Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Midweek: Thats Ireland's taxi controversy. 10pm tonight TV3

• 23-05-2012 4:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭

quote from todays paper regarding the show tonight.
    "taxi drivers in recent times have seen accusations of racism levelled against the dublin taxi business. but just how true are these allegations"
    while there maybe some element of racism in the industry i think the racism card is being played way to often and it's becoming a broken record. so what if drivers have green lights on their taxi's. there is absolutely nothing to stop foreign nationals putting a green light on their taxi either. there isn't a day goes by without the racism card being played. i think it's about time this was stamped out. if someone has a genuine complaint about racism fair enough but it's getting more and more common like the boy who cried wolf a thousand times over.i just hope to god these allegations are unfounded and see who is actually being the real racist. still though it should make for interesting viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

quote from todays paper regarding the show tonight.
    "taxi drivers in recent times have seen accusations of racism levelled against the dublin taxi business. but just how true are these allegations"
    while there maybe some element of racism in the industry i think the racism card is being played way to often and it's becoming a broken record. so what if drivers have green lights on their taxi's. there is absolutely nothing to stop foreign nationals putting a green light on their taxi either. there isn't a day goes by without the racism card being played. i think it's about time this was stamped out. if someone has a genuine complaint about racism fair enough but it's getting more and more common like the boy who cried wolf a thousand times over.i just hope to god these allegations are unfounded and see who is actually being the real racist. still though it should make for interesting viewing.

1 - It's against the rules for taxi signage
    2 - when the only people with these lights tend to have "Irish Taxi Driver" on the back of the car, well 1+1 = 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭LeftBlank

Saw a taxi today that had the wing mirrors covered in the tricolour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭doubletrouble?

firstly i'm not jumping to their defence in fact i'm be the last person to do so. i dont get taxi's full stop. it's not regulated enough. but in saying that
    2 - when the only people with these lights tend to have "Irish Taxi Driver" on the back of the car, well 1+1 = 2.
    you go to most european countries and alot of taxi's have that green light, a perfect example is spain. does that mean they're irish or being racist?
    LeftBlank wrote: »
    again going back to my regulation point. these taxi's are also private cars.
    i haven't started watching the program yet. but i am fearful of where this racist card is going to lead. the taxi business is only one form of employment with alot of F.N.'s. we've got the euro's coming up. is the racist card going to be played so much that if we keep accepting it and the do-gooders scream loud enough that eventually the irish flag/ irish colours will be outlawed as it could be seen as racism by a F.N. walking past your door.well then if this is the case every person that displays any form of loyalty to a team or nationality is guilty of racism just by displaying the colours/flags of their favourite team or club. again going back to the euro's what's to stop the racist card being played again where employers will ban the irish flags from being displayed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭The_Wrecker

LeftBlank wrote: »

The lads on the O'connell rank this morning were displaying Irish flags and mirror covers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

The lads on the O'Connell rank this morning were displaying Irish flags and mirror covers.

It's a bit of an oul problem with being PC to it's limits,sometimes it trips ye up...:D

I tend to find these ultra righteous types get very irritating after a period (usually 10-15 seconds)...mar shampla....ever since I first encountered that strangely named Residents Against Racism group I have had a strong desire to unfix my abode,forever....:)

This entire planet is made up of different,disparate and often desperate groupings...difference is a cornerstone of all animal vegetable and mineral existance...it exists...recognize it,live with it and if necessary,overcome it....but leave over with the endless banging on and self immolation in the dreadfullness of it all...;)

At this rate we'll all end up like the Spitting Image caricature of John Major....GREY all over :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

The lads on the O'connell rank this morning were displaying Irish flags and mirror covers.

According to a black taxi driver recorded by a TV3 hidden camera for tonight's program, the ranks at Upper O'Connell St. (opp. the Gresham Hotel) and near the Bank of Ireland in College Green are no-go areas for black taxi drivers.

Not on tonight's program, it was said by an Irish taxi driver in a different news program but he made an interesting point: If it's ok for a Polish barber to advertise himself on his signage as a 'Polish Barber', what's wrong with a taxi driver proclaiming himself as Irish?

Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

coylemj wrote: »
    According to a black taxi driver recorded by a TV3 hidden camera for tonight's program, the ranks at Upper O'Connell St. (opp. the Gresham Hotel) and near the Bank of Ireland in College Green are no-go areas for black taxi drivers.

That Gresham rank is a no go for Irish drivers too

It's a mess
    If you want to go southbound they point you to the northbound taxi

But it's not always the first, often the taxis are empty and the men in the middle tell you where to go.
    A leader with a puffed out chest surrounded by his lieutenants

And a taxi on the end to stop anyone else getting on

It's for old-timers
    They don't hate black drivers, they hate everyone since deregulation!

Football coming soon

I wonder if some people will be calling a "come on you boys in green" sticker as racist

The people who say they are most opposed to racism are the ones who see it everywhere and can't shut up about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

There's a simple solution to this green light issue (I think they're quite good btw). Make them mandatory. The current signs are useless during the day.

On the main issue though, the taxi industry in Dublin is incredibly racist, both by drivers and passengers. I take taxis maybe three to four times a week. Last week I had to tell an Irish taxi driver to pull over, simply because I was so fed up of his foul mouthed racist rant (It was seriously bad). I've also been on nights out with people where they won't get into a black drivers taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

The guy interviewed on TV3 seemed to indicate that he had a list of drivers that use the O'Connell St. rank! How on earth can he have one of those? Is it controlled?

mmcn90 wrote: »

On the main issue though, the taxi industry in Dublin is incredibly racist, both by drivers and passengers. I take taxis maybe three to four times a week. Last week I had to tell an Irish taxi driver to pull over, simply because I was so fed up of his foul mouthed racist rant (It was seriously bad).

I bet you used a rank
    They are the angriest drivers of all

Just flag them down, they are delighted for your fare
    I've no problems standing up the road from a rank and flagging someone down. Or across the road from a rank

It doesn't always work, somewhere like the airport maybe

But for everywhere else they is no need to use a driver who has been waiting for a long time
    The driver you flag down will never ever go off ranting at or to you

No, actually, flagged it down. I don't ever use ranks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭AngryLips

mmcn90 wrote: »
    There's a simple solution to this green light issue (I think they're quite good btw). Make them mandatory. The current signs are useless during the day.

On the main issue though, the taxi industry in Dublin is incredibly racist, both by drivers and passengers. I take taxis maybe three to four times a week. Last week I had to tell an Irish taxi driver to pull over, simply because I was so fed up of his foul mouthed racist rant (It was seriously bad). I've also been on nights out with people where they won't get into a black drivers taxi.

+1 Taxi drivers give Irish people a bad name. It's so uncommon to come across racist attitudes in this country until you step into a Dublin taxi driven by an Irish taxi driver in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Alan70

I've also been on
    nights out with people
    where they won't get into a
    black drivers taxi.

+1 Taxi drivers give Irish
    people a bad name. It's so
    uncommon to come across
    racist attitudes in this country
    until you step into a Dublin
    taxi driven by an Irish taxi
    driver in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

What next, start clamping down on the Polski Skleps for trying to attract Polish customers? If a taxi driver wants to advertise him or herself as Irish, or Chinese, or Nigerian, so what.

PC gone mad.

n97 mini wrote: »
    What next, start clamping down on the Polski Skleps for trying to attract Polish customers? If a taxi driver wants to advertise him or herself as Irish, or Chinese, or Nigerian, so what.

PC gone mad.

Thats not anyway accurate a comparison at all. A Polski Sklep sells polish products not available elsewhere to the polish community and anyone else that wants to buy them. Its more like a business sticking a sign up in the window saying all their staff are Irish!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

I don't have a problem with anyone advertising the nationality of staff. Polish barbers, Irish taxi drivers, Chinese chefs, so what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

So when we go to the supremarket and the tri-colour is on the packaging could this also be construed as racists as we decide our purchase on the origin nation of the product thus ignoring same produce from another country.

crusher000 wrote: »
    So when we go to the supremarket and the tri-colour is on the packaging could this also be construed as racists as we decide our purchase on the origin nation of the product thus ignoring same produce from another country.

