Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo County Council uses CCTV to catch "boy racers"

• 19-05-2012 10:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭

So, there ya have it, between €500 and €1000 to remove tyre marks.I would of imagined the marks would be let wear away.
    Much of this going on anymore? I've seen the odd bit of messing on a roundabout near to where I live but as it's a built up area it's pretty limited.

MAYO COUNTY COUNCIL is enlisting the help of CCTV cameras in what it’s calling a ‘war on boy racers’.

The council says drivers speeding and doing ‘donuts’ on public roads is a scourge, and is endangering their lives and the lives of others.

It’s calling on young people to be aware of their speed and is appealing to parents of those involved to take responsibility for their childrens’ actions.

Noel Gibbons, Road Safety Officer with Mayo County Council said that the damage caused by tyre marks on the roads can cost between €500 and €1,000 to repair, and that some residents lives have been turned into a ‘living nightmare’ by antisocial driving behaviour.

He also said that road signage is sometimes ripped down in order to facilitate some manoeuvres and to protect drivers’ tyres.

Gibbons told TheJournal.ie that the CCTV cameras are mobile and are being moved to various hotspots around the country and that some of the footage has already been forwarded to Gardaí and interviews have taken place.

Full story here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,136 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I would imagine these are along the Charlestown bypass, Swinford bypass and other bits of the Flynn Expressway - along there has the highest amount of donut marks I've ever seen on a road

The bit about parents is a bit pathetic though - generally anyone who has the cash for a car and to burn fuel and tyres doing that crap isn't going to be under the control of their parents at all - either financially or even living there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I seen a youtube video somewhere of a fella boy racer in mayo racing a golf and nearly hit a beetle but his tbread was closed its disgraceful and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Binka

Just recently almost every T junction near where I live has freshly made donut marks on a Sunday morning. I'm talking back roads here, around the local villages and townlands. I guess it happens late at night and fortunately I don't ever hear it, but it is invariably done close to houses and must be nightmarish for some residents. So if you think it's only done on main roads and bypasses you are sadly mistaken.
    I always wonder how they can afford to scrub a set of tyres on a Saturday night, because I certainly couldn't, and then I figure they must be stolen cars/joyriders and aren't paying for the tyres.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

very expensive to remove the tyre marks,aside from the boy racing thing(which is dangerous),its too much,why dont they just leave them,its not as if its an obstruction or a pot hole in the road..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

Binka wrote: »
    Just recently almost every T junction near where I live has freshly made donut marks on a Sunday morning. I'm talking back roads here, around the local villages and townlands. I guess it happens late at night and fortunately I don't ever hear it, but it is invariably done close to houses and must be nightmarish for some residents. So if you think it's only done on main roads and bypasses you are sadly mistaken.
    I always wonder how they can afford to scrub a set of tyres on a Saturday night, because I certainly couldn't, and then I figure they must be stolen cars/joyriders and aren't paying for the tyres.

Second hand tyres. When you get a set to burn them off there is no need to match pattern so anything will do once it has some thread and are the same size. Petrol is most of the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Alot of tyremarks on the galway-headford road i marvel at the stupidity of them on my way to/from work during the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Pretty s**t donuts too, maybe they are trying to shame them into stopping by putting the footage on YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

500-1000 eu to remove donut? Why would you bother removing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

QFT.

It's proof, if ever it were needed, that there is still an enormous amount of waste in the public sector.

Personally I can't see what their problem is, if people are doing burnouts etc when it's very quiet on not well used roads then I don't see the big deal to be honest. Obviously on busy roads and where there are lots of people about it's a different story, but really we need to have a common sense approach to policing things like this rather than letting the usual "will somebody think of the children" PC types getting their way and spoiling people of having a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Are any of you actually reading it

it says that
    that the damage caused by tyre marks on the roads can cost between €500 and €1,000 to repair

If you did a lot of donuts wouldn't it pull up the tarmac?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

QFT.

It's proof, if ever it were needed, that there is still an enormous amount of waste in the public sector.

Personally I can't see what their problem is, if people are doing burnouts etc when it's very quiet on not well used roads then I don't see the big deal to be honest. Obviously on busy roads and where there are lots of people about it's a different story, but really we need to have a common sense approach to policing things like this rather than letting the usual "will somebody think of the children" PC types getting their way and spoiling people of having a bit of fun.

Get real ffs:mad: Thats the kind of attitude that has the country f**ked:mad: The boy racers that go out on any road to do donuts and race on roads adjacent to houses are just scumbags trying to attract attention & make fools of the cops. Mayo Co.Co are to be applauded for their efforts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

I thought it was the job of the Gardai to catch boy racers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

why dont they spend the money renting a half dacent car park and chargin a fiver a head to head in, dopey country we live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Removing them might be another one of them celtic tiger things, an excuse to give some waster a few bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

why dont the spend the money renting a half dacent car park and chargin a fiver a head to head in, dopey country we live in.

fup luke flangan IS enda kennys puppeterr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Conchurl

scrap yard near me sells tires for 10-15 euro depending on brand and tread, got a bridgestone, hankook, goodyear nearly new for 15 each unfitted and a few Chinese brand tires nearly new for 15 each fitted, so i had a few good nights :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Personally I can't see what their problem is,.

