Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting a rape and sexual assault support/education organisation

• 06-05-2012 9:47pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

A few of us have banged heads together on here and decided we want to (and there is a big need for) start a new rape and sexual assault organisation in Ireland.

I work in community services so I am aware of how these things work, and I think we can definitely get this off the ground, starting with an information website and then progress to more: education in schools/support services after assaults.

I have secured a meeting with a person high up in a recent start up health organisation in Ireland.This new organisation was set up a few years ago, is now very successful and is now run throughout Ireland so I thought she'd be a great person to talk to about start ups and stuff.

We have a great pool of women on here who can provide help.
    If you can pm me or Millicent or Miec and tell us if you'd like to be a part of this it would be great.
    You dont have to commit to alot it's up to you how much you want to get involved.

For example I told this lady that Im meeting with that I will have an agenda of items that I will send her, that I wish to discuss, so if ladies on here could pm me their ideas that would be great.
    Maybe - what would you like to see out of a new organisation?
    What services were missing when your assault happened to you? What gap in services is missing in Ireland?

And if we did get a website up and running, we'd need people to help with it, so that might appeal to some of you.

Let us know what you think.

We can make change ladies :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Out of curiousity (and genuinely not knocking the idea), what are the flaws/gaps with the current organisation(s)? You say there's a big need for a new organisation, so what will this one do (or do better) that others don't?

Well done on having the get up and go to arrange this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

No thanks for asking.

First of all -education. There is no education for young people in school regarding what sexual assault/rape is by an acquaintance/boyfriend and what to do when it happens.
    There is also no education for young males regarding what sesual assault is. Ideally I would like to get male role models on board to tell young men this is/ is not ok. Because a huge blokey culture exists at the minute with young men, as you can see from the thread some young men stood up for women being assaulted and were ridiculed by their mates. Education - first step to change.

Immediate support in the aftermath - I had barely any support and slipped into a severe depression for nearly a year. Im not knocking the rape crisis centre but they are severely overstretched and do not provide enough services. I didnt get through to my local centre for about a month, I constantly got the answerphone. Then I was told there is one woman who covers the whole of my area in the midlands, I had a few sporadic meetings with her but there was no intensive care that I needed.

Follow - on care - There should be follow on check ups with the girls. I needed it and never got it. The great thing about here is we can all see from our own experiences what was lacking and what needs to be done.

We have a very valuable pool of women here.

Guys some-one has said to me (and I can see) I've been a bit vague about meeting the person in the health organisation. It is because I'm trying to maintain a degree of anonymity on here for now, as I'm sure many of you wish to, and I have directed that person to this board already to see what we're saying.

As this is such a sensitive topic I know people wast to stay anonymous so it is hard to discuss everything on a public message board. PM me if you want more info.

Bascially I'm meeting some-one who was very involved with starting up a voluntary organisation a few years ago, and I need an agenda ready of items to discuss with her. I'll be meeting her in a few weeks. So I'd really appreciate it if you have any thoughts/ ideas of your own experiences or what you'd like to see happen to Pm me, thanks guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I just wonder if you'll end up "splitting" available resources by setting up a new organisation? I have no connection with existing organisations, but from looking at their websites their aims seem to be the same as yours, but as you mentioned, they're spread a bit too thin.
    they are severely overstretched and do not provide enough services. I didnt get through to my local centre for about a month, I constantly got the answerphone. Then I was told there is one woman who covers the whole of my area in the midlands

If, for example, you have 20 volunteers lined up from around the country who are willing to go to meetings to raise funding, and offer support, and visit schools, would their time and skills be put to better use in an existing org, using the infrastructure that's already in place?

For example, in starting up a new organisation, you'd need to spend some time/money getting phone lines set up, arranging "office" space, dealing with advertising and general administration. The existing organisations already have those things in place, so more of your resources could go straight to the front line.

Thoie wrote: »
    I just wonder if you'll end up "splitting" available resources by setting up a new organisation? I have no connection with existing organisations, but from looking at their websites their aims seem to be the same as yours, but as you mentioned, they're spread a bit too thin.