I hate to point out the obvious here but you can't be racist towards a product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭zagmund

Green lights on top of taxis - as far as I know these are *required* in other countries, same as we require the ugly roof top signs here. The small lights just work better.

I've no problem with people putting signs on their car saying they are Irish. This will attract some customers and push others away. Swings, roundabouts.

I *do* have a problem with the reported level of bullying for want of a better word that goes on at some of the ranks. *If* we are to believe even a fraction of the stuff we hear about some of the so-called closed ranks around the city then then some individuals need to be called to order. I'm not saying that every allegation is true, but if there is out and out bullying of individuals going about their business on the streets of Dublin every day then surely something should happen about it. I don't mean to extend analogies too far, but how are we as a society going to look in the future as we all look back and say "yeah, we all knew what was going on, but didn't do anything"

To bring it back on topic, rightly or wrongly many people will associate the "Irish driver"/green light/"full time driver" people with the reports of racism.

z

AngryLips wrote: »
    I hate to point out the obvious here but you can't be racist towards a product.

I would disagree here,if for example an individual decides to boycott a particular product that comes from a particular enthnic area on that basis.....

What the Taxi Directorate appear to be worrying about is Customers being advised of a choice,which they themselves can then make....I thought this was central to all the Deregulation plamás in the first place ..???

It's equally noteworthy that the Taxi Directorate springs into action tout-suite on this subject whilst remaining moribund on the far more important issue of the total chaos now prevailing at virtually all Dublin City Centre Taxi-Ranks....oooops sorry..I forgot,that's nothing to do with the Taxi Directorate...it's the Gards...Local Authority....NASA,NAMA.....etc etc...

My suggestion to the Taxi Directorate would be to get a life and do some real Taxi-directing rather than getting involved in Social non-issues way beyond their remit !!! :o

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

I'm fed up of taxis in general, both Irish and non-Irish. At this stage, I dread getting into one, having the ear bent off me for 15 mins about absolute shite. If only there was actual night public transport in Dublin

AlekSmart wrote: »
    I would disagree here,if for example an individual decides to boycott a particular product that comes from a particular enthnic area on that basis.....

I can't think of any instances where showing a preference for a product from one region over the equivalent product from another region can be taken as undeniably racist. There are always other factors at play to determine consumer choice that might cast doubt on this claim.

You're comparing apples with oranges on this point. It's like saying that the customer who walks into a Supermacs and orders the burger that is 100% Irish beef is every bit as racist as the next person who walks into Supermacs and refuses to be served by the Polish counter staff.

Fact is racism is perpetrated against people and not products and this can be addressed by either making the stupid green lights mandatory or banning them entirely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

In my taxi experience I've never had a driver go off on a racist or any other rant unless it comes up in the conversation. If you're talking about football or whatever do they really throw in "those bloody black taximen taking all our jobs"?

Stay clear of those type of conversations or don't engage in conversation at all and you won't hear a rant.

Indeed, what were you even talking about with the driver to get onto that subject?
    Does the driver think you are a sympathetic ear?

Can't you talk about something else, anything you want

I've never had a driver go onto racist topics because we're talking ****e about sport or weather or holidays or about his car. What litre is it, value, lads love to talk about cars

The last time it happened, the conversation was initiated simply by the fact a foreign taxi driver pulled out in front of him. actually conversation is the wrong word, that implies I was talking :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

So long as I was driving a taxi (5 years), conversation was raised about non national taxi drivers by passengers of mine at least twice a day; more often at night time. Yes, there are heaps of racist taxi drivers out there but there are proportionatly about as many racist passengers out there as well.

Now, a better question to ask is, as Alek and others infers, how much racial intolerance or misunderstanding we have generally. Is it right to deny one ethnic group your fare or is it wrong to choose to give it to one ethnic group your fare? And crucially, why people might be doing this.

