Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

colm_mcm wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3926024

Oh dear god, look at all the pics...

LOL! Its also a car dealership that's selling it, which makes it even worse. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I just dropped in to bed and there is that movie "torgue" on....

What a stupid and **** looking movie lol. Two woman having a fight on motorcycles... Holy **** how stupid and unrealistic it looked... How old is that movie lads?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

What a stupid and **** looking movie lol. Two woman having a fight on motorcycles... Holy **** how stupid and unrealistic it looked... How old is that movie lads?!

2004 man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

nothing like getting to meet your heroes :D

183298_471351939562171_1300159191_n.jpg

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=when+was+the+film+torque+made%3F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

RoverJames wrote: »
    I reckon you should go through them yourself to find where you always said that ;)

Maybe you didn't know about the 2.2 than?

Best of the worst is not really the same as the pick of the bunch :pac:
    Note how the "only exception" is not the 2.2 ...

Stark change in tune since a 2.2 cropped up in your house though....

Some petrol head you are to reckon it's horrific tax and economy :pac:

You didn't specifically say it, saying that the awful (or horrific) economy and tax is " Worth it though." would suggest it though.

Or would you like to clarify your thoughts on the 2.2 now for us :)

Nothing like a good memory.

If you're going to be smart about it with your ''nothing like a good memory'' then at least read the posts properly and not just pick and choose what you wish to post.

The 2.2 is the pick of the bunch out of the petrol engines. They are nowhere near as good as the old ones and don't try and argue that. The 1.8 is just gutless and the 3.2 is really sh1t. Therefore the 2.2 is a reasonable mix of power with reasonable tax, and general running costs relative to the others.

The three engines are disappointments after the previous engines that went before them. Especially the 1.8 and 3.2. You have probably never been in either so your comment is entirely irrelevant.

There's no way in hell could you go for a diesel engine in the Spider as it just doesn't suit it and with the insane tax and even worse fuel economy that comes with the 3.2, the 2.2 is the ''pick of the bunch'', you understand?

Your comment about me not being a petrolhead is just plain silly and petty and you know it. It is horrific tax and economy to me anyway. Maybe fuel and tax bills aren't so much of an issue to yourself though. :)

Saying ''worth it though'' meant that the car as whole was worth it, not just the engine. The whole package of the looks interior and surprising comfort make it ''worth it''. Geddit?

I'd love to hear your thoughts on the 1.8, 2.2 and 3.2 engine though..:pac:

@mods - Sorry for taking this a little off-topic. Any further mention on this topic will be brought to PM. :)

..... You needn't mind pm ing me, I didn't pick and choose anything, the full quotes are linked to where your inconsistent and contradictory views are detailed. Do you understand that? Have a read of your own posts :pac: best of a bad lot becomes the pick of the bunch :rolleyes: geddit ;)
    In your latest babbling you describe the 2.2 tax as horrific even though it was reasonable earlier in the same post, unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Maybe ye could email or text each other. or become friends on facebook?

either way, the bickering going on here isn't welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

James and 166man, for heavens sake, your both nice chaps, regular posters on here and sensible men but you two are clearly never going to see eye to eye, would you's not save each other the grief and leave it so.

Just "agree to differ" as it were.

no offence to either of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Maybe ye could email or text each other. or become friends on facebook?

either way, the bickering going on here isn't welcome.

Can't you see, I made a point about the fuel economy of an engine which I have vastly more experience of than RJ, yet he reckons he knows the fuel economy of our car better than I do, I'm merely standing my ground when he brings family into things really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

If I ever need a solicitor Im gonna call RJ, that fella never misses a feckin thing and never backs down! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

i can almost taste it :)

I described your claimed mpg as what one would expect ;)

If I ever need a solicitor Im gonna call RJ, that fella never misses a feckin thing and never backs down! :pac:

I'm not really able to read the signatures in the pic above, But did you meet Chad?

EDIT: Never mind I thought it said "Nickelback" on the ticket. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Seriously lads, take it somewhere else.

I have a quick question. Is it better for the car to, keep the tank of petrol or diesel full. Or just fill it up when ever it gets to the red notch? Its just something I always wondered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

187 miles put up on Meaths and Cavans finest roads, twisty roads, boreens and roads to nowhere :pac:

I must be going mad or I just love driving but I really enjoyed spinnin about :)

Anybody here see the mighty D-Turbo about this evening? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭kilianmanning

dgt wrote: »
    187 miles put up on Meaths and Cavans finest roads, twisty roads, boreens and roads to nowhere :pac:

I must be going mad or I just love driving but I really enjoyed spinnin about :)

Anybody here see the mighty D-Turbo about this evening? :p
    Yup I saw you in Virginia

No way! :D

I was behind a few taxis outside a pub, then was at the lake... Where did you see me?

No way! :D

I was behind a few taxis outside a pub, then was at the lake... Where did you see me?
    You were just turning right at the junction to go towards the lake.. I said to the lad in the car beside me I know that lad from boards, a fella that always takes the engine out of his car :P

It's a small world :D

Went down to the lake, was hoping it would be relatively quiet, instead was full of teeny boppers doing unspeakable things, immediate u turn and escape! :eek: :p

What were you in? Could have had a mini boardsie meet :pac:

It's a small world :D

Went down to the lake, was hoping it would be relatively quiet, instead was full of teeny boppers doing unspeakable things, immediate u turn and escape! :eek: :p

What were you in? Could have had a mini boardsie meet :pac:
    Yes it is:P
    I was down at the lake too nobody was down there when I was there though:P
    I was in a purple mk3 golf, you might have copped me
    I was thinking of trying to find you for a chat:D

Yes it is:P
    I was down at the lake too nobody was down there when I was there though:P
    I was in a purple mk3 golf, you might have copped me
    I was thinking of trying to find you for a chat:D

I must have scared them off, was right at the lake, there were about 12 of them, I'm sure you can imagine what they were up to...!

How on earth did I miss a purple Golf?! Although I was looking for the turn for the lake... :o

Must keep an eye out for you next time I'm in that neck of the woods :)

I'd better get some shut eye! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

i saqw ojne of this toinight toooo"""!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

OSI wrote: »
    Technically the same wheels aren't they? I know BBS make the Pescaras, and pretty sure the VZ are just their branded wheels.

I think the pescaras are slightly lighter. From memory its something to do with the production process and theres a very slight difference on the centre of the wheel.

Although this could just be senile old ramblings:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

i saqw ojne of this toinight toooo"""!!! :D

Got a laugh from this. Quoted before you delete it:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

It's Car Washing TIME !

Ok Ok some cereal first maybe :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

Could do with giving mine a wash too.
    Looks like it might rain here though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

It's Car Washing TIME !

Ok Ok some cereal first maybe :p

Did my own yesterday, shes looking well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

Drove a 2.5 Alfa V6 yesterday. Fun times! On that note... What have I missed around these parts since then? When I was last here, people were giving out about a 1 litre Ford Diesel engine. :pac: