Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle Superstore - sorry, I'll shop elsewhere in future

• 09-05-2012 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭

I really liked Cyclesuperstore. I bought my bike there. I bought a lot of other stuff. I liked the attitude of the guys who worked there, helpful but not in your face. I like their outreach stuff, like the pumps in the coffee shops initiative.

I was in there about a month ago to stock up on recovery drinks. There was no price on any of the stuff I needed. That's something that really bugs me, having to bring the product to the till to get a price - it puts you in a difficult position as a consumer (not to mention what the Consumer legislation has to say about it). I ended up walking out without buying anything (got it on Wiggle instead). On telling Mrs. Zen0 about this, she suggested I should have complained, to give them a chance to fix the problem.

I went back in today and there was still no price on a lot of the stuff. I brought a box of energy powder and a pack of tube patches to the till. To be fair to the guy on the till, he was under pressure, juggling a lady buying a new bike, somebody on the phone, and had a queue forming. When it got to my turn I asked for the price on the products and pointed out that there was a lot of stuff with no price on it. I suggested that I'd hate to have to bring my custom elsewhere (I'm not good at complaining, and I don't like doing this stuff). The guy on the till responded that "they were too busy for that", no hint of an apology. I paid for the stuff, but I will not be back for a long time.

I want to support the local economy, but when I get customer support like this, it's hard not to get drawn to the likes of Chain Reaction (at least based on this island), Wiggle, Evans etc. I'm going to try some other LBSs, but sometimes they make it so hard.

I'm not posting this to let off steam. Cyclesuperstore seem to be doing a bomb, and it's probably no skin off their nose if they lose one customer. But if they are pissing off lots of other people who just don't go back, that may be another thing. So just maybe by posting this it might get back and make a difference. I won't be back anytime soon, but I really liked the shop, and I'd hate to see them go the way of Cyclogical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

CycleBike in St Mary's Abbey seems to be the same - no prices on anything (other than the actual bikes).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Mountain = Molehill

Sounds you timed your "complaint" badly. Good crew working there...energy stuff is usually priced from what I can see.

It's new bike season and as you described the guy was busy - give them a break!

You must get vexed very easily if you simply had to create a thread about it.

chakattack wrote: »
    It's new bike season and as you described the guy was busy - give them a break!
    Strange attitude! Would you find it unusual if your local supermarket had no prices displayed? Or ordering from a menu in a restaurant without prices? It's a legal requirement for pubs to display prices. Why should it be any different for a bike shop? Any what has being very busy got to do with anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

if you wanted to make a statement, you'd have been better off *not* buying the stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I personally would want items priced also. I don't see what the difficulty is in doing it. If you are selling stuff then price the damn goods.

Strange attitude! Would you find it unusual if your local supermarket had no prices displayed? Or ordering from a menu in a restaurant without prices? It's a legal requirement for pubs to display prices. Why should it be any different for a bike shop? Any what has being very busy got to do with anything?

I'm not arguing against pricing things. Aside from a world of rules and regulations you have everyday guys doing their job. I was there last week and the lads were run off their feet - each seemed to be doing 3 jobs at once. It's not like they have a policy of not pricing they were clearly busy and hadn't got to it.

Who looks at the prices in pubs anyway....you order, pay, drink, repeat:cool:

When stock isn't priced do staff not get pi$$ed of constantly checking prices for customers?

Crap just remembered I never picked up something from them. Thanks OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I know it sounds petty, but it pissed me off too. There was a que at the till, I only wanted a set of brake pads and needed to know how much they were. I walked away.

Its bad practice end of. I ended up buying them elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Zen0, I agree with you.

Cyclelogical lost my custom on the basis of terrible customer service. The shop may have dropped the ball on the prices, but manners cost nothing: The staff member should have taken the observation better.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

I'm not arguing against pricing things. Aside from a world of rules and regulations you have everyday guys doing their job. I was there last week and the lads were run off their feet - each seemed to be doing 3 jobs at once. It's not like they have a policy of not pricing they were clearly busy and hadn't got to it.

