Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

next door neighbours house alarm has been going off all day!

• 01-06-2012 4:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

Anyone any ideas as to what to do when your next door neighbours house alarm he's been going full blast since seven this morning, but they've gone for the weekend?

Its wrecking my head at the minute, it stared at seven am, both outside and inside alarms blaring, now only the inside one seems to be going, and its creating a horrible high pitched squeal in my house too.

Tbh, the next door neighbour isn't a very nice person, so I don't have their mobile number as we take as little as possible to do with her that we can.

I've rang the gards earlier, who told me they're powerless to do anything, their is a small child in the house whose missed her midday snooze now, and what with her bedtime only two hours away, I fear it will be impossible to get her to sleep the night also.

Any one any ideas as to how to put an end to this crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

ransack the house...that will learn them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Start cutting wires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

You could phone the guards again - say you saw someone creeping about, maybe that'll get them out to check?

Lump hammer it off the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Either start cutting wires, or call the alarm company they're with and ask them to come out and disable it. how do you know they're gone for the weekend if you don't speak to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It will tire itself out.........eventually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Be grateful It's going off. If it was going on, it would be really annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my 95 year old neightbour has taken this whole planking craze to new extremes, any time i have looked through her letterbox over the past week she has been doing in the hall just inside the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

Is it not possible that since your neighbours have gone away for the weekend, and their alarm is going off...

Maybe they've been burgled??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Ghandee wrote: »
    Anyone any ideas as to what to do when your next door neighbours house alarm he's been going full blast since seven this morning, but they've gone for the weekend?

Its wrecking my head at the minute, it stared at seven am, both outside and inside alarms blaring, now only the inside one seems to be going, and its creating a horrible high pitched squeal in my house too.

Tbh, the next door neighbour isn't a very nice person, so I don't have their mobile number as we take as little as possible to do with her that we can.

I've rang the gards earlier, who told me they're powerless to do anything, their is a small child in the house whose missed her midday snooze now, and what with her bedtime only two hours away, I fear it will be impossible to get her to sleep the night also.

Sadly there is no immediate solution.

The Gardi are right to a good extent. They are powerless.
    This comes about from the law in relation to 'Private Nuisance' (a substantial interference with the neighbouring occupiers according to ordinary sober common sense standards).
    What amounts to Private Nuisance can only be judged by a judge/court - and then a Gardi can act as an agent of a court, carrying out its orders, to inject themselves to see that the situation is resolved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Either start cutting wires, or call the alarm company they're with and ask them to come out and disable it. how do you know they're gone for the weekend if you don't speak to them?

No number on the box :mad:

I'm assuming she's gone for the weekend. Its hard to explain, but even though she's a house beside me, she only uses it to sleep in. She arrives each night from her mothers house (who also lives in the locality) and heads to her mothers first thing in the morning again.

I assume she's gone somewhere over the long weekend as I witnessed her park her cartoutside the house last night, then get straight into her mothers car and the two of them headed off together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Whatever you do, dont buy earplugs, but instead post about it on the internet. That NEVER fails to find a solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Can of expanding foam and a ladder, job done.

AeoNGriM wrote: »
    Whatever you do, dont buy earplugs, but instead post about it on the internet. That NEVER fails to find a solution.

Will I also put earplugs in an eighteen month old Childs ears too?

I don't think they'll keep them in, but thanks for the input.

Asking for a solution on the internet, as I'm hoping someone has experience with a situation like this before.

Sarcasm failure :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

get a friendly electrician to turn of their power supply at the meter box, Needs an insulated 6mm allen key.
    then the battery back up ( hopefully old and near knackered ) will only last so long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

burn their house down

get a friendly electrician to turn of their power supply at the meter box, Needs an insulated 6mm allen key.
    then the battery back up ( hopefully old and near knackered ) will only last so long

Besides getting possible into trouble with the electricity supplier, there would be the laws of trespass, possible criminal damage/interfearance to private property, etc.