AngryLips wrote: »
    I can't think of any instances where showing a preference for a product from one region over the equivalent product from another region can be taken as undeniably racist. There are always other factors at play to determine consumer choice that might cast doubt on this claim.

You're comparing apples with oranges on this point. It's like saying that the customer who walks into a Supermacs and orders the burger that is 100% Irish beef is every bit as racist as the next person who walks into Supermacs and refuses to be served by the Polish counter staff.

Fact is racism is perpetrated against people and not products and this can be addressed by either making the stupid green lights mandatory or banning them entirely.

Sorry AngryLips,but you are narrowing your focus there a little from your OP.

That insertion of the word undeniably,significantly alters the focus of the post.

We quite obviously do not share a definition of racism or of it's prevalence or not within Irish society.

My personal definition of Racism is essentially simple.....It;s a strongly held belief that one's ethnicity confers an inherent superiority over other cultures.

That's why I'm cool with Taxidrivers having green,white or orange lights,cos I don't feel superior enough to ascribe any real racist intent simply by virtue of seeing one on a Taxi....

Sometimes,I actually believe those who see racism as abounding in Ireland are,in fact far more thoroughly racist themselves,as it underlines their constant need to reinforce their narrow focused beliefs in badness abounding all about us ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Yourwellcum

In conversations and discussions I have heard about non-irish taxi drivers, the biggest complaint they seem to have is people not taking their car when they are first in the rank. If we view that as racism, that is perpetrated by the general public and not by taxi drivers.

I dont have an issue with drivers advertising their nationality. If people demand irish drivers, then why not use that to gain business. Its not racist.
    No more than Polish medical centres or African barbers or hairdressers.

TBH I think this green light thing is a red herring. I have seen similar things on drivers dashboards. They have "for hire" or "hired" displayed in green and I think orange lights respectively. Its quite easy to see them in daylight as opposed to the current yellow light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

Had to laugh at the two taxis parked on double yellows outside the NPHTA offices!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

The problem Irish taxi drivers have with foreign nationals is not, as they claim, "they're taking our jobs", it's the fact that deregulation has made them go out and work for a living rather than working when they feel like it, as was the case before deregulation.
    The main complaint I hear about foreign nationals is that they often don't know where they are going, surely a case for a more comprehensive taxi exam rather than the current version which, as far as I know, basically amounts to being able to find your way from the Parnell monument to the O'Connell monument.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭jameverywhere

Just a side note re: Irish Beef --

this is actually more of an environmental and health concern, since flying/shipping beef in from other countries takes an extraordinary amount of fuel which is saved when you buy local meat. Same for all other food products. If you don't have to truck the food halfway across the world to get it onto your plate, you don't have to deal with all the pollution etc. from all the trucking and shipping, AND it's fresher when it gets to you.

If you only bought 100% Irish beef while in, say, Thailand then maybe you could be called racist...? Otherwise it's a completely different topic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

These things? They are for Euro 2012. I presume a good few cars will have flags and all sorts of stuff in the next few weeks. Same as the last world cup.

0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

bmaxi wrote: »
    The problem Irish taxi drivers have with foreign nationals is not, as they claim, "they're taking our jobs", it's the fact that deregulation has made them go out and work for a living rather than working when they feel like it, as was the case before deregulation.
    The main complaint I hear about foreign nationals is that they often don't know where they are going, surely a case for a more comprehensive taxi exam rather than the current version which, as far as I know, basically amounts to being able to find your way from the Parnell monument to the O'Connell monument.:)

to show you are irish in ireland.....must be allowed. for passengers to shun other races, could be called racist....

but free choice must prevail in this case...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

It's the state of the car that decides which taxi I'll go for. If there's a '95 Corolla and a '06 Octavia, the latter wins every time. No matter who the driver is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

What a load of nonsense...no irish drive rhas said "they are taking our jobs"...its also nothing to do with deregulation ,your assumptions are laughable .
    As for a more comprehensive taxi exam ,,you obviously know nothing then since the taxi regulator has made the exam more difficult ,but you seem to know better thinking that it just amounts to being able to find your way from Parnell monument ro O Connell st .
    If you are going to make a comment about the taxi business ,at least try and pretend you know something about it instead of your utter nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I didn't watch the programme myself but was there anything to note about taxi drivers speeding while their car is empty or taking passengers?

