Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 bad comp in a row. F*** this wretched game.

• 11-05-2012 3:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭

Anyone else feel like throwing in the towel with this game.

Yes I am looking to vent. Wife v good to give me loads of time when it comes to golf(young kids) and I can't go home and complain about it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

I think you're doing quite well to feel like that after 3 rounds. I usually feel like that 3 times per round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

m r c wrote: »

Yes I am looking to vent. Wife v good to give me loads of time when it comes to golf(young kids) and I can't go home and complain about it then.

Whats the hcap, where do you keep missing, whats a "bad" comp, and do ya get any evenings in to practice? Oh and relax :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

don't complain about a bad game - a bad game is better than none at all.

I've hade to cancel a round....for the second time this week because of her indoors. As i look out at the sunshine and say i'm mad is an understatement!!! Playing partner is probably going to get sick of this as well shortly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

charlieIRL wrote: »

I've hade to cancel a round....for the second time this week because of her indoors. As i look out at the sunshine and say i'm mad is an understatement!!! Playing partner is probably going to get sick of this as well shortly.

Ok I'm only putting this down here because it's anonymous. Today I had nine points of 24.

That's a bad day at the office!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Yes , same boat.

A bit of quality time with your wife is how to vent - ;) Sorry man.

When you come home and she asks you how did you play , it is like, what a waste of time.

But the golf makes you a better and more relaxed man in the end. That's what I'm hoping. :)

Ok I'm only putting this down here because it's anonymous. Today I had nine points of 24.

Oh ya and that was with strangers who knew each other. The looks they were giving each other were priceless. The only positive is this has to be rock bottom right???

lol. Jesus i hope she does not read that. :D

Go get a few lessons and practice what he tells you, if yuo're getting 9/10 points off 23 where u have 2 shots on 5 holes its something that needs addressing, otherwise ur head will be fried spending 4 hours hacking around the course

Tones69 wrote: »
    Go get a few lessons and practice what he tells you, if yuo're getting 9/10 points off 23 where u have 2 shots on 5 holes its something that needs addressing, otherwise ur head will be fried spending 4 hours hacking around the course

That's what i did. But you have to know you will go way back first, before you go forward.

Not really, i dont think a 24hcapper is gonna go "way back before going forward" dude, one or two pointers practiced could shave 2 or 3 strokes off his game immediately

I don't know about that ? Would love to hear of someone who went out with a change and straight off improved ? But, I'm new to lessons myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FANTAPANTS

kepp the head up went through bad patch last year i couldnt hit a ball 20 yards for 6 weeks. You will find something that works for you and then your the "KING" of golf again!!!!! At least you have all your clubs....out today with a mate and he was that bad he smashed his fav club of his bag hence 5 wood in half :D:D:D

I don't know about that ? Would love to hear of someone who went out with a change and straight off improved ? But, I'm new to lessons myself.

Itl take a few days/weeks for the new habits to set in alright, thats what practice is for, if he got one lesson and practiced flat out every evening for an hour then played a round the following week, whos to say he wouldnt see improvement? Some people catch on very quick and some people dont

Fair enough a week. That is what i did and after 1 week was an improvement. Had 2nd lesson and can't play again. I'm hoping it will be a week again. But Drive gone, gone.

But takes a bit of time and hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

Do you normally play to near your handicap?

link_2007 wrote: »

Do you normally play to near your handicap?

Played rugby for years, took up golf bout 1yr ago. I do struggle a bit with "aggression" but I do play to 24 and I reckon I will level out at 17. That is being honest. And saying I will make 17 I could see myself break 80 once or twice on my "day"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Jaysus lads, don't worry about 3 bad comps, thats nothing !!
    I've had 3 bad years ! Gone from 3 to 9 h/cap and swiftly heading for 10 !
    Its a right b1tch of a game at times :)

I'll probably shoot something stupid like 45pts tomorrow out of the blue !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

I know exactly how you feel OP. Having worked hard on my game over the winter and playing reasonably well from February to mid April...I hit a very bad patch over the last few weeks. I was not too happy about going out and playing.
    2 weeks ago I had my 5th lesson since February - and played the worst that I have ever played last Saturday. So 3 more practise sessions at the range this week - it is getting better again. I am almost looking forward to the weekend but also nervously hoping that it will go well. Over the last previous 2 weeks though I was seriously questioning why I was even bothering. I reckon I still need a minimum of another 2 weeks before I really begin to settle down.
    I would have taken a break if it was not for the fact that I have to play a 4 ball matchplay tomorrow.
    So you are not the only one. The most important thing is to enjoy your time on the course somehow - usually the views and fresh air do it for me. Last Saturday leaving the place in a hurry was about the only enjoyment I got.

