Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine line between being a Poser & not

• 26-05-2012 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭wandererz

Driving through Greystones early this morning on one of the sunniest days of the year minding my own business and only a few people out at that time.

As i pass a pedestrian crossing/ traffic light this 20 something woman on a bicycle shouts "poser".

Now, being the sunniest week of the year i have the roof down.

I mean, how does having the roof down on a convertible in the middle of summer count as being a poser? That's what it's meant for.

Perhaps in winter - yes.
    Perhaps if blasting music at the time - yes.

But in 20 something weather?

Probably drives a Nissan Crappy or something and a failure of a partner who also drives something equally crappy.

Rant over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

i think its an over the top reaction for having a roof down jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Nal

who do you think you are having your roof down? make you feel like a big man in your big car? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

wandererz wrote: »
    Driving through Greystones early this morning on one of the sunniest days of the year minding my own business and only a few people out at that time.

As i pass a pedestrian crossing/ traffic light this 20 something woman on a bicycle shouts "poser".

I mean, how does having the roof down on a convertible in the middle of summer count as being a poser? That's what it's meant for.

Perhaps in winter - yes.

Probably drives a Nissan Crappy or something and a failure of a partner who also drives something equally crappy.

Rant over.

Irish begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

You're perfectly entitled to you're rant OP, that would really annoy me. People like that need to spend more time minding their own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

bicycle

I think that's the nub of the issue here.

This lady sees a chap in a convertible (you haven't elaborated on make model etc) and tags him as a poser. It might not have been the car alone either, you could have had the sunglasses, poncy haircut and the pink RL polo on.

You seem to draw conclusions about financial status, career success from what folks drive, tagging her partner as a failure as he drives a crap car.

Both parties seem to be narrow minded morons given the details supplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭wandererz

RoverJames wrote: »
    This lady sees a chap in a convertible (you haven't elaborated on make model etc) and tags him as a poser.

You seem to draw conclusions about financial status, career success from what folks drive, tagging her partner as a failure as he drives a crap car.

Both parties seem to be narrow minded morons given the details supplied.

I did say "probably". And this is a motoring forum i am posting on.
    So not unusual for a motoring fan to draw conclusions. By the way, it's a Volvo.

And i did say "rant".

I guess such begrudgery is commonplace then, just chin-up and accept it and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

They just be hating, also there is nothing wrong with having the roof down in winter either.

Just remember one thing-

Roof R 4 Puffs

So not unusual for a motoring fan to draw conclusions..........

You think it's not unusual for motoring fans to draw conclusions about folks being failures or not due to what they drive?

As said, I reckon she's a moron for her behaviour.

I wouldn't be too sure it was begrudgery though, plenty of cheap convertibles about.

plenty of cheap convertibles about.
    Right you are. But she's probably not to know that though is she.

They just be hating, also there is nothing wrong with having the roof down in winter either.

Just remember one thing-

Roof R 4 Puffs

hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Perhaps in winter - yes.

Rant over.

I bet she was on a fixie bike with some vintage boutique dress!!

Dont mind them OP, I drive a convertible and the roof is seldom up even on the M50, the thing is like a sauna with it up especially on nice days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Cruel Sun

Probably drives a Nissan Crappy

Don't mock the nissan crappy, tis' a fine automobile.poop-car.jpg

............ you could have had the sunglasses, poncy haircut and the pink RL polo on..............

I really think we need more details to see things from the ladies point :pac:

Martin_94 wrote: »
    Don't mock the nissan crappy, tis' a fine automobile.

That's a chevy logo! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

I actually saw a cab today and the fella driving it had his soft top on and I just thought what a waste on a day like this :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Cruel Sun

That's a chevy logo! lol

twas the only picture I could find of a car that looked like a piece of ****:confused:

I really think we need more details to see things from the ladies point :pac:

Thats just it. No sunglasses, no RL. Just some nerdy glasses, T-shirt and jeans. Don't wear logo's.

