Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

no insurance

• 29-04-2012 2:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

hi my brother will be done for driving with no insurance , tax or nct , this would be his 3/4 time getting done with 1/2 more coming up he was put off the road once and 3 endorsements put on , what do you think would happen to him this time he is 34 male irish 2 kids have no other record that of only traffic offence,s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Rather hefty fine and a disqualification would be my thinking.

I'm unsure about whether jailtime is an option or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭wex96

Sorry but he'll probably do time, might get lucky and get community service, but with more on the way, jail time and not driving for a long long time. sorry for your troubles :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 sligodude1010

do you think so how much of a fine and how long disqualified would you think

and do you think he would get jail , he has no other convictions other than road traffic mainly no tax , parking fines unpaid , i think he has 3 with on insurance 2date

wex i think he has he was asked to hand in details over 18 to 12 months ago and never did he forgot and he also moved house 3 times so they mite never catch up with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

I reckon he could get jail time.

Fines and disqualifications haven't stopped him from repeating offenses so far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

sorry to say, but i think he should be banned for life from driving

dharn your prob right be to be fair to him he was only moving an off the road car yesterday in a estate and was pulled up

so he is looking at a big fine and an long disqualified spell of the road at least

surely they wont jail him :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭JH_raheny

only an idiot drives with no insurance, tax I can understand as they don't spend the money fixing poxy potholes etc. nct is just another scam really so wouldn't judge him on that either.
    I been to court after getting stopped with no papers and "forgetting" to produce them in the Garda station, all charges except from driving in the buslane was struck out as I had ducumentation with me on the date, however, I did listen in to a lot of cases and the judges have NO time for people driving with no insurance or drink driving, he'll get the hammer and rightly so, it isn't totally straight forward claiming from MIBI in case of an accident so hopefully he'll be put of the road forever and do enough jail time for him to serious reconsider reoffending before some innocent person meets him on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

OP your brother needs to talk to a solicitor and he needs to do it now.

hi jim what would a solicitor be able to do for him

i know what he did was wrong but its done now there are worse out there at stuff

any chance the other times wont catch up with him as i am know he will get put off the road and he wont drive while off this would be his 2nd time to be off the road the other 2 time were endorsements would that matter what is the norm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

He should get a heavy fine and put off the road for a vary long time, hes a repeat offender with no respect for the law. Its because of him and the likes of him that we have to pay an extra €40 on top of our insurance.

As for the "Officer I was only moving the car" story, does he think the guards are totally stupid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

f**K me :eek: he got caught how many times and your wondering what will happen to him, jesus he must not be the sharpest tool in the toolbox, he deserves jail time if he keeps on offending, what happens if he crashed into someone and he had no insurance, the innocent person in it gets screwed by having a damaged car and a damaged wallet having to pay for it himself. He needs to go see a solicitor and somebody else to knock a bit of sense into him.

hi jim what would a solicitor be able to do for him

i know what he did was wrong but its done now there are worse out there at stuff

any chance the other times wont catch up with him as i am know he will get put off the road and he wont drive while off this would be his 2nd time to be off the road the other 2 time were endorsements would that matter what is the norm

The solicitor will answer all these questions and inform your bro of his best/worst case scenarios.
    If it were me, I would not attempt to set foot in a court for this with legal representation. Your brothers very liberty could well be at stake.

all that is very true what ye are saying

but yesterday he really was just moving the car as it was not even road wordly

i may add that the old offence,s happened in between 2002 and 2005 with nothing up on till this year well 2011

jim do you really think he may end up in jail over this

would they like take him away in court that day

could he appel it , and if it was 2 happen surely they would allow him some time to sort his **** out like his affairs n stuff

I honestly don't know. Even if I did, you can hardly believe me. It's an Internet forum. Legal advice is the only thing to help him.

all that is very true what ye are saying

but yesterday he really was just moving the car as it was not even road wordly

i may add that the old offence,s happened in between 2002 and 2005 with nothing up on till this year well 2011

Regardless of the gap in time its still doesnt excuse what he is doing, my intention is not to offend you but seriously if your brother is a repeat offender he deserves the book thrown at him, why should people like him get away with not paying for tax, insurance, nct, when the majority of people have to pay it, i think its pretty obvious that his previous experiences with getting caught have done nothing to deter him so yeah he deserves a stint in a jail cell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

He's definitely going to get a lengthy driving ban if not a life ban, a heavy fine and possibly jail time depending on the judge as its his 3rd time. As the others have said, he really needs to speak with a solicitor about this but I can't honestly say there will be a happy ending when he does go to court.