The friendly chap will want to be VERY friendly indeed to be willing to do the above.

Sorry to be truthful. You should just be aware of these things - and it will fall back on the person that advocated/requested their actions.

P.S. if the power is turned off, remember that the residents have fridges/freezers too.
    They will be looking for someone to be held accountable for foodstuffs lost alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭andrewg82

i feel your pain!!! maybe get in touch with the alarm company?

you're quite right about the trespass, but the isolation switch is there to be used not just by esbn

and **** em they didn't bother having an alarm that conforms to bylaws (switching off after 20 mins, or is it 15 now?)

had a neighbour like this before in countryside , had a very old alarm like a ww2 air raid siren and their damn dog would set it off from inside whilst they were away. It just kept going....

after two friendly words with owner who blanked me i was found by them on their property with a ladder and a lump hammer.

they got the alarm company out then.

i should say en route to dismantle alarm but they were arriving home

anyway back to op who is to know who turned it off?
    Evidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Most house alarms these days ring both on the inside and outside. Usually after the alarm going off for about a few hours the outside ringing should stop, but the inside ringing will continue until the alarm is manually turned off.

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Most house alarms these days ring both on the inside and outside. Usually after the alarm going off for about a few hours the outside ringing should stop, but the inside ringing will continue until the alarm is manually turned off.

Are you serious?

Gonna be a long niiiiiiight.......

...anyway back to op who is to know who turned it off?
    Evidence?

Honestly - would you take that chance and do it?
    Witnesses's around that you might not see?

The only practical present solution is to keep ringing the Gardi and reporting the matter as noise pollution.
    Then when its on official record that its been going on day and night with a recorded track history to shove in front of a judge, can a order be given for a legal official to enter a premises and do something.

Bummer I know, for the present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Biggins wrote: »
    Sadly there is no immediate solution.

The Gardi are right to a good extent. They are powerless.
    This comes about from the law in relation to 'Private Nuisance' (a substantial interference with the neighbouring occupiers according to ordinary sober common sense standards).
    What amounts to Private Nuisance can only be judged by a judge/court - and then a Gardi can act as an agent of a court, carrying out its orders, to inject themselves to see that the situation is resolved.

As a friendly electrician and former alarm installer/service engineer ... this man Biggins, speaks the truth.

Ringing Gardai,alarm companys etc is pointless .. unfortunately the best you can do would be to post a note in the door for the time being.

The bell you hear ringing inside the house is the internal siren and its goinf to ring until the neighbour returns home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Are you serious?

Gonna be a long niiiiiiight.......

That may not be the case with the neighbors one though. Hey, just be glad the outside alarm isnt going off all night. (It might)

in an ideal world our garda would have the sensible approach of having a locksmith and alarm tech enter premesis and disable alarm and resecure premises and charge the costs to the owner.

Meanwhile back in the room, there is no recourse for law abiding honest decent people.

yes absolutely what you suggest is probably all that is open to OP but after all that what do you expect the outcome to be?

one pissed off neighbour, annoyed local garda, if you are lucky an instruction from the court to do something about alarm ( forget punishment ) which neighbour will probably respond to crying about having no money.

Sadly OP can only

1/ Contact householder somehow, or ask a neighbour that knows her to do so
    and hope she cares enough to do something

2/ Do as you suggest, or not, and listen to it until whenever householder returns.

I am not attacking you at all biggins honest, just venting.

Should copy and paste whole thread to ranting and raving :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

We had a problem like this in my old college house an alarm went off and it would not turn off. All of a sudden I head my roommate say oh **** looked out the window and saw the alarm beside it. The kicker was the alarm only worked when the power went off. It passed the time when we were trying to figure out how to turn it off

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

you're quite right about the trespass, but the isolation switch is there to be used not just by esbn

and **** em they didn't bother having an alarm that conforms to bylaws (switching off after 20 mins, or is it 15 now?);)

It is 15 or 20 mins for the external alarms. AFAIK there is no bye law about the internal one and as has already been mentioned will go off until being manually disabled. Reason for this is most likely that our legislators live in nice detached houses so this issue never even crossed their minds.
    I have moved house in the past because of a neighbours alarm going off constantly. There is very little you can do other than lodge a nuisance complaint through the courts or else take things into your own hands as other posters have said.

