Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster V Ulster, Sat 5th May 7.30pm, Thomond Park, RTÉ 2

• 04-05-2012 1:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Munster:

(15-9):F Jones; J Murphy, I Dineen, L Mafi, S Zebo; I Keatley, C Murray;
    (1-8):W du Preez, M Sherry, BJ Botha; M O'Driscoll, P O'Connell; D Ryan, T O'Donnell, P O'Mahony.
    Replacements: D Varley, D Kilcoyne, S Archer, D O'Callaghan, P Butler, T O'Leary, S Deasy, K Earls.

Ulster
    (15-9): A D'Arcy; A Trimble, N Spence, I Whitten, C Cochrane; P Jackson, P Marshall;
    (1-8): P McAllister, N Brady (c), D Fitzpatrick, L Stevenson, D Tuohy, I Henderson, W Faloon, R Diack;
    Replacements (16-23): N Annett, C Black, T Court, M McComish, A Birch, B McIlroy, I Humphreys, C Gilroy

Unavailable due to injury: J Payne (achilles), S Danielli (hamstring), T Barker (back), C Henry (ankle), N McComb (neck), A Kyriacou (shoulder)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Munster:

(15-9):F Jones; J Murphy, I Dineen, L Mafi, S Zebo; I Keatley, C Murray;
    (1-8):W du Preez, M Sherry, BJ Botha; M O'Driscoll, P O'Connell; D Ryan, T O'Donnell, P O'Mahony.
    Replacements: D Varley, D Kilcoyne, S Archer, D O'Callaghan, P Butler, T O'Leary, S Deasy, K Earls.

Ulster
    (15-9): A D'Arcy; A Trimble, N Spence, I Whitten, C Cochrane; P Jackson, P Marshall;
    (1-8): P McAllister, N Brady (c), D Fitzpatrick, L Stevenson, D Tuohy, I Henderson, W Faloon, R Diack;
    Replacements (16-23): N Annett, C Black, T Court, M McComish, A Birch, B McIlroy, I Humphreys, C Gilroy

Unavailable due to injury: J Payne (achilles), S Danielli (hamstring), T Barker (back), C Henry (ankle), N McComb (neck), A Kyriacou (shoulder)

What? No Ferris?

Good to see Dineen starting, hopefully Butler will get a decent run out as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Can't see past a Munster win here. An Ulster team with only two of their first-choice team (three if you count Jackson) is going to struggle to be competitive in any area, while Munster are at 90% full strength.

With Pienaar rested, it will hopefully mean that Jackson sees a bit more ball and gets more responsibility to control the game from out-half so Ulster may at least get some benefit from it.

I'd say Munster by 10-15 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I like the look of that team, much better to have Dineen at centre than Murphy.

Good luck to MOD, TOL and Mafi in their last appearance at Thomond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Does this mean DOC is now 4th choice lock at Munster or is it just a Thomond swansong for MOD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

shuffol wrote: »
    Does this mean DOC is now 4th choice lock at Munster or is it just a Thomond swansong for MOD.
    Thomond swansong for MOD I think

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    What? No Ferris?

Good to see Dineen starting, hopefully Butler will get a decent run out as well.
    Are you surprised?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Bit of a damp squib end of season for Munster.

buck65 wrote: »

yup, finding it hard to get excited about this game.

Already looking forward to next season under the new management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

shuffol wrote: »

What do you think?

Yea but it would still be nice to end the season on a high, it looks like winning afinal will be difficult but we should certainly be targetting a final spot. 2 tough games in the semi and final but I'd like to get to the final at least.

Still I'm looking forward to Thomond Park tomorrow night, hopefully, the lads will get a decent send off, though it's not beyond the bounds of possibility that we could have one more game there this season, highly unlikely but not ruled out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Isn't it impossble to catch ospreys due to games won?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

durkadurka wrote: »
    Isn't it impossble to catch ospreys due to games won?

yeah, if level on points, it's games won and Munster are 2 behind on that front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

awec wrote: »
    Are you surprised?

No sarcastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Personally, I'm looking forward to it, first game for my 4yo daughter & hopefully she loves it! Think its only fitting that the guys leaving get a good send off as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

If it wasn't for the lads leaving I'd be the same. Micko, Mafi and Tomas deserve a big send off.

Between work, the AIL finishing, and a few other commitments, I haven't made it to a rugby match since the q/f, so I'm looking forward to have a couple of pints on the terrace.

I agree about next season. I can't wait. Penney is making all the right moves so far. From Garrett Fitzgerald's comments, and his interview in the Echo, he sounds like he's more than up to the task.

In the meantime, I think Mafi moved out to 13 when Dineen came on against Glasgow, so I wouldn't be surprised to see the same again. It would be nice if we were a few points ahead, and we could substitute himself and Micko to give them a sendoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Thought Ulster might have put out a better team considering they have next week off. Most of their team won't have played for 3 weeks by the time they take to the Twickenham pitch..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Thought Ulster might have put out a better team considering they have next week off. Most of their team won't have played for 3 weeks by the time they take to the Twickenham pitch..
    I agree with you, a lot of the team could be rusty, Afoa and Henry won't have played since the QF.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I agree with you, a lot of the team could be rusty, Afoa and Henry won't have played since the QF.

