Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Affection a Pet Gives....

• 25-05-2012 7:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭

Sounds a bit daft but here goes......

In the last seven years of my life I've been privileged to have had the company of a dog and two cats. This came in the respect of an elderly person's demise and their Will. (:()

The human's have come up short in my opinion. (pound, put down, ya di ya) The pet's have come out with dignity and have given love, companionship and most of all a bond of friendship as far as I can see.

Never ever, please, doubt the love of a pet. My sister has adopted a dog who gives her unconditional love (and, duly, returned) and I have a feral mad cat who gives me unconditional company, love and "looks".....

Just a mad thread that I wanted everyone to know.....I used to be afraid of cats. Family thing. But now I know it's not that scary out there.

Not exactly a thread to kaboom!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Funny, my wife and I were talking about this very subject on the way home in the car 30mins ago.
    We've had two of our three cats since they were kittens and the amount of affection they show us is ridiculous.
    The third was a stray who adopted us and, even though she's still fairly skittish and won't allow us pick her up and let's us pet her on her terms, she can be incredibly affectionate in her own little peculiar ways - the funniest being when she sits looking at us and makes little chirping noises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

Sounds a bit daft

not even one little bit :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I met a guy & his three dogs in the park the other day & he said that any one if then had shown him more love & affection than his wife and three kids did in a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

not even one little bit :cool:

Ah thanks so much...never was brought up with cats and over a long time got a lot of stick....anti-cat.....my sister took the dog (papers, vac's,) and I took the poor mouse catcher......she just is the most adorable slob.....hope it might make some people who need a hug or "that look" just go into a pound......:)

Not doing this for any alternative reason......:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Dogs by their nature are loyal and affectionate and I them like for that.
    Cats are more individualistic. They do range from the totally self-absorbed to as the OP wrote full of "companionship".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭thrilledskinny

[QUOTE hope it might make some people who need a hug or "that look" just go into a pound......:)
    ...:)[/QUOTE]

What a lovely thing to say and a lovely way to say it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I grew up with pets (loads!) and it's the one thing I really missed moving up to Dublin. Now I have myself a little hamster and although you'd think they're not the type of pet to give affection, they so are. Any pet can do that, I think. Just a word for anyone out there who might feel a bit daunted by the commitment to a dog or cat- it is a big commitment to any pet, obviously, but having my hamster around has done wonders for my own mental health. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Oh, I'd agree with this.

Lived alone for many years with two cats for company. One was very affectionate, and loved cuddles. The other? Well, let's just say he was a very individual cat who had his little quirks. But he always knew when I needed company, and he would sit with me for hours. I can remember studying for my PM exams. I would sit with the books and notepaper and the cat would sit right beside me. It was almost as though he was making sure I studied! :D

Sadly, both have now gone to Rainbow Bridge. But I have a Shih Tzu who at the moment is snoozing contentedly on the sofa watching me type. Occasionally, he'll let out a big sigh of (what I hope is) contentment.

I think people who don't have animals are a little strange anyway! :D I wouldn't be without my animals...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

My boyfriend and I call our dog "the lifesaving dog."
    When we found him I was in a dark place battling depression. Things just seemed to be getting worse and worse each day and try as I could, I couldn't win. I was living alone and finding myself hopelessly lonely and uninterested in maintaining relationships with anyone.

One day himself was minding his sisters dog and we brought him for a walk in the park. While there we saw a tiny puppy running around. We watched him for a while trying to see who owned him. Then he ran straight out of the park, onto the road, causing a car to skid and nearly hit him. The annoyed passenger got out, yelled into the park "Anyone on this f**king dog??" when no one answered he threw the puppy full force over the high pointed fence back into the park.

I bolted over to the little thing, thinking he could have broken his back. Thankfully he was grand. So I told the OH I was bringing him back to mine to report him as found and give him some food and water (he was in bits, looked like he was sleeping rough for a while).

After putting up ads online, contacting gardai etc the vet confirmed he was most likely a dog from the local halting site. They continuously got escaped dogs from there, no one ever claims the poor things. He also confirmed the pup had serious damage done to his tail by a bad docking and probably hadn't had a full meal in his life.
    At that point I said to the OH "I want to give this dog a happier life" and we decided to keep him.

"Manny" got me out walking every morning, got me out socializing (with people on walks, in puppy parks etc) and changed my life completely. The loneliness was suddenly gone cause I had someone in the house to speak to at all times. We developed an amazing strong bond, I swear he knows me better than my family. He brought me back from a dark place, got me laughing again and I fully credit the love of my little puppy for saving my life.

