Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman knocks me down and then verbally abuses me for SPEEDING on my bike?!

• 17-05-2012 2:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭

I'm still in shock at the total ignorance of the wagon :mad: :mad:

Basically, I was cycling back to work today (I'm a postwoman) in full safety gear- hi viz vest, helmet etc when a dopey bint decided to pull out of a parking space and hit me an unmerciful belt of her car. Myself and the bike went flying :( Did she get out of the car to see if I was ok? Did she fcuck! A passer-by attended to me and finally, after about 5 minutes, she gets out and says 'are you ok'? in a less than pleasant tone. To which I answered in an equally unpleasant tone that no, I was not ok, my hand was bleeding profusely and needed stitches. And what does she do? Goes off on one ranting about how I was cycling too fast and that I flew up so fast that she couldn't see me. I told her I had just as much of a right to be on the road as a car and I was obeying all rules of the road but she was having none of it. She basically shouted at me that I was SPEEDING. On a big heavy post bike that had a bag of letters on it :confused:

So the passer-by stepped in to my defense (I was shaking with both shock and anger at this point), she was told by the wagon to mind her own business. The guards arrive and the wagon is just as ignorant to them. My supervisor arrives to collect me and the wagon takes to firing filthy looks out the window at us while the guard speaks to us. And wagon drives off without so much as an apology! Ugh I'm so fricking mad :mad::mad: what is wrong with these people???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Basically, I was cycling back to work today (I'm a postwoman) in full safety gear- hi viz vest, helmet etc when a dopey bint decided to pull out of a parking space and hit me an unmerciful belt of her car. Myself and the bike went flying :( Did she get out of the car to see if I was ok? Did she fcuck! A passer-by attended to me and finally, after about 5 minutes, she gets out and says 'are you ok'? in a less than pleasant tone. To which I answered in an equally unpleasant tone that no, I was not ok, my hand was bleeding profusely and needed stitches. And what does she do? Goes off on one ranting about how I was cycling too fast and that I flew up so fast that she couldn't see me. I told her I had just as much of a right to be on the road as a car and I was obeying all rules of the road but she was having none of it. She basically shouted at me that I was SPEEDING. On a big heavy post bike that had a bag of letters on it :confused:

So the passer-by stepped in to my defense (I was shaking with both shock and anger at this point), she was told by the wagon to mind her own business. The guards arrive and the wagon is just as ignorant to them. My supervisor arrives to collect me and the wagon takes to firing filthy looks out the window at us while the guard speaks to us. And wagon drives off without so much as an apology! Ugh I'm so fricking mad :mad::mad: what is wrong with these people???

Some people are ignorant arseholes. She is still going to be an ignorant arsehole tomorrow and the day after. I hope the gardai gave her a bollocking to be honest as you have no right of way when reversing at all. Totally her fault.

Get well soon, try not to worry about it, let the gardai do their job. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭Stark

She's a wagon. And Irish people have very odd notions when it comes to "speeding". I remember cycling out West before on a 2 ton rental bike with knobbly tyres and some middle aged women started tut tutting that we were "cycling far too fast" when we cycled past them on the road (with plenty of clearance) as they were out walking.

Did the Garda take her details? Can't imagine being abusive to a Garda after knocking down a postman is going to work in anyone's favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Women!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

Hope your hand heals up quickly and you have no other injuries.

At a guess I'd say she got the fright of her life, unfortunately there are people out there who would rather go out on the attack rather than admit they are at fault.

I see our postman on his bike regularly. There is a big basket at the front and stands/stabilisers at the front which help the bike stand up when you are off making deliveries to houses.

If you wear the same gear he does the only way for her not to have seen you was for her to not bother to look!

Hopefully the Gardai are considering a driving without due care or attention charge.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Hope you're OK. You did the right thing to get the guards out. Hopefully they will have sufficient evidence to take further action against the driver

There's no such thing as speeding on a bike btw - speed limits only apply to motorised vehicles (although there are other offences that could theoretically be applied to cyclists, it would appear none of them could be in any way relevant here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I wouldn't get too mad about it if I were you. She's about to learn a lesson in all likelihood. Particularly if you follow up with the gardai and insurance.

A few years back I was on a motorbike when a similar standard of driver pulled across my path without bothering to look. When I got up off the ground she said "Look at the damage you've done to my car! I hope you're insured!"
    Her insurance paid me in full, and she is probably still getting an annual reminder to look where she's going in the form of increased premiums.
    Focus your anger in a positive way. Direct it at ensuring that she gets to pay for her ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Women!

Im a woman :(:D
    Profiler wrote: »
    Hope your hand heals up quickly and you have no other injuries.

