Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

no point in washin the car

• 19-05-2012 5:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭

ever thought there is no point in washing the car :L my car has been was 6 times this week and its rotten dirty again this wet waether and bad dirty roads are really starting to annoy me :mad: rant over :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

fanadman1 wrote: »
    ever thought there is no point in washing the car :L my car has been was 6 times this week and its rotten dirty again this wet waether and bad dirty roads are really starting to annoy me :mad: rant over :P

Mine was looking amazing last weekend, but not so much now. I'll give it another go tomorrow though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,205 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Six times in a week :eek: Mine hasn't been washed six times since I've had it, and its just due for its first NCT!

Yes, ok, this is motors. I am not usually here and regard my car as a means of here to there rather than something i am particularly interested in :D Peace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I washed my car about 4 weeks ago. With a sponge too.

I miss the days of the land rover and not washing it from one end of the year to another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

looksee wrote: »
    Six times in a week :eek: Mine hasn't been washed six times since I've had it, and its just due for its first NCT!

Yes, ok, this is motors. I am not usually here and regard my car as a means of here to there rather than something i am particularly interested in :D Peace!

6 times this week i love my car
    but the bad roads and bad weather is makeing it very hard to keep clean atm
    im geting very sick :L of it

Late February was the last time the ZT was washed, one of those group buying vouchers for a valet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

I find washing the car to be pretty relaxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

I find washing the car to be pretty relaxing.

fancy coming to my house to relax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

i enjoy washing the car, i also believe keeping the car clean is a maintenance item and assists in value retention due to paintwork conditioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's a right pain. Washed polished and waxed mine on Thursday and it's in ****e already. Very annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭corkcity

car never stays clean .wash mine now only once a month .in the winter the weather is **** and dirty,then the summer comes and even if its dry and nice it still gets covered in dead flies ,no win situation :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Fiona

Mine was looking amazing last weekend, but not so much now. I'll give it another go tomorrow though!

You should get some of this stuff for your car, silver looks amazing once it has been given this treatment.

I have some left over you can have it if you want it cos I don't have the E46 anymore :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

I find my car a lot easier to clean each time once I keep on top of it. Once it has been polished and waxed dirt doesn't really stick to it. I could wash it with just a hose at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Fiona wrote: »
    You should get some of this stuff for your car, silver looks amazing once it has been given this treatment.

I have some left over you can have it if you want it cos I don't have the E46 anymore :)

What stuff did ya use? Need to stock up on some cleaning shtuff for mine!

I used to use that Werkstat and some other chemical guys stuff :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

i ordered that Menzies polish today, and bought a polishing machine.

next weekend i will polish that key mark off i hope. car has a nice metallic silver, don't understand people who don't look after cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,891 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

fanadman - you washed your car 6 times this week :eek: and some people here think I'm bad for doing it once a week!

What I do is wash it on a Saturday and then just use it for the week. Life's too short to be worrying about it getting dirty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

A few layers of wax should make regularish washing easier. It's finding the time though. The water meters aren't going to help us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I really miss being able to wash my car. It looks amazing after a wash, and it's quite relaxing as someone else has said.
    Living in an apartment block without running water or electrical sockets in the carpark makes it nearly impossible :( Can't wait to move to a house later this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I try to do mine once a week. Always do the interior but if the weathers bad the outside doesn't get touched.

I really miss being able to wash my car. It looks amazing after a wash, and it's quite relaxing as someone else has said.
    Living in an apartment block without running water or electrical sockets in the carpark makes it nearly impossible :( Can't wait to move to a house later this year.

Welcome back :D

I agree, as I said before, it looks like a big lump of candy when it's shiny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

There was a guy living across the road from me years ago who used to remove his number plates and clean the dirt behind them every time he washed his car. He washed it more than he drove it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Unfortunately, the cold air intake in my car makes my exhaust fumes collect a lot of crap and its blows out all over my boot and bumper :( can't keep it clean for more than a week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

I realised this after the first time I ever washed my car.

There is some point in washing it when the layer of dirt starts to affect your aerodynamics but not until then
    Unfortunately, the cold air intake in my car makes my exhaust fumes collect a lot of crap and its blows out all over my boot and bumper can't keep it clean for more than a week!

What kind of an air filter have you in that yoke at all?

To be fair, it probably needs to be changed by now. Only have the car just over a month now, still on the previous owners filter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

dorgasm wrote: »
    Unfortunately, the cold air intake in my car makes my exhaust fumes collect a lot of crap and its blows out all over my boot and bumper :( can't keep it clean for more than a week!

That means you have an air/fuel mix problem....which might lead to worse issues then a dirty bumper.

I washed the van last week and have somehow managed to avoid the worst of the rain/wet roads so its actually still clean:eek:

This was the state of my last car after 1 week of the road to my house being wet!:eek::eek::eek:

DSCF8947.jpg

That means you have an air/fuel mix problem....which might lead to worse issues then a dirty bumper.

