Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airport Police - Dublin Airport

• 01-05-2012 9:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

Just created this thread for people to discuss the Airport Police !

Its open for general discussion....

In particular what do the public think there function is or what powers you think they have etc....

Have you had any dealings with them in the past ?

Fell free to comment on any matter go or bad !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

O no u didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭kub

Just to get the ball rolling or perhaps put the cat amongst the pigeons...why are these chaps called Airport Police, what is wrong with Airport Security? Is it for foreigners I wonder, but surely this would confuse them as AGS are the Irish National Police service.

Personally speaking my own thoughts are these lads are basically security guards, whose area of responsibilty just happens to take in large tracts of land, where some very important vehicles which need to be secured at all times, come and go, a sort of a glorified bus stop.

So how come they are allowed to use blue lights on their vehicles?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

well they POLICE the airport area and its compounds

they have powers or arrest and detention im sure under the airport bye laws. they have powers of search and seizure and dog unit. they play the AGS role within the perimetres of our airports. i dont see what else you could call them!

is it true that all airport police double up as airport firemen!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

WilcoOut wrote: »

they have powers or arrest and detention im sure under the airport bye laws. they have powers of search and seizure and dog unit. they play the AGS role within the perimetres of our airports. i dont see what else you could call them!

Yes it is they rotate every few weeks. Fireman one week, Police the next. Youve got to give them credit doing both jobs cant be that easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

they have powers of search and seizure
    IIRC, no-one but the police have this power, so yes, the Airport Police are needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Tyron Jara wrote: »

Yes it is they rotate every few weeks. Fireman one week, Police the next. Youve got to give them credit doing both jobs cant be that easy.

I'd presume that as the airline industry is so regulated and safety standards are so high that the airport firefighters are in a constant state of readiness for something which never happens.

Therefore a week of shifts as an airport police officer, which is probably very busy, could break up the monotony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

How do you get a job with the airport police. I persume a normal psa licence is no good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭An Udaras

Excelllent thread..

Queue the there not police there glorified security guards posters...

Queue the they haven't the powers of the arrest more then any citizen...

Queue the just ignore them mob they can't prosecute or fine you...

hahahah sure its inevitable...

This DAA has its own Airport Police Service which the DAA require to provide frontline policing at its airports the largest element serving Dublin Airport as it is our largest international airport in Ireland. Policing & Security requirements must be met to satisfy legislations for the airport to be allowed operate.

Their job is to police our airports & prevent acts of criminal nature from occurring and if they occur on their patch to respond to them. They deal with what threats to the above occur, up to and including arresting an individual and then they transfer over custody to the Gardai to investigate while APS return to their role of focusing protecting our airports.

Members of the Airport Police Service are appointed as Authorised Officers under Section 48 of the Air Navigation & Transport Act 1998 (Amendments) by virtue of their class when they pass out from training as a Recruit to a full member of the Airport Police.

Their core power of Arrests come from Section 33 of the Act 1988 as amended by the Act of 1998 which gives them power to Stop & Search,Detain & Question, Remove and/or Arrest for various offences along with Byelaws enforcement (which provide separate powers to Seize items, Destroy items,Impound Vehicles etc.. amongst other statute powers and being recognized by the courts as Police Officer in their own right as they fill the functions of such.

They are regularly audited by the Department of Transport.

They also have other statute powers such as:
      Section 8. Airport Navigation & Transport Act 1998 (Power to bring proceedings/prosecutions for certain summary offences)
      Section 49. Air Navigation & Transport Act 1998 (Demand Flight itineraries,search & inspect A/C etc..)
      Section 50. Airport Navigation & Transport Act 1998 (Firearms & Explosive Offences)
      Section 15 State Airport Act 2004. (Powers of enforcement of Byelaws)
      Section 27 State Airport Act 2004. (Powers to issue Fixed Penalty Notices)
      Along with other sections under Aviation & Airports Act 1936-2004 & any person arrest powers under Common Law,Criminal Law Act 1997 etc..