I am asking this question because I had seen an aggressive Taxi driver speeding just at the traffic lights near Tara Street DART Station yesterday evening. He was driving an silver 07 reg Toyota Avensis and heading right towards Custom House Quay.

He was in the middle lane not knowing whether he was behind a dark red or purple car and he turned to the right lane sped off for only two seconds hitting the brakes nearly crashing into a mini street cleaner truck.

He than turned past the small mini truck proceeding very agressively into Custom House Quay.

He may in a bad mood or something like that. But; there is no excuse for that sort of behaviour on a public street.

Thanks for your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I didn't watch the programme myself but was there anything to note about taxi drivers speeding while their car is empty or taking passengers?

I am asking this question because I had seen an aggressive Taxi driver speeding just at the traffic lights near Tara Street DART Station yesterday evening. He was driving an silver 07 reg Toyota Avensis and heading right towards Custom House Quay.

He was in the middle lane not knowing whether he was behind a dark red or purple car and he turned to the right lane sped off for only two seconds hitting the brakes nearly crashing into a mini street cleaner truck.

He than turned past the small mini truck proceeding very agressively into Custom House Quay.

He may in a bad mood or something like that. But; there is no excuse for that sort of behaviour on a public street.

Thanks for your time.

There are some good taxi drivers and some bad, same as there are some good drivers and some complete gobsh!ts behind the wheel
    It's the state of the car that decides which taxi I'll go for. If there's a '95 Corolla and a '06 Octavia, the latter wins every time. No matter who the driver is.

+1, no way will I get into an old banger these days. I pay enough for the pleasure so I definitely want the safer car.

Nope d.man they were only covering the green light issue and the issue of racism against drivers on the gresham rank amongst one or two other ranks.. i thought the program could've been alot better. tv3 could've done a better job on the whole issue. it didn't prove or dis-prove the issue over the green light issue. regarding the gresham rank there were no F.N.taxi drivers there, nor was the so called general of the rank or his lieutenants from what i could see :rolleyes:. there was a few drivers in tack suits. one driver complaining about non EU nationals not being vetted.then during an interview collette kept saying to some guy in the studio that "isn't a green light illegal" .for christ sake so what if it's illegal, it's at the bottom of the pile. get real tv3 and do a proper progam on the real issues/problems with taxi drivers.
    if midweek had played their cards right they could've paid a non national taxi driver to park up at these so-called racist ranks while filming in secret.

but for those of you that haven't seen the program here it is. you have to watch ads and all that crap as well. it's starts at 6 mins 30 secs for those of you any good with that stuff.
    http://www.tv3.ie/3player/show/192/48957/1/MidWeek

oisindoyle wrote: »
    What a load of nonsense...no irish drive rhas said "they are taking our jobs"...its also nothing to do with deregulation ,your assumptions are laughable .
    As for a more comprehensive taxi exam ,,you obviously know nothing then since the taxi regulator has made the exam more difficult ,but you seem to know better thinking that it just amounts to being able to find your way from Parnell monument ro O Connell st .
    If you are going to make a comment about the taxi business ,at least try and pretend you know something about it instead of your utter nonsense

Trying to separate deregulation and the proliferation of non national drivers is delusional. The closed shop and the days of taxi plates changing hands for a hundred grand and drivers suiting themselves as to when and where somebody works are over, get used to it.

