Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unmarked garda car question!

• 17-04-2012 8:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭

Ok here's my story:

I was on the M3 on my way home around 8.20. I'll be honest, over the speed limit. Coming up to the Dunboyne/Ratoath exit there is this car in the hard shoulder with hazards on:
    • Toyota Avensis
    • 04 D xxxx
    • Maroon
    • Saloon

I was in my van with my lights on. On dipped beams, 6000k HIDs.

As I pass it in the middle lane, there's a flash from the third brake light. I shouted and after I exited the motorway headed back on to see if I could see more of the car and driver
    • No obvious signs of lights on the bumper
    • No raised bit on the boot like an ANPR car
    • Chap wasn't in uniform, yakkin' on the phone as driving off, just himself in the car
    • "Normal" tax disc holder

Now I have seen AGS using unmarked cars on the motorway before, bu usually they're pulled in inconspicuous places, no lights and a Garda leaning out the window with a gun.

Is there a possibility that my lights caused a flash on the top of the rear screen?

Does anyone know the unmarked cars the Traffic Corps use?

If I get a fine and points so be it, I just want other peoples opinions on the car and not my driving.

Thanks for reading :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think you're being paranoid a bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think you're being paranoid a bit?

I really hope so! :D

Force of habit, you never know who's around the next corner, who's behind you etc. I can't be too careful out there... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭ger10

Id say relax OP. Don't worry about it.
    I'd doubt the "gaurd" had a gun on you, caught you, then went on the phone straight away. As if he wanted to nab one person and his job was done :)

I wouldn't worry man, these speed cameras have us all parnoid as fuuk.

Zero chance you will get anything in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

RoverJames wrote: »
    Zero chance you will get anything in the post.

Unless we all chip in and send you a lovely card or something. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

It doesnt sound like it was a Garda to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

djimi wrote: »
    It doesnt sound like it was a Garda to be honest.
    it does to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'd say it's 50/50. Kinda like that cat in the box (Schrödinger's cat)

It doesn't matter if it was a Garda or not :)
    It wasn't a fixed camera, it wasn't a hair dryer (if it was they didn't follow him and act on it) and it wasn't a camera van.

So no ticket for the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

As above, no way was he checking speed. When you said you were over the limit I assumed you had been drinking and then you said you went back to get a look at the car I thought you must have been well over the limit to do that..

Sorry I just remembered something, I was behind an unmarked Garda car this morning and it had a camera mounted on the back shelf looking backwards, I assumed it was for reading number plates because I can't see them parking up somewhere to catch a speeding car.

Joe10000 wrote: »
    As above, no way was he checking speed. When you said you were over the limit I assumed you had been drinking and then you said you went back to get a look at the car I thought you must have been well over the limit to do that..

Whoops I should have said speed limit. Fixed now :)
    Joe10000 wrote: »
    Sorry I just remembered something, I was behind an unmarked Garda car this morning and it had a camera mounted on the back shelf looking backwards, I assumed it was for reading number plates because I can't see them parking up somewhere to catch a speeding car.

I couldn't see anything on the back shelf of this particular car

Edit: Things like this scare me
    gardai_ignoring_rules_of_road.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

dgt wrote: »
    Whoops I should have said speed limit. Fixed now :)

Edit: Things like this scare me

What engines are in each of those yokes I wonder? Oh and is that unmarked Mondeo lowered a little?

166man wrote: »
    What engines are in each of those yokes I wonder? Oh and is that unmarked Mondeo lowered a little?

Usually 2.0 Petrols in the Mondeos.

Don't know what the older Toyotas use, newer ones are diesel from what I've seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Oh and is that unmarked Mondeo lowered a little?

Nope, I'd say the shocks are in ****e on it though

I don't want to incrimate myself here but last week I got pulled by an unmarked Garda car at 3am and what I had done could have put me off the road if they had wanted to but all they were concerned about was whether the car was stolen and when it was clear that it wasn't they sent me on my way.

So OP I don't think you have anything to worry about, they have bigger fish to fry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

It sounds to me it was just a bloke yapping on the phone..

04 ? I know there have been cutbacks but I don't imagine undercover would be using and 04 car (open to correction) unless they were deep deep undercover and if that was the case they'd hardly be watching for speeding.

