Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Half Marathon - Athenry 2/09/2012

• 14-05-2012 3:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭

Any idea of the course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Any info on this at all, very little on it anywhere??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

emerald007 wrote: »
    Any idea of the course.

Fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭doctorchick

AAI only met last week to discuss this and only saw myself last night that they have us up as hosting the event.

We have been throwing a few ideas around for routes but it looks as if the route will be twice around the Fields route with a small detour on the first lap to make up the extra km or so. Won't be able to finish under the arch as that would mean crossing the railway line and unlike Stephens Day there are trains running so that rules out a town finish. Will most likely finish at the back of the train station where Fields normally starts.

We will be plotting and planning over the next few weeks and will try and release any relevant info on this thread and on www.athenryac.com

Iain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Sounds good , hope to be able to make it down for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

The 10km race route referred to above is available here
    http://www.athenryac.com/course-map
    But as mentioned, the exact route hasn't yet been finalised.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Got in an email a couple of months ago that this was due for athenry then someone mentioned it was to be Waterford again? Have the AAI actually decided yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Festinatio Cursor

Got in an email a couple of months ago that this was due for athenry then someone mentioned it was to be Waterford again? Have the AAI actually decided yet?

Its on the AAI calendar as Athenry so I presume so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Reaganomical

Had the pleasure of taking part in the National 10k in Athenry back in 2008. Excellent organisation that day and I would imagine no less for the National Half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

Athenry Ac will do a brilliant job. Will be a great race. Super location - the M6 makes it so accessible. This is now THE target race for every club in connacht I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭jahaco

Hope it's as fast a course as Waterford was last year where I got a significant PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Would have preferred if it was on the Saturday and go on lash afterwards!

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Would have preferred if it was on the Saturday and go on lash afterwards!

Take monday off :D

Seriously though, we did get the option but Sunday will have infinitely quieter roads around Athenry on Sunday than the Saturday plus as we will use the area where people park for the train station as the finish area (hopefully) this would be parked out on a Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭PainIsTemporary

AAI only met last week to discuss this and only saw myself last night that they have us up as hosting the event.

We have been throwing a few ideas around for routes but it looks as if the route will be twice around the Fields route with a small detour on the first lap to make up the extra km or so. Won't be able to finish under the arch as that would mean crossing the railway line and unlike Stephens Day there are trains running so that rules out a town finish. Will most likely finish at the back of the train station where Fields normally starts.

We will be plotting and planning over the next few weeks and will try and release any relevant info on this thread and on www.athenryac.com

Iain

If there are 800+ runners like last year, running 2 laps of the Fields of Athenry route could cause problems with runners being lapped on narrow country roads. Just an observation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

If there are 800+ runners like last year, running 2 laps of the Fields of Athenry route could cause problems with runners being lapped on narrow country roads. Just an observation.
    Not a big problem.
    For that to happen, you need loads of people running sub 1:10, combined with loads of people running sub 2:20.
    Judging by this,
    http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2006/05/half-mar-2011-results-overall.pdf
    You're looking at 20 odd people in total.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭PainIsTemporary

aburke wrote: »
    Not a big problem.
    For that to happen, you need loads of people running sub 1:10, combined with loads of people running sub 2:20.
    Judging by this,
    http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2006/05/half-mar-2011-results-overall.pdf
    You're looking at 20 odd people in total.

One of the many positives of the National Half Marathon route in Waterford last year was that the course was an out and back course, run on roads that were big and wide and well able to cope with the 800+ starters. The majority of the course was very well surfaced with only a small section of the course going on to secondary roads. 

Having run in the Fields of Athenry multiple times I can see the narrowness of the road/course being an issue if it is a 2 lap course with 800+ runners. As you state it may only affect 20 runners. However consideration should be given to those runners up front nonetheless as national medals (team&individual), subsequent selection for the European Clubs Half Narathon Championships, selection for the World Half Marathon Championships, and the opportunity of a good time will be at stake. 

I have run in road races where walkers/fun runners start an hour before the main race, only for the walkers/fun runners to cause havoc for the lead runners when they are later passed because they walk/jog taking up the whole road, not leaving enough room for other runners to pass through, and because the organisers haven't put a plan in place to deal with such a problem arising. Such shortsightedness on the organisers behalf can change the result of a race. Similar problems have arisen in road races run over multiple laps both here in the Republic and in the North.

