Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reckless Gypsy Horse Racers Cause Chaos on Irish road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

fabsoul wrote: »

For those to lazy to click...

These lads are a waste of space. I know its their culture, doesn't exempt you from breaking the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Looks like the Cork-Mallow road. Poor horses must have been terrified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

they should have booked all the following cars whilst they were at it. Culture? I don't see much to do with Culture there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Culture doesn't excuse stupidity.

should natural selection have been left to take place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,866 ✭✭✭Damien360

The guards could'nt be bothered to stop them. They can get the very best of lawyers/barristers for free as they have no official earnings that can be taxed. Because they know they won't be touched it becomes an up-yours attitude.

I wonder if I can speed at 160kmph on a motorway and say I am doing it so long, it is my culture. I'll claim discrimination if anyone complains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Damien360 wrote: »
    The guards could'nt be bothered to stop them.

Did you even watch the video at all?

Pretty clear that they did try and stop them!

Tell me something, how does one squad car stop 15+ vehicles and two horses on it's own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

****, bet ya they got away with it too or got off lightly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 bundyboy

sure you can't in fringe on their human rights, i propose the guards using some caltrops next time to even the score

Tallon wrote: »

Pretty clear that they did try and stop them!

Tell me something, how does one squad car stop 15+ vehicles and two horses on it's own?

If they were serious about stopping this then you would get more than one car.
    If they were serious about stopping this then they would bring a transporter for all the vehicles involved in the crime.
    If they were serious about stopping this then they would bring the ISPCA with a horse box and take away everything.

One car will not stop this. But, if this were every other good citizen, the sight of one cop car and it's blue lights would be enough to stop all crap instantly. And you would be arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I think he meant in general.

If they were serious about stopping this then they would bring a transporter for all the vehicles involved in the crime.
    If they were serious about stopping this then they would bring the ISPCA with a horse box and take away everything.

One car will not stop this. But, if this were every other good citizen, the sight of one cop car and it's blue lights would be enough to stop all crap instantly. And you would be arrested.
    And where did you want the one Garda car to get two horse transpoters, more squad cars, a van full of ISPCA workers... The boot?

The car was on it's own, it did the best it could. We have no idea what happend after this event, did the Traffic Corp have onboard ANPR that recorded the reg's for later prosecution?

Saying they could and should have done more is ignorant and narrow minded. They did the best at their disposal I am sure

Obviously the 'racers' were in the wrong, no one is arguing that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

There was obviously only 1 squad car called, which one is it meant to pull over?

These lads dont care as seen in the video, and regardless of who was caught they would never tell the guards who else was involved. Its not correct to blame the guards when you are dealing with a nomadic group of troublemakers whom have no fixed abode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Remember this next time you hear a traveller crying "Discrimination".

I feel most sorry for the poor horses, shod and racing on tarmac :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'm going to guess here that unless AGS had prior knowledge of this happening then they wouldn't have had the time to call the resources to stop this kind of thing happening.

Most rural garda stations would only have one squad car in the are if they are lucky.

And where did you want the one Garda car to get two horse transpoters, more squad cars, a van full of ISPCA workers... The boot?

The car was on it's own, it did the best it could. We have no idea what happend after this event, did the Traffic Corp have onboard ANPR that recorded the reg's for later prosecution?

Saying they could and should have done more is ignorant and narrow minded. They did the best at their disposal I am sure

Obviously the 'racers' were in the wrong, no one is arguing that

Yes one car was on it's own. When have you read of any prosecutions in the last 10 years for this ?

Do you really believe the guards used the ANPR data on this. Any lawyer would have a field day with that.

I am still talking in general about this.

The racers, the cars on the wrong side of the road, the lines 3 across at one stage doing it's best to block the squad car, the guy leaning out of the car at speed. Ah sure its my culture boss.

Yes one car was on it's own. When have you read of any prosecutions in the last 10 years for this ?

Do you really believe the guards used the ANPR data on this. Any lawyer would have a field day with that.

I am still talking in general about this.

The racers, the cars on the wrong side of the road, the lines 3 across at one stage doing it's best to block the squad car, the guy leaning out of the car at speed. Ah sure its my culture boss.

tbh, i doubt fines that are handed out make the national papers tbf.