If, for example, you have 20 volunteers lined up from around the country who are willing to go to meetings to raise funding, and offer support, and visit schools, would their time and skills be put to better use in an existing org, using the infrastructure that's already in place?

For example, in starting up a new organisation, you'd need to spend some time/money getting phone lines set up, arranging "office" space, dealing with advertising and general administration. The existing organisations already have those things in place, so more of your resources could go straight to the front line.

That's a good point Thoie, and believe me I don't know it all, and I want a discussion on here.

Just on your point about office space, phone lines etc, from the beginning I just want to set up an information website, with personal stories and experience and people who have been through it to talk to people who log on - maybe online chat rooms, there are none at the minute as far as I can see.

We don't need office space/ phone lines to get the following off the ground. We need people at computers - giving some of their time. I have run websites for voluntary organisations before so I am aware the start up costs are very minimal if any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

First of all I think it's super that you are motivated to do this.

However I would feel that it might be worth partnering with existing organisations who already have clout, support and name-recognition, rather than potentially taking away from their support and creating more under-resourced facilities.

The online chatroom idea poses many, many problems. I see its value, but it has the potential to quickly become a place for predators to masquerade.

You are proposing something that would have to become the life's work of many, many people and that would cost a serious fortune.

What about harnessing all the ideas regarding what is currently lacking in the services of the rape crisis centre (or similar), arranging meetings with them to see if they are open to suggested changes, and then fundraising to see those changes realised?

Best of luck with whatever you do.

Some good info here on setting up charity http://www.activelink.ie/node/801.

Basically a non-profit org is run as a business and we need a good business plan to get it off the ground.

I am thinking of all that and thinking ahead.

Basically this is a thrashing out ideas stage. This will take a while to get going, and we need a good plan in place to go with eventually.

I just think we have such a valuable resource here: a really valuable pool of women. Where else would you find such a relevant group of people with good relevant ideas.

First of all I think it's super that you are motivated to do this.

However I would feel that it might be worth partnering with existing organisations who already have clout, support and name-recognition, rather than potentially taking away from their support and creating more under-resourced facilities.

The online chatroom idea poses many, many problems. I see its value, but it has the potential to quickly become a place for predators to masquerade.

You are proposing something that would have to become the life's work of many, many people and that would cost a serious fortune.

What about harnessing all the ideas regarding what is currently lacking in the services of the rape crisis centre (or similar), arranging meetings with them to see if they are open to suggested changes, and then fundraising to see those changes realised?

Best of luck with whatever you do.

Hi Neuro-Praxis.

I don't think it would be taking away from their support, it would be adding to resources in Ireland. We're not going to be in competition with other non-profit orgs, we are going to be adding to resources.

If we reach and recruit people on here, whom wouldn't have been involved in anything otherwise, then we are not depleting resources, we are adding to it.

We can work in benefit with existing resources, and add to them.

The other major sexual assault org in Ireland does not provide education in schools as far as I can see, so that's a major gap in the market. They have a great counselling phone line, but there is not great immediate support in the aftermath in my own experience, as I said I couldn't get through to them for about a month. There is alot that needs to be done in this area in Ireland, and we can add to and benefit what is already there.

I take your point about the online chat room, it would have to be carefully vetted if it did get going, maybe referrals. If there was too many difficulties with it, I would suggest an anonymous online email facility where people can email for support and advice, I would have loved this. A human voice to chat to instead of just reading blockss of text.

What you said about it being the life's work of many many peopleand would cost a fortune - no. Most non-profit orgs re ran by people volunteering a bit of their time here and there, it really just needs s few people to co-ordinate the whole thing. Then there is funding available and fundraising.

As I said we need a good business plan first which will be a work in progress. This is the early stages.

Thanks v.much for your contributions Neuro-Praxis, I don't want to go off with a big idea in my head and get nothing done, I am really committed to this, so I welcome everyone's ideas and opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Are you aware of the work being done already?

http://www.2in2u.ie/
    http://www.b4udecide.ie/

The http://www.crisispregnancy.ie/ have a remit and funding unfortunately they are stymied by the fact schools reject thier programs and talks due to the religious ethos of those schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Fox McCloud

I see the points regarding dividing resources but I think theres room, and even need, for more than one or two NGOs on this topic.