Really? Easily solved or is it another expense for me :(

Nice skyline by the way, even with the dirt :P

dorgasm wrote: »
    Really? Easily solved or is it another expense for me :(

Nice skyline by the way, even with the dirt :P

Cheers,

O/T but..
    If your sure its only happening since you fitter the after market airfilter then either its not a specific one designed for your car or your ecu can't adjust the air/fuel mix enough for the extra air.

I'd try your original air box back on first to see does it stop.

I didn't install the aftermarket intake myself. Previous owner gave me the stock part though. Not a mechanic and this is my first car but I'm trying to do all my own work on it so don't know how confident I'd be :P I'm getting a check engine light too, could be something to do with it. Usually ek civics have a service connector that you can short to get the check engine light codes but mine has a 16 pin connector and I can't check it :( Bit OT for this thread but ya have me worried now haha!

dorgasm - do you have your ECU mapped to let it know that the filter is there? I presume you're talking about a cone filter? If so, the ECU has to know it's there so it can adjust the air/fuel mix accordingly and to give you the extra gains.

Like I said, I'm extremely new to this so haven't done much with it. Haven't had it mapped yet, haven't done anything to it yet (apart from getting a ding taken out this morning). I hear mapping can cost around €300, too much for me at the moment. Might just throw in the stock intake and then get it mapped once I have the car stripped and few other bits and pieces done. I actually can't see the filter because it goes down into the chassis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

fanadman - you washed your car 6 times this week :eek: and some people here think I'm bad for doing it once a week!

What I do is wash it on a Saturday and then just use it for the week. Life's too short to be worrying about it getting dirty.

aw my friends think im mentle it was polished and waxed last sunday aswell
    but were all in the same with our cats at the min :D
    times i just leave it but i love to see it clean and the water runing of the sides and sittin on the bonnet/roof :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Haven't washed ford even once. I drive it over a year now. Used to wash Mazda more often but with this shiet weather I just don't have a chance with this crap weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

If you remove the protective layer of muck the paint is more likely to get damaged by a pebble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭rocky

Washed once in 3 years. And that was after OH almost got stuck in muddy grass while parking and splashed dirt all over it while trying to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

rocky wrote: »
    Washed once in 3 years. And that was after OH almost got stuck in muddy grass while parking and splashed dirt all over it while trying to get out.

Was the grass growing ON the car? :)

no...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I disappeared for two hours earlier to wash the 7er and the T/A while the woman cleaned the gaff. Came back in and there was a bit of a gimp on as she had cleaned the whole place top to toe and I hadn't helped as I was 'out playing'.

I asked her why she felt the need to clean the place at all and got 'the look'. Well, I explained, it's probably the same reason that I feel the need to clean the cars. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Nice to see confirmation that half the people in this forum don't give a tuppenny feck about their cars. Do the rest of us a favour, motorists: get the bus, leave the roads to those of us that actually like our cars, and love driving. We might actually get to use the outside lane properly for a change, instead of tipping along behind an endless queue of shabby boremobiles.

..... because some of us don't wash the car frequently we drive bore mobiles and should get the bus? ARe you for real.

Not infrequently, at all. Can't you read or something?

I can read very well thank you, most people could have deduced that without asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

RoverJames wrote: »
    I can read very well thank you, most people could have deduced that without asking.

dont-feed-the-troll.jpeg

I have my doubts, because the evidence points to a compete inability to grasp context or reference points. Consistently so.

MpChk, I'm not a troll, I just hate "motorists". They make me sick. If people can't be bothered to wash their cars from one end of the year to the next, they should all be forced to drive Micras. In Offaly.

Why wash it if it's not duuurrrtty?

I only do 6000km a year and by the time you can see the slightest of dust buildup, a nice heavy rain washes it away ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

dahamsta wrote: »
    Not infrequently, at all. Can't you read or something?
    dahamsta wrote: »
    I have my doubts, because the evidence points to a compete inability to grasp context or reference points. Consistently so.

Ease up on the personal comments please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

I washed the van last week and have somehow managed to avoid the worst of the rain/wet roads so its actually still clean:eek:

This was the state of my last car after 1 week of the road to my house being wet!:eek::eek::eek:

DSCF8947.jpg

Why do you have your Christmas decor still up in May? I don't think this pic was taken last week!!!???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Jogathon wrote: »
    Why do you have your Christmas decor still up in May? I don't think this pic was taken last week!!!???

It wasn't. If you read his post you would see he said it was his last car.

He now drives an Astra van but is getting the finger out shortly I gather! :)

Never washed in 7 years. Couldn't care less if it's filty.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I disappeared for two hours earlier to wash the 7er and the T/A while the woman cleaned the gaff. Came back in and there was a bit of a gimp on as she had cleaned the whole place top to toe and I hadn't helped as I was 'out playing'.

I asked her why she felt the need to clean the place at all and got 'the look'. Well, I explained, it's probably the same reason that I feel the need to clean the cars. ;)

Trying to apply logic to the other half......never works.

Think about how i feel i have to clean the car AND the house! I think i need to invest in a cleaner.