Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camelot Epsom Derby

• 30-05-2012 12:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭

best price 4/6 looks well short, good to firm ground probably might not suit, worth taking on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

best price 4/6 looks well short, good to firm ground probably might not suit, worth taking on?

Yea Astrology & Imperial Monarch for me. The price of Camelot offers alot of value in the race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Interesting to see that the 3rd & 4th from Newmarket ran poorly at the Curragh. Possibly feeling the effect of hard races? While Power won having not been knocked about when Moore said he realised he was hating the ground

I hope he wins & in a fantasy world goes on to win a triple crown but I won't be backing it. He was 1.67 on Betfair earlier. Surely a lay to back opportunity? I'd be confident he'll be bigger on the day ala Bog Bucks, Hurricane Fly at Cheltenham & Camelot himself the day of the guineas.

Imperial Monarch has looked a doubtful runner since Sandown judging by Betfair. His price is up & down like a yo-yo.

There was a few hundred waiting to back him at 20 & 21 this morning & looking at the volumes traded on Betfair it was all taken

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭marc96

as much as i like camelot i think bonfire will take it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Think Camelot will win but wont be backing at the price. Will be backing Astrology in the w/o fav market at 4/1 with 365.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Looks like imperial monarch out of derby, out to 40s on betfair

An 11 runner field for the Derby. pretty disappointing turn out no?

HigginsJ wrote: »
    An 11 runner field for the Derby. pretty disappointing turn out no?

Less. O'Brien is talking about only running Camelot & Astrology on the RP site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

The favourite might romp it but I've backed Bonfire.
    Camelot was a narrow winner of the 2000 Guineas, and has only run over 8f. Imo too much has been made of the style of his wins, not the times, or the form. And everyone is saying he will improve over 12f. Will he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

kincsem wrote: »
    And everyone is saying he will improve over 12f. Will he?

Going on pedigree, he should improve for the step up in trip. There's no more juice in his price now but he should be a bit bigger on the day.

Less. O'Brien is talking about only running Camelot & Astrology on the RP site

Really. O'Brien will always run a pacemaker (or two)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I'd be surprised if Tower Rock doesnt run, ran well in the Derrinstown and if allowed too easy a lead could hang on for a place at a big price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Really. O'Brien will always run a pacemaker (or two)
    He ran Galileo on his own. When High Chaparral and Hawkwing finished first and second, he ran three in the race. The better the chance his horse has in the Derby the less runners he has.

A reverse forecast on Camelot and Astrology might be a good bet.

Strange decision if Imperial Monarch does go to France. Stoutly bred & looked at Sandown like a step up in trip would suit.

Maybe a case of Coolmore treating Camelot as the choosen one

http://www.rte.ie/sport/racing/uk/2012/0531/323096-hot-favourite-camelot-heads-derby-field/

Smallest Derby field since 1907.

O'Brien really is only running 2. Surprised by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭chipsdave

Very dissapointing Derby ,an 8 runner field and a 4-6 shot heading the market , a small LAY of the JOLLY will do for Me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

http://www.rte.ie/sport/racing/uk/2012/0531/323096-hot-favourite-camelot-heads-derby-field/

Smallest Derby field since 1907.

O'Brien really is only running 2. Surprised by that.

I'd say O'Brien and Coolmore are so sweet on Camelot, that the only danger they see of him getting beat is from one of their own horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Surely St. Nick Abbey is a better bet at 4/7 than Camelot is. SNA proven over the trip/ground/course. Field he is facing is far more exposed than the Derby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Goldcupfav wrote: »
    Surely St. Nick Abbey is a better bet at 4/7 than Camelot is. SNA proven over the trip/ground/course. Field he is facing is far more exposed than the Derby.

SNA didn't act great on the course last year and seemed to win in spite of it. That said, this is probably a weaker renewal. There doesn't appear to be a horse of Midday's class in the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I think he only has Astrology to beat, I couldn't have Bonfire.
    Anyway, O'Brien knows exactly where he stands with that one.

