Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star Trek Voyager on Pick tv

• 29-05-2012 5:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭

good news for those of you who dont have Sky Atalantic,Star Trek Voyager is now on Pick TV every weekday at 6 p.m. and 6a.m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Voyager? Better news for those of us who don't have Pick TV :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Technocentral

lauraww wrote: »
    good news for those of you who dont have Sky Atalantic,Star Trek Voyager is now on Pick TV every weekday at 6 p.m. and 6a.m.

Netflix US has every episode of every tv incarnation ever in HD (including animated one), its pure bliss, thats about 600 hours of tv (695 episodes X 50 mins duration), great to dip into now and again. I'd rate the best series as:

1. TOS
    2. Voyager
    3. Enterprise
    4 DS9

I'm not including animated one as its v juvenile imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Netflix US has every episode of every tv incarnation ever in HD (including animated one), its pure bliss, thats about 600 hours of tv (695 episodes X 50 mins duration), great to dip into now and again. I'd rate the best series as:

1. TOS
    2. Voyager
    3. Enterprise
    4 DS9

I'm not including animated one as its v juvenile imo.
    jesus what did DS9 and TNG ever do to you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

that is the most backwards ass crazy list of best trek series i have ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Omitting TNG from the list negates any credibility one would have on the subject of trek.

Hand over your Vulcan ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

What? voyager and enterprise over DS9 and TNG, what the hell are you on? Actually heres the better question what age are you? Im gonna guess you grew up with voyager and then watched enterprise.

My mistake didn't notice TNG wasn't put in there! List should read

1. TOS
    2. Voyager
    3. TNG
    4. Enterprise
    5. DS9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

1. TOS
    2. Voyager
    3. TNG
    4. Enterprise
    5. DS9

Go away.

Go away and never return to this place.

jhegarty wrote: »
    Go away.

Go away and never return to this place.

Get a life Poindexter.

someone who knows enough about star trek that he can rank them in order of preference calling somebody else a nerd

well I never

Get a life Poindexter.

LOL

1. What a ****ing hypocrite calling someone else a nerd who disagrees with your ranking of star trek series

2. Poindexter? What are you a character from a badly written 80's high school movie?

3. Your insane if you rank enterprise above DS9 which is somehow last? Then you rank voyager 2nd? Did you even watch all of DS9?

VinLieger wrote: »
    LOL

1. What a ****ing hypocrite calling someone else a nerd who disagrees with your ranking of star trek series

2. Poindexter? What are you a character from a badly written 80's high school movie?

3. Your insane if you rank enterprise above DS9 which is somehow last? Then you rank voyager 2nd? Did you even watch all of DS9?

the question i ask everyone who calls it sh1te

personally DS9 is top of my list,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

:P

;) The correct order is

1. TOS
    2. TNG
    3. DS9
    4. Enterprise
    5. Voyager

Enterprise, while not stellar, at least tried and it was a refreshing approach as the standard tech of ST was still pretty new in the universe. Voyager was bad and wrong on so many levels it's not worthwhile starting.

The 2009 Star Trek movie does beat ST:VOY as my most hated piece of Star Trek ****e of all time though. Hell isn't hot enough for the retribution I want to dole out to JJ Abrahams for this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

that is the most backwards ass crazy list of best trek series i have ever seen

LOL so true. For me DS9 and Enterprise top any list. Voyager had some great storylines, but Captain Painway was a abysmal character, ruined it for me. I don't really like TNG, though its closest to the original show probably.

ill have you know the correct order is actually

1. TNG
    2. DS9
    3. TOS
    4. Enterprise
    Also ran. Voyager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I'd like to start a different list:

1. Seven of nine
    2. Troi
    3. Dax
    4. Kess

That list is so much better!

squonk wrote: »
    The 2009 Star Trek movie does beat ST:VOY as my most hated piece of Star Trek ****e of all time though. Hell isn't hot enough for the retribution I want to dole out to JJ Abrahams for this one.

In my opinion you cant really compare the 2 using the same values. Abrams movie was a reboot in every sense of the word, and i think it gave Star Trek the boot it needed, that enterprise just missed, to bring it to a new audience of a different generation.