Who looks at the prices in pubs anyway....you order, pay, drink, repeat:cool:

I know what pub prices are. :)
    Missus gives me 10 quid to go out, pocketmoney.

I was there last week and the lads were run off their feet - each seemed to be doing 3 jobs at once. It's not like they have a policy of not pricing they were clearly busy and hadn't got to it
    Sounds like they have an incompetent management system.

Incompetent, certainly not. Imperfect, yes, like all establishments.

Sounds like intolerant keyboard warriors being petty to me

Anyway it's a good shop and it irritates me when people get turned off and form opinions about somewhere on the basis of one person's minor gripe when in general the service is very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Incompetent, certainly not. Imperfect, yes, like all establishments.

Sounds like intolerant keyboard warriors being petty to me

Anyway it's a good shop and it irritates me when people get turned off and form opinions about somewhere on the basis of one person's minor gripe when in general the service is very good.

it would appear the OP isnt alone.
    how long would it take to get a feckin sharpie and write the price on the box? they wouldnt even have to price them individually. its poor customer service, maybe your standards are different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Zen0

On reflection, I think chakattack is right on one level (though he has a lovely way of putting it). The guy behind the counter was struggling to keep up with things, and I should cut him some slack. He was trying to keep it going with no sign of assistance. On the other hand, if CSS is too busy to put prices on things then they don't need my custom and I should spread it around a bit. I am genuinely sorry to say that. I liked shopping there and it was out of a sense that I'd hate to see them screw it up that I made the post, not because I was ticked off. I will keep trying to spend it in the local economy where possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭blobbie

Tis a legal requirement to display prices for goods and services as per some EU regulation or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Mosiki

What if they had the same attitude when their supplier brings their stock? 'Cant unload it today, too busy for that.'

Its laziness, I like the shop personally, bought my own bike there, but if they have time to put a price on an 8k Pinarello then put a price on the drink sachets too, there is more customers buying that kind of product more regular. People are a lot more price aware these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

All there prices are on their website....i check prices before i leave the house. Simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

Great shop, and particularly great staff. They're a pleasure to deal with.

Like a lot of LBS's they can be pricey but I have to say I have nothing else but good to say about them.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Do most people really do that though? I would assume that general way of operating is to base your judgement on collective opinion rather than one just one person's. If, for example, a shop gets largely positive feedback, with one or two complaints, is that going to turn people off instantly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭stevie_b

Zen0 wrote: »
    I really liked Cyclesuperstore. I bought my bike there. I bought a lot of other stuff. I liked the attitude of the guys who worked there, helpful but not in your face. I like their outreach stuff, like the pumps in the coffee shops initiative.

I was in there about a month ago to stock up on recovery drinks. There was no price on any of the stuff I needed. That's something that really bugs me, having to bring the product to the till to get a price - it puts you in a difficult position as a consumer (not to mention what the Consumer legislation has to say about it). I ended up walking out without buying anything (got it on Wiggle instead). On telling Mrs. Zen0 about this, she suggested I should have complained, to give them a chance to fix the problem.

I went back in today and there was still no price on a lot of the stuff. I brought a box of energy powder and a pack of tube patches to the till. To be fair to the guy on the till, he was under pressure, juggling a lady buying a new bike, somebody on the phone, and had a queue forming. When it got to my turn I asked for the price on the products and pointed out that there was a lot of stuff with no price on it. I suggested that I'd hate to have to bring my custom elsewhere (I'm not good at complaining, and I don't like doing this stuff). The guy on the till responded that "they were too busy for that", no hint of an apology. I paid for the stuff, but I will not be back for a long time.

I want to support the local economy, but when I get customer support like this, it's hard not to get drawn to the likes of Chain Reaction (at least based on this island), Wiggle, Evans etc. I'm going to try some other LBSs, but sometimes they make it so hard.

I'm not posting this to let off steam. Cyclesuperstore seem to be doing a bomb, and it's probably no skin off their nose if they lose one customer. But if they are pissing off lots of other people who just don't go back, that may be another thing. So just maybe by posting this it might get back and make a difference. I won't be back anytime soon, but I really liked the shop, and I'd hate to see them go the way of Cyclogical.