Will do the forecast.
    I really hope he wins by 15 lengths or something ridiculous like that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Bonfire for me. Was unlucky in France and was impressed with him in the Dante.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Can't see past camelot but like the look of astrology in the without the fave betting at 3/1, Might stick a nifty on it and see how we get on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Thought Worthy is my E/W shout

Backed Astrology E/W.
    Think he is great shout at the price and Camelot is too short for me.

Also 2 outside bets Robin Hood e/w without St. Nicholas Abbey at 33-1 in the Coronation and Minimise Risk 100-1 e/w in the Derby. Small stakes e/w double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Morleystreet

Mickdaam for me EW for an interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

For me you're looking for quality as opposed to quantity in Group 1's. Ok another 3 or 4 would be nicer maybe but I hate when there's donkeys in it.

That said it doesn't look a real high class renewal either. So, not many and not great. Hopefully, Camelot proves the exception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

I hope the Balding horses are the last two home, sick of hearing about them and nothing about the hot fav.

Lumped into the 7/4 SNA & Camelot double.

Two nice surprises in my ante post, Astrology at 33/1 and Bonfire at 8/1 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Throw a couple of quid on Astrology but I really fancy Camelot.

Would love to have the balls to back him big.

Bonfire getting a little bit worked up. Camelot looks so calm.

Camelot looks like he is about to nod off, Joseph has done great keeping him so calm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Astrology

Great effort by Astrology. Class from Camelot.

Awesome, no other word can describe that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

What a stunning display by Camelot!

Brilliant. Delighted for the O'Briens.

**** off Baldings!!! Should have spent more time training their horse than doing ****ing tv segments:D

Raging, had a long think about taking the 4/1 for 5 lengths or more.

Wowser !!!!

Lets hear Clare talking sh*t about the Balding family now.

Camelot was great.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Brilliant. Delighted for the O'Briens.

**** off Baldings!!! Should have spent more time training their horse than doing ****ing tv segments:D

Raging, had a long think about taking the 4/1 for 5 lengths or more.

Raging as well I was looking at 3/1 for 3l.

Fecking raging in general that I didn't have the balls to back Camelot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I take it he was good lads??

Actually who here backed o brien to win all British classics at 40/1? Robbie was it

The speed he showed when going from around 6th to 1st was something special.

1/3 for the St Leger FTW :eek:

That cant be right?? Eh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I hope the Balding horses are the last two home, sick of hearing about them and nothing about the hot fav.
    Shane732 wrote: »
    Lets hear Clare talking sh*t about the Balding family now.

RUK >>>>>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Great display by the O Brien family. Pure class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Super performance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

le la rat wrote: »

Aidan O'Brien always reminds me of the child catcher in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang:D

le la rat wrote: »

They always are class to be fair. Joseph seems very personable and down to earth considering the oppurtunitites he has been afforded.

Really delighted that they have a superstar of their own now. The last few years with Frankel and STS and St. Nic not living up to that level. Camelot looks like a beast.

Think the 1m4f was plenty enough for him. IMO they are very unlikely to send him to the Ledger when they have the Arc and Irish Champions Stakes and Breeders Cup as end of season targets that would be much more valuable from a breeding perspective.

UrbanSea wrote: »

Great horsemanship from Joseph, he had the horse almost asleep before the race, had him settled in about 10 strides. I thought he was in trouble as he was struggling down the hill but by God when he was asked to go inside three furlongs he went by them like they were statues, took him a bit longer to get by Astrology but when he hit the front he was always going away.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

5 furlongs to go and he was in 6th place. I was sure it was all over and too late to do anything and then Joseph took him out and then it looked like he turned on the afterburners. Like something from a cartoon !

Slattsy wrote: »
    1/3 for the St Leger FTW :eek:

That cant be right?? Eh.
    They'd be barking mad to go for it

Yea he was good.

Joseph came in saying that he didn't go down the hill at all. He made up 10l on Astrology easy and won easily.

1-3 for the triple crown seems a mad price but who knows.