Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw...

• 20-04-2012 3:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭

While walking through the field today I spotted 16 rabbits, a fox, a cock pheasant and a young doe :eek:
    And all in the space of 15 min while I walked up to check the water!!

Not a bad spot we live in when the sun shines :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

While walking through the field today I spotted 16 rabbits, a fox, a cock pheasant and a young doe :eek:
    And all in the space of 15 min while I walked up to check the water!!

Not a bad spot we live in when the sun shines :D

And then what happened? Don't stop now,tell me a story! tell me a story !tell me a story before I go to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭booom

If that was me and I had the SxS over the shoulder I'd see the doe and Fox @100m, but if I had the rifle slung I'd see half a dozen pheasant within kicking range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

murphys law eh?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Today I saw while out looking for a goat with the .270 a doe, a pair of hares a cock phesant and all the goats in the world all in the space of 2 or 3 fields

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 graham h

sophie018.jpg

graham h wrote: »
    sophie018.jpg

Can you tell where they will be on Sept 1st.:D:D

yeah sure i can tell u where they will be in sept in the frezzer:D:D;)

graham h wrote: »
    yeah sure i can tell u where they will be in sept in the frezzer:D:D;)

Not on the 1st I hope;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

I have never stalked deer so I'm not sure how hard it is but I could have got this lad with a lump hammer, no fear of me???

80461e31.jpg

Sorry about the pic, old iPhone :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭booom

you said it. if anyone wins the lotto maybe you could sort me out with one of these-
    http://www.cz-usa.com/products/view/brno-combo-rifleshotgun/

djflawless wrote: »
    murphys law eh?:confused:

I have never stalked deer so I'm not sure how hard it is but I could have got this lad with a lump hammer, no fear of me???

80461e31.jpg

Sorry about the pic, old iPhone :(

I think you would need more than a hammer if he came at you with them yokes sticking out of his head:eek::eek::eek:

booom wrote: »
    you said it. if anyone wins the lotto maybe you could sort me out with one of these

Better still :D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7FCY3_5Bg1M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Im told there s a large population of deer roaming the triangle between Roscommon town, Ballinasloe and Ballygar. I ve seen some when driving at night about twice but if I wanted to see some during daylight, where would I go??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I saw these nice fellas in the weekend on a family walk, everyone got to see them which was nice.202908.jpg

Out looking for a fox with my new Tesco light this evening and what did I see 2 red does at 25 yards and not a bother on the 2 of them. They had a look at me picked a bit of grass had another look picked another bit of grass and There's me looking at them with rifle in hand. Needless to say I am home now and they are still picking away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭dbrock

took the dog for a stroll and seen 15 sika, its amazing what you take for granted when its so close to me, all within a 5 min walk from my house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭slingshot88

the last 8 weeks or so most days of the week all i have to do is look out my bedroom window and there is 3 young fallow bucks not 20 feet away from me they are never to far away, always within spying distance,my young fella who is near 5 loves watching them as do i
    i have some pictures il post them when i get a chance, there was also two older ones the other day:). i only moved to this house recently from not to far away was chattin farmer who owns the land he said there used to be 15 -20 in it this time last year think someone most of thinned them out a bit and said farmer was none to happy to hear there was deer in his fields again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭dbrock

here are some old pics i took from my place

IMG_6020.jpg

IMG_6050.jpg

IMG_5423.jpg

IMG_5455.jpg

IMG_5462.jpg

IMG_5529.jpg

Some good pics there

Came across a few sika while walking the dog in the woods in Enniskerry, never been there before,quite a few deer in the place

Some good pics there

Came across a few sika while walking the dog in the woods in Enniskerry, never been there before,quite a few deer in the place

what part of the woods???:D:D:D

djflawless wrote: »
    what part of the woods???:D:D:D

Tell me too please;););)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Was out hunting few weeks ago seen big dog fox walkin around the hills jumpin in air after insects by looks of it
    And bout week later seen a magpie been chased down by a sparrowhawk into the woods seen the remains of it next day in the woods seen a few kites around among buzzards

Tell me too please;););)

From the carpark I went over the first bridge and followed the trail till the end where it came out onto the road(about 3k) I turned around and went back a couple hundred meters and down through the cover to the river and started back along the bank, loads of them down there,plenty of back stop too!!!

Now where is my steak:D:D:D:p

From the carpark I went over the first bridge and followed the trail till the end where it came out onto the road(about 3k) I turned around and went back a couple hundred meters and down through the cover to the river and started back along the bank, loads of them down there,plenty of back stop too!!!

Now where is my steak:D:D:D:p

If I get up there and get one I'll let you know:D:D

Do, I'd love to go with,help carry her back:D

This lad has built him self a little gaff in the inlaws garden, Clears the wall behind him without a bother
    Sorry for the iPhone pic

3ee224e1.jpg

Saw a herd of goats on the road at the scalp today, I've seen this herd a few times in the area while running/walking the dog, does anyone know if they belong to someone or are they feral?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

A Gyr Falcon or a Goshawk in County Clare on my deer let.

At appx 100 meters,a large white pird of prey ,with black under pattern and black wing tip feathers ,appx buzzard size,but without the buzzards blocky shilleoute in flight.
    Was unable to get a decent pic of it as my camera phone is rubbish,and I was in the process of being a "liscensed sniper":D after a herd of feral goats,of which two are going to be guests at Grizzlys barbeque soon!