Do CSS not have the prices on their website? (like Wiggle, and chain Reaction....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭buffalo

elduggo wrote: »
    Great shop, and particularly great staff. They're a pleasure to deal with.

Like a lot of LBS's they can be pricey but I have to say I have nothing else but good to say about them.

They were out of stock of the item I ordered, and rang to offer me an alternative. Doesn't say a lot for their website and inventory system, but I appreciate a call rather than my order not arriving for three weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The only real criticism I'd level at them is that they consistently appear to be busy. You will often be left standing at either the parts counter or the sales counter for ten minutes waiting for a member of staff to become available. That's not good and only encourages walk-outs. But when you do manage to get a hold of someone, the staff are always fairly friendly.

More staff would probably help. The owner is a tightass and so is probably running the absolute minimum staff needed. But I suppose when it gets busy, someone isn't going to stand at an empty sales counter while there's a customer standing on the floor looking for assistance. So it's a hard one to balance.

On the pricing front, I find that a lot of stuff often has a sticker on it. But back when I worked there (15 years ago now), the owner retained complete control over all aspects of pricing and inventory, so if he's still doing that, that would explain why there are no prices on a lot of stuff, as it's too much for one man.
    Simply printing out some shelf edge labels though would only take a few minutes, rather than putting stickers on everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

At peak hours they are quite busy...an irish success with the level of business they appear to be doing, the shop is staffed by cyclists and there prices for gels and othe nutrition products is right up there with the likes of CRC..

I think the example highlighted of gels not having a price on them is probably not normal and the place being busy, well it happens everywhere, coffee shops, Tesco when you go at peak times and should be expected...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭dermur

I suppose people are a lot less likely to post positive things about their experiences in any particular shop.

So in the interests of fair representation, I've also used CSS a good few times and never had anything less that excellent service from a knowledgable group of lads who appear to genuinely care about their work.

Even if this had happened to me (annoying as it is) I'd think twice before sacrificing the overall good service that I get from them.

Actually, having said that I do have one problem - does anyone understand how those loyalty cards work? :confused: Are they just a way for them to build up a customer mailing list? They don't seem to do much else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

The OP was right to complain, but it was a rather meek complaint.

It's your hard earned money, if you are not vetting satisfaction then take the business elsewhere. No need to apologise for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭k123456

07Lapierre wrote: »
    All there prices are on their website....i check prices before i leave the house. Simple.

Seems an unusual business model, where customers check prices on web before calling to shop

Seems crazy not to have prices on display

It would be interesting to see, if one is charged different prices for the same item, depending on when , who ,you ask in shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭furiousox

I was in there a few weeks ago looking at (among other things) the energy bars.
    I think they were around 35 quid for a box of 30.
    When I asked the guy at the till would it be possible to split the box open and give me half a dozen he was quite happy to do so, no problem at all.
    There must be hundreds of different items in that store, just because one or two of them may not be priced wouldn't make me reconsider shopping there ever again.
    It only takes a second to say "can I check the price on this please?"

CPL 593H

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

dermur wrote: »
    I suppose people are a lot less likely to post positive things about their experiences in any particular shop.

Well just to buck the trend so, big thumbs up for Beecycles and Holyboy who posts here by times. I'd a bust spoke on a wheel with unusual inverted spokes, Holyboy needed to order up a special tool to do the job, once completed he commented that the rims were on the way out and some other spokes weren't great either and refused to take any money for the parts or time he'd spent on the job. Proper craftsman and pure gent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

furiousox wrote: »
    I think they were around 35 quid for a box of 30.

Thats some expensive sugar, man :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I generally end up walking out empty handed anywhere I'm faced with shelves of unpriced items - it automatically makes me wonder if
    A) are prices not shown because they are expensive (probably)
    B) do I really need it (probably not)
    it used to be just B and C, unfortunately now
    C) can I afford it? (maybe not)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

I went in to CS to buy a Cube mountainbike and as was mentioned was left hanging around waiting for help. Walked out in the end and got it elsewhere

However I've also been up there other times and the staff have been great once you get them.