As of tomorrow, the 26th of May, it will have been 1 year since he found me. My little guardian angel of a dog. Never ever underestimate the love a dog can give, it's more powerful and pure than any other love in this world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Got Blossom over 2 years now. She's an older girl, from a rescue. I've had a particularly tough year of it between closing my business and splitting with my partner, but through it all Blossy's been a little treasure. All she wants is little walk in the morning, a half decent walk at night and in return I get endless affection, company, and a watcher over my house. Dogs pretty much rock. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭paultf

bubblefett wrote: »
    As of tomorrow, the 26th of May, it will have been 1 year since he found me. My little guardian angel of a dog. Never ever underestimate the love a dog can give, it's more powerful and pure than any other love in this world

Wow! Great story! Makes me appreciate my dogs even more.

Ah this is great to read....Bringing the (kids - my daughter's name for the kittys) cat's west this weekend so they can go out but they don't stray far anyway.....

Hugs to all the dog and cat lovers out there......we all need them! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭MsQuinn

Have my 2 rescue cats 5 years now. I can't imagine not having them. They are so different in their personalities but each brings so much joy.

Girl is a gentle soul who loves nothing more than snuggling up in the towels in the hot press in the evening and just happy in her own company. When she is content her purrs are so loud it's scary.

Boy is a fiesty buck who does be stuck to my lap 24/7. He just craves (and gets) hugs and kisses on demand. He winges if he cannot get to sit where he wants - usually where a human will pet him to death. Try to pick him up though and it's another story - I have the scars to prove it.

They always end up congregating at the bottom of our bed at some stage in the night. Only time when the seem to tolerate each other even though they are litter mates and have never (except for vet visits) been apart from each other since they were kittens.

Cats are aloof with strangers but you will only understand them when you own one.

The affection they give is just soooooo worth it.

I never understood a cat until I had one.....They pick you.....end of story....

Mad stuff but so endearing when you are picked.. you feel like you are the "chosen" one.... if that makes sense?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭downwithpeace

I adore cats, all animals really, my grandads (Both now dead) had dogs for the typical country side needs but both ended up with a cat following them around.

It's amazing on both sides, human and animal, the potential for showing love.

I adore cats, all animals really, my grandads (Both now dead) had dogs for the typical country side needs but both ended up with a cat following them around.

It's amazing on both sides, human and animal, the potential for showing love.

I can identify with your comment...we have the ultimate "stalker" cat.....insisted on following her owner and he just couldn't not love her despite his prostrations of not liking cats....I think sometimes it's perceived for a man not to love a cat but honestly......they do really!;)

ps....I love your last comment!

I think sometimes it's perceived for a man not to love a cat but honestly......they do really!;)

I think it's only those who've never had a cat that don't, any man that's had a cat knows the shared love of seeing those ears level out while scratching the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

When people stroke a dog or cat our brains release oxytocin. That's the bonding hormone that we release during sex, during and immediately after childbirth and during breastfeeding, or when being breastfed as infants. It's known as the bonding hormone and is a major part in helping us love our partners and children. So when we stroke our pet we feel a very similar love to that of a mother feeding her infant. I don't know about cats but studies have shown in the last few years that dogs also release this hormone when being stroked so they are feeling a very similar bond to us that we feel to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

bubblefett wrote: »

This brought a tear to my eye. Well done you, and well done to your lifesaving dog :)

iguana wrote: »
    When people stroke a dog or cat our brains release oxytocin. That's the bonding hormone that we release during sex, during and immediately after childbirth and during breastfeeding, or when being breastfed as infants. It's known as the bonding hormone and is a major part in helping us love our partners and children. So when we stroke our pet we feel a very similar love to that of a mother feeding her infant. I don't know about cats but studies have shown in the last few years that dogs also release this hormone when being stroked so they are feeling a very similar bond to us that we feel to them.

I've seen bits on the news about nursing homes having a cat for the residents to interact with, such positive interaction between the two wasn't lost on the staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭planetX

It's a strange thing with humans and pets - I've got a mother cat who was the best mother ever, she and the 2 kittens I kept adored each other and were never apart. Now the kittens are nearly a year old and lately the bonds between them seem to be breaking down a bit, and all of them are turning more and more to me for affection and attention. There's something about the relationship with a human that is more attractive to them than each other. Though the mother cat adores the dog, and would rather be around him than any of the other cats. Weird interspecies politics.