Recruitment is generally internal now for staff within the DAA group of companies same system as the DFB now have in place. Some members of the force continue to serve in both the Police & the Fire Service but due to the every increasing technical nature of both jobs many Officers simply serves as either a Police Officer or Firefighter permanently.

How do you get a job with the airport police. I persume a normal psa licence is no good

Hey

A PSA license has nothing to do with the Airport Police as they are exempt from Private Security Authority Act 2004 as they are Authorised Officers & carry Warrant Cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Let the pissing contest commence.........

I can feel it coming too..

Airport Police are not Guards and I'm in no way implying that, but they do carry the powers of a Police Officer in their own right and that is what I'm trying to get across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

An Udaras wrote: »
    I can feel it coming too..

Airport Police are not Guards and I'm in no way implying that, but they do carry the powers of a Police Officer in their own right and that is what I'm trying to get across.

What is that supposed to mean exactly? Perhaps you should define what you consider to be 'powers of a police officer'?

I aint getting into this again, they have a power of detention aka power of arrest for the purpose of holding someone pending garda arrival and also the power to issue an on the spot fine. They dont investigate criminal offences nor do they prosecute criminal offences.

Theres two issues that Udarus glosses over or chooses to ignore:
    A, Byelaw offences in the airport, Dublin city centre, on Motorways etc are not criminal offences and only a Judge can record a criminal conviction against someone. Therefore AP do not initiate criminal cases or find you guilty by issuing you a ticket.
    B, Regardless of having a power to detain someone to issue a ticket, no person be they AP or Gardai are allowed use force to issue a ticket. I hinted at that before but only Garda readers got it so now I will just say it. What a law written in 1988 says and what courts and Judges have since decided are separate things. Again not a dig at AP because it applies to a Garda as well.

AP when utilising their powers will call themselves 'Authorised officers' as that is the wording used in the legislation, they will not use the term 'police' in any official capacity and when a crime is committed its AGS that will cart the criminal away to be put through the Justice system.

Remember, a security guard will 'arrest' a shoplifter, detain them in a detention area within the restricted area of the shop and may ask them questions, dont make em police officers does it?

In regards the air navigation act, it specifies AP for certain roles however there is also ample powers for normal citizens to also perform 90% of the same arrests, etc. You don't need to be an AP or a Garda to stop an armed robbery or someone wielding a rocket launcher or in fact a drug dealer (but I would not recommend doing any of that for various reasons). They also tellingly, are not connected to the 999 system.

So what do I personally think of the AP? I think they are people performing a task utilising powers marginally higher than that of any other security guard in the land. I think they by and large have good equipment and are trained for their roles which puts them that step ahead of your average security guard. Cuffs being carried is a good example. I am led to believe that the fire brigade within the airport are also well stocked and trained to perform their role. I think that its the fanboys who start AP V AGS arguements and not in fact the AP themselves who know their role similar in a way to the way that soldiers and Gardai rarely decide to have pissing contests because they both know their own and each others positions and responsibilities.

That said, I think a fully fledged airport or transport police would be a better option but ultimately I think having the airports policed by AGS fully would be ideal instead of the confusing mess we have now. Lord knows there is enough former AP people in AGS to staff it straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

This is all well and good, but the really important question is can they have blue lights and drive in bus lanes? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

civdef wrote: »
    This is all well and good, but the really important question is can they have blue lights and drive in bus lanes? :D
    So can anyone answer my question? How do you apply for a job with them and what do you need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

civdef wrote: »

Nooooooooooooooo - please not again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

They are not real police but they do have some legal powers eg. Asking people to move when parked or stopping outside the terminal which you do have to follow.

Recruitment is generally internal now for staff within the DAA group of companies same system as the DFB now have in place. Some members of the force continue to serve in both the Police & the Fire Service but due to the every increasing technical nature of both jobs many Officers simply serves as either a Police Officer or Firefighter permanently.

They have no need to be connected to the 999 systems as they are not a national service they police a specific piece of national infrastructure. They have their own emergency & non emergency phone line which connects you to the Police command & control center.

Gardai are being removed from their current role of immigration in the airport and being largely replaced by civil servants, the airport Garda station is being rumored to be closing at night time same as its partner station Santry and budget cuts have already swept the AGS in relation to other matter which i will not disclose on this forum.