Youve gotta remember these shows TOS TNG even DS9 were aired in a different era of technology and story telling. Alot of the basic tech you see in those shows we have now, comlinks/datapads = iphones, touch screens = tablets. Computers speaking to you, i dont know a new car nowadays that doesnt talk to you. All that "futurisitc" tech was a huge draw for the scifi crowd back then. But now we have alot of it in our own pockets its kinda boring to see, specifically for younger people who are much more used to it and expectant of it, so they had to add a new draw which was action and i think it worked.

how did it give star trek a boost though
    we're not any more likely to see a tv series after the new movie, any of the other new movies are going to be with those same actors in that reboot universe so they'll likely be as science-fantasy star wars-ish as it was instead of star trek-ish. It took the core of trek and tossed it aside in favour of a balls to the wall summer blockbuster.
    If we do see a new series in the future it'll probably be closer to the stargate sg-1 skit of a rebooted version of their show

It made loads of money meaning another Star Trek project might get the green light.

how did it give star trek a boost though

It gave it a boost in that star trek got more fans willing to admit being fans. With the previous movie if youd walked into a pub with your non star trek mates and asked if theyd seen it, they'd all grin and laugh at you, with the new one they were the ones asking if you'd seen it and asking you to explain things like the spock time travel dealy etc.

Also it made loads of cash which combined with more new fans might make a new series possible

but they're not fans of "star trek" at least not what until now was considered star trek
    they're fans of the loud shiny abrams abortion that graced our screens a couple of years ago.
    if you sat these new fans down to a few episodes of TNG they'd die of boredom, it has done next to nothing for the franchise as a whole it has just spawned a (most likely) profitable series of movies that will give the movie going public exactly what it wants, explosions, sex, snappy dialogue, sex, lense flare, sex.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

ill have you know the correct order is actually

1. TNG
    2. DS9
    3. TOS
    4. Enterprise
    Also ran. Voyager
    Almost correct - Swap #1 and #2 around. Agree though on 'Voyager' - it may exist, but it shouldn't make a list. Any show that destroyed the Borg (Borg kids go to school!) deserves to be removed. Any show that does that and a whole lot of other insulting things deserves further derision.

ixoy wrote: »
    Almost correct - Swap #1 and #2 around. Agree though on 'Voyager' - it may exist, but it shouldn't make a list. Any show that destroyed the Borg (Borg kids go to school!) deserves to be removed. Any show that does that and a whole lot of other insulting things deserves further derision.

yeah I agree DS9 is better technically but I grew up with TNG so it holds a place in my heart DS9 just couldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

1.DS9
    2.TNG
    3.TOS
    4. Voyager

Enterprise I didn't watch After how eye gougingly bad voyager was. It has maybe 5 episodes that were good with a dozen watchable and the rest were simply awful.

I loved DS9 though, granted I grew up on TNG but some of the episodes would have made amazing films. Garrack was by some distance the best star trek character in any of the series IMHO.

but they're not fans of "star trek" at least not what until now was considered star trek
    they're fans of the loud shiny abrams abortion that graced our screens a couple of years ago.
    if you sat these new fans down to a few episodes of TNG they'd die of boredom, it has done next to nothing for the franchise as a whole it has just spawned a (most likely) profitable series of movies that will give the movie going public exactly what it wants, explosions, sex, snappy dialogue, sex, lense flare, sex.

Depends on the episodes. Most classic SCFI series have episodes of action and episodes of ethical dilemma's with almost no action or CGI. Personally those ethical conundrums often don't add much for me, they are to often trite and just a rehash of something done better somewhere else previously. Thats especially true if you've read a lot of older classic SCFI. At worse they are very predictable.

Basically theres more than one type of trekkie fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Kurn

ziedth wrote: »
    1.DS9
    2.TNG
    3.TOS
    4. Voyager

Enterprise I didn't watch After how eye gougingly bad voyager was. It has maybe 5 episodes that were good with a dozen watchable and the rest were simply awful.

I loved DS9 though, granted I grew up on TNG but some of the episodes would have made amazing films. Garrack was by some distance the best star trek character in any of the series IMHO.
    1. TNG
    2. DS9
    3. Voyager
    4. Enterprise (about 3 episodes)

Grew up on Voyager and loved it, still have a fond place for it, but after watching TNG and DS9 I gradually saw how much better they were.

Looking back the first three seasons were awful, and after that it seemed like the Seven and Doctor show, which while fun at times got out of hand. But as I say it was my first Trek, so respect...

