Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Setanta Sports Cup - Shamrock Rovers v. Derry

• 16-04-2012 6:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭

On now on Setanta Ireland.

Shamrock Rovers:-

Pieterse; Gannon, Hawkins, Gartland, Powell; Brennan, Finn, Rice, Greene; Kavanagh, Twigg.

Derry:-

Doherty, McCallion, McCaffrey, Molloy, Deery, McDaid, McEleney, McBride, McLaughlin, Madden, Farren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Shams down to ten men, Pieterse ( Keeper ) sent off.

Penalty saved, but Derry score from the rebound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,468 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Just turned it on as Oscar was jogging on. Was it the right decision to send off the South African?

Only saw it the once, looked harsh enough though it was a kinda reckless challenge.

Would have to see it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    Just turned it on as Oscar was jogging on. Was it the right decision to send off the South African?

Kelly is reffing, so no. He didnt catch him at all, and didt look like he would have caught him either.

Playing the majority of the second team hasnt exactly worked. Id rather we lost on friday, or atleast played a reserve side and scrapped 1-0.

Meanwhile in Belfast:-

Crusaders 0-0 Sligo Rovers.

Crusaders: O'Neill, McKeown, McBride, Magowan, Coates, Morrow, Adamson, Rainey, Caddell, Dallas, McMaster

Sligo Rovers:-
    : Rogers, Keane, Davoren, Peers, McGuinness, Lynch, Ventre, Ndo, Dillon, Cretaro, Gaynor.

To the uninitiated these are the Setanta Cup Semi-Finals and are two legged affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Looks a very strong breeze in Tallaght going accross and into the Doherty's goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The keeper came flying out recklessly, but he didn't seem to make contact at all with the Derry player!!

McDaid a bit nuts there.

monkey9 wrote: »
    The keeper came flying out recklessly, but he didn't seem to make contact at all with the Derry player!!

Exactly what I thought. The pure aggression of the movement would have done him no favours, though contact was minimal.

Elbow to the throat after the whistle has gone....Derry Free kick.

Cant say this will be our game. Playing too high a back line with hawkins and a semi fit Gartland.

Ye he did rush out but no contact, silly and inexperienced but I dont think he would have caught him even if the derry lad didnt jump. He was running the opposite way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,483 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

What a dive from Killian, McDaid very lucky to be still on the pitch

Really enjoying this game.

Crusaders one up.( Rainey )

That was never a red card for the keeper, sure the ball was going away from goal too

The wind up there is mad strong. I'm looking out the window and it's not too bad. But that stadium being up in hills and open to the elements, it just blows right through the ground.

It's not actually a bad game considering the weather. I love the way you can hear the shouts from the Shams fans beside the gantry!! "F*ck you, Kelly, ya c*nt!! You're a f*cking disgrace Kelly!!" Haha!!

That was never a red card for the keeper, sure the ball was going away from goal too

I don't think it was a peno at all. But once he gave it, i think he had to send him off!

At first, i thought it was a clear peno and and therefore a straight red. Replays show there was no contact, but i don't really blame the ref. The keeper came rushing out so quickly!

McLoughlin looks very exciting player.

What a goal, why did Rovers not try that more in the 1st half

0-2

Quality finish.

Using the breeze to their advantage, shooting from distance.

What a cracker from McEleheny!!!!! Derry deserve that. They've come flying out of the traps this second half, really taking the game to Shams and using the wind to their advantage!!!

Shams fans going mad at McEleheny celebrating in front of them!! :D They don't seem to have a problem when Twigg does it in front of opposition fans!!

McLoughlin looks very exciting player.

He looks quality alright!!

GoldenGirls.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Shams fans going mad at McEleheny celebrating in front of them!! :D They don't seem to have a problem when Twigg does it in front of opposition fans!!

Football fans in hypocrisy shocker. :eek:

Almost another long one.

Picking up pace through the air.

Twigg got a card for it, surprise surprise McEleheny didnt. Cracking goal though. Kelly always seems to be the centre of everything. Lots of bizzare decisions.

Gannon gets a late shove in the back, clear nothing free kick out..he books the keeper.

We're not going to score with these tactics.

Mmm if Twigg had went down there...

Ebbs wrote: »
    Twigg got a card for it, surprise surprise McEleheny didnt. Cracking goal though. Kelly always seems to be the centre of everything. Lots of bizzare decisions.

Gannon gets a late shove in the back, clear nothing free kick out..he books the keeper.

