Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Players Championship/Maderia Open

• 07-05-2012 9:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭

Anyone got any views yet ????? i think stricker has a decent chance this week at a good price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭bren2002

Lay Tiger for a Top 5, maybe even Top 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

jjll wrote: »
    Anyone got any views yet ????? i think stricker has a decent chance this week at a good price

He was the first player that stood out price wise. Got him at 46 on BF and was too good turn down.

Will look more in depth later although I think Simpson and Hanson will be on my list too just looking at prices, but need study it more.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

4 bets this week. Just haven't decided on the 4th.

I'm actually tempted by Rory admittedly but his record at Sawgrass plus comments made before about the event are slightly off putting. Really need to think this one over. Kinda torn between backing him, Toms, Johnson or Stricker (those odds are fairly nice and despite winning me a fair few bob last year I have avoided betting on him this season as far as I recall!). Probably decide at the end of the day or tomorrow on the final pick.

Simpson @ 40/1
    Ain't gonna stop backing him now. A win is around the corner IMHO.

Sergio @ 40/1
    Like Simpson, have to stick with Sergio. Last event saw him finished T12 at the Masters despite not playing well over the weekend. Very good history around Sawgrass, a former winner and finished runners up here also.

Watney @ 50/1
    First two rounds at Quail Hallow he looked to be finding his feet again before trailing off, there were positive signs though. Finished 5th here last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 NigelK56

Bud Cauley at 100-1, played course over 100 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Hanson, Peter @ 70/1
    Accurate as they come and it will be needed at Sawgrass. Paid me back at the Masters so ill give him another shot.

Crane, Ben @ 66/1
    Has a good record here, so great odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Adam Scott - 35/1, previous winner here & tied for 6th last year.

Henrik Stenson - 100/1, another previous winner who also has a number of top ten finishes here down through the years.

Il probably throw Bud Cauley in as well at 100/1 & possibly one of McDowell (60/1) or Garcia (35/1) as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭jjll

-Ade- wrote: »

I'm actually tempted by Rory admittedly but his record at Sawgrass plus comments made before about the event are slightly off putting. Really need to think this one over. Kinda torn between backing him, Toms, Johnson or Stricker (those odds are fairly nice and despite winning me a fair few bob last year I have avoided betting on him this season as far as I recall!). Probably decide at the end of the day or tomorrow on the final pick.

Simpson @ 40/1

Sergio @ 40/1
    Like Simpson, have to stick with Sergio. Last event saw him finished T12 at the Masters despite not playing well over the weekend. Very good history around Sawgrass, a former winner and finished runners up here also.

Watney @ 50/1
    First two rounds at Quail Hallow he looked to be finding his feet again before trailing off, there were positive signs though. Finished 5th here last year.

no player has won at sawgrass on there first chance there rules simpson out for me but i agree will win soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

David Toms and KJ Choi both around the 100-1 mark. Yes I know they were in the playoff here last year and that's no reason to pick them again...but...Choi is just too big @ 120 and Toms is in great form at the moment.

Also think Mcilroy has to be backed every week really...the way he drives the ball will always put him in contention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Also think Mcilroy has to be backed every week really...the way he drives the ball will always put him in contention.

I generally back him every week as you are virtually guaranteed to be able to lay him off at a shorter price in running, but I think this is one week to leave him alone, he has a terrible record at Sawgrass, having never even broke par here and has openly admitted he hates the course and finds it doesnt suit he's game at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭BQQ

H Mahan @30/1 - Having a great season. Game looks made for here. Tied 6th last year.

H Stenson top swedish player @9/2 - Former winner here. Was playing quite well this year(4 top 25s in 5 starts) till missing cuts last twice.

Euro tour:

Roope Kakko @150/1 - Very weak field. This guy at least knows how to win having won on the challange tour. Only 3 tour starts this year (2 narrowly missed cuts and a 37th) Generous fairways will suit (long, but not too accurate). Top 10 in putts per round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

alright lads..hows it going..been a while since i posted on here..hope all is well.

watney @ 55.
    kuchar @ 65
    keegan bradley @ 80.
    bob karlsson @ 350.
    paddy harrington @ 120.
    cink @ 400.

good luck to everyone.

BQQ wrote: »
    H Mahan @30/1 - Having a great season. Game looks made for here. Tied 6th last year.

Still haven't decided on my 4th pick but am coming around to the idea of Mahan.

alright lads..hows it going..been a while since i posted on here..hope all is well.

watney @ 55.
    kuchar @ 65
    keegan bradley @ 80.
    bob karlsson @ 350.
    paddy harrington @ 120.
    cink @ 400.

good luck to everyone.