Hope you turn the corner soon.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I think everyone feels your pain OP but I have a little story to share with you

A while ago I was playing crap golf and one of my playing partner's was playing great stuff. On the course one day he told me that his marriage was over. Knocked me for six. How he managed to focus on golf is beyond me but it was a reality check for me. It's only a game and it's great to get out but at the end of the day if all we have to worry about is golf we have little to worry about.

Here is a great article on the Frustrations of golf

Thanks for the replies lads esp the last two.
    Two points. Today was the first time really(ever I'd say) that taking in the scenery and views even as I was playing bad wasn't all I needed to lift the spirits. That's one of my favourite things about being lucky enough to play golf, the beauty of it.
    But today the way I played really spoilt it for me.

And you are right. It is only a game. I'm a very lucky guy I have a simple but for the most part stress free life.

What is it about golf? Why does it have such a draw. Even to mediocre players like me. I understand if you are pro/scratch level ect that you get to enjoy the game at its purest level and I can imagine how easy it is to come back for more the next day. But I also know it can be equally as frustrating at that level. Does it appeal to the side of the human mind that likes to punish us?

One more thing. How did you guys eventually accept your given level?
    As in. I'm a 24 h/cpper and that's my level or I'm a touring pro who is never going to get a W. or I've 30 wins but no major or I've only 5 majors.
    Achieving an acceptance of your given talents must be an important part of becoming a more rounded "golfer"

I think everyone feels your pain OP but I have a little story to share with you

A while ago I was playing crap golf and one of my playing partner's was playing great stuff. On the course one day he told me that his marriage was over. Knocked me for six. How he managed to focus on golf is beyond me but it was a reality check for me. It's only a game and it's great to get out but at the end of the day if all we have to worry about is golf we have little to worry about.

Here is a great article on the Frustrations of golf

wasn't me!!!:D
    As in. I'm a 24 h/cpper and that's my level or I'm a touring pro who is never going to get a W. or I've 30 wins but no major or I've only 5 majors.
    Achieving an acceptance of your given talents must be an important part of becoming a more rounded "golfer"

I have accepted that I will prob never reach a really low handicap (<10) but I want to get to the mid teens and stay there. Its not a handicap that a lot of the lads her aspire to but 15/16 is my goal....however if i never get to it I don't mind, as long as i can't wait till my next round and i enjoy the good rounds and the bad rounds!!

Lads, this thread is deep. Well after 6 pints etc. I have to agree that you have to accept the level that you are at. For all the talk of 10,000 hrs , you have to accept that with family and life you will not reach that. So for me about 12 was the best or my natural ability. With a bit of hard work i would get to 9 , but it would not be worth missing out on your life , kids , wife, poetry, travel. You have to put golf in a box. It is a big part of your life, but not shared with the people you need to share it with.

Golf is an unhealthy form of existentialism. :D;):p:):rolleyes::o:mad::(:eek::cool::P:confused::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

Accept my limits!! NEVER...
    Stroll around and take in the scenery ...I don't think so.
    Enjoy the bad rounds......f%&k no.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Jul3s

To accept your level as you call it, all you have to do is give up and do nothing.
    Russman wrote: »

OP when you've reached this level of pain and frustration from the game your complaints might begin to be somewhat credible, until then grow a pair and stop whining like a little girl.

Jul3s wrote: »

To accept your level as you call it, all you have to do is give up and do nothing.
    Russman wrote: »

OP when you've reached this level of pain and frustration from the game your complaints might begin to be somewhat credible, until then grow a pair and stop whining like a little girl.

Telling people on an internet forum to "grow a pair", I was going to reply but then I'd be like you.

First off I wasn't telling people I was just telling you, secondly you're just like every other 24 handicapper, that thinks he should be better than he actually is, when in reality you're just rubbish and always will be unless you "grow a pair" and stop complaining like a little girl and get out there and do something about, but hey that sounds too much like hard work right!.

hey jul3s, relax ok

Yea too much reality sorry, carry on mrc and you'll get there eventually maybe.

Reality maybe but no need to be a smart ass about it. not everyone here is a low handicapper. we're here cause we're passionate about the game and all thats involved with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

First off I wasn't telling people I was just telling you, secondly you're just like every other 24 handicapper, that thinks he should be better than he actually is, when in reality you're just rubbish and always will be unless you "grow a pair" and stop complaining like a little girl and get out there and do something about, but hey that sounds too much like hard work right!.

Are you taking bookings for motivational speeches?