All the pets have brought so much into my life, and ask for so little in return.... especially the cats, dog is going thru a difficult adolescence but he's my best buddy.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭angeline

I live on my own and have a rescue cat. She is the most affectionate animal I have ever had the pleasure of owning. She makes my house a home and I can truly say I would be lost without her company. Some people who don't know cats think they are selfish but that is so untrue. The bond between your cat and you and is so unique and special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

This is a nice thread :)

My dog Buffy is so affectionate too, she runs out to greet the car coming down the driveway, she invites herself into the kitchen :D What touched me the most though is that she knows when you're upset. A few times I've been down and had a wee cry on the step and she just comes over and sits with you. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

I never understood a cat until I had one.....They pick you.....end of story....

Mad stuff but so endearing when you are picked.. you feel like you are the "chosen" one.... if that makes sense?...

I always tell people I was owned by my cats. They treated me as the hired help!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭emuhead

Our family dog was put down a couple of weeks ago and I am shocked at how much it is like losing a person and how upset I've been :( He was always very calming and affectionate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭MsQuinn

This is a nice thread :)

My dog Buffy is so affectionate too, she runs out to greet the car coming down the driveway, she invites herself into the kitchen :D What touched me the most though is that she knows when you're upset. A few times I've been down and had a wee cry on the step and she just comes over and sits with you. :)

I know I've posted already but this post just reminded me of my cat I had when I was a teenager. He was always waiting for me at the gate of my house when I came home from school.

The routine was to lift him up and bring him into the house for about 10 mins - that's all my mother would allow him in for before dinner time. He would be put out again until dinner was over and I was allowed to bring him back into the house (kitchen only as my ma hated cats).

I never followed the soaps etc. in the late 80's as I spent all my time in the kitchen playing with the cat. Usually lying on the floor with the cat on top of me - I know........ but I have great memories of that cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

My 13 year old black lab died 4-5 weeks ago and he is still the last thing i think about every night before i go to sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

I had a bad day today and my dog made me really LoL at least 5 times.
    I was training her to beg last night.....it didn't go well but today I came in from
    trying to unblock the drains(yes loads of sh1t) and she sat there in the beg pose looking for a treat.:)

My dog is young but pulls up a front paw on the side facing me to kind of ask WTF when she is not sure what is going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Aww this thread has me all weepy! :o

It is amazing though, the affection an animal can give. I've had 3 or 4 dogs growing up and I can say that the younger one we have now (we have 2) is the most affectionate dog I've ever seen. He just wants to be with you. Even if you walk outside for a couple of minutes he'll follow you up and just stand there wiggling his little tail. He's a 5 year old German Shorthaired Pointer and unfortunately his tail was docked before we got him. Sometimes he wanders inside, jumps up on the couch beside whoever is there and puts his head on their lap. He's happy enough just to sit there. :D

One time we had an English Pointer who was fiercely protective of me. I do remember one day I was out in the back garden and 2 strays appeared at the back gate and started barking so the dog used his nose to push me to the back door away from the 2 strays at the gate. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

I've seen bits on the news about nursing homes having a cat for the residents to interact with, such positive interaction between the two wasn't lost on the staff.

In the couple of years before my grandmother died, she wasn't always in the best of form. But you could always distract her or cheer her up a bit by talking to her about the dogs in the house or by telling one of them to sit on the chair with her. She was 99 years old when we got the pups and I'd ask her to keep an eye on them while I was in the kitchen. Nothing major, but it made her feel included and meant that if one of them disappeared somewhere they shouldn't, she'd let out a shout to me.

When we realised that Rosie, our rescue dog, was pregnant after we got her, it was a big scary deal. But having those six pups meant that my grandmother had little creatures to be rubbing and if she got cranky, I'd talk to her about how cute they were and she'd agree and she'd get a little less cranky.

Only for Rosie and the two pups we kept, Meg & Jack, it would have been a lot difficult to care for my grandmother. Never underestimate the effect a pet can have on an elderly person and never underestimate the effect an elderly person can have on a pup. My grandmother wasn't very mobile but she helped them get used to being handled, being grabbed at and on the couple of occasions where she nearly sat on them. She used to grab them to give them kisses and they were happy to receive and give them. She loved them and they loved her and Jack would wait outside her room most mornings until we went in to get her up for the day.