At a guess I'd say she got the fright of her life, unfortunately there are people out there who would rather go out on the attack rather than admit they are at fault.

I see our postman on his bike regularly. There is a big basket at the front and stands/stabilisers at the front which help the bike stand up when you are off making deliveries to houses.

If you wear the same gear he does the only way for her not to have seen you was for her to not bother to look!

Hopefully the Gardai are considering a driving without due care or attention charge.

Strangely, she didn't seem like she got a fright at all. Thinking about it, if it was me in the car I would've gotten an awful fright and got straight out to make sure the person I hit was ok. In fairness, I don't see how she COULDN'T have seen me, hi-viz vest, bright green helmet and a big heavy trundling bike. I know accidents happen and I was very lucky but it was her reaction that has me annoyed :rolleyes: Hope the guards throw the book at her.... Although she probably wouldn't see it and she'd drive straight into it anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

hope you 're ok

speeding on a post bike, now that i would like to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭leggit

If she was being that much of a cow and you needed stiches in your hand you could and should claim!

That'll learn 'er!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Stollaire

I would wallow in the fact that sweet, sweet delicious justice will be served to the old wagon.

She clearly takes zero responsibility for her actions behind the wheel of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ccull123

Hope your feeling a bit better. where did this happen????

I guess ignorance is bliss with some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

That's terrible. Contact the gardai and they should offer you the option of making a formal statement, and they'll look for any witnesses to volunteer one too so hopefully they or you took details of your witness at the time. I assume the same procedure largely applies whether or not the gardai attended the scene, but them having been there should make for a stronger case (as in a stronger case when it comes to them deciding whether to pursue this through the courts, though it may also strengthen their case in court too if it gets that far). Them having attended might also mean that they won't need you to provide details of the car and driver too since they should have recorded that themselves, but you should note those details down for your own records regardless if you haven't done so already and have them in your head still.

Good luck with it, it's certainly a scenario that warrants pursuing it with the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

doozerie wrote: »
    Good luck with it, it's certainly a scenario that warrants pursuing it with the gardai.

Just on that point... It's a personal injury accident so there's an obligation on the gardai to investigate. Just something for the OP to keep in mind if she detects any slacking in that department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I would definitely continue to follow it up with the Gardai to see what they're going to do.

Driving a vehicle in a public place in a manner which is likely to cause injury to another road user == dangerous driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭serfboard

My poppest of pop psychology takes on this is that this is mis-directed anger.

The person she's most angry at is herself.

She knows she f**ked up by not looking and knows that she could now be in trouble with her insurance company and possibly the Guards.

That, or she could be one of those people who completely abdicate responsibility and blame anyone else except themselves for their woes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭deandean

Terrible to hear that Mrspostman. Trust you have her address; tear up any cheques heading her way ;)

As is often posted in the motors section here, there are a shocking number of completely CRAP drivers out there. Like, they haven't a bloody clue.

Were you clocked in at the time? If so, this might be classed as a 'workplace injury', get your company's HR section to do the paperwork and claim against her insurance for injuries received. That's about the only way you'll be able to give her a good kick.

P.S. Suggest you try fingerless gloves, they protect the hands well in the event of an 'off'

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

RT66 wrote: »
    Just on that point... It's a personal injury accident so there's an obligation on the gardai to investigate. Just something for the OP to keep in mind if she detects any slacking in that department.

Personal Injury aside, she was driving without due care and attention, the Gardai just need a witness for them to push it further and get it brought to court and have suitable action taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I suspect Ms Wagon Lady is going to find postal deliveries a bit intermittent from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Popoutman

Oh I'd say all bills will be delivered post-haste.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Tomred13

Hi Mrspostman

Really hope your okay? you will be sore and stiff in the morning from your fall. You are completely in the Right and im glad the gardai were called and make Sure you follow this up.. Im sure since you were working at the time that An Post must have rules and protocols concerning staff that are injured in the line of work? maybe An Post will follow it up for you.. that womans behavour was appaling, but her kind are in an minority..im glad that bystanders came to your help and defence as these people are the majority..
    Get Well!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

The OP is obviously completely in the right; people pulling out into the road have to give way to road-users already on the road.

I presume the following is redundant, and that you had good road-positioning before the incident, but I'll write it down just in case. I hope it's not labouring the obvious and doesn't sound condescending.

It's possible that she glanced in the mirror and you didn't register. This might seem surprising, but hi-viz only increases contrast; it doesn't necessarily switch on warning alarms in the brain of the onlooker, especially an apparent dimwit, such as this one. When passing parked cars, one should keep a good distance out; more than an arm's length. That way you're more visible to someone looking in a mirror, and have more time to react if they do pull out unexpectedly.