Although I did see a gaggle of Gardai exit from the rear of a battered Hiace and enter a house for a drugs bust - I was impressed.

OP - I wouldn't be worrying if I was you.

Nothing out of the ordinary :)

The unmarked one is a 2.0 petrol, the marked one is a 1.8 petrol.
    foxinsox wrote: »

04 ? I know there have been cutbacks but I don't imagine undercover would be using and 04 car (open to correction) unless they were deep deep undercover and if that was the case they'd hardly be watching for speeding............

He said unmarked, not undercover :)

same idea though, is it not?

If it was unmarked maybe it was undercover?

As in being unmarked could disguise it?

So therefore it could be undercover?

I still reckon it was a lad yapping on his phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I believe that with unmarked, they don't care whether you know it is Gardai or not. Usually not marked to save €€€.

Undercover you aren't suppose to know it is Gardai.

There's an ex undercover car not to far away from me. 98 RN Camry 2.2.... There's a difference from what I can see :)

Here is where the car was parked

same idea though, is it not? .......

Nope, unmarked ones have the extra aerials, sh1t on the dash, box of latex gloves on the parcel shelf, visible flashy lights built into the rear clusters, brake light and extra ones on the side.

Undercover vehicles are essentially unspottable to most of us.

Nope, unmarked ones have the extra aerials, sh1t on the dash, box of latex gloves on the parcel shelf, visible flashy lights built into the rear clusters, brake light and extra ones on the side.

This car had no aerials on the roof or anything on the shelf :)

It's just the flash that's bothering me! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

As I pass it in the middle lane, there's a flash from the third brake light. I shouted and after I exited the motorway headed back on to see if I could see more of the car and driver

Sorry OP but actually LOL'd at that, I imagine the flash scared you? Or your tourettes kicked in

Apologies for the confusion lads:

I'm old school, cars without Garda logos on them in my mind are:

unmarked
    undercover
    branch
    drug squad

It is just language/words, I get what you mean though, when I replied I meant any of the above, I see my aul ones error now :o

But if it was an unmarked car with a Gardai hanging out of it with a speed gun thing - then it is obivously Gardai.

If not it could be any of the above or just a bloke yapping on the phone.

a_v525 wrote: »
    Sorry OP but actually LOL'd at that, I imagine the flash scared you? Or your tourettes kicked in

To quote myself I shouted "F*CK!!!!" as I'm sure a lot of people would do the same :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

There's an ex undercover car not to far away from me. 98 RN Camry 2.2.... There's a difference from what I can see :)

Here is where the car was parked

I'm not sure if a 2.2 Camry would be classed as an undercover car. I've never known anyone to drive them other than Gardai.

Undercover cars could have a taxi sign or be a council van or else something really mundane like an Astra.

If I were a criminal and saw a Camry, Mondeo, Avensis or Focus then I would treat it with caution.

Apologies for the confusion lads:

I'm old school, cars without Garda logos on them in my mind are:

unmarked
    undercover
    branch
    drug squad................

I'm the same, a lad I knew years back told me about the actual undercover cars, I wouldn't have known otherwise tbh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

I wouldn't think too much of it OP. Yes it wouldn't be unusual to see a 04 Garda car, in fact where I live there's a 03 and 00 still going about. However, and I'm open to correction on this that the traffic corps didn't have mk2 avensis due to their ****e steering and handling.

I'm not sure if a 2.2 Camry would be classed as an undercover car. I've never known anyone to drive them other than Gardai...............

My neighbour has a 1997 2.2 Camry from new, he was a accountant or something and it was a company car. Loads of them around as Taxi and hackney cabs a few years ago too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

New unmarked units have none of the above. No extra aerials, nothing on the dash, no exterior lights except for the standard . I normally can sniff out an unmarked car easily enough but there is no way I would have spotted the new ones.
    And....... they are driving a Skoda Superb Estate on the N7 saw him stop 2 different cars in the last week. I would never in a million years have spotted that one. You've been warned, it was lit up like a christmas tree all with hidden and interior lights.

I nearly crashed the car the other

Did it have a twin tax/insurance holder and number plate surrounds with a dealer on them :)
    If it was unmarked and not undercover surely it had the box of gizmo shtuff stuck on the dash :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

It doesn't matter if it was a Garda or not :)
    It wasn't a fixed camera, it wasn't a hair dryer (if it was they didn't follow him and act on it) and it wasn't a camera van.