We were lucky in that she took to her bed the week before she died so she was at home in her own bed when she passed, so we were able to be with her and the dogs were lying on the bed beside her too. It felt fitting for them to be there too at the end, y'know?

Just got a whole lot of purr's there and a big turn over for the scratch (as usual)...

I was missing my daughter (working away for the summer) but I feel so much better now!......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭K.C

My girlfriend always wanted to get a dog. I had no real interest but as she wanted one we decided to go for it. So after a lot of research we settled on a golden cocker spaniel. To be honest I was still on the fence. When she turned up with Honey I was completely hooked. She is the most amazing dog, 2 yrs old now. So affectionate, always happy to see you and just a great friend. She's now curled up beside me.

I never thought I'd feel this way about a dog but if anyone reads this who are not sure about getting a pet, just go for it. You'll be surprised how much companionship you get from them.

I love this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭_Lady_

.hope it might make some people who need a hug or "that look".:)

Awesome folks!!!

You gotta love "the look" :) I usually get daggers if I wake up my furry fella but it's then followed by a wobbly sleepy walk over towards me, followed by a good head butt and a bit of a lick before he turns his arse to me again and slumps in on top of me in the couch for another snooze and a good cuddle ... It's the sleepy slobbery look of love!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

I don't know about other pets but dogs seem to even like people the treat them bad.
    I think with dogs you get way more back than the effort it takes to just do the basics like food/walking and a bit of training.
    I find a dog is most happy when the owner is happy.....so the dog tries to make you happy.
    Then again I am happy when my dog is happy.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭pushki

Fantastic thread!
    I have grown up with animals all my life and couldn't imagine my life without them. Definitely agree with one poster that says that cats "choose you" we have 5 cats at the moment and even though i love them all there is one that is the most affectionate with me. One cat doesn't really like me (ie. Jump up to my windowsill ) but adores my brother!!

I have 4 dogs and i swear just seeing them wagging their tails to see me after work just makes the day seem more bearable.

I have the utmost respect for animals of any type and i truly believe they can be life savers. They have been for me. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Every now & then my dog won't sit or settle; and will hop up & down off the couch or stare at you in the armchair until you come & sit with her on the couch. Then she will worm her way until her ear is over your heart & she can hear it beating; and she will give a big long happy sigh; and go to sleep there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

LucyBliss wrote: »
    We were lucky in that she took to her bed the week before she died so she was at home in her own bed when she passed, so we were able to be with her and the dogs were lying on the bed beside her too. It felt fitting for them to be there too at the end, y'know?

Aww LucyBliss i remember you posting about her last year and i absolutely fell in love with the photo you posted. I hope you dont mind me linking it. It melted my heart. Pic was from this thread and your pic is bottom left ;)

mycollage9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

anniehoo wrote: »
    Aww LucyBliss i remember you posting about her last year and i absolutely fell in love with the photo you posted. I hope you dont mind me linking it. It melted my heart. Pic was from this thread and your pic is bottom left ;)

mycollage9.jpg

Oh that reminds me of the virtual pet show, is it too soon to have another one?? :p

For me my pets make a world of a difference to my life, I really couldn't live without them. When I'm feeling crappy there's always the cat to cuddle, a few purrs and nudges can really lift your spirits, or a fool of a dog to laugh at (he's not really a cuddle monster). When I'm angry and just pissed off at everyone I can just bring the dog out for a walk in the fresh air and it calms me right down. They give me structure, purpose to life and a routine to follow.

Maybe others wouldn't appreciate it but being woken by a purring cat licking my face, eating my hair or nudging me to lift up the covers to crawl in is a nice start to the day! :D Then there's the unconditional love and affection and the indifference to pretty much everything, they don't care what you look like, who you are, how much money you have (or don't have), how you dress or any of the other silly things us humans judge each other on.

If there were no pets in the world it really would be a sad, lonely place. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

anniehoo, I don't mind at all. That's so sweet of you to remember. Thank you.
    They give me structure, purpose to life and a routine to follow.

Maybe others wouldn't appreciate it but being woken by a purring cat licking my face, eating my hair or nudging me to lift up the covers to crawl in is a nice start to the day! Then there's the unconditional love and affection and the indifference to pretty much everything, they don't care what you look like, who you are, how much money you have (or don't have), how you dress or any of the other silly things us humans judge each other on.

If there were no pets in the world it really would be a sad, lonely place.