Even with the electricity turned off there is a back up battery attached to the alarm system which will keep it going for an undeterminable period of time.

as an aside, ( a quick one)

why does the internal one persist indefinitely anyway?

in an ideal world our garda would have the sensible approach of having a locksmith and alarm tech enter premesis and disable alarm and resecure premises and charge the costs to the owner.

Meanwhile back in the room, there is no recourse for law abiding honest decent people.

yes absolutely what you suggest is probably all that is open to OP but after all that what do you expect the outcome to be?

one pissed off neighbour, annoyed local garda, if you are lucky an instruction from the court to do something about alarm ( forget punishment ) which neighbour will probably respond to crying about having no money.

Sadly OP can only

1/ Contact householder somehow, or ask a neighbour that knows her to do so
    and hope she cares enough to do something

2/ Do as you suggest, or not, and listen to it until whenever householder returns.

I am not attacking you at all biggins honest, just venting.

Should copy and paste whole thread to ranting and raving :(
    No worries slavetothegrind.

I have been where the OP has been - and that was when a number of my own kids were still new babies.
    In sleep terms, with the regular feeding times of babies etc, there is nothing worse than this carry on with noise.
    I feel seriously for the OP.

After two/three days of it continuously going off AND with all around CONSTANTLY reporting it, the Gardi would have the 'ammo' to go to a court and ask for legal permission to request a locksmith and/or an alarm company rep, to enter the premises to do something, to end this breach of the peace.

Its a very hard situation to be in until then - but all around MUST keep reporting it at regular intervals - day and night, for something to be done eventually.

as an aside, ( a quick one)

why does the internal one persist indefinitely anyway?

The outside bell is on a 30 mins I think timer, inside bell is designed to keep ringing supposedly its difficult for an intruder to stay near...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

mattjack wrote: »
    As a friendly electrician and former alarm installer/service engineer ... this man Biggins, speaks the truth.

Ringing Gardai,alarm companys etc is pointless .. unfortunately the best you can do would be to post a note in the door for the time being.

The bell you hear ringing inside the house is the internal siren and its goinf to ring until the neighbour returns home.

As you used to install alarms can you tell me what is the point of the internal alarm staying on? Surely in the event of a breakin 15 mins (1 minute) would be adequate for internal and external. If noone has called the Guards by the time the external cuts out then they are not going to

Ahhh Slavetothegrind beat me to the punch.

Still seems excessive. If an intruder can put up with it for 15 mins I am not sure what another 48 hours is going to do

i once drove back to kildare from westport after getting a call my alarm was going off, my neighbours are elderly, my walls made of paper, and couldn't let them have a night of listening to it

there really is no need for the internal continuing, i'm sure burglars have ear defenders, besides most are in and out fairly sharpish!

must ask my alarm installer if he can make mine turn off hmmmm...

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    As you used to install alarms can you tell me what is the point of the internal alarm staying on? Surely in the event of a breakin 15 mins (1 minute) would be adequate for internal and external. If noone has called the Guards by the time the external cuts out then they are not going to

I,m guessing here but that house has an alarm with no maintenance or monitoring contract so if an activation occurs Gardai won,t respond because the monitoring station isn't covering it.

When I installed alarms the internal bell was wired up in parallel with strobe light on the external bell.... I think to give an indication of an activation to the Gardai etc if they were called...

The Gardai won't respond unless someone actually reports a burglary or its a pa activation.

Biggins wrote: »
    Its a very hard situation to be in until then - but all around MUST keep reporting it at regular intervals - day and night, for something to be done eventually.