On the other hand, the fanciful claim about you speeding does suggest that she might have seen you and misjudged how far away you were. Then again, she might have been saying anything to make it sound as if it were your fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Hope you're ok and feeling better very soon.

However, I cannot condone some of the comments made here in relation to disruption to anyone's post - that should not even be joked about.

I would prefer if crazy car lady's post was not disturbed and to show good faith I think you and your colleagues should make an extra-special effort for her - give her everybody's junk mail!!

You'll be doing us a favour, making yourself feel better and with she'll struggle to get out the door each morning, making us all safer:)

In a way, it's kind of a good thing that she was such a b!tch to you.

It means you won't have to feel bad about suing her to kingdom come.

Get a good personal injury lawer and take her to the cleaners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

As you were working take a nice break from worl.Its an occupational injury and you will get your wages from An Post while you are off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Get a good personal injury lawer and take her to the cleaners.

Insurer will cover. She might lose a bit of NCD but that'll be it unless the gardai pursue it. IANAL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

RT66 wrote: »
    Focus your anger in a positive way. Direct it at ensuring that she gets to pay for her ignorance.
    yeah, she sounds like the ignorant type that won't give a second thought to other road users until she gets hit in the pocket for her behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Sounds terrible, the lack of consideration towards others never ceases to amaze me. That's pretty unbelievable, but hopefully the gardai will deal with it appropriately.

Had two rather large ladies out for a stroll the other morning, blocking the phoenix park bike path, me appraching face on with a strobe on, them not budging and already forced a couple of cyclists onto the grass to get around them at the Chesterfield roundabout. The conservation went something like this
    Me - "Excuse me, you're blocking the bike lane". Reply from one of the ladies (the larger of the two, IIRC) "fcuk you". In fairness, they looked like they needed the exercise, so I kept cycling, but what ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

As far as I know, it's not possible to be done for speeding on a bicycle as it does not come with a factory fitted speedometer. Likewise Usain Bolt cannot be done for exceeding 30km/h in the city centre if he's running for a bus.

Lumen wrote: »
    IANAL.

You WHAT!??

:P

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

You WHAT!??

:P
    He's not one of "them";)
    (I'm not either, but IAAA)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Beasty wrote: »
    He's not one of "them";)
    (I'm not either, but IAAA)

did we not get downgraded by moodies there recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

kenmc wrote: »
    As far as I know, it's not possible to be done for speeding on a bicycle as it does not come with a factory fitted speedometer. Likewise Usain Bolt cannot be done for exceeding 30km/h in the city centre if he's running for a bus.

Maybe when doing the water meters the government could install Garmin 800s on every bike, that would allow the Guards to finally tackle the menace of bike-speeding postal delivery workers;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

I wouldn't normally encourage insurance claims, but you are entitled to compensation on this one.
    Also, see it as a duty to 'teach her' and thereby protect other potential two-wheel victims.
    Her insurance company will gladly settle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭riparooo

Agree with High Nellie here.

You reserve the right to take a civil action which could include Assault - that would send her a message.

Contact a solictor and discuss this option, this kind of behaviour is too prevalent to go unpunished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭chainsawman

you should have stayed on the grounds and let the people call the Abulance and The Gardai and even the priest, to pump up your insurance claims..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

riparooo wrote: »
    Agree with High Nellie here.

You reserve the right to take a civil action which could include Assault - that would send her a message.

Contact a solictor and discuss this option, this kind of behaviour is too prevalent to go unpunished.

Assault? Steady on. The driver F'd up and acted stupidly, I don't think she saw a postie and thought "I never got my post, I'm going to take this bi*ch out!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ccull123

CardinalJ wrote: »
    Assault? Steady on. The driver F'd up and acted stupidly, I don't think she saw a postie and thought "I never got my post, I'm going to take this bi*ch out!"

Forget about the assault...why not go the whole hog "Attempted Murder"...... Accidents happen. Her attitude after though was a DISGRACE!!
    get well!!

CardinalJ wrote:

The laws around assault are quite broad and lots of things fall under the definition of assault that might surprise some e.g. yelling at someone can be deemed assault. From here:

2.—(1) A person shall be guilty of the offence of assault who, without lawful excuse, intentionally or recklessly—

(a) directly or indirectly applies force to or causes an impact on the body of another, or

(b) causes another to believe on reasonable grounds that he or she is likely immediately to be subjected to any such force or impact,

without the consent of the other.

(2) In subsection (1) (a), “force” includes—

(a) application of heat, light, electric current, noise or any other form of energy, and

(b) application of matter in solid liquid or gaseous form.