I completely agree. I got those dogs about six months after having major surgery and I know for a fact that my recovery was quickened by the fact that I had no real time to be worrying about myself when they had to be minded and trained. Not to mention the fact that I was being showered by this unconditional love and affection and them not caring that I now had an illeostomy. They did more for me than any medication ever could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Cats are great indeed, mine follows me every step, sleeps in the bed with me, either in my arms or on the pillow, with his head next to mine.

Have to keep him in for a few more days, since we moved house, seems he doesn't mind, as long as I'm at home.

he ran back to the old house already, on the third day, a neighbor spotted him around the house, I went over and he came flying towards me, crying like a baby. I guess, he adores me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

K.C wrote: »
    My girlfriend always wanted to get a dog. I had no real interest but as she wanted one we decided to go for it. So after a lot of research we settled on a golden cocker spaniel. To be honest I was still on the fence. When she turned up with Honey I was completely hooked. She is the most amazing dog, 2 yrs old now. So affectionate, always happy to see you and just a great friend. She's now curled up beside me.

I never thought I'd feel this way about a dog but if anyone reads this who are not sure about getting a pet, just go for it. You'll be surprised how much companionship you get from them.

I love this thread!

Such a similar scenario. My girlfriend at the time (now fiancee) wanted to get a cat but i really didn't. But like most things in life women win out and we got Isabel.

She is the best cat in the world, follows your everystep around the house when your outside and loves playing fetch with balls/straw.

She wont go near our bed till it's dressed and then s soon as your finished dressing it she will happily get an hours sleep.

She is fascinated by the washing machine and will following the spin around with her paws.

When the OH isusing he latop at night Issy will climb up and get between her and the laptop.

She knows when your about to give out to her and when she has been bold.

Really glad I gave in 4 years ago :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

I Had my Tilly a year and a half when he ran away- and never came back. I cried like a little baby, that cat was like my child and my husband and i were heartbroken. Declared id never get another cat again!

A year and a half later we adopted Fudge- and i cried the 1st night we had him as i felt guilty- like i was replacing Tilly. But 6 months on the little bugger has made us very happy- hes spoilt rotten though. And he does the weirdest things. He likes to make a tunnel out of our bedcovers- id have the bed freshly made and he would pull at the covers and make a little cave- then pop his little head out when you came into the room:D

When im lying on the couch and he comes over and climbs onto me and falls asleep across my chest he makes the cutest little purrs:)

I've had dogs before and have always adored them to be honest with you so I can relate 150% to this thread and all the posts in it.

My last dog was 19 years old and died in my dads arms naturally, absolutely heartbreaking to say the least. Locked myself in a room for 3 days and didn't do anything!

Told myself I'd never get another dog as the pain is just too much when they go!

Fast forward a couple of years and I just had to get another dog (which I knew I always would!) My dog is an Akita (10 months old, got him from a breeder in the UK) and they're not really known to be overly affectionate dogs but this guy would be lost without myself or my girlfriend as he just relies on us both so much and literally would do anything for either of us. It's endearing to see such a strong, proud breed literally be so lost without you, challenging dogs but incredible companions, like all dogs really.

I know Cesar Millan has his haters out there but I received a copy of his first book and there's an excellent chapter in it dedicated to dogs and the life cycle, and what they live for, and how it's always in the present. Basically, dogs help humans deal with life and death and we as humans can learn from dogs how to deal with life and death...better !

It's the same for all animals though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

We have 4 guinea pigs, and although you cant really put them in the same category as a dog or a cat, they are still more than capable of showing affection.

Its so lovely when you have them out on your knee and they lick your fingers. Or they stretch out, give a big yawn and get comfy and fall asleep. Or their welcoming squeaks at dinner time.

I love all of my little fat fur babies and will be pretty mortified when they pass on.

We have 4 guinea pigs, and although you cant really put them in the same category as a dog or a cat, they are still more than capable of showing affection.

Its so lovely when you have them out on your knee and they lick your fingers. Or they stretch out, give a big yawn and get comfy and fall asleep. Or their welcoming squeaks at dinner time.

I love all of my little fat fur babies and will be pretty mortified when they pass on.

Oh, sounds so lovely, my daughter would love a guinea pig.....But with the cats not such a good idea.....I love the thought of the little squeaks....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭suzzi

Getting loads of company from my cat at the moment - I'm home on my own and everywhere I go she sits beside me even watching tv with her paw on my lap. :)....Good not to feel so alone.