Nope d.man they were only covering the green light issue and the issue of racism against drivers on the gresham rank amongst one or two other ranks.. i thought the program could've been alot better. tv3 could've done a better job on the whole issue. it didn't prove or dis-prove the issue over the green light issue. regarding the gresham rank there were no F.N.taxi drivers there, nor was the so called general of the rank or his lieutenants from what i could see :rolleyes:. there was a few drivers in tack suits. one driver complaining about non EU nationals not being vetted.then during an interview collette kept saying to some guy in the studio that "isn't a green light illegal" .for christ sake so what if it's illegal, it's at the bottom of the pile. get real tv3 and do a proper progam on the real issues/problems with taxi drivers.
    if midweek had played their cards right they could've paid a non national taxi driver to park up at these so-called racist ranks while filming in secret.

but for those of you that haven't seen the program here it is. you have to watch ads and all that crap as well. it's starts at 6 mins 30 secs for those of you any good with that stuff.
    http://www.tv3.ie/3player/show/192/48957/1/MidWeek[/QUOTE]

You obviously wernt watching the same priogramme as the rest of us,,,

so what if there were no Fn at the rank at that particualr time ,you are obviously trying to come up with some sort of conspiracy ,well done you .

As for your comment "nor was the so called general of the rank or his lieutenants from what i could see ",,,,Pray tell who exactly is this "general" and his lieutentants ?

You also said "one driver complaining about non EU nationals not being vetted" ,,,,So whats the problem with that ? surely every taxi driver should be vetted to ensure that the public are certain that their driver is safe and suitable to driver them home.

i agree ,,the real issues about the taxi business are not being addressed by the authorities,,,the illegal plying for hire at undesignated ranks (outside bars /clubs /fastfood places) the non vetting of non EU nationals is important ,and on and on and on ,,,
    The Green light story was a non story ,,its complete nonsense,,,I personally know of 2 balck drivers who had them ,,and one polish ,,,but the media didnt report this ,,but whats new!

Trying to separate deregulation and the proliferation of non national drivers is delusional. The closed shop and the days of taxi plates changing hands for a hundred grand and drivers suiting themselves as to when and where somebody works are over, get used to it.

Again with a silly response like the above it doesnt even warrant an answer

Take your time.

The Green light story was a non story ,,its complete nonsense,,,I personally know of 2 balck drivers who had them ,,and one polish ,,,but the media didnt report this ,,but whats new!
    firstly oisin if your going to quote at least learn to do it properly :p.
    as much as i despise and loathe taxi drivers my thread is actually in defence of them as i believe the whole racism card is being blown way out of proportion. this thread wasn't about taxi bashing and i'd like to keep it that way but with remarks like yours no doubt it will sooner or later turn into one. maybe thats what your looking for so you can reply somewhere down the line " ohhh here we go not another taxi bashing thread" :rolleyes: and have it locked.
    As for your comment "nor was the so called general of the rank or his lieutenants from what i could see ",,,,Pray tell who exactly is this "general" and his lieutentants ?
    i dont know maybe you can shed some light on it as alot of your taxi colleagues seem to comment about him.
    so what if there were no Fn at the rank at that particualr time ,you are obviously trying to come up with some sort of conspiracy ,well done you .
    again it's out in the open again from some of your taxi colleagues about certain ranks being closed of to F.N's. the same as some F.N.'s have set up their own ranks. all i said if it's true about o'connell street tv3 could've handled the allegation differently buy paying a F.N. taxi driver to sit at the rank. that alone would've answered the question of the rank being closed or not.
    You also said "one driver complaining about non EU nationals not being vetted" ,,,,So whats the problem with that ? surely every taxi driver should be vetted to ensure that the public are certain that their driver is safe and suitable to driver them home.
    ahhh come on oisin , while i agree with the vetting aspect. the driver behaviour by most taxi drivers to other road users is appalling. now read what i said carefully i said most not all. so a driving test would be at the higher scale of things for me. to make sure your driver is competent and has full knowledge of the rules of the road.. vetting is only have the issue, knowing your taxi is capable of driving safely is another. just quoting you from above in bold
    i agree ,,the real issues about the taxi business are not being addressed by the authorities,,,the illegal plying for hire at undesignated ranks (outside bars /clubs /fastfood places)
    you see oisin as a dublin taxi driver one of the other places that taxi drivers ply for hire illegally is bus stops. something you seemed to have left out. if you really want to go down the road of enforcement then maybe the authorities should take a zero tolerance approach to any taxi driver breaking any law. as for the regulator i agree they are a joke. what i find amusing in threads like this is when you sit in a taxi the driver cannot refuse you just because your going a short distance but their way around this is they leave their taxi's and make sure the doors are locked. that way a punter cant sit in the taxi therefore the driver can come up with a number of excuses for refusal.
    the reason i dont get taxi's at all is because i dont feel safe being driven from a road users point of view and i dont know who's bringing me home. while the vast majority of taxi drivers have no criminal record it's the small percentage that concerns me. if i call a taxi to go on holidays i want to know that that driver has no criminal record no matter how small. then you have issue of illegal taxi's while they might have all the proper roof signs and stickers etc on their car it doesn't necessarily mean they are legit. i recently seen some bangor of a taxi driving with it's so-called tamper proof yellow sticker hanging of the back window. i mean there was only tiny bit of gum holding this sticker on the window, the size of a thumb nail to be exact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

