Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society Outing Palmerstown House 30th June 2012

• 25-05-2012 8:02am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭

AS last time, getting this out early to give everyone a chance to play. All info for this event will be posted on this thread.
    Teamer text to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Right I shall get the ball rolling on this one ! Count me in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Dufflecoatsunri

You can put me down for this too. Cheers.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

5 days after i get home from holidays....i should be there!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

hey charlie..count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

Great day in Naas and really looking forward to this one now as well ! Will need plenty of practice between now and then !

ryaner777 wrote: »
    Great day in Naas and really looking forward to this one now as well ! Will need plenty of practice between now and then !

as long as you enjoy it dude - its all that matters!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Lads just a quick heads up on this :

Hearing bad reports back on the course from a few different sources and Im going to be sounding out a new venue tomorrow, it will be 5 minutes up the road , exit 6 instead of exit 8 , Castlewarden .

At the moment Im hearing the bunkers are threadbare , the greens are not great , there is no pro shop , no shop , no where to have a bite to eat of give out prizes and the fairways are rough enough too, a security guard taking the green fees.

My apologies is we do have to move venue but €40 for the round without prize money included I would be expecting all of the above to be near perfect.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Cheers Pete, better to find out that it's not up to scratch now rather than on the day and it being a let down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭kkelliher

that will be NAMA's contribution to the course........

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Hi Peter

There are no issues here with the golf course, the fairways & greens are in super condition. The bunkers are a little hard at present but this is due to the recent heavy rain. I can assure you the green-keepers are doing all they can to maintain them to the highest possible standards.

Just for your own peace of mind, we had over 200 golfers play the course over the weekend & all we received was praise for the course condition & also the excellent value.

The Pro-shop & locker rooms are open. At present we do not have food & beverage facilities on site; I do however have an arrangement with the Johnstown Inn to cater for all of your food requirements if necessary

There is a coffee machine in the pro-shop & I should also have sandwiches available by that date

Kind regards,

Graham Byrne
    PGA Professional

Sounds good

I would sacrifice food on sight for a quality golf course which this was at one stage !!
    We can always arrange to go back to local boozer for food afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Playing there Saturday 16th June, will let you know my thoughts afterwards, although that might be too late for ye to arrange an alternative venue.

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Sounds good

I would sacrifice food on sight for a quality golf course which this was at one stage !!
    We can always arrange to go back to local boozer for food afterwards.

Same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Lads just a quick heads up on this :

Hearing bad reports back on the course from a few different sources and Im going to be sounding out a new venue tomorrow, it will be 5 minutes up the road , exit 6 instead of exit 8 , Castlewarden .

At the moment Im hearing the bunkers are threadbare , the greens are not great , there is no pro shop , no shop , no where to have a bite to eat of give out prizes and the fairways are rough enough too, a security guard taking the green fees.

My apologies is we do have to move venue but €40 for the round without prize money included I would be expecting all of the above to be near perfect.

Cheers

Howrya Pete
    I have played Palmerston house 3-4 times this year the last time being 2 weeks ago and it was in decent knick. The one issue I had with it was that not all pitch marks were being repaired which annoys the sh@t out of me. The bunkers were not great either but that was after a monsoon so can excuse that.
    I would have no problem paying 40e to play here on a saturday, good value in my book for a cracking course that is way more interesting and challenging to play than anything in the neighbourhood. We paid 40e for Dundrum and tbh in my opinion it wouldn't be a patch on Palmerston.
    Once the greens are in decent knick I would say its a no brainer.

Just to clarify, the pro shop was always open, have always paid there and not paid a security guard:confused: the fairways were always in good knick and there is no restaurant open but that is something we can probably live without.

If you want to get out for a game there one evening, we can check it out.

scubapro wrote: »
    Howrya Pete
    I have played Palmerston house 3-4 times this year the last time being 2 weeks ago and it was in decent knick. The one issue I had with it was that not all pitch marks were being repaired which annoys the sh@t out of me. The bunkers were not great either but that was after a monsoon so can excuse that.
    I would have no problem paying 40e to play here on a saturday, good value in my book for a cracking course that is way more interesting and challenging to play than anything in the neighbourhood. We paid 40e for Dundrum and tbh in my opinion it wouldn't be a patch on Palmerston.
    Once the greens are in decent knick I would say its a no brainer.

