Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EPL Manager of the Year Award

• 19-04-2012 12:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭

I know I know, the season is not over yet but thought I'd get an early start with this one and leave the poll open till the end of the season as it could be quite interesting.

Please dont turn the thread into a flame war!

Manager of the year 194 votes

Sir Alex Ferguson
    0%
    Roberto Mancini
    15%
    gustafopadraig_f[Deleted User]DayshakippyrecyclebinGLaDOSRVD420Gadgecallaway92eagle eye[Deleted User]titan18Justin10jaykay74AidricFuhrerJax Tellerx PyRosea_monkey 31 votes
    Arsene Wenger
    0%
    SEPT 23 1989 1 vote
    Harry Redknapp
    1%
    LahinchiansPredalieniainconlon12 3 votes
    Alan Pardew
    1%
    ziedthdemanF1ngers 3 votes
    Kenny Dalglish
    45%
    RasTashotamooseLizardKingCianan2T-b0n3SuprSiIagoUnearthlyjonnybaddMr.Nice GuyDinnerTheDocPOKERKINGlassykkTristramciaran76JPARikandMorporkFuzzy_Dunlop 88 votes
    Brendan Rodgers
    6%
    [Deleted User]machiavellianmeeZe^gustavoYakult[Deleted User]DDC1990Handsome Bobx43r0niallo27GertyYawnsft9 13 votes
    Paul Lambert
    14%
    mike65SeanehHelixMaceFaceMitch ConnoreventMonkeyTennisredzerdrogK-9Pride FighterGonzovisionMUSEISTFreeOSCARkillwillDolph StarbeamLukker-DrumpotJohnnyRyan99Foxx92doncarlos 28 votes
    David Moyes
    13%
    Thanx 4 The FishlordgoatapplehunterA Dub in GlasgoSappy404LuckyLloydJohnerRoryMacKingdomYidrednikSantryRedThat_GuyHalloweenJackNuri SahinRekop dogMorzadecZemuppetjohnnycnandyAgileMyththeoneeyedman 26 votes
    Other( please give choice and reasoning)
    0%
    Col200sx 1 vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Kenny Dalglish
    Pardew. No doubt at all he's done a wonderful job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

Kenny Dalglish
    Terry Connor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

David Moyes
    Probably between Pardew, Ferguson, Rodgers and Lambert.

I went for Lambert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Kenny Dalglish
    King Kenny, sure he has won one cup and is in the final of another. Potentially more trophies than any other manager this year.

League Form? Don't mind that see above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Kenny Dalglish
    Pardew, without a doubt. Might yet guide a team that was relegated a few seasons ago into the Champions League having lost their 'star' striker, with many players that, on paper at least, wouldn't match most of the other competing teams but as a unit are extremely impressive.

As a Spurs fan I'd argue that they deserve 4th spot more than Spurs or Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Kenny Dalglish
    Alan Pardew has done really well at Newcastle this year. The players he has brought in have been brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Kenny Dalglish
    Alan Pardew has done really well at Newcastle this year. The players he has brought in have been brilliant.
    But how many cups has he won?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Kenny Dalglish

I hope you're not being serious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Kenny Dalglish

Well by that logic should AVB & RDM share the trophy if Chelsea win the FA Cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Kenny Dalglish
    kryogen wrote: »

Please dont turn the thread into a flame war!

Most likely between Pardew and whoever wins the league.

Kenny Dalglish
    Pardew without a shadow of a doubt. Lambert is a close second. Rogers not near it imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Roberto Di Matteo.

One loss in the league, hes a shoe in. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Kenny Dalglish
    I voted for Pardew aswell think the job he has done cannot be ignored tbh, Lambert has to also be recognised and the league winner naturally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

Kenny Dalglish
    Pardew for me. Very impressive results and performances. Him or *shudder* Ferguson if he wins the league with a relatively poor/uneven United squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

David Moyes
    For me it is between Pardew and Lambert. Couldn't decide which one, voted for Lambert but I'm equally impressed with Pardew.

Brendan Rodgers
    Steve Keane , how he "Managed" to stay in a job beggars belief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

David Moyes
    Rogers or Lambert.

Pardew has done an exceptional job but they were starting from a higher level than both Norwich and Swansea were and they've had the money to strengthen that neither of the promoted sides have had.

Both Norwich and Swansea can still make it into Europe so that'd be an amazing achievement.

Lambert probably edges it for me because he brought them up from League One the year before, which makes his achievements this season all the more impressive.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,676 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Alan Pardew

It's quite obvious you don't have to be a good manager to win cups...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

In this order:

1) Pardew - For obvious reasons
    2) Ferguson - Another excellent campaign
    3) Hodgson - Works wonders at every club he's at

Kenny Dalglish
    Rogers or Lambert.