Unfortunately (Fortunately) it probably does not affect anyone else only the OP or at most if he is in a terrace rather than a semi it will affect a second neighbour. Anyone else on the street most likely can't hear it and hence won't be reporting it.

This is one of the reasons it is important to get on with your neighbours regardles of how obnoxious they are. Alot of people have neighbours who hold keys for just this eventuality.

i once drove back to kildare from westport after getting a call my alarm was going off, my neighbours are elderly, my walls made of paper, and couldn't let them have a night of listening to it

there really is no need for the internal continuing, i'm sure burglars have ear defenders, besides most are in and out fairly sharpish!

must ask my alarm installer if he can make mine turn off hmmmm...

Your a nice neighbour , sir.

Often burglars just rip the internal bell off the wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Mickey Dazzler

Burn the gaff down, the would stop it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Who the hell decides that setting the internal alarm to ring indefinitely is a good idea? It should switch off with the external bell.

Otherwise it screams to burglars "NO-ONE HOME BUDDY, COME ON IN!" and sure no-one would be paying any attention to the alarm or the house at that stage if it had been going off for hours.

Kensington wrote: »
    Who the hell decides that setting the internal alarm to ring indefinitely is a good idea? It should switch off with the external bell.

Otherwise it screams to burglars "NO-ONE HOME BUDDY, COME ON IN!" and sure no-one would be paying any attention to the alarm or the house at that stage if it had been going off for hours.

SHHH shhh easy there Bronco..... nowadays you are encouraged to have your house alarm monitored... in the event of an activation the monitoring station contacts key holders and/or Gardai....

The onus is on yourself to keep your alarm serviced and maintained thus preventing false alarms.

Do any of your other neighbours know them? maybe they have their phone number. If try neighbours of the mother. Start knocking on doors if you don't know anyone. Someone must know them or better again have a key

Having experienced this before you will not sleep tonight with it going off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Drink about half a litre of vodka, get good and drunk then climb the ladder RIP THE ****ING THING OFF THE WALL AND KICK THE **** OUT OF IT.ALL ON THEIR FRONT LAWN WHILE THE NEIGHBOURS LOOK ON.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Drink about half a litre of vodka, get good and drunk then climb the ladder RIP THE ****ING THING OFF THE WALL AND KICK THE **** OUT OF IT.ALL ON THEIR FRONT LAWN WHILE THE NEIGHBOURS LOOK ON.

I'll get the ladder...

crazygeryy wrote: »

Good plan but I am not sure that would turn off the internal alarm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭AdamB

I love long weekends.... yours may be very looong!!!

Just drove past her mothers house a few times, place looks deserted too.

Her electric meter is outside her front door, same as mine.

How do I turn electricity off, don't see any switches as such :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Just drove past her mothers house a few times, place looks deserted too.

Her electric meter is outside her front door, same as mine.

How do I turn electricity off, don't see any switches as such :confused:

Jeez don't go messing with that if u know nothing about it.it's better to have a live alarm than a dead boardsie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

So you know where the mothers house is, why dont you try call into her neighbors they might have a contact number.

cuppa wrote: »
    So you know where the mothers house is, why dont you try call into her neighbors they might have a contact number.

no neighbours around the mothers, its in a rural area. God thinking though.

It's stopped.

exactly 24 hrs after it began! Seemingly by itself too :confused:

Must be programmed to go off for twenty four hours, I'm going to have a word with her when she reappears though. You can bet your house on that one.

It's stopped.

Must be programmed to go off for twenty four hours, I'm going to have a word with her when she reappears though. You can bet your house on that one.

Peace reigns supreme... enjoy the silence.

It's stopped.

It may go off again though so be warned.
    Try an be constructive when you talk to her. Losing the rag won't solve anything as this may happen again.

I was about to suggest a revenge attack where you go away for the night and leave hi fi speakers against the dividing wall with music turned up loud but that would be irresposible of me;)