Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I was in Halfords...

• 18-04-2012 2:37pm

And was buying some oil for my sisters 2001 1.2 Fiat Punto. Now I'd looked up what oil was suited and it was part synthetic 10w40 or fully synthetic 5w40. From reading around here and checking around other places it seems Fully synthetic is preferred to part synth. The guy behind the counter scoffed at me and said that fully synth will burn off and get thick quicker and is for "performance" cars. Since I'm not a huge expert I told my sister to get whichever one, so she opted for his advice and got the part synth. I also reckoned the 5w40 would be better as her car seems to struggle a little bit to start when it's very cold.

What do you guys here reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

12 year old punto... 10w40 semi would be grand.

edit : fully synthetics for "performance engines" and "getting thicker quicker" etc sounds like a uninformed opinion.

andyseadog wrote: »
    12 year old punto... 10w40 semi would be grand.

I'm not saying it wouldn't be grand, just wondering whether the advice he gave was legit? Also, which would be better in the opinion of the some of the experts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

whats the mileage on the car ,and engine size? fully synthetic is waste of money unless your car is really powerfull,as its designed to withstand higher temps and friction.Where older engines are better of with half synthetic due to oil being thicker which means less chance of leaks or excessive oil burning.

scamalert wrote: »
    whats the mileage on the car ,and engine size? fully synthetic is waste of money unless your car is really powerfull,as its designed to withstand higher temps and friction.Where older engines are better of with half synthetic due to oil being thicker which means less chance of leaks or excessive oil burning.

1.2 as I said in the first post and it's got feck all miles on it for a 12 year old car, less than 50k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I wouldn't advise 5w40, with spirited driving it will burn quicker. Been there done that...

Use 10w40 semi synth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Sacramento wrote: »
    1.2 as I said in the first post and it's got feck all miles on it for a 12 year old car, less than 50k.
    well you could off buyed 5w40 oil but as it has low miles but,using fully synthetic in that motor is useless.Also halfords is doing a great deal on magnetic (think thats it called) for 4l only 20quid half synth,just not sure which one was it 20-40w or 10-40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Probably the easiest mistake to make in halfords is believing anyone working there knows what they're talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Probably the easiest mistake to make in halfords is believing anyone working there knows what they're talking about
    Yep - what would the manufacturer of the vehicle know? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

That's a bit of a sweeping statement isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

Yep - what would the manufacturer of the vehicle know? :cool:
    since when did employees of halfords start manufacturing cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Pound to a penny the OP was undecided between a branded (e.g. Castrol/Mobil) product and an own brand variation and the employee steered him to the Halfords branded oil.

coylemj wrote: »
    Pound to a penny the OP was undecided between a branded (e.g. Castrol/Mobil) product and an own brand variation and the employee steered him to the Halfords branded oil.

How do you know I bought the Halfords brand....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭username?!

Em to me it seems like the guy in Halfrauds was right?

<and no i'm not a halfords fan, I hate the place>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I always used 10w40 semi in my fiats, anything better is a waste IMO.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I always used 10w40 semi in my fiats, anything better is a waste IMO.

When we got our Punto new in 97, it was treated to mobil 1, 0w40 full synth. Engine still lives on to this day and ran like a clock when I took it out of my van :)

Decent oil is a must from day 1 :)

Do you think that's down to the oil type though. Or just that it was maintained well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

That's a bit of a sweeping statement isn't it.

You'd think, but hang around long enough in any of their stores in Ireland and the advice given out isn't really accurate. Halfords UK, different story completely.

Do you think that's down to the oil type though. Or just that it was maintained well?

I guess a bit of both... We do go ott looking after our stuff at times :pac:

I was in halfords last week getting polish and stuff, asked the guy for the craic what he'd recommend for removing tiny surface scratches

Recommended touch up paint...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Harsh. Theres at least one lad in the Halfords beside me who really knows his stuff. Seems a bit unfair that you're basically looking down on him because of where he works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I was in halfords last week getting polish and stuff, asked the guy for the craic what he'd recommend for removing tiny surface scratches

What Halfords was that?

Your local one

Surprised because they seem to know their stuff a lot of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Owen wrote: »
    You'd think, but hang around long enough in any of their stores in Ireland and the advice given out isn't really accurate. Halfords UK, different story completely.

It's still a sweeping generalisation though. It's a bit like saying all civil servants are lazy.