(3) No such offence is committed if the force or impact, not being intended or likely to cause injury, is in the circumstances such as is generally acceptable in the ordinary conduct of daily life and the defendant does not know or believe that it is in fact unacceptable to the other person.

(4) A person guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £1,500 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.

To my mind what the OP experienced is quite clearly assault by the above definition, but that's something for a lawyer to clarify.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

ccull123 wrote: »
    Accidents happen.

They don't just happen. People make them happen. In this case it could have been a range of things or a mix of them:
    • The driver spotted the cyclist but underestimated her speed
    • The driver spotted the cyclist but proceeding regardless because she thought the cyclist should / will / could stop for her
    • The driver checked her mirrors but did not see and/or look for a cyclist
    • The driver did not check her mirrors

Sorry, I just hate the phrase "accident" it seems to have become at least partly linked with the idea that the acts leading to it were nobody's fault or were unavoidable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

monument wrote: »
    Sorry, I just hate the phrase "accident" it seems to have become at least partly linked with the idea that the acts leading to it were nobody's fault or were unavoidable.
    This is the primary reason why the acronym "RTA" has disappeared and is now reported by the Emergency services and (most of) the media as an "incident" or a "collision".

"Accident" implies that it was something which happened to those involved, that they didn't cause it.

• The driver spotted the cyclist but proceeding regardless because she thought the cyclist should / will / could stop for her

Anyone who cycles in the city knows this happens all the time.

Driver sees cyclist, driver thinks "it's only a cyclist, sure they can stop if I pull out in front of them / drive across their path".

Absolutly calculated and I agree with previous comments, these people need the book thrown at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

OFF TOPIC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

I'll eat all the post the OP hasn't been able to deliver since the accident is the driver is charged with assault. Careless driving maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

CardinalJ wrote: »
    I'll eat all the post the OP hasn't been able to deliver since the accident is the driver is charged with assault. Careless driving maybe.

Quoting this just in case :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

monument wrote: »
    They don't just happen. People make them happen. In this case it could have been a range of things or a mix of them:
    • The driver spotted the cyclist but underestimated her speed
    • The driver checked her mirrors but did not see and/or look for a cyclist
    • The driver did not check her mirrors

Well the driver did say that the lady cycling the laden down postbike was "speeding" so I would infer from that piece of information that she had seen her well enough to judge her speed, decide it was too high and, then decide to move out into her path anyway!

In reality, I'd imagine she just didn't take any due care or consideration before pulling out, and then couldn't own up to it afterwards.

My theory about being able to run down anyone you like as long as you lob a bike onto the road beside them afterwards has not been changed after hearing the circumstances of this incident.

That reminds me, I must get a bigger bike rack for my car and a new supply of beaten up old bikes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Unfortunately, you just generally find some ignorant road users everywhere!

My most recent experience of this:

I was driving (in a car) along a very narrow road that I am very familiar with. There wasn't enough space for two cars to fit without clipping mirrors, so I stopped. Normally you have to inch past / very gently drive along / sometimes you even have to fold the mirrors in to pass.

Anyway, the car coming towards me ploughed through and she removed her own mirror! Mine folded and wasn't damaged.

She got out of the car and wanted my insurance details and started shouting about how I had driven into her! She had actually driven into a stopped car.

The car behind me witnessed everything and got out and said she was prepared to make a statement to the gardai if necessary. The wagon just got huffy and stormed off.

I was stopped with the handbrake on!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

The standards of driving in this country are shocking. Most of it isn't down to carelessness but down right rudeness on the road. People whom aren't mannerly in life don't suddenly become so behind a steering wheel or handle bars for that matter. I cycle to work 17 miles everyday and what I see on the road is shocking. I hope that you recover from your injury soon and I'm sure the stitches will heel a lot quicker than the
    physcological damage. Hope your back on the bike soon and delivering the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Wagons driving a car is like a wagon pushing a buggy its bigger then you so you have to move or its your fault

CardinalJ wrote:

The point is that the driver could be charged with assault. I would agree that it is unlikely, not because the situation doesn't warrant it but because of the general fairy casual social attitude towards road traffic incidents. People such as the driver in this incident would do well to remember the potential consequences to them though if they insist on acting like utter arses towards other people on the road - such people are clearly not overly concerned about the impact of their actions on others, maybe if they considered the potential subsequent impact on themselves they might cop themselves on a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,150 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Don't think there is such a thing as "Vehicular assault" in Irish law?

From a U.S website: who causes bodily injury to another commits the offense of negligent vehicular assault.
    (2) Subject to subsection (3), a person convicted of the offense of negligent vehicular assault shall be fined an amount not to exceed $1,000 or incarcerated in a county jail for a term not to exceed 1 year, or both, and shall be ordered to pay restitution