you see oisin as a dublin taxi driver one of the other places that taxi drivers ply for hire illegally is bus stops. something you seemed to have left out. if you really want to go down the road of enforcement then maybe the authorities should take a zero tolerance approach to any taxi driver breaking any law.

as for the regulator i agree they are a joke. what i find amusing in threads like this is when you sit in a taxi the driver cannot refuse you just because your going a short distance but their way around this is they leave their taxi's and make sure the doors are locked. that way a punter cant sit in the taxi therefore the driver can come up with a number of excuses for refusal.

I have often seen taxis drive so slowly past full bus stops in Dublin quite obviously plying for hire, they regularly pick up passengers off trains inside Heuston station where only pre-booked taxis are allowed(you hear them asking if people need a taxi so know they are not pre-booked.).

There should be zero tolerance for EVERYONE for all road traffic offences, with more on the spot fines and vehicles impounded imediately if payment cant be made.

As for the taxi drivers locking their doors and going for a chat with other drivers, in Dublin they must not leave their vehicle at any rank and are not allowed do any cleaning or maintenaince except for essential repairs necessary to allow them to leave the rank, They must also be in a position to follow the directions of a Garda at any time including if instructed moving along the rank or leaving the rank so if they are "up the arse" of the guy in front in some attempt to force passengers to use the first car at the rank they are breaking Dublin City Council Bye-Laws.

http://www.dublincity.ie/RoadsandTraffic/Documents/Taxi_Rank_Bye-_Laws_2011_Fina.pdf
    The following provisions shall apply to street service vehicles standing for hire at an appointed stand
    Neither the driver of a street vehicle nor any other person shall wash, overhaul or execute repairs to such a street service vehicle, except such repairs as may be necessary to enable the vehicle to be removed from the appointed stand
    Neither the driver of a street service vehicle nor any other person shall make any unnecessary noise by means of or in relation to the vehicle or the engine or any equipment, fittings or instruments fitted to or carried on the vehicle or any loud speaker in or in any way connected with the vehicle;
    The driver of a street service vehicle shall comply with any directions given to him or her by a member of the Garda Síochána in relation to placing of the street service vehicle at the appointed stand or the bringing of the street service vehicle into, or the removal of the street service vehicle from, the appointed stand.

Also if a driver refuses a legitimate fare they are not for hire and as only taxis for hire are allowed on the ranks any which refuse a legitimate fare must leave the rank!