But ... but ... they are! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

There seems to be a massive diff of opinion nearly everywhere about oil. I use 10w 40 semi in my '97 Laguna and use 5w 30 fully in my '98 Micra purely because its chain driven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,823 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Halfords seems to be the cheapest place to get oil though.... But I'd be happily open to correction....specially around cork

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭kmb

I got my fiat bravo 2008 serviced in a main toyota dealer recently and none of the toyota oils were up to the spec of the fiat oil.
    I needed a c3 low ash and they had to purchase it(Selenia KPE) from Fiat.They were trying to convince me that c2 would do but i was adamant and they even gave me the left over selenia.
    I do believe (rightly or wrongly) that the correct spec oil should be used and always did in all my Fiats and never had any engine problems.
    The cost of 4 litres of selenia is only appprox €55,why put anything else in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Sacramento wrote: »
    ...and said that fully synth will burn off and get thick quicker and is for "performance" cars...
    Tripe. Utter nonsense. Use full-synth 10W-40 if you want to - it's mighty stuff, but part-synth is just fine.
    Markcheese wrote: »
    Halfords seems to be the cheapest place to get oil though.... But I'd be happily open to correction....specially around cork
    Far from it. Try Desmonds in Ballyphehane, or indeed any proper "old-school" motor factors.

I've never seen motor factors doing magnatec ford oil 4 litres for anything near €20

I think Castrol are dreadfully embarrassed about the whole "Magnatec" thing and are probably offloading the stuff free to whoever will take it! :D

Right, but I suppose the point is that halfords are giving it away and motor factors aren't

Not really, no - my point is that I find Halfords' prices on oils of all kinds bowel-evacuatingly high compared to other outlets such as Motorway and various long-established motor factors. The fact that they happen to be running some sort of offer on Castrol Magnatec is neither here nor there as I wouldn't take it at any price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ya I remember something similar a couple of years ago. Woman wanted something to improve a scratch - Halfords guy recommended and sold filler, paint and clear coat. Terrible selling really.

mickdw wrote: »
    Ya I remember something similar a couple of years ago. Woman wanted something to improve a scratch - Halfords guy recommended and sold filler, paint and clear coat. Terrible selling really.

I've seen guys stagger to the till holding sandpaper, a tub of filler, etch primer, normal primer, masking tape, base coat and lacquer and be hit with a bill for nearly 100 euro. You'd get a SMART repairer to actually do the job for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

coylemj wrote: »
    Rubbish. Everytime Im in Halfords (and been in several stores and many times) they seem to go out of their way to recommend anything but their own brand.

I dont know why this thread is so long. Its a 1.2 Punto not a Maserati.
    Castrol.com will tell you what they recommend for pretty much any car:
    http://www.castrol.com/castrol/sectionbodycopy.do?categoryId=9024084&contentId=7073092
    Castrol are saying specifically Magnatec 10w40 Semi is fine and one bottle will do the entire oil change with some to spare. Done.

I've seen guys stagger to the till holding sandpaper, a tub of filler, etch primer, normal primer, masking tape, base coat and lacquer and be hit with a bill for nearly 100 euro. You'd get a SMART repairer to actually do the job for that.
    You have no idea what "job" they were doing so that statement is pure imagination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

jimgoose wrote: »
    I think Castrol are dreadfully embarrassed about the whole "Magnatec" thing and are probably offloading the stuff free to whoever will take it! :D
    :confused: what's the story with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Yeah, wondering now too what's wrong with the Magnatec?

From dinternet

Oil is a non ionic compound. This means that the overall charge of each oil molecule is neutral, it is neither positive or negative. Castrol claim that they add a "unique synthetic ester that clings to the surface of the engine like a magnet". This ester does have a charge and does indeed stick to the engine components, however, it also sticks to the particles of metal that have worn off the engine. These particles don't get properly filtered as they stay on the surface of the engine, trapped in the oil, and this has the tendency of promoting increased engine wear.

Bit unusual given its been out donkeys years

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

Not really, no - my point is that I find Halfords' prices on oils of all kinds bowel-evacuatingly high compared to other outlets such as Motorway and various long-established motor factors. The fact that they happen to be running some sort of offer on Castrol Magnatec is neither here nor there as I wouldn't take it at any price.

motorway are the dearest crowd i ever came across. was buying mcguires windscreen cleaner the other day. halfords have it for 10.99 all the time. went into motorway to buy it and they were 15.74. thats nearly 5 dearer than halfords. asked for a bit of discount even the 74 cents off would have done and he was having none of it. just bought it but needless to say i wont be going back there. was also looking at there other stuff and there mad dear for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Cheers for that colm_mcm, my own search didn't bring up much. Doubt I'll pay too much attention to that though, surely would be more about it if it really was that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Which oil has the greatest profit margin for Halfords , their own brand stuff or a recognised brand like Castrol ?