I think the value of this organisation would be that it comes from the grassroot level, would be highly motivated and is completely free to advocate on any taboo issues.
    In fact, I think the main aim of this organisation should be the removal of taboo surrounding rape and sexual assault, opening up public education and conversation on the subject.

I do think for now there should be a clear mandate for the organisation as perhaps an advocacy and education organisation.
    I know there is probably gaps in other org's service delivery but I think that trying to fill those would be too much for the begining of the org. Fot the moment education and advocacy is cheap and can be done with a few very motivated individuals with internet access and the great resource that is boards.ie.

So starting out as purely education and information with, a view to later expanding to service delivery, merging with another org as its advocacy section or fundraising to fill the gaps of other org's services.

Sharrow wrote: »
    Are you aware of the work being done already?

http://www.2in2u.ie/
    http://www.b4udecide.ie/

The http://www.crisispregnancy.ie/ have a remit and funding unfortunately they are stymied by the fact schools reject thier programs and talks due to the religious ethos of those schools.

Hi Sharrow!

Thanks, yes I am aware, we are never going to be the only organisation out there, 2in2u is domestic violence isn't it, is that one page all there is to that?It's good but there needs to be more done. b4udecide is a campaign to delay sex until you are older - not what we'll be about.

I think there is room for more. We would be coming at it from a different angle,In education we would be focusing very on what sexual assault is by acquaintances/partners/family members and what to do when this happens. And on educating young males - getting male role models on board to change the out of hand behaviour that exists among a lot of young men today.

And we have a unique pool of information/people who can help here, which is what makes this a viable idea.

I see the points regarding dividing resources but I think theres room, and even need, for more than one or two NGOs on this topic.

I think the value of this organisation would be that it comes from the grassroot level, would be highly motivated and is completely free to advocate on any taboo issues.
    In fact, I think the main aim of this organisation should be the removal of taboo surrounding rape and sexual assault, opening up public education and conversation on the subject.

I do think for now there should be a clear mandate for the organisation as perhaps an advocacy and education organisation.
    I know there is probably gaps in other org's service delivery but I think that trying to fill those would be too much for the begining of the org. Fot the moment education and advocacy is cheap and can be done with a few very motivated individuals with internet access and the great resource that is boards.ie.

So starting out as purely education and information with, a view to later expanding to service delivery, merging with another org as its advocacy section or fundraising to fill the gaps of other org's services.

Exactly, we are already reaching a lot of people here on Boards.ie which is the unique aspect of this.

We have already started debate and public discussion on a topic not often discussed in public so you should all be very proud of yourselves. A lot of people read boards. A lot of people have been helped already.

Maybe we could talk to the founders of Boards in the future and see if they would refer links to us, you know as we are a Boards set up idea? It would be quite good publicity for them and also get more people interested in our new start up, get our name out there, and what we are trying to do.

I agree Fox that it should be an Advocacy and Education organisation starting off.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,665 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Funding will obviously be a big issue here. Where I volunteer we can pretty much no longer advertise our services (save for social media and the website) due to cutbacks. That means no more radio ads, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Guys I think this is a brilliant idea, fair play to you all. I work in victim support for a well known charity so any help I can give you please let me know. I would love to see something a bit more proactive than the RCC, no offense to them as they do a great job but they don't even have forums where people can talk. Thats one thing I wish was available, the recent thread on here showed people want to "talk" but somewhere that won't turn into a debate.

This website is very good .... lots of practical support and contacts

https://www.wheel.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Ambersky

To my mind the amazing thing that happened was that so many women and some men, spoke personally, about what specifically happened to them. Ive said it before and I will say it again, it is a very powerful thing to be able to tell your story and even more powerful when you find yourself listened to and validated.
    The sexual assault support thread alone, if nothing else was to happen, has acted as (to use an old fashioned term) a consciousness raising exercise.
    If you can change how people actually see things they will also begin to act differently and make different choices. It is a truly fantastic thing to even in a small way help to bring that about. So a lot has been done already and even if just more of that happened it would be wonderful.
    I don’t think things have to get too big or expensive to bring about change it can start very small and simply.