Must be my fabulously good looks then.

Darn, if i'd known i would get that kind of attention i wouldn't have gotten hitched last year.

I would have just gotten the car and driven around unshaven.

Blast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭crx===

It's fine to have the top down as long as you haven't the mast up ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Hate the haters... I would actually be embarassed to be sat in a convertible in the roof UP in this weather.

Once had someone on a bicycle shout "Poser ! I hope it rains !" at me in Castleknock one day. The stupidity of the statement shocked me into silent mirth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Someone shouted to my sister in law that she was Fat while driving with her roof down. She is not, but your man who shouted it was:confused:

And OP, ya big fecken poser, now I going back to my tin top sweat box, with the AC fecked...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

I wouldn't be too sure it was begrudgery though, plenty of cheap convertibles about.

Bought a C70 convertible a couple of weeks back, and got it at pretty much bargain basement price. Notice a few odd looks in my estate, and have heard second hand about comments like "obviously no recession in that house" and "what did they win to be able to afford that". I reckon there's about 20 cars on my estate and would estimate that about 80% of them are worth more than what I paid for mine. Feck'em though. Its a cheap convertible, with remarkably cheap insurance, and i don't find much difference in fuel consumption between it and my 07, 1.8 petrol Nissan.
    Oh, and if I cut back on the beer by 2 pints a week, that's most of my extra motor tax taken care of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I've not gotten any negative comments yet, it's usually just "nice car"... I was waiting for my gf outside her work last night, she came out and I dropped the roof to head home. A group of kids were nearby and one of them looked shocked and just shouted "The roof's... GONE!" :P

Had some middle-aged lady with a buggy offer to swop me my car for her buggy today, and a truck driver started talking to me at a traffic lights about a hot girl walking by that I was checking out.... they're not be all begrudgers, thankfully! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

Ive done over 500km since Friday, all with the roof down. Fcuk the begrudgers, I am a bit sunburnt tho'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

When the weather's like this I regret not buying a T-Top T/A. :(

OP, maybe she was saying it to you in a flirty type of way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Op, are you skiny? Slim lad?

I drove mx5 with roof off and not a single idiot dared to tell me a thing. I guess it's not easy to comment on a fella 120kg with bushy beard in a small convertible :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Get used to it. Id also drive with it down in the Winter and with music playing loudly.. poser or not, f' random strangers and their begrudging opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

That would make my blood boil. To think someone would actually have the nerve to say that to your face, what a hateful witch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Shakti

maybe it wasn't your car,
    maybe it was the driving gloves and cravat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

off topic,i always wondered why people would even consider buying convertible in Ireland its raining over 300 days a year,last 5 years summers were utter s***e barely reaching 20c with none of the sun,lucky enough if there were two weeks without rain,In spain or above countries 100% yes for convertibles but in ireland no go,and yes theres plenty of cheopos going now as they dont hold value well, especially the soft tops.
    Rant aside the bmers 3 series or kinds like mx5 look amazing when top is down and sun is shining :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

scamalert wrote: »
    off topic,i always wondered why people would even consider buying convertible in Ireland its raining over 300 days a year,last 5 years summers were utter s***e barely reaching 20c with none of the sun,lucky enough if there were two weeks without rain,In spain or above countries 100% yes for convertibles but in ireland no go,and yes theres plenty of cheopos going now as they dont hold value well, especially the soft tops.
    Rant aside the bmers 3 series or kinds like mx5 look amazing when top is down and sun is shining :)

To be fair, it rains I think between 150-200 days a year depending on what part of the country you are in and you don't necessarily need glorious sun to enjoy owning a convertible , driving in autumn/winter with the top down on a brisk morning is pretty fun. Only takes a few seconds to pop the roof up or down anyway if you do encounter some miserable weather :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Shakti wrote: »

Funny, saw a chap driving an E39 5 series outside Trinity today in a t-shirt and black leather driving gloves. :P
    scamalert wrote: »

