Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things your Mammy ( or Dads) used to say!

• 26-04-2012 10:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭

Hi all , I was in the Canteen this morning talking, and we started talking about the old Dublin sayings your mam or dad would drop everyday, just wondering how many there are
    • Sayings
    "Sure a blind man on a galloping horse wouldn't see it"
    "Goodnight tea and your goodbye tea"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

"Here's me head, me arse is coming" in reference to someone who stoops a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

"six of one, half a dozen of the other" :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

"Where do you think you're going, with no bell on your bike and your knickers ringing"

Never quite understood it :pac: and no, I wasn't incontinent :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 bocoda

"if your with them..your as bad as them" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

When I didn't want to do something. " It's a long road that has no turning"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

If you break your two legs, don't come running to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

My Da used to say "Are ye right there Michael, are ye right?"

My name isn't Michael :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Saying someone is quare(in the old sense of the word)My Dad always says of someone who's a bit strange"that fellas half quare".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Look at the head of that, and the price of turnips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

"Do you think I came down on the Ballina bus ?"

In response to any bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

"If he hits you, hit him back".

I'm now serving 7 years in Limerick for aggravated assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Stop hanging around with those 'corner boys'. You won't make a living that way.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

"Ask me arse and call tomorrow for the answer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

(me asking my mother for something)
    Mother: "No"
    Me: "But Why???"
    Mother (standing there doing nothing): "that's the why"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭BO-JANGLES

"Where's me school bag?"

Ma "It's upstairs in Nelly's room behind the wall paper"

There was no Nelly But I still proceeded to search. The whole family laughed.

For years whenever I would look for anything I was told to look upstairs in Nelly's room behind the wall paper:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Twinkle_76

When I choked on food my mum used to tell me it went into my arm, just shake my arm and it would move. It was only in second year biology that I finally put two and two together and was stunned that my mum lied to me.
    Just goes to show that you never questioned your parents in my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

"If you keep making that face you'll stay that way"
    I now look like Dolly Parton, a very old Dolly Parton, and I'm a guy. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 LONE WOLFF

"Anything with tits or wheels, you'll always have problems with them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

'Should you ever get married, your wife will be a nag, just like your mother'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

"She has a mouth as big as the Atlantic!"

"She has a face on her that would stop a watch!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭gipi

My mother was always "paying a visit to Mrs Murphy"....aka going to the loo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

BO-JANGLES wrote: »
    "Where's me school bag?"

Ma "It's upstairs in Nelly's room behind the wall paper"

There was no Nelly But I still proceeded to search. The whole family laughed.

For years whenever I would look for anything I was told to look upstairs in Nelly's room behind the wall paper:)

I occasionally heard that one but just as often I heard the ruder version; 'up Jack's hole and around the corner.' Of course maybe I only thought it was rude and they were actually referring to the posh caravan park in Wicklow?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭pjmn

"That fella is like a lighthouse in Athlone,
    Bright but fecking useless"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

When I asked what was for dinner my mothers always answered.
    cows roudies and bullocks banjos .:P

Oh and the answer to where she was going was . Tim buck fooking tu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

Go to the chemist and buy a big bottle of cop on.

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

My mam says "bleddy" instead of bloody. "i can't change the bleddy channel!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

"you'll be better before you're twice married" - when i'd fall over as a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭angelbabie

if he banged his head off a wall, would u do it.....
    often referred to when we tried to keep up with the joneses

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

"if you keep doing that you'll go blind"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

iguana wrote: »
    'up Jack's hole and around the corner.' :

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D Brilliant! I'm going to start saying that now. I've heard 'up me ar*e pickin daisies' or 'up me ar*e hanging on a nail' ...but your version is miles better:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭F.R.

'Up and down like a whores drawers'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭MissRetro

Jimoslimos wrote: »

My Gran used to always say this too :D (it's an old Irish song)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Are_Ye_Right_There_Michael

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭GreenWolfe

"Don't be earwigging now!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I'll cut the arsé offa ya!

Stop talking when I'm interrupting you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 aineh

'The wind will change and you'll have that ugly face on ya forever!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 aineh

'Clean your room.'
    'No'
    'I'll time you.'
    *sprints to bedroom*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 LONE WOLFF

aineh wrote: »
    'Clean your room.'
    'No'
    'I'll time you.'
    *sprints to bedroom*

My wife does this with our four year old but it's "get on your pyjamas"
    Works every time !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

stoneill wrote: »
    I'll cut the arsé offa ya!

My aunt used to say this to her kids! As a result I was good as gold when I stayed there because I didn't want mine cut off! Years later, we were having a good laugh about it wondering how you would carry out this threat :p: Well, after all Supernanny says you should never make a threat you aren't going to carry out!

PS. She was a no.1 aunt behind it all :)

'Clean your room.'
    'No'
    'I'll time you.'
    *sprints to bedroom*

Thanks for that tip - I'm going to try it out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭SlimCi

Jimoslimos wrote: »

Thats actually a line from a song, from what I remember...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DubCul

If I said I would not be bold again, the reply was

"The Road to Hell is paved with good intentions"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Half 9 and not a child in the house fed and watered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Rega

'Clean your room.'
    'No'
    'I'll time you.'
    *sprints to bedroom*

Or the other classic I used say to the little brother after me mam asking me to do something:

"I bet you can't bring in the coal."
    "I can."
    "No, you can't. Sure you're too small."

Cue young fella legging it out back with the coal bucket and me sprawled out on the couch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Roadtrippin

Get your lazy arse out of bed.

Does that count as a saying? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 helen48

My mam (r i p) if we left door open would shout Were not heating the feckin county!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 SAN123

Superbus wrote: »
    Half 9 and not a child in the house fed and watered.

My folks had a similar saying "Half nine and not a child in the house washed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

The Divil finds work for idle hands to do.

If I got a pimple or spot I'd hear its the badness breakin out in ya

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭angeldaisy

helen48 wrote: »
    My mam (r i p) if we left door open would shout Were not heating the feckin county!!!

My dad used to ask us if we'd been born in a barn if we left the door open...

You were born in a hospital with swinging doors was another 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

If youre not in bed by 1 o clock, come home!