It would be unfortunate to see that happening in a national championship event, hence my original post. And having run the Fields of Athenry multiple times I can forsee there being similar issues arising this year if the LOC don't have a plan in place.

Ultimately this is a championship event. A huge turn out would be fantastic for the event. However the organisers need to give consideration to the needs of all runners, the masses and the runners at the competitive end of the race too. It may only affect less than 20 runners, but there will be a lot at stake for those athletes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Last year it was a dual race with some half-marathon challenge or something, that pushed the numbers up like the GI 10k. Is that the plan again this year or just club athletes?

Pain is Temporary: We have been looking at this issue, and in particular the 'extra bit' we need to include to get us up to 21Km. We have now come up with a variation on the route taking out the previously described new section. This will result in approx 20km of the 21km being on good quality roads, with the remaining 1km being on a good road that will be at such a point in the race that the race will have seriously thinned out (it is about 17/18km in) and it is only traversed once, so there will be no issues with meeting up with back markers etc. It is also being discussed that we run the route in the clockwise direction rather than the anti-clockwise direction that the FoA normally uses, this makes it a safer route to run (not normally an issue for FoA as the road is so very quiet being the day it is). We will finalise the route very soon and publicise it.

Beepbeep: We have been asked to look into opening this up to non-club athletes, and we most likely will. There are some admin issues to sort out before an absolute final decision is made and again this will be done hopefully in the next few days.

Iain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Having run in the Fields of Athenry multiple times I can see the narrowness of the road/course being an issue if it is a 2 lap course with 800+ runners. As you state it may only affect 20 runners. However consideration should be given to those runners up front nonetheless as national medals (team&individual), subsequent selection for the European Clubs Half Narathon Championships, selection for the World Half Marathon Championships, and the opportunity of a good time will be at stake.

Yeah some good points there. Was at the novices race on sunday which was a 2 lap course and the finish was messy. A few marshalls tried to get backmarkers to move over to one side of a narrow path(which most did)but it wasnt ideal. I saw one lady wearing headphones and running with a pram. She couldnt even hear the instructions the marshalls were giving her to move over to one side as the lead lads tore up towards the finishing chute.
    I ran a 10k in the k club earlier this year which was a two lap course aswell. Nearly got decked twice by back markers as they veered in front of me at the last minute(wearing headphones aswell). So I think opening this up to the public, the course being a two lap route and all, isnt such a great idea. Theres a good chance a lot of them will wear headphones and if that happens it could get messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭GKiraly

Anyone know if a decision has been made yet about opening this up to non-club runners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

GKiraly wrote: »
    Anyone know if a decision has been made yet about opening this up to non-club runners?
    Anyone can run it. Most of the runners wonts have clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

Not seeing a lot of info on this race yet.

Athenry A/C website has the following

"Published on 14th May 2012
    Athenry AC has been chosen to host the 2012 National Half Marathon Championships. The race will be held on Sunday 2nd September around the streets of Athenry at 1pm. This is great news for the club and for running in the county to get this race and follows on from a very successful hosting of the National 10Km Championships several years ago.
    Further details will appear here in due course."

It's only 6 weeks away, anyone have any confirmation re course and non-club runners.

Hoping as a non club member to do this as my first Half Marathon.

To answer some questions:-

Yes the race will be open to non runners. All entries will be handled by AAI online system which we are just waiting to go live at the moment.

The race route has been finalised by the club but we are having an inspection by AAI in the next week and after we get their agreement that all is good we will publicise the final route. There is no point doing it at the moment in case they ask us to change something - the most important point is that, whatever the route, it will be an accurately measured HM course. However the main bulk of the route will be the FoA 10K course which Alan has provided a link to earlier in this thread.

The roads are plenty wide enough to handle the numbers of runners we anticipate and the first part of the run where the most bunching will occur is on a very good road. For those of you who know the FoA 10K course the 4km stretch heading back into Athenry has had all its hedges trimmed in the past 2 days which means the road is now back at its full width.