And, I am going in front of the firing squad here, but I have never been able to watch a full episode of TOS, but still think Spock rocks, the real Spock of course not your man from the movies.

1: DS9
    2: TNG
    3: TOS
    4: Enterprise
    958628765: Voyager

Edit: Actually, Voyager shouldn't even be on the list and should be forgotten about ASAP. Any show that can emasculate The Borg; can create a couple of interesting bad guys (Species-what's-the-number, The hunter guys) and then do absolutely NOTHING with them; can spend 7 seasons talking the long way home to avoid breaking the rules only to go "ah feckit, let's break the rules and get them home now" in the last two episodes; that can have a regular cast of 8 or 9 who you didn't give a single f*ck about by the end, deserves to be buried and never spoken of again.

Oh, and yer wan Janeway becoming an Admiral before Picard and gets to tell him what to do simply 'cos she got her crew home? Nah.... Simply, nah. It's hard to think that DS9 and voyager were even created by the same studio let alone by many of the same people. By a country mile one of my most hated shows (as if you couldn't guess)

And one final thing............ That voice...... THAT voice

As opposed to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

All copies of ST Voyager should be strapped to a mis firing ESA rocket and blasted into space/a million pieces .

to be fair to mulgrew, she's far *far* better than the woman they had originally cast as janeway

I often wonder about Janeway and if fans dislike her (mostly men) because she is a woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

I often wonder about Janeway and if fans dislike her (mostly men) because she is a woman?
    Not for me. I grew up on TNG so it will always be my favourite show. I was in college when ST:VOY started. We had a Star Trek society running at the time (no sniggers please) and we got tapes sent over from the US the same week the shows aired (torrents for the pre-torrents generation :) ). I remember the evening they aired Voyager to us and at the time I thought it was going to be a good change to have a female captain. I didn't warm to Janeway instantly but she really didn't do a lot for me as time went on. A lot of it was just because the series was below par. The point where I finally gave up on ST:VOY was an episode I saw at one point where an organism or virus infected the living skin of the ship and it turned out it eminated from some cheese on board (I kid you not). The final line of the episode was way up there with the worst of S3 TOS, simply Janeway giving an order: 'Get that cheese to sickbay'.

Kate Mulgrew is a fine actress. She's doing a great job currently on Warehouse 13 so I definitely think ST:VOY was one of those shows that was worse than the sum of it's parts :). It really shouldn't have gone past season 1. How it lasted seven I'll never know!

johnmryan wrote: »

And I often wonder why people (including the creators of Voyager) think it was such a "breakthrough" that she was a woman. I don't think anybody cared. I certainly didn't: A woman captain? Whoa, how daring, next thing you know they'll have a "negro" onboard. I don't know- bring back the '50's. The problem I had with the show was it's superior tone, the lazy writing (We got 5 mins to finish the show, insert technobabble........ NOW; we got 1 episode to finish the series, disregard entire entire series...... NOW), the bland-yet-somehow-still-annoying characters. I did find Mulgrew's voice pretty annoying, I'll admit, especially as it seemed to get more shrill as the series went on or whenever she was supposed to be giving an important or inspirational monologue. I just don't think she has the presence to pull off the part. It was nothing to do with the fact she was a woman. But she was just one aspect of a truly lazy and poor show. The only good thing to come from it is that Ronald Moore felt the same way (bland characters, get-out-of-jail-free technobabble) and went on to create BSG as a direct antidote to what Trek had become.

Well it was a breakthrough in the sense that they did not have a female captain previously. People did care at the time, the actress herself spoke about this a good few times. I thought Kate played the character very well, but agree that the writing was pretty awful. There was no character development anywhere on the show. The last episode was an insult to the fans, and made watching the whole series pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭lauraww

anyone else enjoying voyager rerun as much as me???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Deep Space 9 was not only the best trek series but one of the best TV shows EVER imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

My personal list:
    TNG = DS9 (tied)
    TOS
    Enterprise
    Some stuff I found under my left big toenail.
    Voyager

Having said that, some Voyager epsiodes were ok ("Year of Hell 1&2", "Message in a Bottle" and "Future's End 1&2" ). The show improved immensely with the arrival of Jeri Ryan, but most of the time, Janeway's whining annoyed the bejaysus out of me.