However this fellah must be hanging around the area as I spotted him about 14 days ago and I thought he was a young buzzard ,as he had spotted me and made off in a hurry away from me,low to the ground into A gorse field

Not being great with falconary,apprently both Goshawk and Gyrfalcon can be confused with each other.
    Either way,they arent native here so I assume it must be somones escapee.Anyone got any contacts with the Falconry folks who might be missing either breed??

Am going to see if I can get a pic of it next time I'm out.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I was out very early this morning for a few bunnies and saw a black hare! First one ever.has anyone else ever come across one? It was huge too, I'd say nearly half as big again as the ones we usually see. And no, before anyone takes the piss, I wasn't a cat or a dog or anything else cos I got to within ten yards of it before it fecked off.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »

At appx 100 meters,a large white pird of prey ,with black under pattern and black wing tip feathers ,appx buzzard size,but without the buzzards blocky shilleoute in flight.
    Was unable to get a decent pic of it as my camera phone is rubbish,and I was in the process of being a "liscensed sniper":D after a herd of feral goats,of which two are going to be guests at Grizzlys barbeque soon!

However this fellah must be hanging around the area as I spotted him about 14 days ago and I thought he was a young buzzard ,as he had spotted me and made off in a hurry away from me,low to the ground into A gorse field

Not being great with falconary,apprently both Goshawk and Gyrfalcon can be confused with each other.
    Either way,they arent native here so I assume it must be somones escapee.Anyone got any contacts with the Falconry folks who might be missing either breed??

I do Falconry I hunt with Harris hawk I know one or two lads in Clare area I can ask in saying that if it's a gyr falcon it could be from anywhere as falcons move around a lot heard of lads finding birds south of Ireland that were lost by lads in Scotland if it was a gos I would've heard bout it bein lost try get a pic and il try identify it for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

long ranger was it a huge black curly hare?ithink it might be the pube hare you seen

http://www.westcoastfalcons.ie
    http://www.westcoastcorporate.ie this guy could help you out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Keep him over that side Grizz. We'd a fckr that fits that description wiping out poults last year for fun. Usually after a few weeks they're safe from the normal hawks but he/she did a lot of damage!!

Where u living? Heard bout a escaped red tail taking out poults near Waterford

Well, seeing that we arent a million miles from each other;).Its a good possibility of it being one and the same bird.

@Graham H. Will deffo give them a buzz during the week.
    @Dodder,we are over in the Limerick area.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

This morning while turning out the horses I saw 4 wild pheasant poults!! Its good to see the local ladies doin a bit, the population seemed a little low this year:D:D:D

A pair of hares a pair of cocks and the highway to heaven.:D:D:D
    I came accross a new (to me) track in an area I know well and it is torn to bits by deer travelling along it, it looks like their main highway form one wood to another through a bog. I might just stake this one out on the 1st. All the tracks were very fresh.:D;):D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

Sounds like a male hen harrier;

http://www.wildlifeextra.com/go/news/hen-harriers355.html#cr

I've seen them a few times but more usually the female. The male looks very ghostly when you see them hunting low over a bog.

There would be a few in your area.

Nice call J Ramone! That pic is it to a T in your link.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Saw my first red squirrel in the local wood in over 20 years,popped out of a feeder we have there and it and sat on a branch above me chattering away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

homerhop wrote: »
    Saw my first red squirrel in the local wood in over 20 years,popped out of a feeder we have there and it and sat on a branch above me chattering away.

That's gas. I was in north cork on Sunday & saw one for the first time in years! Ran up the road not a bother to him. Only pity was I'd no camera with a decent zoom lens

I was out after rabbits with the air rifle last night, I was standing in the field (not hiding,I was actually on the phone!!) when I see a fox trotting across the field straight for me, I covered my face with the shooting sticks, he came to about 20meters before one of the horses came over to see what I was at and spooked him into the woods!!

Sorry about the phone pic,if you look on the left, he is coming along the ditch

9e6f41b5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Saw 7 fallow today at about 1 o clock out in the middle of a field grazing when we were out for a few bunnies. nice colours between brown and fawn. 3 grand looking bucks with the does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,809 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Saw 2 nice broods of mallards with 6 and 7 ducklings in toe on a lake near Naas adjacent to the M7. Also 2 broods of Coots and a massive swans nest nearby with an incubating adult. Hopefully they will avoid any visits from mink!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Longfellow

Young fox cubs out playing at the end of the field near me veggie patch. Robin chicks been fed in the garden.

At least somthing is feeding on my pheasant feeders!!! :rolleyes:

c27a7342.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TnZiCw13CkY&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Sorry about filming sky in the middle,I was concentrating on getting closer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭DR6.5

cock grouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

DR6.5 wrote: »
    cock grouse
    Hi DR6.5 in the second picture you have the cock grouse .but whats the bird to the right of the grouse.feel like a tit for asking i should know :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭DR6.5

Its the hen, she had a clutch of 6 chicks, watched them for good while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

DR6.5 wrote: »
    Its the hen, she had a clutch of 6 chicks, watched them for good while.

Yep i am the biggest tit ,thanks DR6.5 nice to see thanks fo shareing