Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many times have you been pulled over ?

• 07-05-2012 12:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Daithi 1

In approx the last 12 months, how many times have you been pulled over ?
    I only ask because I recall hearing on the radio, with new police efforts the expect to pull over every driver on the road, 5 times a year. In my 6 years of driving I have been pulled over at random checkpoints 1 time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Been pulled over twice in 2 years. Stopped at checkpoints about 15 times by PSNI, twice by customs and once by guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Never.

/Invisibility cloak doing exactly what it says on the tin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,199 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not enough.

Oh, sorry you asked 'over', read it as 'off'.

Never for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

That seems excessive. They could use their better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Once, 3 or 4 years ago now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

hundreds of times

oh sorry you said pulled over:eek:

Daithi 1 wrote: »
    I recall hearing on the radio, with new police efforts the expect to pull over every driver on the road, 5 times a year.

Surely they include stopping cars by checkpoints?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

every day at one point or another modified cars.. 2001 was a bad year i got pulled over so many times i got my car searched more times then I care to remember...

Just harassed the hole time, been done for speeding once...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Anyone think that girl in the ad at the bottom right hand corner is fine?

I Don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Lots of times when I had the **** granny car. Surprisingly not so much since I got the boy racer motor...:confused:

Had some extremely bad dealings with the most ignorant traffic corps. Scum some of them, genuinely. Should be locked up one or two of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I've been stopped at checkpoints on numerous occasions and asked to give a breathe sample, I've never been pulled over by a Garda car though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Anyone think that girl in the ad at the bottom right hand corner is fine?

I Don't.

Parcel2go.com is mighty impressive sure enough. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Uncountable number of times, Not so much in the last few years though as I don't go on random drives anymore.

In the last year I only think once, They just checked my documents. I always say something funny like "The drugs are in the boot" or "I'm just on my way from a raid".

A mate of mine got himself a nice 2002 BMW. The guards used to wait at the entrance of his estate to stop and search his car every morning when he was going to work at 6am. He had to get rid of the car because of the hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭TehDagsBass

I've given a breath sample twice in 8 years of driving. I was once flagged down by two Gardai with a flashlight when they were on foot at night and saw me flooring it down and empty, but well lit, road. They were 100% right, I was flying so well done to them for getting out the flashlights in time to attract my attention (I almost missed it!), but as they had no proof that I was speeding, they didn't pursue the matter any further.

Apart from that, I've never been hassled by the Gardai.

I suspect that this is a bit of chest puffing at most. The gardai resources have taken massive cuts recently, I can't imagine they'll be allocating the resources they have to sitting around waiting for a motorist to **** up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

A mate of mine got himself a nice 2002 BMW. The guards used to wait at the entrance of his estate to stop and search his car every morning when he was going to work at 6am. He had to get rid of the car because of the hassle.

He should have went to the Garda Ombudsman for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,573 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Never been pulled over.

Been stopped at checkpoints and breathalized probably about 6 or 7 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Stopped at checkpoints plenty of times but only ever pulled over twice I think

charlemont wrote: »
    He should have went to the Garda Ombudsman for that.

I mentioned to him that he should speak to a solicitor but he wasn't interested. He thought it had stopped at one point but there was one guard in particular who made a few dickheaded remarks and he said a few things back and it could have turned into something more serious so he decided it was time to sell the car. After that there was no more hassle. He lives in a bad estate so in one way he was happy to see the guards in the area; just pissed off that they were there to target him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,562 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Breathalysed two or three times and flashing lights-pulled over once. Was driving around late in an area I can never remember trying to find a certain estate. Driving slowly looking around suspiciously with a Traffic Corps car right behind. Thought I found the estate so turned left and Garda car followed me, realised I'd got the wrong road so pulled in to turn and they passed by. Did my 3 point and they did a U-ey and raced up behind me blues flashing. Explained that I was essentially lost and sheepishly apologised for seeming like I was trying to avoid them. Moral is; don't act like you've got a boot full of drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Never been pulled over, never been through a checkpoint, only encounter I had with a garda was when there was a carcrash and the road was closed so she just told me to go via the diversion route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Never been pulled over since I started driving 2 and a half years ago. Good thing cause I'm only on the provisional.

My dad has been pulled over twice in the last 6 years for the breathalyser. Once was coming back from a wake which he hadn't been drinking at thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,084 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Been stopped twice for a breath test, met a few checkpoints as well but was always waved on. But then I live in a rural area so don't see the shades too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

Pulled over three times whilst on my bike (once while entering the Phoenix Park during the Queen of England's visit), once while in a car.

I was driving along a motorway and up ahead I could see Gardaí assembled on both the shoulder and the median. One of them stepped into the driving lane so I moved to the right and put my hazards on. Probably not the wisest move, but I had only been driving for six months or so. They flagged me down and briefly gave out to me stopped in the middle of the motorway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Have never been pulled over thankfully in the 3 and a half years I have been driving.