Secondly how exactly would a lawyer have a field day with video evidence and ANPR evidence? Im really not seeing your point..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I was driving Cork - Limerick on Sunday at about 3pm, and I passed no fewer than FOUR sulkies who were 'travelling' together. They could very well have the the guys involved in this incident.

listermint wrote: »
    There was obviously only 1 squad car called, which one is it meant to pull over?

These lads dont care as seen in the video, and regardless of who was caught they would never tell the guards who else was involved. Its not correct to blame the guards when you are dealing with a nomadic group of troublemakers whom have no fixed abode.

This cracks me up. I can bring you to the house mansion owned by a group who regularly race on the roads from Newbridge. Nomadic me arse. Unless you count the camper vans (caravans are old hat) outside the house. Plenty of earnings, a home and the guards cannot find them. The station is the sum total of 1km from them. Cars are easily linked back to house address using ANPR.

tbh, i doubt fines that are handed out make the national papers tbf.

Secondly how exactly would a lawyer have a field day with video evidence and ANPR evidence? Im really not seeing your point..

Because it would be up to the gardai to prove they were part of the race. It costs the state a fortune defending and prosecuting this lot. "I was making my way home when this occured".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Pataman

If I had my way, piano wire across the road(not wanting to hurt the horses, obviously). Natural selection, but a bit quicker!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

There are two garda cars, you will see after about 55 secs one is just pulled in on the side of the road. Not sure what that one is doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

WTF was that, has to be the some of the most reckless behaviour on a road, no regard for road users and none for the law.
    How can that be called culture it's nothing but extreme ignorence and animal cruelty.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭big_heart_on

This being Ireland, nothing will be done until people are killed. More than likely it will be innocent road users rather than these reckless fools.

This cracks me up. I can bring you to the house mansion owned by a group who regularly race on the roads from Newbridge. Nomadic me arse. Unless you count the camper vans (caravans are old hat) outside the house. Plenty of earnings, a home and the guards cannot find them. The station is the sum total of 1km from them. Cars are easily linked back to house address using ANPR.

Okay, report them then. Since you have such vast knowledge....

Easier just to give out about the guards.

Why not blame the judiciary for letting them off easy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

ryanlerch_No_horse_and_carts_sign.svg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

andyseadog wrote: »
    Culture doesn't excuse stupidity.

should natural selection have been left to take place?

Gene pool needs some chlorine added tbh.

Insane that this sort of stuff can go on

Well I just read the top comment on the video, and it brightened my day :P
    Need For Speed: Horse Pursuit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Well I just read the top comment on the video, and it brightened my day :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Joe 90

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Remember this next time you hear a traveller crying "Discrimination".

I feel most sorry for the poor horses, shod and racing on tarmac :(
    Indeed, I was always told to never trot a pony on tarmac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭vectra

In exactly the same way as they would pull in 15 cars for speeding down the motorway.

Excuses are non valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭plys

I used to work in a filling station in north county Dublin (many moons ago). Sunday afternoon and the road was rife with these lads lashing up and down. (not very far from Dunsink/Mulhuddart areas). Next thing, an artic lorry overtakes two traps which were being driven two abreast. The horse on the hard-shoulder-side gets spooked, starts jumping all over the place, and suddenly his driver is tossed out of the trap and against the base of the sign outside the filling station. The guys right leg was broken so badly his toes were almost touching his knee. The horse lashed on down the road with no rider and took about 15 mins to be caught and calmed..

While it was extremely disturbing witnessing this first-hand, I really couldn't feel sorry for the guy with the broken leg. He had brought an inexperienced pony out trapping on a national primary route.

Culture me hole. The behaviour of these guys is just plain stupid.

vectra wrote: »
    In exactly the same way as they would pull in 15 cars for speeding down the motorway.

Excuses are non valid.
    That didn't answer anything!

How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 SeanW89

If this was normal car street racing then the guards would watch the videos and get every number plate they could and follow up on it, but since it's traveller's I doubt they'll be able to do anything. It's a joke, not only for the horses but the normal traffic on the road going the opposite way. What if they smashed into a car with a family in it, they probably just leave it and run, in the great words of Didier Drogba, it's a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

If that was the Texas they would have shot them, then have put the Horses into an animal shelter.