Just to clarify, the pro shop was always open, have always paid there and not paid a security guard:confused: the fairways were always in good knick and there is no restaurant open but that is something we can probably live without.

If you want to get out for a game there one evening, we can check it out.

Sounds good ,

I got onto the pro and he mailed me back I posted his reply a few posts ago , really looking forward to playing it again now .

Would love to get for a round on it some evening but Id be bloody slated after I played the open in Naas the night before :pac::pac::pac:

Sounds good ,

I got onto the pro and he mailed me back I posted his reply a few posts ago , really looking forward to playing it again now .

Would love to get for a round on it some evening but Id be bloody slated after I played the open in Naas the night before :pac::pac::pac:

Haha all in the name of research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Can't make this but a suggestion regarding the bunkers and their solid state. If they are indeed concrete like on the day and haven't been aerated or deep raked in a few days I'd suggest playing rake and place in the bunkers on the day. I've done this in society outings in the past and the rake and place works well and is a fair solution.
    Once the greens, fairways and tee boxes are in good condition it's worth playing Palmerstown House especially for people who haven't played the place before and it's quite the challenge.

Sounds good ,

agh jaysus get a stiffer neck will ya:D
    ye might even persuade me to play also but dont tell anyone :eek:

Can't make this but a suggestion regarding the bunkers and their solid state. If they are indeed concrete like on the day and haven't been aerated or deep raked in a few days I'd suggest playing rake and place in the bunkers on the day. I've done this in society outings in the past and the rake and place works well and is a fair solution.
    Once the greens, fairways and tee boxes are in good condition it's worth playing Palmerstown House especially for people who haven't played the place before and it's quite the challenge.

Hopefully the bunkers will be playable because god knows alot of boardies are gonna find them selves in the sand at some stage:D
    Have to agree that it is a challenging course with lots of water and very well protected greens and it is long, even off the society tees. I think the four par 5's are indexes 1-4:D cracking holes.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Hopefully the bunkers will be playable because god knows alot of boardies are gonna find them selves in the sand at some stage:D
    Have to agree that it is a challenging course with lots of water and very well protected greens and it is long, even off the society tees. I think the four par 5's are indexes 1-4:D cracking holes.
    You just have to accelerate to get out of them!!! :pac:

Haha very funny:D doesn't always work though:D

Haha all in the name of research.

For the good of the cause !

Of course, just imagine if the boardies turned up to play and they had to pay a bouncer or won't be getting in.

You would be lynched:D

Of course, just imagine if the boardies turned up to play and they had to pay a bouncer or won't be getting in.

You would be lynched:D

There a fussy lot , Il email the shop pro in the morning to see what price he can do me a few green fees for ,

Although , I got an email last friday for the Saturday morning teeing off between 7-8 AM for €23 a player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Lads, great to see that you got this off and running.

Was a regular on here a year ago and a it was just getting started, super stuff from all involved.

Can I jump on the bandwagon? Would love to attend

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Lads, great to see that you got this off and running.

Was a regular on here a year ago and a it was just getting started, super stuff from all involved.

Can I jump on the bandwagon? Would love to attend

the more the merrier, can you pm pistolpetes your email address and mobile number and he will add you.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

While we always welcome new people and continue to I would ask that you have a little think about if you actually going to attend more than just 1 outing. I totally understand everybody have families, other plans etc but we must have 60 people signed up on teamer and at least 20 people never respond to the text. (Pete might correct me on this)

For this society to grow we need at least 40 members, so that for most outings we are getting 26-30 people and this will help us get good deals and keep prices down.

While we always welcome new people and continue to I would ask that you have a little think about if you actually going to attend more than just 1 outing. I totally understand everybody have families, other plans etc but we must have 60 people signed up on teamer and at least 20 people never respond to the text. (Pete might correct me on this)

For this society to grow we need at least 40 members, so that for most outings we are getting 26-30 people and this will help us get good deals and keep prices down.

10 non replies and 3 no shows on the day :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

10 non replies and 3 no shows on the day :mad:

Just a suggestion but if it were me the no shows shouldn't be invited again, it may have been an unforeseeable problem but the no show or text to say they couldn't come is bad form. The non replies may either not understand the text or simply not be interested in the society. Spend your time on those wanting to play and knock those not interested to touch.

