Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

will this be a failed dangarous?

• 03-05-2012 6:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭

Friend taking van in to get tested tomorrow, here is a list of problems

side door hanging off
    2 bald tyres
    back light lens broke
    leaking oil very bad
    nothing on the dash works, petrol gauge, speedometer etc
    hand brake not holding weight of van on hills
    back door not closing right
    when you turn on lights back ones don't work, tried changing bulbs but no joy

I'm sure there is more, the tester will be busy tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭iphone4g

Na,I'd say he will get on grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Why bother with the test ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I think you know the answer. I.assume he is having the vehicle towed to the centre?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭0066ad

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I assume the above is a joke? If it is its not very funny.

No joke, the test is at 10:20am tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think he is asking whether it will be a normal failure or whether they will refuse to allow him to drive it away.

MugMugs wrote: »
    I think you know the answer. I.assume he is having the vehicle towed to the centre?

he drove from carlow to cork and back just today :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭damo86

Up to the tester I presume, If I was the tester I would.

No car/van should be in that condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Seriously in 2012...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Why would he bother wasting his money when it's quite obvious the heap is going to fail?

It's a company van, so not his money. Boss is expecting him to make drop offs after the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Depends ,

Have you seen primetime ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

0066ad wrote: »

It's a company van, so not his money. Boss is expecting him to make drop offs after the test

Personally and for my friends sake, I'd call the vehicle insurer and give them a tip off. Your "friend" is a danger to himself and everybody else on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

side door hanging off
    2 bald tyres
    back light lens broke
    leaking oil very bad

If its a van, I presume it's for DOE rather than NCT.

johnayo wrote: »
    If its a van, I presume it's for DOE rather than NCT.

Yep DOE, does that make a difference? can you fail dangerous, on DOE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Just a guess, but your van, sorry your mates van will be failed as dangerious.
    mickdw wrote: »
    I think he is asking whether it will be a normal failure or whether they will refuse to allow him to drive it away.

Refuse to drive it away? By the sounds of things he'll be lucky to even get it there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Which test centre - so we can all go and have a look.
    Is his boss seriously expecting it to pass?
    The difference with DOE is that the tester will sign his name to the test results for the cert to apply for cert of roadworthiness - No tester is going to do that for such a dangerous vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Yep DOE, does that make a difference? can you fail dangerous, on DOE

Nope DOE makes no difference, dangerous is dangerous, NCT or DOE.
    Of course he can fail for a dangerous vehicle, why would you even have to ask that:eek::eek:. They can't physically stop him driving away though.

PS the tester won't be all that busy at all, he'll probably fail it at first glance!

In fact he's liable to get done for driving a dangerous vehicle at any time.

stoneill wrote: »
    Which test centre - so we can all go and have a look.
    Is his boss seriously expecting it to pass?
    The difference with DOE is that the tester will sign his name to the test results for the cert to apply for cert of roadworthiness - No tester is going to do that for such a dangerous vehicle.

Ha Ha, not going to say which centre, but think i might go for a look. He asked me to go just in case it's a fail dangerous for a lift home.

And yes his boss has him down for 4 drop offs in dublin city centre.

This is the second thread i started on boards.ie, the first was to get my own car through the NCT without spending a fortune, and it was very helpful, he just wanted to know if this was a failed dangerous

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

slimjimmc wrote: »
    They can't physically stop him driving away though.

They can impound the vehicle an refuse to return the keys if it's deemed too dangerous to be on the road I thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Is your friend (and his boss) thick or what?:rolleyes:.of course it s dangerous.Anyone can know that from your description even without any of us even seeing it.

Tell him to not drive it for gods sake:(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

I dont even think its worth anyone replying to the op as it has to be a piss take, who the hell would bring a vehicle in that state in for a test when its obvious it will fail and being so banged up it wouldnt be worth getting fixed so its losing money no matter what.

S28382 wrote: »
    I dont even think its worth anyone replying to the op as it has to be a piss take, who the hell would bring a vehicle in that state in for a test when its obvious it will fail and being so banged up it wouldnt be worth getting fixed so its losing money no matter what.

No piss take i swear, just trying to get information for a mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Ha Ha, not going to say which centre, but think i might go for a look. He asked me to go just in case it's a fail dangerous for a lift home.

And yes his boss has him down for 4 drop offs in dublin city centre.

This is the second thread i started on boards.ie, the first was to get my own car through the NCT without spending a fortune, and it was very helpful, he just wanted to know if this was a failed dangerous

Well can you let us know what van/company name it is so we can avoid it.