Modern convertibles are extremely comfortable to drive in pretty much all weather. You can have 5 degree temperatures but the sun shining and the heaters blowing hot air on your neck. Most people who own convertibles will say for the few weeks of the year we get glorious weather, they're worth every penny.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Duiske wrote: »
    Bought a C70 convertible a couple of weeks back, and got it at pretty much bargain basement price. Notice a few odd looks in my estate, and have heard second hand about comments like "obviously no recession in that house" and "what did they win to be able to afford that". I reckon there's about 20 cars on my estate and would estimate that about 80% of them are worth more than what I paid for mine. Feck'em though. Its a cheap convertible, with remarkably cheap insurance, and i don't find much difference in fuel consumption between it and my 07, 1.8 petrol Nissan.
    Oh, and if I cut back on the beer by 2 pints a week, that's most of my extra motor tax taken care of.

It's just complete lack of imagination.
    The average Irish motorist cannot think past the 1,4 Corolla, anything beyond that is "fancy".
    GF drives an MX5, it's just about the most un-fancy car you could possibly buy for the money and costs about the same to run as a Toyota Boring, but people see convertible, they think fancy.
    And they get jealous because they did not have the imagination to spend less on a nicer car and now they're stuck with their brand new sh*t-boring 1.4, n/a, bore-you-to-tears Euro or Jap box, probably with finance and they realise that they bought the wrong car.
    The principle also applies to beer.
    In my local Budweiser and Heineken are King, it's flying over the counter.
    If they try a proper beer they say "Ah jaysus, I wouldn't be drinkin' that muck at all now, jaysus that's strong!"
    The joke is that all the beer is around the 5% mark, but people got so used to beer that tastes like piss or chemical waste that they think that anyone who drinks it for the taste is a poncy poser.
    Mediocrity rules in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Yeah funny you should say that ! Having taken out the merc coupe the weekend I do notice the looks and comments a little more than before. Think begrudgery and austerity go hand in hand ! Didn't stop my enjoyment though and will give another run today :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Don't mind her, OP, I get that all the time - in the car or not :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

what a hateful witch.

Was the monocle over the top you think?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I hope to get back on the rd next yr. Currently interning and cant afford a car. After seeing countless ponces, twats or whatever the haters want to call them over the weekend with their tops down I have decided that come this times next yr I will be one of those twaty ponces driving a convertable. Its may be a 10 yr old 3series and I may not be going through a midlife crisis but they look so worth it for the few days of glorious sunshine we get here!!

Im even going to buy a pair of aviator sunglasses and a silk scarf too!!

And remember op...................the wind in your hair feels better in a convertable than on a bike!!

frAg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Was the monocle over the top you think?:p

Not at all; it goes spiffingly with the gold-topped cane, what, what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭mitchaul

Hold on guys, lets get to the main issues.

Was she good looking?
    What was she wearing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Somebody's channelling Jeremy Clarkson.
    (I realise that lots of you in these here parts would consider that a good thing).

But anyhoo, if you enjoy the car you shouldn't let what other people think wind you up so much. Deep breath, let it out and get on with your life.

Duiske wrote: »

Congrats on the purchase. Good choice.
    It's just complete lack of imagination.
    The average Irish motorist cannot think past the 1,4 Corolla, anything beyond that is "fancy".
    GF drives an MX5, it's just about the most un-fancy car you could possibly buy for the money and costs about the same to run as a Toyota Boring, but people see convertible, they think fancy.
    And they get jealous because they did not have the imagination to spend less on a nicer car and now they're stuck with their brand new sh*t-boring 1.4, n/a, bore-you-to-tears Euro or Jap box, probably with finance and they realise that they bought the wrong car.
    The principle also applies to beer.
    In my local Budweiser and Heineken are King, it's flying over the counter.
    If they try a proper beer they say "Ah jaysus, I wouldn't be drinkin' that muck at all now, jaysus that's strong!"
    The joke is that all the beer is around the 5% mark, but people got so used to beer that tastes like piss or chemical waste that they think that anyone who drinks it for the taste is a poncy poser.
    Mediocrity rules in this country.