Well maybe he should read ,Inside. Its about a professional golfer who just decided to drive with a couple of drinks in him and killed a cyclist. Got 3 years.
    As previously pointed out, what if when he "just happened" to move the car over a child.
    Guards must be on every corner in Sligo. Good work. And driving with no insurance is serious stuff imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

I can't believe this post! I am not normally a high horse rider, but he is a repeat offender apparently. As such he can't claim to have simply suffered a temporary memory lapse. All the indications from this post are that he never had any intention of taxing or insuring any car he ever owned. I don't care if he was "simply moving it." Where to? Galway? I suspect his only defence now is one of insanity or he could well face a jail term.

I don't like the excessive insurance costs of motoring, and I strongly oppose the government's exploitation of the motorist, but for God's sake, the rest of us have to comply. Why shouldn't he? I have absolutely no sympathy for him!

thanks for all the advice and i agree with all of it , law is law and should not be broken by him or any one

just want to get a gist of what might happen him for when i see him later

so def long term off the road and heavy fine plus the good chance of jail

Knowing the courts system in this country he will be one of those jammy f***ers who will just get a life ban from driving but sure what will he care he drives illegally and irresponsibly anyway so it wont make a difference to him so in a sense he may just get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

That sums it up nicely.

Jails are overflowing but maybe a couple of months in a cell with Big Bubba will get the message through....Nothing else seems to unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

thanks for all the advice and i agree with all of it , law is law and should not be broken by him or any one

just want to get a gist of what might happen him for when i see him later

so def long term off the road and heavy fine plus the good chance of jail

http://www.carlowpeople.ie/news/caught-driving-with-no-insurance-3-times-737328.html

Found that with a quick google search. That guy got 4 months in prison but also had drink driving in the equation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

3rd no insurance conviction usually results in a life ban and the possibility of prison.

thanks for that i read the report , as you say the only dif is he was drink driving when ed ( the brother ) was not

i understand people fury and the fact that they are pissed off , i would 2 but sure well from the family point of view hopefully somebody wont go into jail because of this i would def put him off the road and some community service plus heavy fine but not off the road there are thing out in todays world far worse and far worse people

Sligodude, I have to respect you in the worry you are having over your brother, if he was mine on a third offence, hes on his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

If he is not currently disqualified, probably a suspended sentence, €2000 fines and 8 to 10 years off the road.

would that be put off the road for the 3rd time , as he has only been put off the 1 time the others were endoresments which stay on licence for 3 years so this would be his 2nd time 2 be put off the road thats if he get put off i am only thinking he will

duiske thanks for reply , he is not disqualified at the moment and he do hold a licence

carrick mcjoe i think what he done was totally fu cking stupid but its a driving offence he will get his rewards like put off road for 8/10 years like people think that will do him , i know of drug dealers in town and the gardai also know them and they are in and out of court for 20years so even doh he did wrong he still is an ok kinda of person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

thanks for that i read the report , as you say the only dif is he was drink driving when ed ( the brother ) was not

i understand people fury and the fact that they are pissed off , i would 2 but sure well from the family point of view hopefully somebody wont go into jail because of this i would def put him off the road and some community service plus heavy fine but not off the road there are thing out in todays world far worse and far worse people

The problem is that we live in what we believe is a civilised society, where there are rules determined for the common good. Unfortunately those rules are all too often created by politicians who do not actually have to common good at heart. The rules do, however, require that no citizen should behave in a way that threatens the welfare of another. Thus, driving without insurance, even over twenty yards, is a potential threat to another citizen. It is perfectly possible to run over a child or hit a pedestrian in twenty yards.

Being already banned from driving by a court of one's peers indicates that society does not feel that the driver has the competence to handle a tonne of steel at any speed. Being insured doesn't mean that the driver becomes incapable of error. It simply means that if he hurts someone they can be assisted to recover. I really don't care much if his car tax is out of date, but if he isn't insured then he is threatening me and everyone else on the roads. He is potentially threatening my wife and my children, and he must be stopped.

I can well understand your pain, but you are not your brother's keeper. Sooner or later he is going to have to grow up, and I suggest you tell him so!

ART6 wrote: »
    The problem is that we live in what we believe is a civilised society, where there are rules determined for the common good. Unfortunately those rules are all too often created by politicians who do not actually have to common good at heart. The rules do, however, require that no citizen should behave in a way that threatens the welfare of another. Thus, driving without insurance, even over twenty yards, is a potential threat to another citizen. It is perfectly possible to run over a child or hit a pedestrian in twenty yards.