The DAA and formerly Aer Rianta chose the name Airport Police as it clearly demonstrated the role & profile the force would deliver.

A Police Officer to me, is one who is their to protect & serve other members of the community and provide a public service & respond to acts of criminal nature.

One who has statutory powers to Detain persons for purpose of using their powers (A citizen can not do this without arresting a person), Demand Name & Address, Forms of Identity,Question person as to their lawful purpose to be in a certain area, Arrest persons for commiting offences, Ability to Prosecute (in this instance its limited currently to Byelaws) Stop & Search Persons/Vehicles for weapons,explosives,drugs or stolen items etc.. seize & impound vehicles, remove and refuse people entry to specific areas like crime scenes or serious incidents, Order vehicles to move, issue persons banning orders (common in the UK), issue on the spot fines, proactively deal with those whom endanger others, remove people from areas, deal with public dis-order etc..

Thats what ticks the boxes for me for what a Police Officer is.. Funnily enough Airport Police can do all the above.

Of course this differs from a Guard who has 100 times more powers available to them but thats what make them a Guard. The Airport Police have a very specific function & mission which they are legislated and equipped for and that is to ensure the safety & security of person,property using the airport and prevent acts of unlawful interference to civil aviation from occurring and if it occurs responding accordingly.

I honestly cannot see Gardai in any way taking over policing as they would need to have a huge increase in staffing within the airport,new specific designed vehicles,permanent specially trained gardai to operate airside, a commitment to respond to all incidents within a set time frame be it a minor public order matter at a check in desk or full scale emergency on the airfield. They would have to meet all the standards and requirements as set out in National Civil Aviation Security Plan known as NCASP and other legislation.

I would love to see a Guard posted to the top roads of each terminal moving & dealing with minor traffic/parking matters while making sure the airport main roads its artuarys keep moving. And above all to become fully accountable not only to Garda Management but to the needs of the DAA..

You may be unaware that daily the Gardai request the mutual assistance of the Airports Police Service. The blood runs blue... I will say no more but you should know this from being a Guard in the airport.

So who would pay for all that is needed for the gardai to be equipped properly to work fully in the airport and what stark improvement would the DAA & its Passengers see in its main airport more then it does now? The DAA would not pay for a police service in which it has no control or accountability for them.

Would a Garda Super-nindendo take instructions or orders from a senior DAA manager and if he failed to complete or undertake something would he be accountable to the DAA for it??? You know the answer all ready...
    No point mentioning Armed Officers as your only argument in favour wouldn't be very compeling as the level of threat simply isn't there.

Currently the DAA has its own fully accountable Police service who not only perform & undertake this role but also work towards DAA objectives why would they want to change this.

Just to mention on a member of the Airport Police Service warrant card it states that Joe Bloggs whom is a Authourised Officer and a member of the Airport Police Fire Service... Blah Blah Blah

When dealing with a person be it a arrest or other utilastion of powers or when appearing in court to give evidence the same above line is used side by side when undertaking all official duties. They are appointed as Authorised Officers by virtue of their class when they pass out as a full member of the APS after recruit training.

I dont understand your fanboy reference tbh but I'm flattered its been a long time since anyones referred to me as a boy :o

Members of the Airport Police have the powers to stop and search (including persons, their property and vehicles, aircraft and cargo in an airport), demand a person's details and other relevant information, detain persons and/or remove them from the airport, and arrest on the minister's land—including the airport, an aeroplane, runways, and car parks—which includes any roadways, land or property owned, leased or operated by the Dublin Airport Authority or Minister for Transport, even if it is located outside of an airport's security perimeter fence.
    From Wikipedia.

I am suprised that they have the right to search a vehicle! I had a disagreement with one before because he kept asking me to move my car. My girlfriend was across the road at the terminal but couldn't see me. I was trying to direct her to me on the phone while sitting in the car. I drove around and came back and he told me either to pay for parking or to leave the airport. There was a guard nearby who came over. I explained what was going on and he said that's no problem. By this stage my girlfriend had saw me.

I assumed that they were a private security company employed by the airport. I had no idea they would have powers to search vehicles etc.

Of course they are Police. There are blue lights on their cars, they tell people what to do and will provide assistance in an emergency.

I've seen members of the NYPD whose sole role is to check waste is recycled properly. Members of the NYPD who stand at toll gates all day. Are they real police? They have guns and uniforms.

And the PDF have to escort cash deliveries, a role which in most European countries is carried out by a police force. Likewise AGS relies on the Air Corps to provide their helicopters. Are AGS less police because of this when compared to some random English police service who provide these services without military assistance?

If they are called police, dress like police and carry out police functions then they are police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 hjs007

Excelllent thread..

Queue the there not police there glorified security guards posters...

Queue the they haven't the powers of the arrest more then any citizen...

Queue the just ignore them mob they can't prosecute or fine you...

hahahah sure its inevitable...

This DAA has its own Airport Police Service which the DAA require to provide frontline policing at its airports the largest element serving Dublin Airport as it is our largest international airport in Ireland. Policing & Security requirements must be met to satisfy legislations for the airport to be allowed operate.

Their job is to police our airports & prevent acts of criminal nature from occurring and if they occur on their patch to respond to them. They deal with what threats to the above occur, up to and including arresting an individual and then they transfer over custody to the Gardai to investigate while APS return to their role of focusing protecting our airports.

Members of the Airport Police Service are appointed as Authorised Officers under Section 48 of the Air Navigation & Transport Act 1998 (Amendments) by virtue of their class when they pass out from training as a Recruit to a full member of the Airport Police.

Their core power of Arrests come from Section 33 of the Act 1988 as amended by the Act of 1998 which gives them power to Stop & Search,Detain & Question, Remove and/or Arrest for various offences along with Byelaws enforcement (which provide separate powers to Seize items, Destroy items,Impound Vehicles etc.. amongst other statute powers and being recognized by the courts as Police Officer in their own right as they fill the functions of such.

They are regularly audited by the Department of Transport.

They also have other statute powers such as:
      Section 8. Airport Navigation & Transport Act 1998 (Power to bring proceedings/prosecutions for certain summary offences)
      Section 49. Air Navigation & Transport Act 1998 (Demand Flight itineraries,search & inspect A/C etc..)
      Section 50. Airport Navigation & Transport Act 1998 (Firearms & Explosive Offences)
      Section 15 State Airport Act 2004. (Powers of enforcement of Byelaws)
      Section 27 State Airport Act 2004. (Powers to issue Fixed Penalty Notices)
      Along with other sections under Aviation & Airports Act 1936-2004 & any person arrest powers under Common Law,Criminal Law Act 1997 etc..

That sounds like the words of a Joey !

Anyone know why the Airport Police are called Joey's ???

Joey is a baby kangaroo that can't wander too far it's mother pouch... Some also like to think it cause a baby kangaroo is so cute & cuddly :D

Why are Guards called Mules? Anything to do with being stubborn? :pac:

Joey is a baby kangaroo that can't wander too far it's mother pouch... Some also like to think it cause a baby kangaroo is so cute & cuddly :D

So in saying that then, an Airport Police officer is called a Joey because its mother is the Airport and there not allowed out of it and have no power outside it

The names in there title Airport Police Service. There area of jurisdiction is the entire roadways & lands constituting an Airport.

Of course if a person commits an offence within there Patch they have the right to persue them off it once sight isn't lost & inform the local mules. They also retain their power to remove a person out of the airport when removing a person as set out under Section 33.

Unless a serious offence has occurred there is no need to persue as they could just bring a summary prosecution under the Byelaws as the person failed to stop for an Authorised Officer/Airport Police which is a offence in itself and the DAA can prosecute them in the local district court and/or can seek the mutual assistance of the their colleauges in the Gardai in this matter.

The APS have no business off campus as they have more then enough to be doing in their role that is clearly set out as I stated above.

The names in there title Airport Police Service. There area of jurisdiction is the entire roadways & lands constituting an Airport.