Pardew has done an exceptional job but they were starting from a higher level than both Norwich and Swansea were and they've had the money to strengthen that neither of the promoted sides have had.

Both Norwich and Swansea can still make it into Europe so that'd be an amazing achievement.

Lambert probably edges it for me because he brought them up from League One the year before, which makes his achievements this season all the more impressive.

Lambert would be ahead of Rodgers quite easily for me, and for both of them to be still in contention, regardless of small a chance it is, of playing in Europe next season is unbelievable, but honestly, for Newcastle to be challenging realistically for Champions League football at the business end of the season is something else. For me it is anyway, nobody would have believed you if you said it at Christmas never mind the start of the season. :D

Been a good year for managers of the "smaller" clubs I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

David Moyes
    Oranage2 wrote: »
    In this order:

1) Pardew - For obvious reasons
    2) Ferguson - Another excellent campaign
    3) Hodgson - Works wonders at every club he's at

icon14.gif

Excellent post.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

David Moyes
    Went with Lambert. Isn't getting the praise the likes of Pardew and especially Rodgers get by fans or media. But quietly gets on with his business, has made Carrow Road a very difficult place to go to and he Norwich playing some very positive, attacking based football. Norwich are also currently higher than Swansea in the table with dare I say, an inferior team at present too.

Rodgers has done a great as well, but a lot of the foundation was laid by Martinez and a lot of people at least in the media (Sky for one!) don't mention that.

Pardew like the two above has also done terrifically, but, and I'm perhaps being a tad harsh here, it'd have been fascinating to see what players he would have brought in without Carr there. If they (Ba, Cisse, etc, etc) were all Pardew players that he wanted in the first place, fair bloody play to him. Probably deserves top spot. Still very envious of Newcastle buys for the most part over the last season and a bit. That in itself is a compliment to any Newcastle fans reading this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭cup of tea

Kenny Dalglish
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    icon14.gif

Excellent post.

Maybe if Liverpool hadn't been so impatient and given him a chance to settle, Liverpool would be in a better position in the league and you might have had some good signings (Liverpool might even have avoided the signings of Andy Carroll and Downing. Prefer to have Hodgson managing my club over ''King'' Kenny any day of the week. Sorry for going off topic.

Alan Pardrew deserves it hands down, has done wonders at the club. You don't have to look too far back to when they got relegated and the fans were calling for Ashleys head(newcastle's success has deflected all that attention). Obviously Di Mateo hasn't being managing long enough to deserve a mention but I think he nearly deserves the full time postion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

David Moyes
    Lambert for me personally. Has Norwich playing some amazing stuff at times. Their graft and willingness to work for each other is great. Seems a nice chap too.

Pardew has done very well with us but from a non biased view Lambert for me deserves it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Paul Lambert
    Rodgers but could have picked Pardew or Lambert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Roberto Mancini
    Saf should be a shoe in for this. Worst Utd team in living memory apparently and he has them in first spot. Maybe winning the league is a boring achievement though*.

*If he pulls it off again

Kenny Dalglish
    jaykay74 wrote: »
    Saf should be a shoe in for this. Worst Utd team in living memory apparently and he has them in first spot.

But you see thats just a misguided opinion and there have been others who also deserve to at least be recognized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

David Moyes
    Jesus lads, 6 votes for Daglish. I'm not a big criticiser of Daglish, I think he's done well to get us so far in the only competitions we could have realistically won this year, and because we have been unlucky at times in the league he probably deserves another year. But our awful league form and position means he can't be a contender.

You wonder why people try to wind up Liverpool fans on the 'Is KK done?' thread, it's because some pool fans can't take their blinkers off! I'm sure the same fans would vote Suarez as player of the season. At least try to be objective.

I can't see any argument for any other manager other than Pardew, Ferguson, Rodgers or Lambert

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Brendan Rodgers
    Alan Pardew
    Paul Lambert
    Brendan Rodgers
    Alex Ferguson (If Man Utd win the league again)

Between those four really, but I think Pardew might get it in the end.

Voted KD for the craic, which was mighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Kenny Dalglish
    Pardew.

Rodgers not in my top 4. Has drifted off, and getting WAY too much credit for the foundations Roberto Martinez laid..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Hodgson - Because he's a great man manager, handles the media well and signs excellent players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Paul Lambert
    Hodgson - Because he's a great man manager, handles the media well and signs excellent players.

Satires not dead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

David Moyes
    Weren't Norwich in League one two seasons ago? Surely Lambert should be walking this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Roberto Mancini
    Right now, Ferguson.
    Somehow he manages, yet again, to get a far from brilliant United team to the top of the league, with some aging stars and some youth, at the backdrop of some serious injuries in the squad this year, and increasing pressure from big spending City.
    The two clubs are oceans ahead of anyone else in the league.