Yakuza wrote: »
    My personal list:
    TNG = DS9 (tied)
    TOS
    Enterprise
    Some stuff I found under my left big toenail.
    Voyager

Having said that, some Voyager epsiodes were ok ("Year of Hell 1&2", "Message in a Bottle" and "Future's End 1&2" ). The show improved immensely with the arrival of Jeri Ryan, but most of the time, Janeway's whining annoyed the bejaysus out of me.

Was thinking about this the other day and Year of Hell 1&2 really are the only episodes worth mentioning from that entire series as it was the only time there was ever any danger of them not making it back, in fact "that crew" technically didnt make it with janeway sacrificng herself and the ship thus reversing the paradoxes created

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

It's funny that the episodes that we all like here - 'The Year of Hell' - is the one where we saw the Voyager crew in bits, battered and bruised and killed :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

7 of 9 + The Doctor were superb on Voyager. I loved the numerous Borg episodes....the first three seasons were crap, it only got good with the season 3 finale and the emergence of The Doctoras the best character!

VinLieger wrote: »
    Was thinking about this the other day and Year of Hell 1&2 really are the only episodes worth mentioning from that entire series as it was the only time there was ever any danger of them not making it back, in fact "that crew" technically didnt make it with janeway sacrificng herself and the ship thus reversing the paradoxes created

Kurtwood Smith was superb in that two parter, Future's end was great too....but from season 4 the show took off, focusing on the Borg, 7of9 and The Doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,562 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Seven and the Doctor were the best characters and their individual and especially the joint episodes were some of the best. One that stands out was when Seven had to teach the drone that came from the Doctor's emitter.
    Another of my favourites is the one where they send the Doctor to a Starfleet vessel in the Alpha quadrant where he teams up with a younger EMH. Funny stuff.

One of the common complaints about Voyager was that they took a major threat like the borg who Picard and co barely survive and make them recurring villains that are escaped every time.

+ Voyager brought back beloved character Barklay!

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Seven and the Doctor were the best characters and their individual and especially the joint episodes were some of the best. One that stands out was when Seven had to teach the drone that came from the Doctor's emitter.
    Another of my favourites is the one where they send the Doctor to a Starfleet vessel in the Alpha quadrant where he teams up with a younger EMH. Funny stuff.

One of the common complaints about Voyager was that they took a major threat like the borg who Picard and co barely survive and make them recurring villains that are escaped every time.

The Borg were supposed to be invincible, but tbf...Picard and co. did defeat or evade them several times. I think the Borg kids go to school snark is unfair.

It was about exploring being a drone and how they adjust to being pulled from the collective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

1. TOS
    2. Voyager
    3. TNG
    4. Enterprise
    5. DS9

You had a chance at redeeming yourself, and STILL you chose not to!

CastorTroy wrote: »
    "message in a bottle" always loved that episode, to bad they never went with the bashir doc replacement, would have made it a bit better, also "futures end 1+2" i always find enjoyable

yeah i think voyager and DS9 were poor enough for there first 2 or 3 seasons but after that they got much better, DS9 (worf and the defiant arriving, with siskos bald head always indicating the episode i was watching was a bit into the series:D) on a completely different level to voyager, but voyager was still enjoyable, after all, all of us seem to have seen it in its entirety,

damn if i didnt have so many shows on my to watch list id nearly start DS9 again:P,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Goldstein

Timeless
    Latent Image
    Blink of an Eye
    Course: Oblivion
    Nemesis
    Hope and Fear
    The Thaw
    Coda
    The Omega Directive
    Drone
    Messgae in a Bottle
    Relativity
    Living WItness
    Think Tank
    Scorpion
    Counterpoint
    Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy
    ...and that's just for starters

THEN ye can talk.

While I would agree with the position of last (or possibly joint last) relative to the other Trek shows, slating something you haven't spent the time to experience in full blunts your opinion of and exposes your lack of knowledge of same. Every iteration of Trek has its great moments inclduding Voyager, to pretend otherwise is to admit ignorance of the content and often great speculative fiction writing contained therein.

Goldstein wrote: »
    Timeless - Was that the one with Geordie? Not bad but, yeah, Seven dead at the start? last-minute-reset-button, You know it's not going to happen and that there'll be no real impact in the series.