Lovin that post with that user name...

Carry on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Conchurl

why dont they spend the money renting a half dacent car park and chargin a fiver a head to head in, dopey country we live in.

some people do it and it is around 10 euro in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Get real ffs:mad: Thats the kind of attitude that has the country f**ked:mad: The boy racers that go out on any road to do donuts and race on roads adjacent to houses are just scumbags trying to attract attention & make fools of the cops. Mayo Co.Co are to be applauded for their efforts.

If you read Captainspeed's post again you see that he does say "Obviously on busy roads and where there are lots of people about it's a different story". dont be too defensive just because someone has a different opinion to you. These boyracers can be a menace in the wrong situation I agree, but it is probably a social thing and an outlet for these guys and giving them somewhere safe to do their thing as another poster said is probably a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

i am not a supporter of donuts on public roads and i have never done one on public road like this. i am not saint, i did donuts myself, but i did them in abandoned carparks in the middle of the forest.

the reason people are doing these donuts on those roads are not the ones you listed. your attitude is the biggest problem in ireland at the first place. people do donuts on public road, not because they want to be scumbags and show a big finger to garda, but just because they have no place to do their donuts.
    I LOVE how this attitude to donut marks goes on in ireland. it havent killed a single person, but it is treaded worse then those travelers who raced on mallow cork road. Give abandoned farmyard with some tarmac in each county, make them pay a 10-20eu per entrance to mess around and i can bet the amount of donut marks in ireland will be decreased to almost none. Ofc that involves effort, its easyer just to bitch about it and call anyone who likes some mindless messing an enemy of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Doesnt change the fact that spending that kind of money to clean up some rubber marks on a road is a monumental waste of money. Spend the money on more Gardai to police the roads properly if they are so concerned by it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Spending a grand on removing an inconsequential rubber mark from the road that will have a total road safety impact of exactly zero and damages the road to exactly no degree whatsoever is simply "Think of the Children" hysteria of the highest order.
    Does it damage the road?
    Bad winters, torrential rain, gravel lorries loaded to the hilt and years of shoddy patchwork instead of proper maintenance will do about a million times more damage.
    If they really have to, why not get the people who left the donuts in the first place to scrub them off the road?
    And now of course we're going into the whole debate of providing facilities, which is usually met by the "Everyone should drive like Octogenarians" brigade and from there on in everyone just digs into their trench, only to throw the odd grenade over the top.
    Is sit back and await the usual fireworks, c'mon Boards, dazzle me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Binka

JerCotter7 wrote: »
    Second hand tyres. When you get a set to burn them off there is no need to match pattern so anything will do once it has some thread and are the same size. Petrol is most of the cost.

I guess it's a cheap night out then, to frighten the sh*t out of people living in remote places, possibly on their own, not knowing if there a load of scumbags and joyriders out there, tearing up the roads, damaging the signage and all for the cost of a set of second hand tyres. What kind of cost are we talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Binka wrote: »
    I guess it's a cheap night out then, to frighten the sh*t out of people living in remote places, possibly on their own, not knowing if there a load of scumbags and joyriders out there, tearing up the roads, damaging the signage and all for the cost of a set of second hand tyres. What kind of cost are we talking about?

Down with this sort of thing!

something like this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

People that do donuts on roads = wannabe scumbags. Get a life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Not my thing like, try to get an OK distance outta tyres myself, but what harm if they're not doing near someones house? any place I've seen it was back-ass-nowhere? Sooo many more important things to police..

People might be surprised to learn that the Gardai haven't half the magic gear depicted on CSI:Miami's - I doubt any magical "enhance" function will yield any numberplate unless someone parks with the plate in front of those cameras!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Dam my diesel Mondeo not been able to do donuts....

In fairness, there are a few lads / ladies around my way and while the don't seem to cause any danger, the noise is quite loud. We live a good bit away from the road they do it on and it is usually at night late. I presume when they say repairs to roads, this would mean signage and other types of damage apart from tarmac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

QFT.