That being said, should Chelsea win the CL, Roberto Di Matteo deserves honorable mention, the second caretaker manager at chelsea to get them into a CL final (could it happen)?

Finally, Alan Pardew is up there for me (or perhaps the scouting team at Newcastle moreso)
    I thought Newcastle firing their old manager was a bad move, now it looks like genius. Some great players there.

Kenny Dalglish
    AgileMyth wrote: »
    Weren't Norwich in League one two seasons ago? Surely Lambert should be walking this..

Newcastle were championship two seasons ago and may get a champs league place.

To be fair I see where you are coming from but this award is rightfully given over a season-long period, what happened prior to that should be irrelevant really.

Pardew and Lambert are my top two though unquestionably :)

Kenny Dalglish
    Its ^^^ this that sets Pardew apart for me, for years we have heard about how hard it is to break into the top 4, if he does get there for them he should get the award hands down imo, and even if he fails to deliver 4th he would still have over achieved to an extent that puts him up there in contention anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,946 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Roberto Mancini
    Well on the plus side, at least the 8 people who voted Dalglish weren't silly enough to actually post who they'd voted for....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Kenny Dalglish
    Pardew for me, was tempted to pick Wenger though :pac:.

Kenny Dalglish
    CSF wrote: »
    Well on the plus side, at least the 8 people who voted Dalglish weren't silly enough to actually post who they'd voted for....

May I direct you here good sir :D

Yakult wrote: »
    Alan Pardew
    Paul Lambert
    Brendan Rodgers
    Alex Ferguson (If Man Utd win the league again)

Between those four really, but I think Pardew might get it in the end.

Voted KD for the craic, which was mighty.

Though it was of course purely for the lulz the poster claims!

ps, I do believe them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭eugeneious

Kenny Dalglish
    Pardew for me. We saw how much money City and Spurs had t spend to break into the top 4 and yet Pardew has spent a fraction of those two clubs and has actually had to break the now "top 6" in order to possibly get CL. Incredible achievement when you consider they were in the Championship 2 seasons ago.

Fergie would come 2nd for me assuming he wins the league because he really is the big reason why Utd will now probably win the League and tbh if he was manager of City or even Spurs I reckon they would win the league. This potential title will go down as one of greatest achievements imo.

Lambert would be a close 3rd and just ahead of Rodgers as although both have done brilliant jobs, Lambert has had a weaker squad imo, has been willing to adapt his style depending on the opposition in each game and obviously hasn't had the foundations laid for him like Rodgers did to an extent.

Also special mention to Roberto Martinez who if he keeps Wigan up will have done an amazing job imo. Lost his best player in N'zogbia, not had much money to spend and has been written off so many times this season. Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

David Moyes
    Lambert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Paul Lambert
    Went with Rodgers with Paul Lambert a close second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Brendan Rodgers
    If Kenny does win both cups in his first season it will be an incredible achievement from where the club was 18 months ago, league form has been very poor but most clubs and managers would love to have two cups at the end of a season.

Kenny Dalglish
    Meh, Di Matteo could finish the season as a Champion of Europe and would still only get an honourable mention :)

A case can be made for most things, but I think myself, I find it hard to make a case for anybody bar Pardew, Lambert, Rodgers and Fergie, maybe at a stretch Wenger considering the start of the season they had, player departures etc and the position they are in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,502 ✭✭✭secman

Roberto Martinez - Wigan looked dead and buried all season, stuck to his game plan.... play football. Besides have loads of respect for Dave Whelan too.

Avid MUFC fan

Secman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Roberto Mancini
    Ferguson, guiding a team to win the league ahead of Man City after the amount of money they have spent. Pardew deserves credit for getting Newcastle to a top 4-6 finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Kenny Dalglish
    pardew for me, fantastic season with newcastle - nuff said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Roberto Mancini
    secman wrote: »
    Roberto Martinez - Wigan looked dead and buried all season, stuck to his game plan.... play football. Besides have loads of respect for Dave Whelan too.

Avid MUFC fan

Secman

Wigan looked dead and buried for most of the season while he was manager as well.

I dont consider salvaging your season and barely surviving after being at a club whose team you've mostly built to be the mark of the best performance of a manager in the league.

Kenny Dalglish
    Have to agree with that, I am a fan of Martinez and what he tries to do but this season has been a disaster for them imo, surviving would be brilliant alright, but they only had themselves to blame for being in the position where relegation looked a foregone conclusion almost.

An out and out goalscorer would make a huge difference to them i think, shame we didnt send Macheda there actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Pardew, or O'Neill for his rescue of a drowning Sunderland.