Those are serious prices. I dont care what form Cink is in he only won major few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Just one for me,Furyk @50/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭Degag

Am i mad to consider Tiger? 25s 22s is a very good price IMO. Also thinking Phil at 20s.

Went with Stricker, Simpson, Mahan and Karlsson at bigger price.

oh and Cink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Sergio @ 40's

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭rehssu

Going with Z Johnson @ 50/1 in the Players
    &
    Robert Coles @ 66/1 in Madeira

Both e/w and an e/w double

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Johnny86

Gone for 4 myself, all e-w with PPower paying out top 6.

David Toms @ 80-1. Good form here generally and showed form last week with one very low round.

Ernie Else @ 50-1. Been playing great lately and deserves a win soon, hopefully here.

Nick Watney @ 45-1. Was going good last week (8th) but had a poor final round. Also went close here last year.

Louis Oosthuizen @ 35-1. His form for last 3 tournaments reads 3-2-1. Has had a break so hopefully fresh and raring to go!

Others in my mind were O'Hair, McDowell, Rose and..James Driscoll (showing bits of form and 2 top 10s in his last 4)!!

Johnny86 wrote: »
    ..James Driscoll (showing bits of form and 2 top 10s in his last 4)!!

Was between him and Karlsson for my picks and went with latter.

Just hope it does not come back to bite us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭Degag

Have had another look and i've decided on

Scott
    Bradley
    McDowell
    Snedeker

-Ade- wrote: »

Simpson @ 40/1

Sergio @ 40/1

Watney @ 50/1

Added Mahan @ 30/1 as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Scott 36 win
    Woods e/w 26 (6 places)
    Choi 150 win

hopefully one gets in contention...preferably choi :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

Lads,

was looking at the market for balls in the water on the 17th, below is the record for the last few years
    2003 — 29
    2004 — 30
    2005 — 68
    2006 — 57
    2007 — 93
    2008 — 64
    2009 — 30
    2010 — 29
    2011 — 39

I've a few quid on 37 or over with bet365 at 5/6. looking at this weekends forecast it should be achieveable.

good fun watching it too!!!!!!!!!!

Even more fun trying to keep up with it.

There's live coverage of the 13th and 17th hole on the PGA site right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

heavyballs wrote: »
    Just one for me,Furyk @50/1

You get a top 25 finish yet from any of ur picks this year :pac:

Fursttimer wrote: »

What's this shit? Are you 12?

Didnt he say same thing few weeks ago to another poster here?

wtf like

from twitter

Angel Cabrera gives three balls to the water gods on the 17th hole, resulting in a 9 on the par-3 at @TPCSawgrass. Goes from Even to +6.

Those are serious prices. I dont care what form Cink is in he only won major few years ago.

yeah, huge prices for players who have shown they can compete and win big tournaments..plenty of value in this tourny..its just a case of trying to latch on to the right one:D

Fursttimer wrote: »

Oh dear. 1 month ban now.

3rd strike and you're....

Baseball.gif

gets better looking by the year this course..when it firms up over the weekend the fun will begin..superb viewing all the same..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

famagusta wrote: »
    Lads,

was looking at the market for balls in the water on the 17th, below is the record for the last few years
    2003 — 29
    2004 — 30
    2005 — 68
    2006 — 57
    2007 — 93
    2008 — 64
    2009 — 30
    2010 — 29
    2011 — 39

I've a few quid on 37 or over with bet365 at 5/6. looking at this weekends forecast it should be achieveable.

good fun watching it too!!!!!!!!!!

18 in yesterday lads, half way there!!!

Big thank you to Cabrera alright, 3 balls in the drink.

going to back donald now at 20s in with chance now

Put few quid on English in case he wins when he not supposed to;)

:o

laying fowler @ 3.7.

forget donald now...... also nice of him to let us know he was ill with sinus infection on thursday.Really narks me that does a player doesnt let pga know so that they can tell public

evens on kuchar now..absolute crazy price around this track imo at this moment and time..ive cashed in and traded:o

needs a must at the moment.

wonder what price tiger been with 2 shot lead at this stage

1.7 ish id imagine.

kuchar in the water..thank fluck id my sensible hat on 2nite.

what did I tell you ;)

the prices have been crazy as soon as someone hits the front in this..poulter hit sub 8 during his first round.pure crazy imo..if one had a decent bank he could of done very werll during this by just laying alone..thing is i dont have a decent bank:D

20 on Fowler @ 7/2

Personally I'd never back a player the day after a superb round. They can rarely follow it up with another.

why is david toms hanging around -7 too low to think of having a chance

cant believe donald if he finishes -9 what do people think

no money this week just donald as usual got going too late 2 weeks off for me as they getting hard to get at mo

kuchar making it hard for himself.

a boy matty kuch!!!

Hatred for Kuchar ever increases :)