Although being Texas they probably would have had an M60 mounted on the front of the horse and trap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

plys wrote: »
    I used to work in a filling station in north county Dublin (many moons ago). Sunday afternoon and the road was rife with these lads lashing up and down. (not very far from Dunsink/Mulhuddart areas). Next thing, an artic lorry overtakes two traps which were being driven two abreast. The horse on the hard-shoulder-side gets spooked, starts jumping all over the place, and suddenly his driver is tossed out of the trap and against the base of the sign outside the filling station. The guys right leg was broken so badly his toes were almost touching his knee. The horse lashed on down the road with no rider and took about 15 mins to be caught and calmed..

While it was extremely disturbing witnessing this first-hand, I really couldn't feel sorry for the guy with the broken leg. He had brought an inexperienced pony out trapping on a national primary route.

Culture me hole. The behaviour of these guys is just plain stupid.

I wonder who he lodged a claim against, the truck driver, the garage or the state. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I all fairness, do agree that they needed way more forces to put that show down. Get few more cars. Full road block - done.
    Fair play to that single Garda unit in that video. They did what they could, but that was just madness.
    I drove that road to cork myself and I was cough in the middle of that asshole race myself. Those assholes should be shot.

It is really amazing how much modified cars getting hassle and treatment as criminals, wheres these gobshiets do this openly with no respect to Garda or other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭plys

I wonder who he lodged a claim against, the truck driver, the garage or the state. :D

He got enough out of the garage by robbing green daysel every other week and sending his fifteen childer into the shop to rob sweets of a Sunday.. :pac:

Excuses are non valid.

Im still waiting on someone to tell me how a sole garda vehicle 'pulls in' 15 or so vehicle that are intent on not co-operating?

Yeah, there really wasn't much they could do beyond disrupting the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 SeanW89

Ever seen the other guys!

http://youtu.be/Ac6Gl-rYyUI

That's what they should of done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

When they do pull in at the end no one even looks at the horse. They couldn't give a flying fúck about the animals welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭vectra

There were 2 patrol cars there.
    They plenty of time to round them all up. Did you see any Garda uniform intervening when the race finished?
    NO
    The Mondeo Patrol car disappeared and the avensis High tailed it out of sight.
    Why did they not approach them at he end of the race AFTER radioing in for backup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭bbuzz

thomasm wrote: »
    There are two garda cars, you will see after about 55 secs one is just pulled in on the side of the road. Not sure what that one is doing

I was wondering why that garda car was pulled in. The two which were trying to stop them were normal patrol cars, the one pulled in was a traffic corps, might have been video tapping/using the ANPR to get all the cars involved reg numbers.

Anyway, now that it's up on the internet it will be on Joe Duffy tomorrow and top of Alan Shatter/Garda Commissioners agenda. Bit of an own goal really, like the lads from Tipp who were hanging out of cars, once it went viral they got arrested and cars taken off them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I'd prob get banned for expressing my full views on this nonsense.

This used to go on in the North, it certainly didn't go on for long! ;)

There were 2 patrol cars there.
    They plenty of time to round them all up. Did you see any Garda uniform intervening when the race finished?
    NO
    The Mondeo Patrol car disappeared and the avensis High tailed it out of sight.
    Why did they not approach them at he end of the race AFTER radioing in for backup?

Eh no!

The chasing squad car stopped one of the horses, the second one looked to be either pulling in traffic for safety, or trying to join the chase, but with that amount of vehicles and people riding horses with no safety equipment at all, it could have been too risky to keep chasing them

How do you know they did not approach them after the race? How long does backup take to arrive? The video was only 6 minutes long

Are you going to completely ignore my question as to how one squad car stop 15+ vehicles and two horses on it's own?

Or 15 speeders as you put it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Are you going to completely ignore my question as to how one squad car stop 15+ vehicles and two horses on it's own?

Or 15 speeders as you put it?
    Ah sure you just stop the first fella and wave the rest of them in, they'll all co-operate being good law abiding folk. And sure if the odd fella doesn't see the sirens and the gesticulating, you can always chase after him and the rest will wait where you left em until you come back. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Time to license all animal drawn vehicles and drivers on the road? Jail time for anyone found racing them on a public road? Cars seized and crushed where they are used to create a rolling roadblock to facilitate these races? Over the top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,654 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Bear in mind as well that this road (N20 Cork to Mallow) has a long history of serious accidents, including the latest fatality only two weeks ago, a mile or two up the road from where these vermin were enriching us all with their culture.