Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - May 5th, 2012 @ 9:45pm

• 05-05-2012 11:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Joining Brendan on the couch this evening will be;

Recently dethroned Miss Ireland 2012, Marie Hughes. The Galway girl was stripped of her Miss Ireland title when organisers discovered that she was 25 instead of 21 :(.

Actor and Playwright, Glenn Gannon will chat to Brendan about his time as homeless man on the streets of Dublin, getting a new start and his life as a successful actor.

Author and Journalist, Leanne Waters (20) from Bray, Co Wicklow struggled for two years with the bulima disease, she has written a book, "My Secret Life: A Memoir of Bulimia". She wants to rise awareness of the condition as over 200,000 Irish people are affected by an eating disorder.

Comedian, Paddy Courtney will also be appearing on tonight's show, he is will talk about his plans to turn his back on Stand Up and his ambition to become a jockey, writer and actor.

Music by 80s R&B artist, Billy Ocean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Think the dogs will be getting a long walk tonight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

As usual the ad-breaks will be more entertaining than the programme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Hmmm, not a lot there to get excited about ...

Except Billy Ocean. :):):) I can't believe MrsD didn't give him a higher Billing in the OP - He's a Legend :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I know it is too early; But I just had a thought that the Eurovision Final will be on Saturday 26th May when we look at these guys.

http://www.eurovision.tv/page/history/year/participant-profile/?song=27113

Are we going to be on a Eurovision Thread for that night?

Anyway; Moving on.

I've never known of someone who has dethroned of a Miss Ireland Crown before. It will be interesting to see what Marie Hughes have to say. I think that the publicity for her mess up will be very fierce IMO, in a negative way of course. Will it damage the credibility of the contest, IMO not by a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Joining Brendan on the couch this evening will be;

Recently dethroned Miss Ireland 2012, Marie Hughes. The Galway girl was stripped of her Miss Ireland title when organisers discovered that she was 25 instead of 21 :(.

[/URL].

I pity the poor girl being "interviewed" by this leering, slobbering pervert. Anyway, I won't be tuning in. :)

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I've never known of someone who has dethroned of a Miss Ireland Crown before. It will be interesting to see what Marie Hughes have to say. I think that the publicity for her mess up will be very fierce IMO, in a negative way of course. Will it damage the credibility of the contest, IMO not by a long shot.

This story sort of reminds me of Nadine Coyle's "Age-Gate".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

http://news.google.ie/news/url?ct2=en_ie%2F1_0_s_4_1_a&sa=t&usg=AFQjCNGmQ9n_j4BpDfbYDYoS5Ta7fxIhRg&cid=17594030485712&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thesun.co.uk%2Fsol%2Fhomepage%2Firishsun%2Firishsunnews%2F4294212%2FAxed-Miss-Ireland-Maire-I-was-told-to-lie.html&ei=vY6lT6CzI9Cg8gOr3AE&rt=SECTION&vm=STANDARD&bvm=section&did=1267722098334413975&sid=top-stories

I'm interested to see what she says.

What are you doing Brendan for goodness sake.

That is some silver suit in the article you gave me hondasam.

Ah Brendan, you are funny sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I'm still laughing at that waxwork... Looks like he has had skin grafts..

Well some good news to start the show..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

That fools idea for Athlone makes The Tipperary Venue look like Vegas.

M

This A hole is as funny as a bag of cancer served to a healthy lad.

Can we all get along tonight and keep the thread from getting closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Never heard of this guy. He seems about as funny as Brendan....But that's just a first impression!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Dutchie

Ladies and Gentlemen i now present the LEAST funny 'comedian' EVER!

Never heard of him either.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

This fella was never funny anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Hes gone and ripped off Rossies Henry Kelly comparison from only last week! Get yer own material

Good that this bloke is retiring. Anyone who looks as much like Jason Byrne as this chap, cant be funny.

M

In Dubai they keep dogs better than women, wouldn't piss on the place.

Christ he's worse at the acting... HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE?????

I think he was on the LLS with Tubridy before probably in 2009.

Unfortunately, cannot get video from Youtube.

Sorry.

I was a big fan of shameless for the first four series, stopped watching it.

I hate Shameless too...

God, this is a boring interview....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

This A hole is as funny as a bag of cancer served to a healthy lad.

Beefy O'Connor?

Orange pilled.

Riding is becoming a bit of a theme with Paddy :D

Newmarket is one example that I can think of today.

"Jog For Jockeys"

Would it not be more appropriate to have sponsored fights outside Abrakebabra?

M

Him and that Dermot bollix of 98fm should be put off Achill with a westerdly breeze and told not to report back until they hit America.

I can see RTE pumping a fortune into that idea...

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Riding is becoming a bit of a theme with Paddy :D

Jockeys 'an all MrsD...

This is just a most boring and aimless conversation. Its right up there with watching a conversation on reality tv. I dont know him, and have no interest in anything hes saying. Yet Im sitting here watching it as a fecking goon. :rolleyes:

Unfunny Comedian announces his retirement.

A Nation shrugs their Shoulders in a collected display of apathy.

Think I'll take the washing in....looks like rain.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

This is right up there with McIlroys Ex as a completely pointless interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Dutchie

I can see RTE pumping a fortune into that idea...
    they should get Aoife kavanagh to present it; she's at a loose end now you know.

Hey. He likes gardening. I like gardening too. Ive some strawberry and tomato plants on the go at the mo. Anyone else like gardening and talking to people like Paddy Courtney and me? Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

I think he was on the LLS with Tubridy before probably in 2009.

Unfortunately, cannot get video from Youtube.

Sorry.

Found a clip of Paddy from 2008 on Tub's old show.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/tubridytonight/av_20081011.html?2435282,null,228

Wasn't funny back then.

Franc's new show could be a bit of craic. A nice replacement for "Don't Tell the Bride" :)

I love gardening, can't wait to get out to plant some new stuff this year. Garden is looking a bit neglected at the moment, bit like myself.

I have been on Tenterhooks for the last 23 hours waiting for the Mod Review of the LLS Thread.

Can I just say the Mods are doing a great job, big fan of your work lads, keep it up.

Please don't ban me :o

I'm thinking of going to RTE with an idea. Its called Jog on Paddy.

We give him a pair of runners and show him where the exit is...

Skid wrote: »
    I have been on Tenterhooks for the last 23 hours waiting for the Mod Review of the LLS Thread.

Can I just say the Mods are doing a great job, big fan of your work lads, keep it up.

I think that thread is gone and we will never know why. :pac:

I missed all the thing with the review....Why does that happen?....Is it the norm to review or are we all in trouble????:(

It's normal, threads get closed all the time. Do you post in After Hours?

No, it was a first for the LLS (I think)

Tensions were high, there was a lot of angry people.

Things were said that should not have been said, that kind of thing.

Leanne is a very pretty girl.

Did she forget her skirt? I'm not complaining or anything...

She is a pretty girl.

Skid wrote: »

Reported.

<Or not ;) >