Delancey wrote: »
    Which oil has the greatest profit margin for Halfords , their own brand stuff or a recognised brand like Castrol ?

From my retail experience I'd have to guarantee it's their own brand they make more money on. Otherwise there'd be no point in making it and save the shelf space for the recognised brands.

I'm really appreciating the input from everyone here on this. It really does seem there's no consensus on which oil is better or worse (if either actually is).

I kinda felt when he said fully synth will burn off and get thick quicker and is for "performance" cars that he was talking rubbish. That's what made me question his overall advice. Also, I just plain didn't like his attitude, very patronising.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    You have no idea what "job" they were doing so that statement is pure imagination.

So I put up a fragment of the story and you fill the rest in? I was in the aisle buying primer for myself and listened to the guy talking about the scratches on his bumper he wanted to paint.

I've been using halfords oil since they came to Ireland and none of my cars had engine problems of any description

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

So I put up a fragment of the story and you fill the rest in? I was in the aisle buying primer for myself and listened to the guy talking about the scratches on his bumper he wanted to paint.
    Yep, thats what happens when you put up fragments of stories all right.
    Delancey wrote: »
    Obviously their own brand, do you really think they would go source and productise then take up shelf space on a product that wasnt more profitable then buying the others. Which makes it surprising but respected that the guys Ive spoken to in there dont ever seem push it on people.

The current Magnatec promotion is a Castrol + Halfords promotion no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Initially being refused a refund for front wiper blades which were bad because my car was a mark 4 Golf estate and not a mark 4 Golf hatchback doesn't inspire confidence in their recruitment.

With that said, they do seem to do good deals. Got some Mobil 1 0w40 for cheap a while back when they had a deal on. I suppose, if you go in knowing what you want you are grand but like anywhere, if you go in not knowing a thing you are open to getting shafted or fed inaccurate advice which is the same everywhere.

Halfords is not a moral compass for business but it can not be singled out for employees talking crap from time to time.

I've been using halfords oil since they came to Ireland and none of my cars had engine problems of any description
    Last time I checked, the source of that was Comma Oil of Gravesend, U.K. Fine stuff.
    bbk wrote: »
    ...Halfords is not a moral compass for business but it can not be singled out for employees talking crap from time to time.
    Halfords is a good store. I use them a fair bit, but I generally know exactly what I want and what kind of twine it should be costing before I go near the place. And it's not everything I'd buy there either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Cessna_Pilot

I use Halfords for a lot of stuff, the're local to me and closer than any motor factors, and for the most part I'm happy both with their products and price, I know my stuff so never ask for advice or anything like that.

However I was picking up some TCUT in my local Carrickmines branch a few weeks ago and overheard a customer ask a staff member about getting a basic alloy wheel cleaner. Guy asked him what car is it? Man said Peugeot something or other and the guy told him, oooh you need this, this and this. Some expensive cleaner, a bloody expensive and pointless brush thing and a bottle of spray on shine...totalling over 30 euros. The poor sucker fell for it....
    After selling this guy on all the ****e, the staff member turned to me and asked did I need any help, "you must be joking" was my reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Tripe. Utter nonsense. Use full-synth 10W-40 if you want to - it's mighty stuff, but part-synth is just fine.

Far from it. Try Desmonds in Ballyphehane, or indeed any proper "old-school" motor factors.

i can get magnatec 5w-30 ford or vaux for 18 yoyyos for 4L in halfords
    wherte else can i get that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I use Halfords for a lot of stuff, the're local to me and closer than any motor factors, and for the most part I'm happy both with their products and price, I know my stuff so never ask for advice or anything like that.

However I was picking up some TCUT in my local Carrickmines branch a few weeks ago and overheard a customer ask a staff member about getting a basic alloy wheel cleaner. Guy asked him what car is it? Man said Peugeot something or other and the guy told him, oooh you need this, this and this. Some expensive cleaner, a bloody expensive and pointless brush thing and a bottle of spray on shine...totalling over 30 euros. The poor sucker fell for it....
    After selling this guy on all the ****e, the staff member turned to me and asked did I need any help, "you must be joking" was my reply.

sounds like the meguirs alloy cleaning set and tyre shine

good kit in my opinion