Stopped at a few checkpoints they usually just check the window and leave you off, have I only once been asked for my licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

No, It's a cardigan. But thanks for noticing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

Once in twenty years of driving. Squad car chased me down when I didnt stop at a check point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Since I got my own car (a li'l knackermobile Colt) 3.5 years ago ... I've been breathalysed at checkpoints maybe 6-8 times. I was also pulled in once on the dual carriageway (sirens and flashing lights etc) - for having no tax! That was scary because I knew I hadn't been speeding, so had no idea why they were pulling me in - I knew my tax was out of date, but didn't know that they could tell that by scanning the numberplate. Got away with it anyways!!

I should point out that, for most of that time I've lived in Dublin, but have driven between Dublin and Sligo quite a lot. All of the above happened in Sligo - I've never once been breathalysed etc in Dublin or en route to Sligo or anywhere else in the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Passed through checkpoints where they were checking for tax and such but never been pulled over whilst driving.
    Got fined a few years ago for having no seat belt in the back seat of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Capri86

Pulled over for the first time in 5 years last month. In fairness I must have looked a suspicious. Driving home from work at 3am on the back roads to avoid the toll in my Capri. Garda car ahead of me sees me, pulls in to let me past then pulls back out and turns on the lights and pulls me over. Only asked the usual, where I was and where I'm going, had a look at the tax and insurance and I was on my way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I was stopped once in the last year. I won't go into the circumstances, they reflect badly on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I was stopped once in the last year. I won't go into the circumstances, they reflect badly on me.

Ah .. go on, tell us .

mattjack wrote: »
    Ah .. go on, tell us .

Not this time, I don't want to tarnish that halo you think I have Matt. I know you have me on a pedestal.

Yes , Yes I do.

Thats what you think :D

mattjack wrote: »
    Yes , Yes I do.

Thats what you think :D

Matt!?!?! :eek:

Teyla :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Zero

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Capri86 wrote: »
    Pulled over for the first time in 5 years last month. In fairness I must have looked a suspicious. Driving home from work at 3am on the back roads to avoid the toll in my Capri.
    There's where you made the mistake. Next time they try this, speed up, pull a massive handbraker in the road cutting them off, jump out, fly across your bonnet, beat seven shades of crap out of them and arrest them for wasting CI5 time.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Got pulled in a few weeks ago for driving too fast at 3 in the morning, they were detectives and thought the car was stolen.

Got pulled Recently in Limerick for speeding, doing 65 in a well hidden 40 zone.

In the past 12 months I've through two drink driving checkpoints and three tax/insurance checks.

Wibbs wrote: »
    There's where you made the mistake. Next time they try this, speed up, pull a massive handbraker in the road cutting them off, jump out, fly across your bonnet, beat seven shades of crap out of them and arrest them for wasting CI5 time.

Are you Starsky , no its Hutch is'nt it ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1jrrupT8SE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Capri86

Wibbs wrote: »
    Capri86 wrote: »
    Pulled over for the first time in 5 years last month. In fairness I must have looked a suspicious. Driving home from work at 3am on the back roads to avoid the toll in my Capri.

Hahaha I must have been having an off day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Pulled over for speeding on a bike in January. :mad:

Couple of random tax checks since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,637 ✭✭✭TheBody

Been driving 14 years. Do about 40k per year. Never been breathalised and was pulled over for the first time this year. Dunno how I usually seem to miss the feds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭missbelle

Driving about 7 years, and only been stopped 2 or 3 times altogether. I'm a very road-abiding citizen, always have tax and NCT :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭lau1247

two check points (once was routine Breathalyzer check) over the last 3 years..

been driving since 06..

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

Always got waved through checkpoints without them even looking at tax, etc.. Got pulled once for speeding was doing well over the speed limit in a thirty zone but in my defence, I didn't even know thirty zones existed at the time and this was also on a stretch of dual carriage-way :confused:. Guard looked at the license, asked me was the address on it my permanent one and when I told him it was he replied with "ah, sure I couldn't give a decent Mayo woman points" and promptly let me on my. That was two years ago and there's been nothing since. I think it's down to the Mayo reg on Volkswagen Passat and my gender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,637 ✭✭✭TheBody

Always got waved through checkpoints without them even looking at tax, etc.. Got pulled once for speeding was doing well over the speed limit in a thirty zone but in my defence, I didn't even know thirty zones existed at the time and this was also on a stretch of dual carriage-way :confused:. Guard looked at the license, asked me was the address on it my permanent one and when I told him it was he replied with "ah, sure I couldn't give a decent Mayo woman points" and promptly let me on my. That was two years ago and there's been nothing since. I think it's down to the Mayo reg on Volkswagen Passat and my gender.

By any chance have you big boobs too? :p

Driving 8 years. Breathalised once, waved through a few checkpoints. I do a fair amount of driving and don't see enough of the guards tbh. I did a lot of driving this weekend and not once did I see a Garda, and they are apparently "out in force" on the bank holiday weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Not really ever.

I got the police to follow me into a shop once after I got out of my car, when I left the shop they quizzed me. License, insurance, where I'm going.

I don't know why!