OP some good advice in here and none more so that getting one lesson and practise what you're shown. Doing this and coupled with the attitude you will get to a lower level for sure. Enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

What makes me laugh about this thread is some fool was bound to come in and mock. That said fool is Jul3s. Gas thing is if you are playing off 24 and someone off say 14 is mouthing off. They'd want to look at themselves and ask why they are only 10 shots better! Funny thing is you never get a really decent golfer mock like that. Anyone playing off single figure appreciates the hard work to get to that level and remembers exactly what it was like when you felt you just couldn't hit a ball. Cock on the block Jul3s has all the gear but isn't that great.

Anyway I feel your pain OP. We've all been there. But its the day you are pulling out of the club carpark after breaking your own personal record is what you live for. The cracking shots that fly into a green and you feel like a pro. Put the negative ****e behind you and look forward to the good times. You'll be back before you know it. Personally if im playing bad i have a few little moments of rage and then remind myself how lucky i am to be out playing golf. If you ever feel like giving the game up maybe you should for a couple of weeks and come back hungry.

Best of luck turning it around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

I know someone heading for their 20th straight 0.1 in a row tomorrow. Someone who is capable of murdering their current handicap but just hasn't been able to put it together. He will probably come in with 44pts tomorrow but the point is there is always someone worse off! :)

What makes me laugh about this thread is some fool was bound to come in and mock. That said fool is Jul3s. Gas thing is if you are playing off 24 and someone off say 14 is mouthing off. They'd want to look at themselves and ask why they are only 10 shots better! Funny thing is you never get a really decent golfer mock like that. Anyone playing off single figure appreciates the hard work to get to that level and remembers exactly what it was like when you felt you just couldn't hit a ball. Cock on the block Jul3s has all the gear but isn't that great.

Anyway I feel your pain OP. We've all been there. But its the day you are pulling out of the club carpark after breaking your own personal record is what you live for. The cracking shots that fly into a green and you feel like a pro. Put the negative ****e behind you and look forward to the good times. You'll be back before you know it. Personally if im playing bad i have a few little moments of rage and then remind myself how lucky i am to be out playing golf. If you ever feel like giving the game up maybe you should for a couple of weeks and come back hungry.

That is one great post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Everything about this post is wrong....patronising to the last!

as someone previous has said , you probably have all the gear but your a ****e golfer !!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Funny you should start this thread OP as I'm just back from one of they worst rounds of golf in a very long time. I think I lost about 13 balls, ripped up my card on 12 after scratching yet another hole, 8 I think I had scratched at that stage. All the way home I was like a dog and so annoyed, but I'm already looking forward to Wednesday as I know I'm not that bad...how good I can get....I'll let you know in a few years.

Oh god a.n.other hacker offended, whatever shall I do?

BERBA wrote: »
    Everything about this post is wrong....patronising to the last!

as someone previous has said , you probably have all the gear but your a ****e golfer !!!
    That maybe so, but funnily enough I don't feel the need to tell everyone how ****e I am, and look for sympathy like a little beatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Oh ya and that was with strangers who knew each other. The looks they were giving each other were priceless. The only positive is this has to be rock bottom right???

Nope ! There's nine notches till you reach rock bottom !!! :D

That maybe so, but funnily enough I don't feel the need to tell everyone how ****e I am, and look for sympathy like a little beatch.

Thats the whole point of this forum though, post about ur good rounds and then cry when u have ****e ones, thats life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

Oh god a.n.other hacker offended, whatever shall I do?
    I'm not offended ya didn't have a go at me. But I know you will try and pull back your credibility here. Yous all do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I played in blainroe today with a couple of friends. One of the lads plays off 28 and today he finished with 8 points....

Not once did he moan or get down. He just laughed and got on with it.
    Weather was amazing, strolling along the coast and out of the house for a few hours. Who cares if someone is a hacker or rubbish at the game. At the end of the day every single one of us on here is a hacker when you see what a real golfer is able to do on a regular basis.

Personally I was laid up with illness for over a year up until last summer and during that time I would have sold my granny to be able to hack a golf course up on a summers day in shorts and a t shirt.
    When I'm playing well below a level I know I'm capable off I just think back to being laid up on the couch watching Jeremy Kyle everyday and am just thankful that now I'm able to walk around a golf course. It's a nice reality check when I get annoyed with bad play and I get on with it with a smile and a deep breath.

OP don't worry one bit about your scores. Accept you are lucky enough to ve able to get out and play and even afford to play in current climate. When you forget about your scores and just get on with playing in a jovial manner you will notice better scores before you know it.

ForeRight wrote: »
    I played in blainroe today with a couple of friends. One of the lads plays off 28 and today he finished with 8 points....