Of course if a person commits an offence within there Patch they have the right to persue them off it once sight isn't lost & inform the local mules. They also retain their power to remove a person out of the airport when removing a person as set out under Section 33.

Unless a serious offence has occurred there is no need to persue as they could just bring a summary prosecution under the Byelaws as the person failed to stop for an Authorised Officer/Airport Police which is a offence in itself and the DAA can prosecute them in the local district court and/or can seek the mutual assistance of the their colleauges in the Gardai in this matter.

The APS have no business off campus as they have more then enough to be doing in their role that is clearly set out as I stated above.

But just to clarify that AGS have total overall authority at the Airport at the end of the day ! And in reality are the real Police no matter what way you like to dress things up !

Could you expand on this please HJS??

Yes a member of the Gardai are also Authorised Officers just the same as a member of the Airport Police Service but the DAA has over all day to day authority in relation to safety & security of an airport as set out in Section 23 of Air Navigation & Transport Act 1998 & the NCASP etc...

HJS did you just start this thread to discredit the members of the Airport Police Service and degrade them by childish remarks about the way people are dressed up??? I presume you mean uniformed.

You started a similar thread 3 year ago about the Airport Police.. Trolling?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055285539

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 MissEmcee

Ha Ha - Excellent:)!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

:mad: Shame on you 007.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Of course if a person commits an offence within there Patch they have the right to persue them off it once sight isn't lost & inform the local mules.
    Do you just make random things up to try and prove they are police? Any person, I repeat ANY PERSON can pursue a suspect for a criminal offence. Nothing to do with being AP and it has absolutely nothing to do with losing sight. Where did you hear that, on Cops? There is only one occasion where losing sight plays a part in a pursuit and its for Gardai only.
    Unless a serious offence has occurred there is no need to persue as they could just bring a summary prosecution under the Byelaws as the person failed to stop for an Authorised Officer/Airport Police
    Dear god in heaven are you for real? A person failed to stop and they will therefore be summonsed? Using what name or address? the one they refused to give when they ran away?
    They have no need to be connected to the 999 systems as they are not a national service they police a specific piece of national infrastructure
    On that basis then Dublin Fire Brigade are not connected to 999 either? Because only National agencies are connected to it? Is there a national fire service even? Surely any emergency agency would be connected to 999 so they can be alerted to incidents within their area no? How does any fire service respond to fires then if 999 is only for national agencies? Perhaps they ask directory inquiries for the local emergency number as they surely do in the airport "Hello yes Im being mugged in the airport but the Gardai don't police here so can I have the airport polices emergency number please?"
    A Police Officer to me, is one who is their to protect & serve other members of the community and provide a public service & respond to acts of criminal nature.

One who has statutory powers to Detain persons for purpose of using their powers (A citizen can not do this without arresting a person), Demand Name & Address, Forms of Identity,Question person as to their lawful purpose to be in a certain area, Arrest persons for commiting offences, Ability to Prosecute (in this instance its limited currently to Byelaws) Stop & Search Persons/Vehicles for weapons,explosives,drugs or stolen items etc.. seize & impound vehicles, remove and refuse people entry to specific areas like crime scenes or serious incidents, Order vehicles to move, issue persons banning orders (common in the UK), issue on the spot fines, proactively deal with those whom endanger others, remove people from areas, deal with public dis-order etc..

Thats what ticks the boxes for me for what a Police Officer is.. Funnily enough Airport Police can do all the above.

Beautiful speech, just beautiful but then you forget this: "(2) Where an authorised officer, who is not a member of the Garda Síochána, arrests a person under this section, he shall, forthwith, deliver such person into the custody of a member of the Garda Síochána to be dealt with in accordance with law." http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1988/en/act/pub/0015/print.html#sec33)
    That rebukes all your waffle through and through. They arrest or detain = handing over to the POLICE. Theres only 2 recognised police forces in the Republic and neither is within the airport.

Look, if they are police with statutory powers or arrest, detention, investigation and prosecution then they wouldn't need to hand ALL prisoners over and you could, on the 5th time of asking, be able to produce a court case that involved direct prosecution.