Don't know how people can think its moany to complain about a lack of prices on shelves. If I want to buy something and don't know if it's €10 or €100 it's going to annoy the hell out of me.

Also, not everyone goes Ito a shop knowing what they want to buy. Bike shops, even the big ones, must be under collossal pressure from CRC/Wiggle/Bike24 etc, so having the prices of their stock on display isn't a huge ask!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Price check scanner. Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

I used to work there pretty recently, and will say this for them from an extremely biased position:

The staff in general know their stuff about bikes, and tend to pair people with the right bikes, equipment and accessories for their needs, and will take the time to make sure that the customer knows why it might be worth spending extra in certain areas and save in others. Generally, the stock is well priced, and they do what they can to stay competitive with the online retailers.

They generally are very busy, which must be frustrating for customers. When I was there, we really tried to let people know we knew that they were there and that once someone was free, they'd get the same level of attention we were affording the person we were with. As Rok On said, manners cost nothing, and we tried to treat everyone fairly and not seem either ignorant or arrogant.

Because they are so busy, stock tends to turn around fast, and this can be especially true of things like gels and drink mixes. When they run low, they get it out on to the shelf as quick as possible, and sometimes don't get to price it until it's quiet again. Sometimes that means a lot of customers having to inquire about how much something is. Again, when I was there, we tried to have shelf mounted labels with prices on them, but stuff got moved around a lot, and sometimes the labels would end up in the wrong place. That used to happen with shoes especially; someone would try on a pair of €90 shoes and put it back on the shelf for €190 and vice versa, and customers would get confused, as would staff. I'm not saying it's excusable, just understandable.

If the guy was a little rude to you, that's not on. I'm sure he was stressed and busy, but a "sorry, things got moved around there recently, we'll try to get them priced as soon as possible" would have been far better than "we're too busy for that". I'm sure that comment was an exception, and not the rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Price check scanner. Problem solved.
    +1 and this would probably be as useful for staff as customers, as plenty of times I've seen staff having to wait for a till to become free just to check a price for a customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Perhaps email this thread onto them... Constructive criticisim and all that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Looks like the take constructive criticism well and act upon it fast!!

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewContent.asp?idpage=63

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Planet X wrote: »
    I know what pub prices are. :)
    Missus gives me 10 quid to go out, pocketmoney.

You're spoiled by my standards mate:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

I've had the exact same experience with CSS as the OP, except it was probably over a year ago.
    I was interested in buying a couple of tyres - no prices, and then came across a few other bits and pieces that I was interested in - but no prices.
    I went up to the counter once to get a price - grand, except having to queue to get the price....
    I then managed to grab a staff member to get me a price, but he didn't get back to me - no biggie, it can happen to the best of them.
    So, as the shop was closing, I bumped into the manager, and I mentioned to him that my grievance over non pricing.
    He basically said they were too busy to price things, so I said it's a legal requirement, and probably prevented me from spending money there today.
    He got really annoyed with me, and I said it's only friendly advice pal, as I know what it's like to be a retail manager, and in this instance the customer is right!!!
    He didn't give a fcuk, and basically told me so to my face.
    I have not shopped there since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

gman2k wrote: »
    I've had the exact same experience with CSS as the OP, except it was probably over a year ago.
    I was interested in buying a couple of tyres - no prices, and then came across a few other bits and pieces that I was interested in - but no prices.
    I went up to the counter once to get a price - grand, except having to queue to get the price....
    I then managed to grab a staff member to get me a price, but he didn't get back to me - no biggie, it can happen to the best of them.
    So, as the shop was closing, I bumped into the manager, and I mentioned to him that my grievance over non pricing.
    He basically said they were too busy to price things, so I said it's a legal requirement, and probably prevented me from spending money there today.
    He got really annoyed with me, and I said it's only friendly advice pal, as I know what it's like to be a retail manager, and in this instance the customer is right!!!
    Would make anyone wonder if it's been like this for a year now, wouldn't it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

