Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do ye buy your fish

• 23-05-2012 11:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭

i am on a low carb diet and eating lots of eggs and chicken and am trying to eat high protein foods but a lot of them are high in fat then aswell for instance 5 grams of fat in a egg ,i am eating five a day ,10grams of fat in a chicken breast and eating two a day now i got a 450 grams of smoked coley yesterday i actually thought it was smoked haddock and in 225 grams there is 57 grams of protein with only 2 grams of fat and no carbs ,its absolutely gorgeous the only prob is its quiet expensive in the supermarket,should i be going to a fish mongers or is it the same price its €10 A kg i live in the country so not near galway city and wont be able go in til next week end .also this low carb high protein diet is the best thing i ever done i havent touched any sweets,chocolate or crisps in over a week and have absolutely no intensision of im really not bothered i have no cravings whatso ever ,this from a lad who would eat tons and i mean tons of the stuff a week :Dhappy out lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

If you are eating feck all carbs , you need fats - good fats.
    Good fats come from eggs, chicken , fish etc. You need to replace the carbs with something.

Most supermarkets fish are all priced in and around the same, I live in Dublin and any of the fish markets iv gone to the price is in and around the same as the shops if not more expensive. Better quailty fish tho.
    Try salmon - reasonably cheap when you buy in packs, can be bought in packs of 2-4 , and it's really high in protein, good fats, and no carbs ! Also very tastey :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭czgalway

thanks i didnt mean i am going to stop eating the 5 eggs and 2 chicken fillets,this is an addition im already eating 100 grams of fat per day and i know its mostly good fats so not bothered,i have to say this healthy eating high protein diet is fairly hard on the pocket.i often heard people say its cheaper to buy crap food but i just thought ( yea too lazy to make something at home and head to supermacs or mcdonalds)