So no ticket for the OP.

I'm glad somebody else understands this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

Did it have a twin tax/insurance holder and number plate surrounds with a dealer on them :)
    If it was unmarked and not undercover surely it had the box of gizmo shtuff stuck on the dash :)

Had the dealer plates, and box of tricks is hidden in the car, it is there though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭teR_

Does anyone know the unmarked cars the Traffic Corps use?

All sorts of cars tbh you can never be sure, so chill out you and your lead foot :P. I was stopped and searched by one of these last week - colour and all
    39078-ford-focus-2668.jpg

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

There is a current model Mondeo on the M1 the odd time, with not a single external telltale feature. I'm not sure if its main purpose is traffic, but have seen it pull people for such purposes.

Like a lot of others here, I have a nose for unmarked cars and the way things are these days, you really have to give a good look at anything you pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

As a general rule, if it's a Focus, Mondeo or Avensis, D-reg then I'll give it a closer eye as 9 times outta 10 that's what they'll be in if anything.

It's the new silver traffic cars that are the ones to be wary of. I had one behind me in regular traffic the other day and didn't cop it until it turned off. The silver really helps it blend in - especially from the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

There used to be an unmarked Subaru Forrester going around Carlow for a good while, and over around portlaoise there was a fresh enough silver BMW on the go too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

OP, you say a flash came from the third brake light...
    Now, i'm no Sherlock Holmes, but did you stop to think that perhaps you caught a glimpse of light reflecting off of the rear view mirror?
    /case closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

The majority of unmarked ive seen have been maroon Mondeos or silver Avensis'. Although i did see someone get pulled by an unmarked transit van, So you really cant be sure of anything now :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I drive a 08 Avensis.

It's a lift back so not really a Garda kinda car but every day without fail I'll have somebody on the northern part of the M1 slam on behind me and suss me out.

It's comical at this stage !

You're talking about one of the most popular cars dgt on a hard shoulder. The flash was probably a reflection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

biko wrote: »
    I'd say it's 50/50. Kinda like that cat in the box (Schrödinger's cat)

I prefer Scherzingers pussycat

*ohhhh-errrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

ColHol wrote: »
    There used to be an unmarked Subaru Forrester going around Carlow for a good while, and over around portlaoise there was a fresh enough silver BMW on the go too

There's a blue forester on the M50 a lot if the time, and a black 520 BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭lovelyhurler

That silver BMW frightened the carp out of me one sunday morning on the Portlaoise by-pass. Never realised that AGS had them until I passed him and next thing the lights came on as he took off after a VW passat that must have been doing over 150 when he passed us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Hammertime wrote: »
    There's a blue forester on the M50 a lot if the time, and a black 520 BMW.

I've seen the forester pass me at speed on the M50 and again a mile down the road having pulled in a speeding bmw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I'd say file off the chassis numbers and burn it out dgt, you can never be too careful :D Maybe relocate to mexico?

I don't think there are any 04 cars in the normal fleet as unmarked/marked cars. Maybe for DS or terrorist surveillance or something, but they won't take any interest in you wandering a bit over the speed limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    As a general rule, if it's a Focus, Mondeo or Avensis, D-reg then I'll give it a closer eye as 9 times outta 10 that's what they'll be in if anything.

My OH drives a red (non metallic) mondeo. She reckons other drivers give her a lot of respect on the road :D

Trying to convince her that her radio aerial isn't good enough, she needs a second one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

I got pulled in a while ago on the N3 by an unmarked navy opel astra. 3 lads in it, all plain clothes.

Didn't go any further but was not expecting them in that car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

It BeeMee wrote: »
    My OH drives a red (non metallic) mondeo. She reckons other drivers give her a lot of respect on the road :D

Trying to convince her that her radio aerial isn't good enough, she needs a second one...

take the hub caps off, and screw some of those blinking bicycle light lenses to the sides of the front quarter panels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

IrishZeus wrote: »
    I got pulled in a while ago on the N3 by an unmarked navy opel astra. 3 lads in it, all plain clothes.

Didn't go any further but was not expecting them in that car!

They have an Opel Signum on the southside of dublin too. Saw it battle through dundrum cross on full blues once. I did not expect that at all :D