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    Just a suggestion but if it were me the no shows shouldn't be invited again, it may have been an unforeseeable problem but the no show or text to say they couldn't come is bad form. The non replies may either not understand the text or simply not be interested in the society. Spend your time on those wanting to play and knock those not interested to touch.

The 3 lads who were non shows will be getting word from us to let them know its not on .

Going forward when we post up some stuff about the Handicaps we will put out a few rules to do with no shows,

A lot of time and effort goes into setting up the time sheet and one no show can really feck things up , never mind 3 !

L.O.F.T wrote: »

Sometimes something may come up the night before / morning of the even hence a no show so I wouldn't be too hard on them. Maybe they didn't have any of our numbers to text to day they couldn't make it??

If the non replies are consistent then I would give them one more chance then move them to a reserve list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭dak

If you have problems with Teamer and numbers an alternative might be a site called societygolfing www. societygolfing.co.uk. We use it for our society.

Its Free, easy to use and allows you to put events up on line so that members can log in and register that they are attending or not as the case might be.

It also can cope with handicaps, player of the year, starting sheets, you can upload pictures of events, results, society rules etc etc.

If you want to see the feel and look of it pm me and I will give you the user name and password to access our society website.

Regards

Dak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

As a suggestion only lads but if ye picked up a cheapo SIM card and posted up the number here for late no-shows and the likes.

I'm not able to access the Teamer site as I ballsed up registration can ye count me in for Palmerstown?

BTW - Pete, iI haven't replied to the teamer just yet - want to make sure 100% that I will be there!

Just had a look at the course guide on their website, looks like a cracking track, I'll be bringing an extra ball or two :)

Link to Course Guide
    http://assets.visrez.com/sites/palmerstown/en/Upload/PGA_National_Ireland_course_guide.pdf

Anybody manage to find Palmerstown House on a Skycaddie GPS? Can't find it anywhere. Does it go under any other name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sector

Used to be called PGA National.

sector wrote: »

cheers, will check that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I have to say I'd be interested in tagging along for this one if its possible. I'd like to get around and try more courses.

Having a club membership I don't see myself playing in the society at every opportunity, but it looks like you guys just typically do once a month or so? To get around and play a variety of courses and have a bit of the lols, it looks a good thing to get invovled in!

And looking at the dates previous, it always seemed to be weekends which is perfect.

I've fired of a PM of to pistolpetes there

TheDoc wrote: »
    I have to say I'd be interested in tagging along for this one if its possible. I'd like to get around and try more courses.

Having a club membership I don't see myself playing in the society at every opportunity, but it looks like you guys just typically do once a month or so? To get around and play a variety of courses and have a bit of the lols, it looks a good thing to get invovled in!

And looking at the dates previous, it always seemed to be weekends which is perfect.

I've fired of a PM of to pistolpetes there

I never received the PM , but I will add you on when I get it .

sector wrote: »

Got it, thanks a mill for that. Roll on Palmerstown!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

Hi lads,

I know there is a touch of deja vu about this but, if possible, can I please go out in one of the first groups. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Would love to stick my name down for this but unfortunately it clashes with our captains prize...

I actually played it today and its a serious test. TBH, it was not exactly pristine & the bunkers were particularly poor. However, it is a class course, very long but quite open off the tee. I would advise folks to play it while they can because I can't see it surviving much longer...

Just so everyone has a chance we are leaving this opened until Wednesday 27th. After that you will be put on a waiting list. Thanks

Lads,

Sorry if these Q's have been answered, had a quick look through thread and couldn't see.

What time is first tee off?
    There seems to have been hassle with time-sheets in the past, do we just tee off as we arrive/are ready?

Cheers

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Lads,

Sorry if these Q's have been answered, had a quick look through thread and couldn't see.

What time is first tee off?
    There seems to have been hassle with time-sheets in the past, do we just tee off as we arrive/are ready?

Cheers

With nearly 40 players there will be a time sheet ,

First tee off will be 11AM,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Signed up as attending

When does the trash talk start?

TheDoc wrote: »
    Signed up as attending

When does the trash talk start?

Keano is prob still working but dont worry Im sure he will be along soon :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Hi Lads,

Can make this one if i can get out as early as possible, latest 11.30.

That possible pete?

I've replied as attending there for the moment anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

If I could jump on the early bandwagon as well it'd be greatly appreciated lads.

Either way I'll be there but it would save some hassle if I could get one early.

Cheers