There is no excuse for any vehicle to be in that condition. How long is your 'friend' driving this van? He knows obviously that if he is pulled over or has an accident that it is him who is held fully responsible for driving a vehicle in that condition, not his boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Stheno wrote: »
    They can impound the vehicle an refuse to return the keys if it's deemed too dangerous to be on the road I thought?

Highly doubt it. Only people allowed do that are AGS/Customs.

Even with the NCT they are not allowed do that but will call AGS if the vehicle doesn't leave on the back of a trailer.

Well can you let us know what van/company name it is so we can avoid it.

There is no excuse for any vehicle to be in that condition. How long is your 'friend' driving this van? He knows obviously that if he is pulled over or has an accident that it is him who is held fully responsible for driving a vehicle in that condition, not his boss.

Don't want to say the company, but the van is a 2001 iveco. leaking oil since last DOE thinks it's from the turbo and dash went 2 months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Your 'friend' and his boss are a disgrace and a danger to every other road user. If I was your 'friend' I would refuse to drive the van until it is put back in roadworthy condition or before he kills someone / himself.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

BX 19 wrote: »

Even with the NCT they are not allowed do that but will call AGS if the vehicle doesn't leave on the back of a trailer.

I always thought they could however the NCT site doesn't state it

It does state that the Gardai may be informed if someone drives a dangerous fail vehicle out of the centre.

Seems a bit ridiculous, taking a vehicle for a test as to its roadworthiness and then having the ability to drive it away even with the consequences called out above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

It does state that the Gardai may be informed if someone drives a dangerous fail vehicle out of the centre.

Seems a bit ridiculous, taking a vehicle for a test as to its roadworthiness and then having the ability to drive it away even with the consequences called out above.

Yea if someone drives out of the NCT centre after being told its failed dangerous we email head office who notify the gardai after.

I don't think the op is joking, people will try anything.

Its still personal property. Even if its un-roadworthy they have no right under law and would be breaking several by seizing it

michellie wrote: »
    Yea if someone drives out of the NCT centre after being told its failed dangerous we email head office who notify the gardai after.

No joke, from your response i gather you work in a test centre. hoping now it is a fail dangerous

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Syllabus

he drove from carlow to cork and back just today :eek:

bleedin boggers:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thread needs pics.

Its still personal property. Even if its un-roadworthy they have no right under law and would be breaking several by seizing it

You learn something new every day !

No joke, from your response i gather you work in a test centre. hoping now it is a fail dangerous

If they don't, why not have a quiet word with the local guard to see if they can sieze it?

Guards can sieze a vehicle id its visibly dangerous if it has bald tyres ect...

Syllabus wrote: »
    bleedin boggers:rolleyes:

Could be going to dublin tomorrow :eek:

biko wrote: »
    Thread needs pics.

You are right, see if i can take pics tomorrow with report sheet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

michellie wrote: »

I do yea, don't know what the story with DOE's are though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

side door hanging off
    2 bald tyres
    back light lens broke
    leaking oil very bad

Sweet Jesus, Motors has officially jumped the shark.

Between this and the "me brother got nicked for driving an unroadworthy car without insurance, what do you think will happen to him" thread, I despair!

slimjimmc wrote: »
    They can't physically stop him driving away though.
    If it's a Fail/Dangerous then they must inform the Gardaí if he drives it away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Safe to assume it will be at 10:20am tomorrow at Carlow test center. Is that the one beside the Dome?

At least I can avoid that area anyway. Tell your "mate" to cop on. He does realise that it won't just be his boss that will be in trouble when he gets caught right? He'll also be ****ed for driving the thing when it's clearly not roadworthy.

God I do hope this is a wind up. I'm almost tempted to go there tomorrow and take a pic or recording just to make sure he gets done for it if it was true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

"Will fly through ensiti" comes to mind :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

I spent most of the day trying to locate a package gone astray in the courier network, now I realise it's not clients I should have been calling but DOE test centres. :rolleyes:

"Could you ever check the crocks out the back for me?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

did he failed?

ectoraige wrote: »
    did he failed?

he was kilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

gro8jszqlu.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

Perhaps he's missing a €50 note from his ashtray:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭bugsntinas

would say it's unbelievable in this day and age but sadly it's not.only yesterday i saw a 4x4 towing a very large cattle trailer and on the front of the 4x4 there wasn't a single indicator,i don't mean working the whole units were missing both sides:eek:

so what's the out come of the test is this death trap on the road?

Some pics

Did he drive it out of there like that?
    Cheers for updating the thread too btw :)

RoverJames wrote: »
    Did he drive it out of there like that?
    Cheers for updating the thread too btw :)

He brought it back, showed his boss and said he wont be driving it any more