Latent Image - Yeah, pretty good episode. But the Doctor was always the best character (ONLY decent character IMHO). How many of this list are going to be doctor-centric. Let's see.....
    Blink of an Eye - Let's just all worship Voyager.
    Course: Oblivion - Liked this one
    Nemesis - mind programming. Done MUCH better O'Brien's episode in DS9 and better yet in Riker's amazing episode in TNG
    Hope and Fear - The one time Voyager showed the ramifications of it's actions and what? He comes out as twisted and they still come out on the good side. Compare with Pale Moonlight on DS9. Sisko's monologue at the end. Knows he's done wrong, lives with it, says he'd do it again but never said it was the right thing to do.
    The Thaw - TERRIBLE...... AWFUL!!!! Oh GOD how bad was that episode
    Coda - 45 mins of Janeway? Nope.
    The Omega Directive - Not bad. Didn't like the butt-in arrogance typical of Voyager though
    Drone - Pretty good actually
    Messgae in a Bottle - Yeah, another good Doctor episode
    Relativity - BARB (Big Ass Reset Button)
    Living WItness - Pretty good. I liked this one
    Think Tank - AWFUL!!! Predictable and annoying
    Scorpion - Well done episode but this is a prime example of my problem with the series: The whole arrogance of the series was astonishing: "We'll give you a weapon of mass destruction. Let you kill billions just so we can be on our way" That's it! And, as said above, the only ramification of this was one person who lost everything and to later sh@t upon and potrayed as a villian. I know it's only a TV show, don't worry :) But it's just, when watching it, especially episodes like this, it just left a bad taste in my mouth.
    Counterpoint - Not bad.
    Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy - Another Doctor episode. Pretty good..... Pattern?

Now, of course this is just my own opinion and I'm entitled to it just as you are entitled to yours. But I just thought it was the weakest of the Trek series by a country mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,562 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I always remember Chakotay's story about the scorpion.
    I think the Borg kids go to school snark is unfair.

You mean the episode where they find the young drones? How all were their own collective. The older one was more reluctant, but then was able to save Seven in a later episode with his implant. Then Seven met him in the future along with the wee girl, Naomi.

Also I think the blue uniform looked mouch better on Seven than the silver one. :D

I'll admit, the reason I like voyager is more for nostalgia reason. It was probably the first Star Trek reall got to see without part time job or anything getting in the way. Before that, I just got the first 2 seasons of DS9 before I lost track of it. Made up for that last year when it was airing daily on CBS Action when I watched nearly every episode except a couple filler eps.
    Have only seen a couple of TOS and with TNG I would see the odd episode but enough to not have to go back and watched the whole series. Enterprise was one I watched more or less from beginning to end. Picked up in the second season when they had an overall story going on. Didn't like the finale though.

Movie wise, I've seen 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 10 and the reboot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Goldstein wrote: »
    Timeless
    Latent Image
    Blink of an Eye
    Course: Oblivion
    Nemesis
    Hope and Fear
    The Thaw
    Coda
    The Omega Directive
    Drone
    Messgae in a Bottle
    Relativity
    Living WItness
    Think Tank
    Scorpion
    Counterpoint
    Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy
    ...and that's just for starters

THEN ye can talk.

While I would agree with the position of last (or possibly joint last) relative to the other Trek shows, slating something you haven't spent the time to experience in full blunts your opinion of and exposes your lack of knowledge of same. Every iteration of Trek has its great moments inclduding Voyager, to pretend otherwise is to admit ignorance of the content and often great speculative fiction writing contained therein.
    Your post has given me some food for thought. I watched Voyager each week on Sky as it came out over the 90's and early 00's, but probably only saw most of them once, not having caught them on repeats. Some of them may have merited viewing more than once.

I still rate it as the bottom of the pile in the Trek 'verse, though. My overriding memories of the series still involve Janeway pontificating, Chakotay trashing any shuttle he could get his hands on, Paris being a smarmy git, Harry being a spineless worm, but the doctor being a total scene-stealer; he was 100% no doubt my favourite character.

The other series weren't without their flaws; TOS with its over the top cheesiness and ham acting; TNG - most of season 1 was garbage, DS9 didn't find its rhythm until the Dominion came along; Enterprise was hit-and-miss until season 3, and the fact that it was limited to 4 seasons was probably its saving grace, allowing a lot of two-parter episodes that set stuff up for the later series (Data, the Romulan wars and Klingon genetic engineering :)).