In regards being answerable, I find it worrying that you believe any police force should be directly answerable to a private company. That should never be the case.

Oh and theres no such thing as a warrant card in the Republic of Ireland

Now, having sucked me in again, I really am leaving it at that. You can continue to bounce around the subject and misquote, misunderstand law and in some cases it seems, just make things up and if people want to believe you then so be it.

Can we just conclude that the Airport Police have greater powers than security guards but lesser powers then Guardaí/Police? Whether or not they are actual Police depends on your definition of Police. Anyone disagree with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Anyone disagree with that?

Yes!!!!

Paulzx wrote: »
    Yes!!!!

You disagree? Why?

I'm not saying that they should have extra powers just that they have them (which was the point of this thread).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

You disagree? Why?

).

Because this thread is one big disagreement and I'm not going to change that now..........

Paulzx wrote: »
    Because this thread is one big disagreement and I'm not going to change that now..........

I disagree with your take on this thread;)

Eru wrote: »
    Do you just make random things up to try and prove they are police? Any person, I repeat ANY PERSON can pursue a suspect for a criminal offence. Nothing to do with being AP and it has absolutely nothing to do with losing sight. Where did you hear that, on Cops? There is only one occasion where losing sight plays a part in a pursuit and its for Gardai only.

Dear god in heaven are you for real? A person failed to stop and they will therefore be summonsed? Using what name or address? the one they refused to give when they ran away?

On that basis then Dublin Fire Brigade are not connected to 999 either? Because only National agencies are connected to it? Is there a national fire service even? Surely any emergency agency would be connected to 999 so they can be alerted to incidents within their area no? How does any fire service respond to fires then if 999 is only for national agencies? Perhaps they ask directory inquiries for the local emergency number as they surely do in the airport "Hello yes Im being mugged in the airport but the Gardai don't police here so can I have the airport polices emergency number please?"

Beautiful speech, just beautiful but then you forget this: "(2) Where an authorised officer, who is not a member of the Garda Síochána, arrests a person under this section, he shall, forthwith, deliver such person into the custody of a member of the Garda Síochána to be dealt with in accordance with law." http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1988/en/act/pub/0015/print.html#sec33)
    That rebukes all your waffle through and through. They arrest or detain = handing over to the POLICE. Theres only 2 recognised police forces in the Republic and neither is within the airport.

Look, if they are police with statutory powers or arrest, detention, investigation and prosecution then they wouldn't need to hand ALL prisoners over and you could, on the 5th time of asking, be able to produce a court case that involved direct prosecution.

In regards being answerable, I find it worrying that you believe any police force should be directly answerable to a private company. That should never be the case.

Oh and theres no such thing as a warrant card in the Republic of Ireland

Now, having sucked me in again, I really am leaving it at that. You can continue to bounce around the subject and misquote, misunderstand law and in some cases it seems, just make things up and if people want to believe you then so be it.

Look ERU take what you like from my posts but you clearly have sunken to a level where you are trying to insult me & my contributions. I have not lied nor bent any truths. You have some bigger issue with Airport Police that clearly goes beyond this debate good luck dealing with it, because every time I post something you imply I'm lieing and making things up.

Zambia wrote: »
    :mad: Shame on you 007.

And your point being ?

Any more bitching and I'll report you all to the Internet Police.

Could you expand on this please HJS??

Yes a member of the Gardai are also Authorised Officers just the same as a member of the Airport Police Service but the DAA has over all day to day authority in relation to safety & security of an airport as set out in Section 23 of Air Navigation & Transport Act 1998 & the NCASP etc...

HJS did you just start this thread to discredit the members of the Airport Police Service and degrade them by childish remarks about the way people are dressed up??? I presume you mean uniformed.

And you point about previous thread as quoted above ?

hjs007 wrote: »
    And your point being ?
    Its sad.

Zambia wrote: »
    Its sad.

Its a general discussion ! Nobody asked you to contribute to it if you dont have anything productive to add.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭kub

Does anyone know what actually happened that day in Cork Airport when that guy stole a traffic corp 4x4 and drove it onto the apron.