Not once did he moan or get down. He just laughed and got on with it.
    Weather was amazing, strolling along the coast and out of the house for a few hours. Who cares if someone is a hacker or rubbish at the game. At the end of the day every single one of us on here is a hacker when you see what a real golfer is able to do on a regular basis.

Personally I was laid up with illness for over a year up until last summer and during that time I would have sold my granny to be able to hack a golf course up on a summers day in shorts and a t shirt.
    When I'm playing well below a level I know I'm capable off I just think back to being laid up on the couch watching Jeremy Kyle everyday and am just thankful that now I'm able to walk around a golf course. It's a nice reality check when I get annoyed with bad play and I get on with it with a smile and a deep breath.

OP don't worry one bit about your scores. Accept you are lucky enough to ve able to get out and play and even afford to play in current climate. When you forget about your scores and just get on with playing in a jovial manner you will notice better scores before you know it.

Thanks. It's all about perspective I guess, trust me lots of times before I didn't let it get to me but I let my poor play get the better of me yesterday. One thing I'm normally aware of is perspective I guess yesterday was a slip no doubt.

Can we just go back to the balls for a second.

When I was your age ? I was going around and my balls were full, I imagined that I had big balls, but little did I know that my balls had not even dropped. Then, life can give you a kick in the balls and you need to get your balls straight again. It is hard to get your balls back when they are gone. You now know your balls will never be the same again. This is the balls of life. I guess you could say life is a balls.

Life is like a bag of old (golf) balls, you need to "grow them", but there are no balls when you need a ball and it is all rough and cracked. So a fully grown ball is only fully grown before the ball falls.

I'm going to go back and water me balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

mrc -there is definitely a fine line between caring and letting it get to you. I am delighted to hear that you care about your golf. If you did not care then you will probably never get better.

I don't know if you saw the cut line the other night with Shane Lowry. He admitted to breaking down in tears a few weeks after turning pro - he just did not think that he was good enough to be on tour. So he realised he had to work harder.

This game owes you nothing - and there is no guarantee that hard work will make you better. There also seem to be plenty of begrudgers attracted to this game - those who are so gifted that they just hit the ball and it is always brilliant. They'll repeatedly tell you that you'll never get any better. Of course if you choose to listen to them, then you never will. So do not heed them.

I think accepting your current ability when playing a round of golf can make you a more rounded golfer and more in control of your round. It stops one going for wonder shots that have no chance of coming off. So definitely play within your current ability but there is nothing to say that your current ability is your ceiling of ability. As human beings we all learn and progress in different ways and at different rates - enjoy the journey and most importantly enjoy the time spent in the mad pursuit of chasing a little white ball around the countryside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

15ddb2bb-e6f7-433d-b93e-77594b6ff09e.jpg

When I was your age ? I was going around and my balls were full, I imagined that I had big balls, but little did I know that my balls had not even dropped. Then, life can give you a kick in the balls and you need to get your balls straight again. It is hard to get your balls back when they are gone. You now know your balls will never be the same again. This is the balls of life. I guess you could say life is a balls.

Life is like a bag of old (golf) balls, you need to "grow them", but there are no balls when you need a ball and it is all rough and cracked. So a fully grown ball is only fully grown before the ball falls.

:P

k.p.h wrote: »
    :P

It was / is a good thread, but we need to "grow balls". So a bit of ball hopping. ;)

This has got me thinking. I spent the last few hours growing me balls but now my balls are too big and are affecting my swing, indeed maybe I need a ball reduction or have them taken away all together.
    I'm going to say it. I can't make a full hip turn cos of my balls I'm afraid to commit :)

This has got me thinking. I spent the last few hours growing me balls but now my balls are too big and are affecting my swing, indeed maybe I need a ball reduction or have them taken away all together.
    I'm going to say it. I can't make a full hip turn cos of my balls I'm afraid to commit :)

Lol, I could get a ban if that runs. That would be a balls. If my wife could see me now smiling about me balls. With my on line friends, it would be no more balls for me. By the way my balls are on the way from England in the post, but the ****ers are holding me balls too long. Two weeks for balls, the world is gone to balls. Me no balls, me balls won't come - balls , balls, balls, RocketBallz.

Sorry.

There are always ****ers in this world who will put you down. It makes it all worth more in the end. But, at some point you need to ignore them and do it for yourself. ****ers like that wake up in there forties are lonely on the net talking about balls
    "Oh **** that is me". ;)

**** it may go the pub. Life is a balls with me ****e golf at the moment. Drink solves nothing. It also make you talk **** for a day.

For non Dubs, me = my. A parochialism my (ball) friends.

Trust you to make a balls of it.