Exactly, complete lack of imagination with most people.

Given the choice of purchasing a 12D Nissan Micra for 15K euro or something similar - or something like this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dOwrQxSdcc&feature=related) for under 12K i know what i'd choose.

It seats 4 people comfortably, looks like a regular coupe with the roof up and you can put the top down when the suns out AND no wind/road noise with the roof up.

Strangely enough, i've found that Ireland has some decent bits of sunny days even in Feb. With some sun and the heater on full, one can have a blast of a time through the Wicklow mountains or similar.

65K worth of car, 170-230BHP for under 12K these days? You'd be mad to spend the money on a brand new Nissan Crappy just for the 12D badge.

Somebody's channelling Jeremy Clarkson.
    (I realise that lots of you in these here parts would consider that a good thing).

But anyhoo, if you enjoy the car you shouldn't what other people think wind you up so much. Deep breath, let it out and get on with your life.

I used to share a house with his niece, and i watch too much of that show anyway, perhaps it's rubbed off on me.

And i know i should just get on with life but those very same people would be admiring a decent convertible in spain or elsewhere rather than negatively commenting on it.

It's a bit of a downer really and makes one wonder what the hell is wrong with most folks out there.
    I know it's a recession and all, but we've had our fair share of hardship and redundancies etc in the family as well..

In fact, this recession has made me think a heck of a lot smarter when changing car and even convinced the wife that the best thing is to pay cash for something a few years older rather than financing something new thats worthless once you sign the contract.

Case in point above.

I really think folks are going a bridge too far with the begrudgery angle, some of the yokes mentioned in the thread are no doubt nice cars but to many Joe publics might well appear as escapees of the last scrapage scheme. Also the incident the OP described is fairly isolated, no drop top owners have posted similar experiences. Bit of misinformed murmurings in carlow I think it was aside.

It's just a bit of fun thread on a sunny day methinks. Nothing too serious.
    Never had anything shouted at me whilst in her car and she usually only has good experiences except the odd boyracer wanting to race her, not that an MX5 will give you much in terms of a race.
    But I do notice a bit of a "Jaysus, dat's fierrce fancy altogether" attitude to her car, which really is nothing special whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭barryfitz

I had great craic over the weekend shouting "take your top off" at all the girls in convertibles who hadnt opened the roof. Most of them laughed and then pulled in to open them.....some didnt :D

No cravat unfortunately. However, the hands do get a bit sweaty on the steering wheel with all this sunshine so perhaps some gloves are in order.

Kid gloves i think..from Ferragamo or somewhere.

oops! perhaps i've angered someone else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

Schism wrote: »
    You're perfectly entitled to you're rant OP, that would really annoy me. People like that need to spend more time minding their own business.

the woman who said this is probably (very) nosey and from a low income background.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

I had 2 seater convertibles for 13 years (MGF + 3 Audi TT)
    I loved them and even in Irish weather they can be great fun.
    My rule was 15 degrees celsius is the law - you HAVE to take the top down :D

Need more room now so I'm inside the tin can, but had a few fond rememberings this weekends when I saw all the convertibles with their tops off.
    Maybe some day again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Take it as a complement if you were driving something less desireable she wouldn't have said it anyway nothing wrong with a bit of posing in moderation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I had 2 seater convertibles for 13 years (MGF + 3 Audi TT)
    I loved them and even in Irish weather they can be great fun.
    My rule was 15 degrees celsius is the law - you HAVE to take the top down :D

Need more room now so I'm inside the tin can, but had a few fond rememberings this weekends when I saw all the convertibles with their tops off.
    Maybe some day again!

What happens if it's 16C but pissing with rain; is there some limitation on this law?