I realise the website has not been updated since I first put the post up but to be honest, there is nothing of significance to put up there at the moment. Obviously the main thing we are waiting for is the opening of the registration by AAI.

Iain

OK, so the race organisers are meeting with AAI representatives tonight to discuss the race and the course. Mick Rice (in fantastic, super fast form ahead of the Connemara 100) and myself measured the course on Sunday afternoon and we think we have a nice but challenging course.

With only 5/6 weeks to go until the race we really hope that we can get the race entry open this week, but this is out of our control as it is being administered by AAI.

Will pass on any relevant details after tonights meeting

Iain

Course agreed, AAI reps are happy, everything has been given the green light.

Entries should be open on the AAI website tomorrow - EUR20 online until 5pm 31st August and individual entries WILL be taken on the day for EUR25.

However VERY important to note is that you will not be able to register on the day and be eligible to be considered as part of a team, to be considered as part of a team you must register ahead of 31st August.

Race is open to AAI registered athletes AND non-registered athletes

Link to Routemap on MapMyRun

Iain

have a nice but challenging course.

Ok talk to me a little more about this course. I get nervous when people start using words like "challenging" its usually code for "Ball breaker"

Be some serious pb's on this course https://events.athleticsireland.ie/ps/event/WoodiesDIYHalfMarathonChallenge1

13.1km? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

tunguska wrote: »
    Ok talk to me a little more about this course. I get nervous when people start using words like "challenging" its usually code for "Ball breaker"

HTFU Man with your training you should be able to eat nails and crap thunder:D

Balls on the block I am going after sub 60 for a national record:D

Better be measured right though would hate to line up for it and be dramatically long:p

ecoli wrote: »
    HTFU Man with your training you should be able to eat nails and crap thunder:D

You're right of course. I find myself getting far too into the flat course only mentality.

How do you register for this anyway? We were told to register ourselves but if you try to register as an AAI affiliated runner they tell you there's not enough on your team. So do you register for the half marathon challenge and then let the club submit a team closer to the time? :confused:

Balls will remain in one piece on the course. The course is by no means billiard table flat, but has a few long drags and a few short sharp inclines (most of those in first 1-2 miles) so enough to let the legs know they have had a good day out. The run into the finish line is mostly down hill, including quite a steep downhill with about 300 to go. If anyone has ever run the FoA 10K this is rise you would normally go up at the very start - but for the HM you are doing the course in reverse.
    Better be measured right though would hate to line up for it and be dramatically long
    You can bet that this is measured accurately, I didn't spend 5 hours on sunday helping out an IAAF accredited measurer for nothing :) We will also be looking to get a second measurer out to verify the first measurement
    How do you register for this anyway? We were told to register ourselves but if you try to register as an AAI affiliated runner they tell you there's not enough on your team. So do you register for the half marathon challenge and then let the club submit a team closer to the time?
    Hmm, I was led to believe that you should be able to register as an individual athlete without having to have a team declaration, but obviously could then be declared as a team. As Athenry AC have no involvement in the registration process then only AAI can answer that question, though we will also put it to them.
    13.1km?
    :o - will get onto them about that

All,

I think the issues that were highlighted have now been resolved, and we are once again back to a 13.1 MILE race with individual entry (although team entry form has disappeared).

Iain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

This is coming up soon. Many thinking of doing it?

Is the fact that it is the 'National Champs' a reason that people may pick this race over others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭jahaco

Is anyone able to produce a Garmin or Map My Run profile for the Athenry course?

I'm running both this and the Dublin Race series half in preparation for the DCM.

jahaco wrote: »
    Is anyone able to produce a Garmin or Map My Run profile for the Athenry course?

I'm running both this and the Dublin Race series half in preparation for the DCM.

From the Athenry AC Site http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/119541475

Bugsy2000 wrote: »
    This is coming up soon. Many thinking of doing it?

Is the fact that it is the 'National Champs' a reason that people may pick this race over others?

Well yeah, particularly club runners because clubs will submit teams and there are prizes for top 3 teams, and category prizes etc

Plus they're always well organised, good facilities, the correct distance :mad: well marshalled :mad: and usually have food and showers afterwards. :)

This run is coming up in a week so I've a couple of questions, details seem hard to find so hopefully someone can answer.

