Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being a Kerry person...the list...

• 17-05-2012 8:06am

...so what do you have to do to really be "of" Kerry? Surely there is a list that could be compiled?

1. Swam at 2 of Caherdaniel, Rossbeigh, Inch or Banna
    2. Climbed 1 of Brandon, Carrauntoohil or Mangerton
    3. Been to the Rose Festival, either as a kid in the Town Park or as an adult drunk in Horans or...Spirals...
    4. Been to a County Football Final
    5. Attendeed a Cork Kerry game in Killarney
    6. Been out to either the Skelligs or the Blaskets
    7. Been to at least one stage of the Rally of the Lakes
    8. Drank in 2 of either the Harp Bar in Cahersiveen, Dick Macs in Dingle or the Square Pint in Kenmare

There must be loads more qualifier tests...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

...so what do you have to do to really be "of" Kerry? Surely there is a list that could be compiled?

3. Been to the Rose Festival, either as a kid in the Town Park or as an adult drunk in Horans or...Spirals...
    8. Drank in 2 of either the Harp Bar in Cahersiveen, Dick Macs in Dingle or the Square Pint in Kenmare

9. you went to school with or grew up with at least 1 kerry footballer:)

great thread btw:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Been to the bog?

I know, probably a sterotypical thing but when I first starting going out with herself, a kerry woman, everyone kept asking have you been brought to the bog yet. I thought it was a piss take until I had to spend a week "in the bog". Great craic tho I must say with good banter but I had never heard of it til I ventured to south kerry!

9. you went to school with or grew up with at least 1 kerry footballer:)

great thread btw:D:D

Of course, yeah. I think there is one degree of separation between every true Kerry person and an inter county footballer! The thread is a bit of a rip off of that very good Killarney list that did the rounds lately...though that was pretty funny too.

10. Know at least two fellows who "could have been Kerry footballers" but were "mad for drink".
    11. Gone to Puck Fair.
    12. Swam in the Aquadome.
    13. Knows exactly where the "Bullring" is (yet often would never have heard of "Mitchell's Crescent"...)
    14. Has wondered just how long the corridors in Kerry General really are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

14. Has wondered just how long the corridors in Kerry General really are.

And what exactly is at the end of them...?

15. Are capable of eliciting every piece of presonally identifying information from a stranger and be able to trace some family connection to them without them realising it whilst divulging nothing about yourself.

16. You say one thing and mean the opposite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭kevmol88

SeaFields wrote: »
    Been to the bog?

17 ^^^
    18. Got "The Shift" in Ballybunion
    19. Accused of being from Cork(the shame :pac:)by Northern Folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Lovin' this guys & with every post I am being re-assured that yes I am actually from Kerry

*phew :D

20. Ended up on a boat to see Fungi and spent the evening in a pub across the road before trying to find accommodation cause you're in no fit state to leave Dingle :o

21. Pucking around on a beach in South Kerry (oh Castlecove I love ya!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭tvercetti

22. Been approached by a particular foreign woman outside your local post office, she has expanded outside Tralee recently.

23 How's the craic ? "old stock"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

24 if your from the town you wer brought up on taytos and coke

25. Gone over on the Tarbert Killimer, just for the novelty of driving on to a ferry...in Kerry!
    26. Wonder is it so bad to think Kerry first, Ireland second.
    27. Stared around Dingle and try to think like Peig did on her first day there.
    28. Be very proud of the fossilised trackway in Valentia...but never seen it as it means leaving the car!
    29. Golfed in one of Killarney, Ballybunion or Waterville. Or drank in the clubhouse of one of them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

kevmol88 wrote: »
    23 How's the craic ? "old stock"

I thought of my brother in law straight away when i read that!

30. Would moving the cows or sheep count?

31. Been to a show in the INEC, or the Gleneagle..or the Aras Padraig.
    32. Been to Youth Club County Club day with what seemed like every teenager in Kerry.
    33. Really want to beat the Sem in sports. Or quizzes. Or just about anything (may not apply to students of the Sem).
    34. Be scared of getting sent to the Sem (may not apply to students of the Sem).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭dealornodeal23

Milked the Cows
    spread the manure

37 Won (and lost) a fortune at The Listowel Races

38. Were a witness to some birthday celebrations down the Bishops' path

39. Gone on a boat-trip at Ross Castle and being able to laugh at the 'stories' being told off as facts to the tourists about the history of the lickle islands around you

40. Proud that here is where Kerrymaid is made

41. Bought a bodhrán or tin-whistle so you can join a local ceili group when on a night-out

Knowing where the Ho Chi Mhin (pronounced ming) trail is, and believing it was named after a chinese restaurant that once stood there.