Just someone mentioned to me that some Airport Security Officer would not let pursuing Gardai onto the apron.

Well not until a certain member instructed the clown in very clear way, enough said.
    But that sums up Airport Security Guards.

kub wrote: »
    Just someone mentioned to me that some Airport Security Officer would not let pursuing Gardai onto the apron.

I find that hard to believe. Airport security do not replace a police service.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 174 ✭✭troposphere

So they got police inside checking passports and outside in the terminal and airport perimeter they use security guards for security? Obviously the people arriving on flights having gone through security screening are the bigger threat. DAA having control over security is like the US airlines having control over security screening prior to 9/11.

Does anyone know what actually happened that day in Cork Airport when that guy stole a traffic corp 4x4 and drove it onto the apron.

Well not until a certain member instructed the clown in very clear way, enough said.

I don't think Gardai should be allowed on to a live airside environment just because they are Gardai.

There are specific protocols and there is training required to interact with aircraft. Do Gardai get these as a matter of course?

From what you describe it would appear that before the Airport Police officer stopped the Gardai, made a risk assessment and then allowed them to proceed.

I think we must have had a few people clamped by the Airport Police, hence the negative comments here. If I had been clamped by them I'd probably have a bash as well but the petty comments displayed here only make the posters sound ridiculous.

I don't think Gardai should be allowed on to a live airside environment just because they are Gardai.

I would have to agree if a Police car caused an air disaster questions would be asked why they where not stopped. Especially from the driver of the police car if they survived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭First Aid Ireland

I know nothing about all this. But, as a random member of the public, I'd always regard the airport police as "proper" cops, as does anyone else I know.

They're probably the emergency service that I've had the most positive dealings with. I've always found them to be very helpful and very competent.

This thread is soon becoming a laughing stock KUB you clearly have no operation knowledge of how Aviation Security & Policing works and I for one won't be educating you on it. Operational information & SOPs are confidential for a reason. The Airport Police have their own rank structure of Sergeants & Inspectors so its irregardless of what a "Certain Members" says.. theres processes in place for a reason. By the way your above story is totally inaccurate.

As i listed & outlined in Post 9 is the APS's respective powers and roles.

So what real experience do all you well educated posters have of dealing with the Airport Police Service?

Is it simply related to when a Police Officer has requested you in the past to move a vehicle on if you where illegally parked in a set down only area as is his role?

Or have you been stopped & searched and your details recorded by a member of the APS in the past?

Have you been the victim of a crime within the Airport and the responding agency was the Airport Police? Did they treat you in a professional manner and assist you in your time of trouble?

Have you ever suffered a minor or major injury through a fall or involved in a RTC within the Airport and the responding agency was the Airport Police? Did they treat you in a professional & caring manner and assist you in your time of trouble?

Was Your vehicle impounded or clamped/towed because you where illegally parked and you had to a pay fine because of the Airport Police?

Have you ever been Arrested by a member of the Airport Police? Where you treated you professionally when you where brought to the custody suite in the Airport Police Station.

So as your all so clearly educated to their role and functions where do you base your above posts off? Something tells me its down to the fact in the past some Policeman or woman told you to move your car and you didn't like it when you where told NO you can't wait here?

Call them what names you like any true Guard or other responding ES who worth their salt are well aware of their role and a very high level of professionalism exist between these organisations no matter what one or two others say.

I know nothing about all this. But, as a random member of the public, I'd always regard the airport police as "proper" cops, as does anyone else I know.

They're probably the emergency service that I've had the most positive dealings with. I've always found them to be very helpful and very competent.

Yeah, I'm not a cop and not a criminal so the minutiae of their responsibilities and powers are not relevant to me. All I know is that if I am in trouble, I'd ask one for help and be thankful of receiving it and if one of them approached me I would treat them with the same respect I'd show any Garda.

The only difference I see in them and the Garda is that their cars have amber beacons to enable them to drive airside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

At least nobody mentioned roof lights.

D'oh!

deadwood wrote: »
    At least nobody mentioned roof lights.

D'oh!

What about the grill lights,side bars and rear blues?! :D