Being already banned from driving by a court of one's peers indicates that society does not feel that the driver has the competence to handle a tonne of steel at any speed. Being insured doesn't mean that the driver becomes incapable of error. It simply means that if he hurts someone they can be assisted to recover. I really don't care much if his car tax is out of date, but if he isn't insured then he is threatening me and everyone else on the roads. He is potentially threatening my wife and my children, and he must be stopped.

I can well understand your pain, but you are not your brother's keeper. Sooner or later he is going to have to grow up, and I suggest you tell him so!

art6 i understand what you are saying and what you mean, however i must add my own bit ,the fact that he had no insurance do ,nt mean he is a bad driver in fact i think the probable safer because one would need to be care full. and i would have more of a problem with young drivers just able to drive around in big 2l cars, that for me would be more of a danger to my wife and kids, not the uninsured 35yr in fear of his life of the gardai so is doing all the limits ,i dont want this thread turning into blame the uninsured driver,s for all the road deaths, in which if figures were too hand i would think very little cause,s deaths on our roads .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

the fact that he had no insurance do ,nt mean he is a bad driver in fact i think the probable safer because one would need to be care full. .

AFAIK it works the opposite. Drivers stopped for various things often turn out not to have insurance etc. I seem to remember it being talked about a bit on the UK cop shows.

They are showing contempt for the laws and rules of driving.

You said yourself he had no insurance, tax or NCT and not the first time either. So it's not like his insurance just ran out and he chanced it , he's made a concious decision to break numerous laws multiple times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

The other point, even if he gets a ban, will it make a difference?

If he has no problem driving without tax/insurance/NCT then I can't see him being bothered about having no licence.

guy yes that is true , cant defend nor would what he did .

i just wanted to know what do people think he is facing now with this in a few months time i am not looking to get him excused or defend him what he did is done he is now facing the results of his actions and rightly so , so just again what do people think he is facing , not how bad people think he is i am sure he now knows damn well what sort of ****e he is in and will do some serious thinking

so cheers for all the replys so far all very welcomed and informed .

nissan yes i am sure he wont,nt drive if or should i say when he is banned as its a small place and all will know olus we will and there is not a hope he will drive as in the last time he didnt drive for the year

Another point i want to ask is what happen,s if he pays the set fines for the no tax and nct before it go in to court , do it still come up with the no insurance case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Your moronic brother can expect a ten year ban and fine between one and two thousand at least. Judge might throw in a month in jail for his obvious attitude towards the law. You said he has more upcoming. I can't see a fourth conviction for no insurance not having a prison term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

He has between now and the court date to "sort his ****".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

art6 i understand what you are saying and what you mean, however i must add my own bit ,the fact that he had no insurance do ,nt mean he is a bad driver in fact i think the probable safer because one would need to be care full. and i would have more of a problem with young drivers just able to drive around in big 2l cars, that for me would be more of a danger to my wife and kids, not the uninsured 35yr in fear of his life of the gardai so is doing all the limits ,i dont want this thread turning into blame the uninsured driver,s for all the road deaths, in which if figures were too hand i would think very little cause,s deaths on our roads .

In six years I have gone through about five checkpoints, which I could have easily avoided because they are always in the same spots. I have never been "pulled" for any reason while driving a variety of vehicles. If he has been "pulled" and caught this many times then he is obviously a bad driver as well as ignorant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

nissan yes i am sure he wont,nt drive if or should i say when he is banned as its a small place and all will know olus we will and there is not a hope he will drive as in the last time he didnt drive for the year

Are you sure he had no insurance at all. Does he have another car?

duiske thanks for reply , he is not disqualified at the moment and he do hold a licence

Can't see him getting time inside tbh.

A friend was caught drink driving while disqualified and he also took the Gardai on a decent spin before he was actually caught.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Can't see him getting time inside tbh.

A friend was caught drink driving while disqualified and he also took the Gardai on a decent spin before he was actually caught.

And didnt get sent down?

Not really, he went to a treatment centre for a while, if he hadn't done that he would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Theres not really a treatment centre for people who keep driving without insurance though.:)

No but if you are disqualified from driving and then are caught drink driving, driving while disqualified and obviously uninsured that's a tad more severe than being caught twice without insurance imo.

Admittedly there is no treatment centre for driving uninsured but imo the chap won't be seeing the inside of a prison over it at this stage.

will i tell him go away so and get caught drink driving :D

i was telling a few mate here in town and all agreed stupid, however none think jail ,and just one or 2 point to clear up since i spoke with him he is after telling me that the disqualifitation was over turned in he appeal as he had insurance on this time only never sent in certs ,but never went off his file so thats something to clear up 2 really ,he was never put off , but i think this time he will so that off the road once surely no jail time for that even with endorsements and others like no tax and parking fines .