16l/100km, a ha eat yer hearths out...

HAHa herself has a 2000 Crv 2.0L petrol and it's as thirsty as me alcoholic neighbour! :D The torque is very impressive, you would think it's a diesel! But I love the way it glides over the crap roads here!

I estimate 1 mpg off. But really the A4 was not accurate, neither is me ma's micra or me sisters 308, and I assume no car is accurate 100%.

But being able to do the Wicklow trip and 5 days to Grangecastle and back is very good for under 45 litres of petrol wouldn't you say ?

I reckon 1 mpg off is a tad optimistic but you have mentioned you did use the brim to brim method before so perhaps you made a mental note there was decent correlation.

I worked in Grange Castle back when Wyeth was in her early years, are you in there? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

HAHa herself has a 2000 Crv 2.0L petrol and it's as thirsty as me alcoholic neighbour! :D The torque is very impressive, you would think it's a diesel! But I love the way it glides over the crap roads here!

same as but with the price of fuel these days, twod be cheaper sit up on your neighbours back and keep him topped up with harp.

I needed big, comfy, full of toys, estate and very frugal (will be doing approx 40k miles this year) and it ticks all the boxes.

still need a proper weekend car mind you

Isn't that a saloon ? I'm glad to have a hatch again. The Passat and A4 were a pain, how do you manage with Children ?

But I do like the superb, it looks like it's built like a tank!

I reckon 1 mpg off is a tad optimistic but you have mentioned you did use the brim to brim method before so perhaps you made a mental note there was decent correlation.

I worked in Grange Castle back when Wyeth was in her early years, are you in there? :)

Nope pass it though, isn't that Pyser now ?

Oh yeah brim to brim, but the calculations should be the same! I usually fill from the same pump til the click and round it off!

Nope pass it though, isn't that Pyser now ?.........

Yep, Pfizer bought Wyeth a few years ago.

same as but with the price of fuel these days, twod be cheaper sit up on your neighbours back and keep him topped up with harp.

Indeed not a bad idea, put a saddle on him and off to grange castle, just put a can of beer on the end of a rod and he'd keep trying to get it! :D

It would be cheaper but the old dog is fairly worn now from his drunken binges the last 50 odd years lol might take a long time to get to work and back! :D

Yep, Pfizer bought Wyeth a few years ago.

Ah yeah "PFIZER" no I go straight to the last roundabout and left and left again. where Pfizer is on your right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Off the top of my head I've matched, or beaten those figures in:

Alfa Giulietta 1.6JTDM
    Skoda Superb 2.0Tdi 170
    VW Passat 1.6Tdi
    Audi A4 2.0Tdi 143ps
    BMW 118d
    BMW 318d
    BMW 320ed

Surprisingly, I've never driven a Prius more than a few yards, but I'm willing to put money on that everything in the list above (bar the Passat) is better to drive, and a nicer place to be.

Until Diesel Hybrids come fully on stream, at reasonable prices, then you'll continue to see Diesel vehicles give better MPG and more power, than Hybrids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

hmmmm...???
    If thats true, its impressive for the size of car and I admire your patience for achieving it

I certainly would struggle to get below 5.6l/100km in my yoke and at that I think I would need a flat road and stay in 5th gear at about 90km/h for a long time to achieve it

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    hmmmm...???
    If thats true, its impressive for the size of car and I admire your patience for achieving it

I certainly would struggle to get below 5.6l/100km in my yoke and at that I think I would need a flat road and stay in 5th gear at about 90km/h for a long time to achieve it

Believe me it's true !! Mind you if you push it .. Say cruising at 130kph it drops significantly.

My commute tends to be in traffic which is moving but usually about 80-90kph which helps.

R.O.R wrote: »
    Off the top of my head I've matched, or beaten those figures in:

Alfa Giulietta 1.6JTDM
    Skoda Superb 2.0Tdi 170
    VW Passat 1.6Tdi
    Audi A4 2.0Tdi 143ps
    BMW 118d
    BMW 318d
    BMW 320ed

Surprisingly, I've never driven a Prius more than a few yards, but I'm willing to put money on that everything in the list above (bar the Passat) is better to drive, and a nicer place to be.

Until Diesel Hybrids come fully on stream, at reasonable prices, then you'll continue to see Diesel vehicles give better MPG and more power, than Hybrids.

Did you test the per tank mpg or trip ? there is a big difference!

The new Prius is supposed to do 72 mpg, and I'd certainly believe that. It just means you don't have to buy a diesel. My prius is older tech. Diesel isn't the saviour of fuel it used to be. And they are not as reliable either any more.

I bet the auto versions of those cars you listed wouldn't do so good. I don't like manuals and hopefully will never drive one again!

The 3008 Diesel hybrid didn't get great reviews then again Auto journalists reviews are usually BS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Yes driving it hard like any car will hurt mpg, but the Prius has tricks, and knowing when and how to use the battery power is very important and took a lot of practice!

There is also a mode up to 72 kph where you lift off the accelerator and push gently and it gives you neutral so you are not consuming petrol or battery and it works like a dream.
    Yeah my car has tricks too, when you punch the accelerator it disengages the Air Con Compressor for maximum power, similar no?

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Yeah my car has tricks too, when you punch the accelerator it disengages the Air Con Compressor for maximum power, similar no?

Eah........NO! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    hmmmm...???

At 90 kmh on a flat road I get readings of 2.2 to 2.5 litre per 100km

what type of car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Is that instant or average?

It's not average that's for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Did you test the per tank mpg or trip ? there is a big difference!

The new Prius is supposed to do 72 mpg, and I'd certainly believe that. It just means you don't have to buy a diesel. My prius is older tech. Diesel isn't the saviour of fuel it used to be. And they are not as reliable either any more.

I bet the auto versions of those cars you listed wouldn't do so good. I don't like manuals and hopefully will never drive one again!

The 3008 Diesel hybrid didn't get great reviews then again Auto journalists reviews are usually BS!

Figures are generally from the OBC - whenever I've done actual comparisons to the OBC it's always been more or less the same. i.e 4.27 l/100km with the OBC showing 4.3 l/100km.

The Volvo V60 plug in hyrbrid is supposed to do 148+ mpg - blows the figures from the new Prius in to the water, back out of the water, and in to the dust. We all know it's unlikely to get near that figure in the real world (where it will be merely a 215bhp 5 cylinder FWD diesel for most of it's time). Getting that economy, with that power, and the 0-60 second dash in under 7 seconds sounds a lot more preferable to the Prius to me.