Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mackerel Season

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

I would be putting them in a freezer.
    Eating them 2 or 3 months time, when they will not be a mackerel in sight.

Just a question about tides.
    Say in Cobh the tide comes in 8 in the morning, 8 at night.
    Would it be the same time say in Ballycotton.
    Do times change from time to time.

I am new to mack fishing.
    Fished in Cobh a few weekends no luck. Others no luck either.
    Thinking of going to Bally
    Thgis might help. There may be a few minutes difference in a short bit of coastline.
    http://www.pol.ac.uk/ntslf/tides/?port=0064

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Northclare

Chavways wrote: »
    The fishing competition around Blackhead and Ballyreen in Clare was supposed to have been a disaster this week. Very few fish caught.Not even mackerel.

That trawler was near there last night, I was bodyboarding in Fanore and when.I was leaving I seen a trawler close to the shore.
    It wasn't an angling boat definitely a trawler...

Sad isn't it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

Local fishmonger told me that the big trawlers and factory ships are targetting and destroying the mackeral stocks last couple of years. It would be quite shocking if the mackeral migration was stopped but he reckons it is quite possible unless something is done. It seems they keep the big mackeral but pulp the rest for other products.

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭cuddlycavies

Birroc wrote: »