CSS is a good shop, but too big for their own boots, try not go their if can like said not a place you can get discount for buying few stuff, iv bought from buildabike in Marys St, and they have price issues thats for sure but always does price for me if buy bundle of stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Joxer_S

Sounds like they could solve a lot of their problems by simply hiring more staff for the floor, which surely mustn't be difficult at the moment. I would go out of my way to shop there and haven't yet had a bad experience, but I'm usually there off peak when it's pretty quiet

Because they are so busy, stock tends to turn around fast, and this can be especially true of things like gels and drink mixes. When they run low, they get it out on to the shelf as quick as possible, and sometimes don't get to price it until it's quiet again. Sometimes that means a lot of customers having to inquire about how much something is. Again, when I was there, we tried to have shelf mounted labels with prices on them, but stuff got moved around a lot, and sometimes the labels would end up in the wrong place
    That has to be one of the most pathetic arguments I've ever heard! My local Tesco is mayhem on Christmas Eve but I still expect prices to be on display. Why should it be any different in CSS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Pretty much the same experience here.

Went in tooking for MTB bars. Couldn't for the life of me find ANY with a price on them.
    Brought the two pairs I liked to the counter to get them price checked. Was waiting politely for 10 mins.
    Gave up and went to the other counter, queued, asked for price.
    Price on both was a little higher thaan expected (although, at a push I'd have bought them, I had enough cash in my pockets), and I said so, hoping there may be leeway in the price or a suggestion of an alternate choice or discussion of my budget - you know, customer service.
    His response was a shrug and "well they are Raceface"...

I put them back and bought the same bars, and a matching stem, on CRC.

I WANT to spend my money with a local business - I've been made redundant myself from a retail position since this recession began. I'm sick of hearing about stores I like closing down but...

If you waste 15 mins of my time because you're too busy to price items, plus the time it took to drive, over and back to Tallaght in the first place, and can't show a modicum of customer service in return, you will lose my business, and you'll find it hard to win it back tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭squeaky crank

I like the staff there - they know their stuff (when you get hold of them), however, if they are too busy to price things then CSS are obviously making good moolah, therefore can afford to pay overtime or new staff to price things properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

gman2k wrote: »

you used the word 'pal' and are surprised by his reaction? Seriously?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

elduggo wrote: »
    you used the word 'pal' and are surprised by his reaction? Seriously?

If you're dealing with the public on a daily basis and take the hump just because a frustrated customer calls you 'pal' while offering what is genuinely constructive criticism, you're in the wrong business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭jimbo28

I always found them quite helpfull to be honest.I will normally try to buy local before trying online.Sometimes css wins.........sometimes crc.It depends on pricing, but I always found the guys very helpfull in the workshop, some of the lads on the floor not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭full gas

AltAccount wrote: »
    Pretty much the same experience here.

Went in tooking for MTB bars. Couldn't for the life of me find ANY with a price on them.
    Brought the two pairs I liked to the counter to get them price checked. Was waiting politely for 10 mins.
    Gave up and went to the other counter, queued, asked for price.
    Price on both was a little higher thaan expected (although, at a push I'd have bought them, I had enough cash in my pockets), and I said so, hoping there may be leeway in the price or a suggestion of an alternate choice or discussion of my budget - you know, customer service.
    His response was a shrug and "well they are Raceface"...

I put them back and bought the same bars, and a matching stem, on CRC.

I WANT to spend my money with a local business - I've been made redundant myself from a retail position since this recession began. I'm sick of hearing about stores I like closing down but...

If you waste 15 mins of my time because you're too busy to price items, plus the time it took to drive, over and back to Tallaght in the first place, and can't show a modicum of customer service in return, you will lose my business, and you'll find it hard to win it back tbh.
    [if you waste 15 mins of my time] some customers i am sure they are happy not to have ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Last time i was there i bought cycling shoes, tyre and a few protein bars...

The staff there brought out the sizes of shoe for me to try and fitted the tyre for me too no bother...
    I like being able to buy gels/proteins by the box and the range of clothing in CSS..
    Though for repairs I would go to a more local shop just because they are less busy and can do they repairs quicker..