The flyer says the start is at PCA (http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?page_id=9434) but the maps say the start is out by the Raheen Woods hotel, Is registration at PCA and the start out by Raheen?

Are there pacers at a Half Marathon?

lway wrote: »
    The flyer says the start is at PCA (http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?page_id=9434) but the maps say the start is out by the Raheen Woods hotel, Is registration at PCA and the start out by Raheen?

Yes, that is correct. Registration and parking is at PCA then it is about 400-500m to the start of the race at Raheen Woods Hotel. There is a link road from near Athenry Railway Station (at back of PCA) that leads to the Raheen Woods Road - runners will be held here and then taken to the start line. The finish line is at the station which is just a few metres away from the PCA grounds.
    Are there pacers at a Half Marathon?

Sorry, but no.

All,

Just a quick note to say that although the start line is at the Raheen Woods Hotel the hotel grounds are NOT to be used for race parking (unless of course you are staying there). We will be posting marshals there to direct race traffic to the parking areas. Please park in the Presentation College Athenry, the main Athenry car parks, or wherever else our parking marshals direct you to. There will be plenty of signs around town to direct you also.

Iain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

entries taken on the day? thks

Yes there will be entries taken on the day. However if you enter on the day you will not be eligible to score on a team as all team declarations have to be made in advance of race day.

Iain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Any idea how many entries you have to date?
    Will the course be marked in miles/kms/both?
    Any water on the course? Cups / bottles?

Thanks!

Any idea how many entries you have to date?
    Will the course be marked in miles/kms/both?
    Any water on the course? Cups / bottles?

Thanks!

We are hoping to get the current list of entries in the next 24 hours or so. I have heard a figure, but until I get the official figure from AAI then not going to mention it, but it is substantial. Water will be provided at 2 places, at the 3 mile (approx) mark which is also the 9 mile point, and at the 7.5 mile point which is also around the finish point. We have a separate area at the finish line for finishers water. On course water will be in small bottles with a sports cap (200ml I think) and water for finishers will be in cups.

The course is marked in miles only. There will be large signs on the side of the road detailing the mile point, but as usual it is not always possible to put these at the exact point of the mile if there is nothing convenient/safe to put them on. The road has been marked (see picture below) with the exact mile point - the white dot, and also which mile point you are at.

Iain

rsz_hm_markings.jpg

Anybody have a breakdown of the course mile by mile? A garmin or mapmyrun profile is one thing but id like to hear from someone that has actually run over the route. Cheers

That would be spoiling all the fun of Sunday then :D

Seriously though, I have run and cycled this many times, so here goes:-

0 - 1.5: undulating, high quality road surface, a couple of 50metre (in length) inclines/declines but nothing that would need mountain rescue.

1.5 - 2.5: Almost flat and dead straight, not a main road but surface is good quality. If anything probably a net decline over the mile (or so it seems)

2.5-3.5: pretty flat, slight incline, good road, but twisty in places.

3.5-4.5: Narrowest part of course, parts with a bit of grass in the middle (to keep the city boys amused), gentle incline on first part with gradual drop down at end onto the main road section at mile 4.5

4.5 - 7: Very good road, mostly flat (but with a definite net downhill) and very straight - great sighting if you need to pick someone off. At about the 6.5 mile mark there is a new piece of road installed that deviates off the old 10K course as council are installing a roundabout here, this has a bit of a rise but nothing of any consequence. Shortly after there is a good downhill section that leads you to the finish point/start of loop 2

7 - 8.5: This is a slow slog up hill for the most part as you head out of Athenry. Broken only for a small part at about 7.5 where there is a small downhill. You then start to very slowly gain back all the height you lost on 4.5-7, but it is gentle and nothing overly testing. The road here is twisty but road surface is good as long as you stay away from the very very edges of the road.

After 8.5 you are back on the road as described above from 2.5 onwards.

There are no hills there that are going to stop you dead, but a few inclines that may make you sweat when you have some hard fast miles in your legs.

Iain

We have tRR at home minding the kids and sprinters :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

ecoli wrote: »
    minding the kids and sprinters :p
    Same thing, no? :)

You can sometimes get through to a kid:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Kids don't need to go for a lie-down after 30 seconds activity. jaysus, if only...