In the early days of second wave feminism women found that meeting together and listening to one another’s stories was personally liberating healing and consoling. Decisions and ideas on how to change things for the better happened at these meetings among women who decided that their problems weren’t purely personal and that they in fact had political and social roots.
    I think that is what is happening here too, but online, instead of over coffee and cake in one another’s homes.
    The thread happened as a result of the courage of the posters but it also would not have been able to happen without the support and protection of the mods. I would suggest making sure there are adequate protections in place for posters if setting up a forum dedicated to supporting survivors of sexual abuse. We may not be fully aware of how much work the mods here, have had to put in, to keep things safe for the posters. It takes time to set that kind of thing up and to get the right people. The people doing the protecting and support also need to have done their own work and not go in there possibly making things worse rather than better for others. I would as others here have already suggested say that it would be useful to look at work that has been done already in learning just how to support survivours.
    http://www.srcc.ie/sligo-rape-crisis-centre-supporters-information.html
    So I think there is a lot to learn, maybe there would be some help available to do that if it was wanted and we all have to start somewhere.

Hi guys what I'm doing at the minute is creating a mailing list of everyone who has pm'd me their email addresses, so if anyone else wants to be added to this mailing list please pm me.

Then I'm going to send round information to everyone on what we're doing, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭miec

Hi Midlandmissus

Thank you so much for getting the ball rolling and I look forward to being a part of this. Whilst I was looking for information on support for sexual abuse / rape, first of I had to do two different searches. The main support out there for rape is the Rape Crisis centre. These guys do great work in the areas of counselling and lobbying. However, they are stretched and waiting times can be long. Also I was unlucky with my first counsellor, and I stopped going. Only for the tenacity of the receptionist I would never have gone near them again. My second counsellor was much better (the first one kept cancelling my appointments which is a disaster for our situation and I don't mean once or so, it was almost every second appointment)

One in four is another organisation but personally I found them very disappointing. Their main focus is on those abused by the church / institutions. In actual fact there is a huge amount of resources /support for those who have been abused by the church but very little for those who have been raped / abused by family / relatives etc. When I used One in four advocacy team for contacting / getting a response from social services they sent one letter. A year later I rang them up for progress (having heard nothing) and the woman dealing with my case said oh we were so busy dealing with those from the ryan report we didn't get a chance, do you want me to try now' I cannot tell you how angry I felt. I said no and said she let me down.

Ah I could go on and on about the lack of support from services such as the gardai etc. One of the agenda items I would like to add is assisting those navigating the social services / legal arena because it is a fricking nightmare at the moment and the rape crisis / one in four are not effective in this area.

What I propose is a centralised information resource on 1) reporting to social services and knowing what the procedure is and timelines for responses / reports. 2) reporting the the guards and eventually lobbying for a central department dealing specifically with sexual crimes and officers trained in this area. I do not think local garda stations are properly equipped to deal with these cases. 3) navigating the DPP / court situation. For instance I went onto the DPP website to see what is expected of a witness and what happens in the instance of rape cases. It did help but if we had information resources on the one site it would help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I do think that it might be better to and try collaborate with the already existing Rape Crisis Centre. Maybe for the group to be a branch of it?? I found it very frustrating trying to find information on who would be the best place to contact. What you've proposed miec is exactly what is needed. Fair play to you. When you're distressed, you don't want to have to be looking here, there and everywhere for support/help/guidance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭emollett

I'd love to help but have moved abroad so wouldn't be much use. It might be worth looking at what this crowd do though: http://www.rapecrisisscotland.org.uk/
    They have done some fantastic adverts aimed at getting people to recognize the many ways rape can happen outside of stranger danger.
    For some help or support, it might also be contacting the gender equality society at Trinity, i know they did a rape awareness week a couple of years ago, and i think they have kept up the awareness side since. duges@csc.tcd.ie is their address.