foggy_lad wrote: »
    I have often seen taxis drive so slowly past full bus stops in Dublin quite obviously plying for hire, they regularly pick up passengers off trains inside Heuston station where only pre-booked taxis are allowed(you hear them asking if people need a taxi so know they are not pre-booked.).
    the reason i raised this is because i have missed my bus a few times in the evenings in westmoreland street due to taxi's plying for hire illegally at bus stops. the bus would try to get into the stop, taxi refuses to move. so bus moves onto next stop. i asked a bus driver why they do this and they said if they cant get into the stop safely they'll go to the next one. while it annoys the crap out of me theres nothing i can do. i dont blame the bus driver i blame the system or lack off.
    There should be zero tolerance for EVERYONE for all road traffic offences, with more on the spot fines and vehicles impounded imediately if payment cant be made.
    couldn't agree more.
    They must also be in a position to follow the directions of a Garda at any time including if instructed moving along the rank or leaving the rank so if they are "up the arse" of the guy in front in some attempt to force passengers to use the first car at the rank they are breaking Dublin City Council Bye-Laws.
    same oul same oul move along. if they're parked illegally then the fines should be dished out. no excuses no nothing. you break it you pay for it.
    Also if a driver refuses a legitimate fare they are not for hire and as only taxis for hire are allowed on the ranks any which refuse a legitimate fare must leave the rank!
    foggy i dear say i await the backlash on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

the reason i raised this is because i have missed my bus a few times in the evenings in westmoreland street due to taxi's plying for hire illegally at bus stops. the bus would try to get into the stop, taxi refuses to move. so bus moves onto next stop. i asked a bus driver why they do this and they said if they cant get into the stop safely they'll go to the next one. while it annoys the crap out of me theres nothing i can do. i dont blame the bus driver i blame the system or lack off.

There is a lot you can do, get out a camera phone and take a picture of the illegally parked taxi and add that picture to a complaint to the National Transport Authority about the taxi driver plying for hire at a bus stop!

firstly oisin if your going to quote at least learn to do it properly :p

Huh?
    as much as i despise and loathe taxi drivers.

Speaks volumes
    i dont know maybe you can shed some light on it as alot of your taxi colleagues seem to comment about him..

Well perhaps YOU can since you made the initial comment
    again it's out in the open again from some of your taxi colleagues about certain ranks being closed of to F.N's. the same as some F.N.'s have set up their own ranks
    Really ? What ranks exactly are you talking about ?name them and back it up with proof .
    all i said if it's true about o'connell street tv3 could've handled the allegation differently buy paying a F.N. taxi driver to sit at the rank. that alone would've answered the question of the rank being closed or not..

So you want a tv programme to PAY a foreign national to sit on the rank ,how could this be a true representation of things.A tv station "Paying someone ".Your comment is laughable .If you saw the tv programme you would have seen more than one taxi driver name a number of non irish who work the Gresham rank .You obviously didnt see it or have a selective memory.
    the driver behaviour by most taxi drivers to other road users is appalling. now read what i said carefully i said most not all..

The correct word to use is "some "
    you see oisin as a dublin taxi driver one of the other places that taxi drivers ply for hire illegally is bus stops. something you seemed to have left out..

My comment was "illegally plying for hire " that covers everything that is not legal .So NOTHING was left out
    if you really want to go down the road of enforcement then maybe the authorities should take a zero tolerance approach to any taxi driver breaking any law..

That is exactly what ALL legal taxi drivers are looking for ,alas it is falling on deaf ears ,,as NOTHING is being done about it
    what i find amusing in threads like this is when you sit in a taxi the driver cannot refuse you just because your going a short distance but their way around this is they leave their taxi's and make sure the doors are locked. that way a punter cant sit in the taxi therefore the driver can come up with a number of excuses for refusal..

What evidence have you of this ? You did say after all that and I quote "i dont get taxi's at all ",So ..............
    if i call a taxi to go on holidays i want to know that that driver has no criminal record no matter how small.

So contact the relevant Minister and demand that all drivers should have no criminal record
    then you have issue of illegal taxi's while they might have all the proper roof signs and stickers etc on their car it doesn't necessarily mean they are legit..

If they have all the "proper roof signs and stickers ect on their car " how are they illegal ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

now of course they can use the Euros (and then the Olympics) as an excuse to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

now of course they can use the Euros (and then the Olympics) as an excuse to do it.

But what's to stop a Polish driver from getting in to the spirit and putting a flag on? Supporting the side of his place of residence?

If the mirror covers are not regulated then anyone can use them.

I've been in a taxi at Christmas with a West African driver wearing a Santa hat. Did not make him either Christian or Santa.