And then when there is crash on the road this forum will be full of lads discussing how the road markings are slightly obscured in second 13 of the dashcam home movie and how it's not the fault of the amazing boards driving expert that he crashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

TBH, that's pretty sad stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

The people in this thread condoning this idiotic practice are the same moaners who fill a large percentage of this forum with posts about driving on the left and all the other threads that wake the trolls up.
    Call yourselves "drivers" or "enthusiasts" all you want but this stupid and irresponsible behavior on other road users and people who live nearby and you know it.
    I've seen donuts on the N7 near johnstown , on the M9 and M7 as well, please dont try to tell me they are deserted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

kwalshe wrote: »
    The people in this thread condoning this idiotic practice are the same moaners who fill a large percentage of this forum with posts about driving on the left and all the other threads that wake the trolls up.
    Call yourselves "drivers" or "enthusiasts" all you want but this stupid and irresponsible behavior on other road users and people who live nearby and you know it.
    I've seen donuts on the N7 near johnstown , on the M9 and M7 as well, please dont try to tell me they are deserted.

+ 1 to this

The m9 seems to be especially plagued with them.

Given the amount of cars you see driving 140 with one dipped headlight on that road it's far from harmless fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

kwalshe wrote: »

It's fun, and I don't think it's any harm to do those in a safe environment.
    I honestly haven't done any donuts or burnouts ever, but I wouldn't say it's something dangerous at such a time. You'd have to be blind not too see a car coming (or blind to not see a car doing donuts).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

pajo1981 wrote: »

TBH, that's pretty sad stuff.

Aw but add a bit of music, nice camera angles and a nice car. There you have it...

Also, If its done late at night with very very little or no traffic, It not as bad. Obviouly you have to know what your at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

do the chaps supporting doughnuts with their secondhand crap tyres change their wheels on the way home from their little bit of fun, or continue to drive around for the rest of the week on these mismatched pieces of crap

dharn wrote: »
    do the chaps supporting doughnuts with their secondhand crap tyres change their wheels on the way home from their little bit of fun, or continue to drive around for the rest of the week on these mismatched pieces of crap

They might, who knows? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

They might, who knows? :)

Trust me, from my experience they dont...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

What yas expect them to do they spend a lot of money on them cars and them cars have a purpose ie drag race drift rally whatever And they've nowhere to do it
    And it ridiculous money to pay for track day something should be built for them to race or whatever

Aw but add a bit of music, nice camera angles and a nice car. There you have it...

Also, If its done late at night with very very little or no traffic, It not as bad. Obviouly you have to know what your at.

I once saw these two guys kissing on a park bench.

And, before I watched your video, that was the gayest thing I had ever seen :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

What yas expect them to do they spend a lot of money on them cars and them cars have a purpose ie drag race drift rally whatever And they've nowhere to do it
    And it ridiculous money to pay for track day something should be built for them to race or whatever

Thank god for Google Translate!

I think you may be confusing driving on roads and motorsport. Motorsport can be expensive but it is there for normal people who wish to speed and drive cars in a thrilling and safe way away from public roads.

That makes no sence whats so ever.

A gay video? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

That makes no sence whats so ever.

A gay video? :rolleyes:
    I think he may have just used this thread as a way to come out of the closet

djimi wrote: »
    Trust me, from my experience they dont...

Well, Ive been to aload of modified car meets. Where we meet at a petrol station and drive to a location where there is no traffic to go drifting and do donuts. All the car enthusists with proper modified cars, brought a spare set of wheels (old rims and old tyres) with them for messing about. Once it was over the lads whiched the good wheels back on and they went home. I will admit that there was 2 or 3 boy racers that arrived in there corsas and saxo. But they where tolded to f*** off and off they went.

I think he may have just used this thread as a way to come out of the closet

I suppose so, whats that they say? "You cant keep it a secret forever." :D

????

Just a little joke I pinched from South Park.

It means the video, "The Night Life", is very gay. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

If there was adequate facilities, pour a concrete slab, concrete bollards to protect viewers and charge a 5er a lot of it would be taken off roads.

Have a lad there doing part worn tyres and have a few yards in every county in the middle of no where and open them up every week or so, drivers sign a wavier about they enter at their own risk.

????

Just a little joke I pinched from South Park.

It means the video, "The Night Life", is very gay. ;)

I should have known that you wouldnt have been able to make up that joke up by yourself. :)

What those lads were doing in their Silvias happens the world over, I think there is a fear that if suddenly it is deemed alright to do donuts in an approved area that is somehow condoning this behavior and a fear that this type of behavior may take wings and encourage a lot more people to get into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

Most of these doughnut culprits couldn't drive a thumbtack in a bog with a frying pan!!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

I think there is a fear that if suddenly it is deemed alright to do donuts in an approved area that is somehow condoning this behavior and a fear that this type of behavior may take wings and encourage a lot more people to get into it.
    Well, motor racing is allowed on private circuits, so why shouldn't donutting be done the same way? I don't think we can blame Mondello for all the bad driving that happens on public roads.
    Let the donut enthusiasts organise themselves, acquire the sites, do the safety and environmental obligation stuff and get the insurance sorted. Then, no problem.