Sunday afternoons in winter spent driving around the Dingle Penisulla in the grey mist.

Sunday afternoons in summer traipsing up to Torc waterfall.

Getting your confrirmation clothes in Cork or Limerick city.

Knowing which side of the Mall is for the cool kids and which is for the wannabes...

Getting chucked out of Harry Roaches as a right of passage.

Believing anyone in Kerry outside of Tralee is a culchie. Being shocked that the rest of the country thinks you're a culchie too.

Smocking in your school uniform under the smoking tree in the green, thinking your teachers can't see you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Maybe Tralee more than kerry but...

47. Had a feed in the Burger shack
    48. Knows who Jimmy greasy is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭whistlingtitan

Knowing there is only two kingdoms
    The kingdom of Kerry
    And the kingdom of god
    And are in that order

Falling out of the (old) abbey at 4 in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭tvercetti

Had a post thanked by kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Being able to understand Jackie Healy Rae. If you can do that, you are definatly from Kerry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭kingdumb

how did ye get this far without...

49: Detest people from Cork

kingdumb wrote: »
    how did ye get this far without...

49: Detest people from Cork

Ah surely not. Quite the opposite. I would say like people from Cork. Except when it has anything to do with gaelic football. Sure West Cork and South Kerry...it's almost one and the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭kingdumb

To tell the truth I find people from South Kerry are a bit strange too, Deas-Mhumhain innit :)
    Ah surely not. Quite the opposite. I would say like people from Cork. Except when it has anything to do with gaelic football. Sure West Cork and South Kerry...it's almost one and the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

Knowing there is only two kingdoms
    The kingdom of Kerry
    And the kingdom of god
    And are in that order

Falling out of the (old) abbey at 4 in the morning

And get a hot dog from the guy with the little wagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭shergar22

50. Got drink in the offie in the Goalpost
    51. Gone knacker drinking up The Nov (or at the back of the Ashe Hall).
    52. Gone to the Beat in the Street in Denny Street.

53. Attended the Fair Day in Kenmare

kingdumb wrote: »
    To tell the truth I find people from South Kerry are a bit strange too, Deas-Mhumhain innit :)

That's not "strange".

That's "cosmopolitan"...:p

shergar22 wrote: »
    50. Got drink in the offie in the Goalpost
    51. Gone knacker drinking up The Nov (or at the back of the Ashe Hall).
    52. Gone to the Beat in the Street in Denny Street.

I think our posts are not so much about identifying us as being from Kerry so much as identifying us as Tralee people of a certain vintage :o.
    That's not "strange".

That's "cosmopolitan"...:p

True, it's when you get beyond the Windmill that things start to get a bit, eh, "different".

/Gets (non-culchie) coat...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

You know who says, Sweet Blue Jesus, hanum di-al

You say Peg instead of throw

Went to Crag Cave on a school tour

There is a very important border at the County Bounds (Cork)

You have personally nailed green and gold fertilizer bags onto a Telephone pole to support Kerry.

Hate getting ate by midges whilst "footing" turf in the bog

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

55. going to Dingle for the August bank holiday & sleeping in tents in a field!

56. Ladies free on a Wednesday night in Spirals

57. the 'hurdy gurdy's during the festival & how the locals would get to go on the rides longer before & after the festival was on...my late Grandmother was friends with Mr. Bird the late owner of the funfair and he used to give her loads of passes for us every year! ah the memories :)

Ciarrai76 wrote: »
    55. going to Dingle for the August bank holiday & sleeping in tents in a field!

56. Ladies free on a Wednesday night in Spirals

57. the 'hurdy gurdy's during the festival & how the locals would get to go on the rides longer before & after the festival was on...my late Grandmother was friends with Mr. Bird the late owner of the funfair and he used to give her loads of passes for us every year! ah the memories :)

Oh yeah, knowing that Birds doesn't mean winged creatures that lay eggs, or even ladies, but rather bumpers, has to be in there.