We're not going to score with these tactics.

Keeper was booked for descent, for throwing the ball onto the ground at the awarding of the corner kick, stupid yellow card but only himself to blame

I realise that, but it was the result of another bad decision by Kelly. Simple free out for a foul and it wouldnt have happened.

Attendance 750, expected more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,946 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Attendance 750, expected more than that.
    Perhaps thered be more if it wasnt on TV. Only the real diehards make this kind of thing. Theres just no interest in this, the league cup or the leinster senior.

Crusaders two up, windy in Tallaght and Rainey at Seaview.

Sligo now losing 2-0

Both them and Rovers were odds on shots.

Shocking defending.

0-3 now.

Tie over???

Woohoo come on the City :)

Colin Hawkins.......:D

McBride deserves that goal. He's played really well tonight, i thought!! Unreal how may goals Shams are conceding this season.

That's this tie over anyway. Hopefully, Setanta show Sligo and Crusaders next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,468 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

0-2 at Crusaders isn't that bad, we had a game Friday and they rested players in their last match. Plus we rested Boco and North tonight.

Hopefully we start the strongest 11 next Monday and give it a go. I'm not that bothered about the trophy, but the prize money isn't too bad.

And it's over now.

Middle of the goal, fair play Derry. Competition is theirs to lose id say.

Big result in the league run in too. We dont look like champions out there.

CSF wrote: »
    Perhaps thered be more if it wasnt on TV. Only the real diehards make this kind of thing. Theres just no interest in this, the league cup or the leinster senior.

Ah now don't be dissing the Leinster Senior Cup!! That's massive!!

Crusaders win two nil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Are Setanta Cup semis 1 or 2 legs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

markc1184 wrote: »
    Are Setanta Cup semis 1 or 2 legs?

Semis are two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Ebbs wrote: »

Watch twigg next you have a corner or free kick, he pushes the defender before jumping every single time. Never seen him give away a free kick for it. Hes really good at doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Was at it. The officiating was a f+cking disgrace. Shouldn't have been a peno. Rice gets poleaxed by an elbow in full view and off the ball. Several ludicrous offside decisions and a near Gahesque handball. Don't really care about players taunting fans with goals (twigg does it) but he crossed the field to do it and didn't even get told off.

Didn't think we were great although we were in it until the second goal which was helped by the horrible wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

stovelid wrote: »
    Was at it. The officiating was a f+cking disgrace. Shouldn't have been a peno. Rice gets poleaxed by an elbow in full view and off the ball. Several ludicrous offside decisions and a near Gahesque handball. Don't really care about players taunting fans with goals (twigg does it) but he crossed the field to do it and didn't even get told off.

Didn't think we were great although we were in it until the second goal which was helped by the horrible wind.

That's a lot of excuses for 0:3 home defeat. :pac:

*Awaits are Kenny and Shamrock done? thread* :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I was worried upon hearing the Derry teamsheet, much stronger than I had heard about injuries. It was not a team to face up against with Hawkins and Gartland.

Kelly and Douglas were terrible as ever but when Farren, McEleaney and McLaughlin were running at will through the middle before and after the red card, it won't end well. Big Dec could've feasted down the middle of that defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Zebra3 wrote: »

That's a lot of excuses for 0:3 home defeat. :pac:

*Awaits are Kenny and Shamrock done? thread* :D

The standards of officiating hurt all of us, regardless of club.

I think we were decent for good spells last night but playingin those conditions with garto and hawkins when we had to take off a striker cost.

As others have pointed out, we are only playing to a fraction of capability but still picking up lots of points.

Return games tonight:-

Shams go to Derry with a three goal deficit to make up.

The live game comes from the Showgounds as Sligo try to come from two goals down against Crusaders.

Sligo Rovers:-

Team: Rogers, Keane, Davoren, Peers, Ventre, Boco, Ndo, Lynch, Gaynor, Quigley, North.

Subs: Brush, Owens, Dykes, Cawley, Dillon, Millien, Cretaro

Crusaders: O'Neill, McKeown, McBride, Magowan, Coates, Morrow, Caddell, Dallas, McMaster, Adamson, Rainey

Derry:-
    Doherty, Madden McBride McCafferey McCallion Deery Higgins McEleney McLaughlin Molloy McDaid

Shamrock Rovers

Jansson, Gartland, Oman , Rice, Sives, Dennehy, Finn , McCabe, Turner, Kavanagh, Twigg