Very risky call. Didn't expect quite such a weak team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Fck that, we're 2/4 against the other provinces this season which is awful. Ulster battered us in Belfast, coupled with the HC quarters I really hope the lads go out and give them a proper rattling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭the_doctor199

Fck that, we're 2/4 against the other provinces this season which is awful. Ulster battered us in Belfast, coupled with the HC quarters I really hope the lads go out and give them a proper rattling.

Surely it isn't nearly as satisfying beating a second string Ulster team? It's difficult to see anything but a 15+ point win for Munster tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Surely it isn't nearly as satisfying beating a second string Ulster team? It's difficult to see anything but a 15+ point win for Munster tomorrow.

Probably not but you can only take the revenge you're offered. To be honest considering how badly Munster are playing at the moment I wouldn't be taking anything for granted.

I hope Keatley has a good game tomorrow. Third game in a row so he'll have no excuses for rustiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

Really looking forward to Henderson's first start. Had a distinct physical advantage in the Six Nations that won't be as evident today so it will be interesting to see how he adapts. Strong in all facets of second row play and will move there when he develops some of the bulk required I'd imagine. If he goes well I can see him getting a lot of game time next year, especially when Ferris is away with Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Can't say I agree. I think the issue will lie with Murray having feck all game time recently, only to be replaced by TOL... who will probably actually have an amazing game and everyone will be like 'OH no, why now?'.

In reality I think Ulster's half-backs are better, I wouldn't be surprised if it's a one score game, with the subs making the difference. I think Munster's bench just pips it, so I think we'll see a Munster victory... but I don't think there'll be a whitewash.

Also, why no O'Dea? I know I have a bit of a man-love for him, but this game could be made for him.

.ak wrote: »
    Also, why no O'Dea? I know I have a bit of a man-love for him, but this game could be made for him.

There was no extended squad announced beforehand so I don't know if he's injured or not. He has picked up a lot of knocks this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

.ak wrote: »
    Can't say I agree. I think the issue will lie with Murray having feck all game time recently, only to be replaced by TOL... who will probably actually have an amazing game and everyone will be like 'OH no, why now?'.

In reality I think Ulster's half-backs are better, I wouldn't be surprised if it's a one score game, with the subs making the difference. I think Munster's bench just pips it, so I think we'll see a Munster victory... but I don't think there'll be a whitewash.

I actually think it will be a steam-roller job by Munster's pack. These end of season games have become a total mess and with the Barbarians game in the mix before the tour it is putting a lot of unnecessary stress on the players. It's really a training spin for Munster to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

late notice i know but...

I have 2 N.terrace standing tickets for Thomand park tonight if anyone wants them, free of charge.

I can meet around raheen before 5pm.

Update: tickets now gone.

jacothelad wrote: »
    I actually think it will be a steam-roller job by Munster's pack. These end of season games have become a total mess and with the Barbarians game in the mix before the tour it is putting a lot of unnecessary stress on the players. It's really a training spin for Munster to be honest.

You're probably right.

I'm just hoping your not, as this is the only (potentially) decent match on TV this weekend! :D

Keatley hasn't recovered from a knock sustained in training, so Deasy starts at 10. Cusack comes onto the bench.

Munster:
    F Jones; J Murphy, I Dineen, L Mafi, S Zebo; S Deasy, C Murray;
    W du Preez, M Sherry, BJ Botha; M O'Driscoll, P O'Connell; D Ryan, T O'Donnell, P O'Mahony.

Replacements: D Varley, D Kilcoyne, S Archer, D O'Callaghan, P Butler, T O'Leary, D Cusack, K Earls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

this changes EVERYTHING

yup, glad I didn't put money on Munster. Deasy has never convinced as a goalkicker at Rabo level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Any chance EOS going to Munster as backs couch?

Rolland. Yuck

1.30 in and first stupid kick from Murray

It's annoying Munster didn't release an extended squad, I'd like to know if Dineen was selected ahead of Barnes or if Barnes was injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Looks like it's communion season again down in Limerick.

We'll get a look here to see if Deasy can translate his B&I form up a level.

Poor knock on from Zebo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

G'wan Zebo!!! Great try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Try Zebo. Looked easy enough. Nice pass from Deasy

Converted by Deasy too. Right through the middle of the posts from the touch line

Ah Trimble, why so narrow.

Zebo try, Deasy draws in 2 defenders.

That was awful from Trimble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Deasy can't kick :P

Deasy kicks it. :p

Henderson joined the maul just before Munster went wide, probably influenced the try.

That was phenomenal from Murray. Blockdown, chase, tackle, turnover.

Good play from Murray

That was phenomenal from Murray. Blockdown, chase, tackle, turnover.

Missed his calling as a 7!

What awful timing to get an injury, hopefully it's not serious for McAllister.

Tom Court on.

Nice read by Dineen!

Looked pretty blatant from Trimble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Good call from Rolland.

Yellow card, Definitly not a Penalty Try though.

Kicked by Deasy.

10-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Stupid by Trimble but looked like Zebo made a bit of a meal of it.

Deasy scores, he must have read the thread before kickoff. :p