Like the school tour in Crag Cave by Stinicker above too. I think Fota and the RDS Springshow must count too.

58. Has eaten at Den Joes, the Allegro or Viva Burg.

59. Refers to the airport as Farranfore Airport, not Kerry Airport.

60. Arrived at Killarney Station drunk from cans in the train.

61. Is proud of the Lartigue Monorail.

62. Has wondered if Liebherr is big enough to hold a game of football indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

63. Kerry is the only county where both males and females are called "lads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭jkforde

"Being a Kerryman, in my opinion, is the greatest gift that God can bestow on any man. When you belong to Kerry you know you have a head start on the other fellow. In belonging to Kerry you belong to the elements, to the spheres spinning in the heavens. You belong to history and language and romance and ancient song. It's almost unbearable being a Kerryman and it's an awesome responsibility."

John B. Keane

🌦️ 6.7kwp, 45°, SSW, mid-Galway 🌦️

"Since I no longer expect anything from mankind except madness, meanness, and mendacity; egotism, cowardice, and self-delusion, I have stopped being a misanthrope." Irving Layton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

64. Has driven into Killarney on the 1st Sat in July at 7am ready to do the ring of Kerry cycle and thanked the lord that life was good enough to you that you had the privilege to about to spend a day seeing such beautiful views of the kingdom :0)

65. You complain that the towns are so quiet during off-peak times and complain again during the Summer when the towns gets busy with tourists :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Being from Kerry we wonder, what the hell tourists see in our county and its non-stop rainyness. However then we realise how beautiful, cool and refreshing the rain is especially for those who are used to nice weather, put yourself in their shoes.

jkforde wrote: »
    "Being a Kerryman, in my opinion, is the greatest gift that God can bestow on any man. When you belong to Kerry you know you have a head start on the other fellow. In belonging to Kerry you belong to the elements, to the spheres spinning in the heavens. You belong to history and language and romance and ancient song. It's almost unbearable being a Kerryman and it's an awesome responsibility."

John B. Keane

Great line. Hadn't seen that before. But so true. It is a privilege to come from this county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If a Kerry person makes an appointment, they like to surprise people by missing it and turning up out of the blue some days, or even weeks later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭goodies

68. practically everyone in Tralee knowing a road where people walk as "the Fat Mile"
    67. complete lack of use of indicators driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Being able to understand Jackie Healy Rae. If you can do that, you are definatly from Kerry!

Or West Cork

Actually lot of the things ye have posted I have done , O the shame

Or West Cork

Yep, as I said above...
    I would say like people from Cork. Except when it has anything to do with gaelic football. Sure West Cork and South Kerry...it's almost one and the same.

Sure in a place like Beara, take a village like Ardgroom, there is no "Cork and Kerry"...again except surrounding the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭jkforde

....coming down the hill outside Castleisland and getting the first view into the Maine valley, out to Cahersiveen and the bay, then Dingle hills to the right, and the the Reeks and Laune valley with the Paps to the East blending into Cork. Your soul is dead or you aren't a bona fide Kerryman if that doesn't stir something in the cockles!

(warning, going off topic here, the above reminds me.. where does KCC decide in their wisdom to locate a winter grit depot? right at one of the best viewing points in the county :o... i know the road needs a decent depot up there somewhere but does it have to be right there, a lovely scenic spot that could be developed into a nice attraction in it's own right, but anyways, i digress.... )

🌦️ 6.7kwp, 45°, SSW, mid-Galway 🌦️

"Since I no longer expect anything from mankind except madness, meanness, and mendacity; egotism, cowardice, and self-delusion, I have stopped being a misanthrope." Irving Layton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Dirigent

Stinicker wrote: »
    Being from Kerry we wonder, what the hell tourists see in our county and its non-stop rainyness. However then we realise how beautiful, cool and refreshing the rain is especially for those who are used to nice weather, put yourself in their shoes.

It's only when you move away you realise the beauty of a grand soft day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Knowing that it's pissing down with rain because God doesn't like Listowel Races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Knowing that it's pissing down with rain because God doesn't like KERRY and comes from West Cork

makes sense now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭newman10

Booking out of Jurys/Burlington (name your B&B or Hotel) on the day after the All Ireland and booking the same room for next year ;)