Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - April 14th, 2012.

• 14-04-2012 12:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Brendan's guests this week are:

"Only Way is Essex" star, Amy Childs.

Mike Murphy will be chatting to Brendan about his new TV programme Masterpiece: Ireland's Favourite Painting, which is due to air on RTE 1 next Tuesday at 10:15pm.

Apprentice UK contestant, Jane McEvoy who was fired during the week.

Richie Hayes gives us the inside track on the quarter finals of The Voice and he'll also be performing during the show.

Former World Snooker Champion, Denis Taylor takes us through his journey to become one the most popular sportsmen of all time and what he thinks of snooker today.

Music by Bic Runga who will be performing "Hello Hello".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Sweet Memories :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Those guests really don't jump off the page for me...They aren't doing much for me...

O'Connor must be thinking, what do I have to do around here to get some decent guests?

Of course the chatshow budget is all used up flying in guests for the LLS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Sweet Memories :)

Ahhhhhhhh

What a Night :)

I remember it well. Up past Midnight, huge tension, screams when Dennis won, Steve Davis magnanimous in defeat. BBC2's record Audience.

Good Times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Ah yeah... the glasses the phrase "should have gone to specsavers" was invented for. :o

Richie Hayes gives us the inside track on the quarter finals of The Voice and he'll also be performing during the show.

I think it is unfair to the other competitors that Richie Hayes gets a high profile appearance like this, in the middle of 'The Voice of Ireland' competition.

He is one of the best singers in it, but all the contestants should really get equal (or no) coverage on other shows on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Skid wrote: »
    I think it is unfair to the other competitors that Richie Hayes gets a high profile appearance like this, in the middle of 'The Voice of Ireland' competition.

He is one of the best singers in it, but all the contestants should really get equal (or no) coverage on other shows on RTE.

I was thinking that earlier Skid....he must have an "in" with BO'C

I'd say the other singers are rightly peed off!!

I was thinking that earlier Skid....he must have an "in" with BO'C

I'd say the other singers are rightly peed off!!

Yeah, I think they are entitled to be unhappy, grey.

I predict the Coaches will now be making a lot of phone calls trying to get their contestants some exposure on other RTE shows in the coming weeks!

Maybe Brian Kennedy thought he was pulling a fast one but it's a bit cynical I think....

Not so sure I want a glut of the other singers popping up for the next while.....some of them should be seen and not heard imo!...

I completely agree with you Skid, so in the interest of balance, I'm posting a video of Conor Quinn ;).

I love this guy's voice, I hope he wins :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Does anyone know if Ireland's favourite painting is just restricted to Irish-born artists or is it for any painting in an Irish gallery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

Mike Murphy will run rings around him, and his lame stand up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Very good gag about pipa o connor.

Does anyone know if Ireland's favourite painting is just restricted to Irish-born artists or is it for any painting in an Irish gallery?
    I'd say that it is any painting in the National Gallery but hopefully, Mike will tell us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Seriously who writes this crap??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Looks like Brendan follows the YLYL thread with the calf in the car.

:eek: What the hell

As far as I know it is any painting that is considered a "classic" Harry Angstrom, but I may be wrong.....however, the one's shown in the ad's for the show are definitely not Irish born.....would love one of them as a tapestry....but really...have RTE not come up with someone better than Mike Murphy?...anyone remember Sister Wendy the nun on BBC...she was a dream who actually knew what she was talking about.....Murphy's pension must be in tatters if he is still touting for shows.....they just won't go away.....there MUST be someone better who can do art.....:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Could God not have had the balls to do a recall on some of his creations... ffs..

I'd say that it is any painting in the National Gallery but hopefully, Mike will tell us :)

If that's the case, I'd say Caravaggio's 'The Taking Of Christ' will probably be the one to win it.

Would ye Jonjo??

Dear god almighty what is this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Evening everyone, how are we all tonight, good I hope?! :)

I think it's a pretty good line-up tonight.... It's by far winning over compared to the LLS IMO.

Evening all, I hope you all had a good run for your money at the Grand National.

I thought Katie Walsh was going to deliver for me on Seabass, she would have been only the Second Woman to win the race
    after Velvet Brown on The Pie :)

Hang out the washing or watch this interview???? Decisions, Decisions, Decisions!!!

See ye in a few minutes!

Would ye Jonjo??

No way i dont like shallow airhead bimbos.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

She looks hideous, poor thing...

No way i dont like shallow airhead bimbos.

Whats wrong with her face??

Murphy's pension must be in tatters if he is still touting for shows

Mike Murphy has been refreshingly honest, he said he only returned to TV because he needs the money. I am glad to see him back, he is a good presenter.

Seriously get someone else to do your make-up..........

Seriously..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

She hasnt got 2 brain cells to rub together ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Fish lips

Hang out the washing or watch this interview???? Decisions, Decisions, Decisions!!!

See ye in a few minutes!

MrsD, There isn't a bit of drying out tonight, it'll keep until tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,708 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Why do all young girls have the same look today....i.e....ridculously short skirt for this time of year, shoes with ridiculous heels, fake hair colour (usually blonde!) and then orange skin and too much make up!

For me it achieves the opposite of what they are trying to achieve....less is more and all that!

Making money from been a fecking eejit..

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

Mike Murphy is in another class. his Murphy's America and Australia series were just fantastic and put Hector in the h'apenny place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Amy seems to have gone very heavy on the fake tan.

Mike Murphy has been refreshingly honest, he said he only returned to TV because he needs the money. I am glad to see him back, he is a good presenter.

I appreciate that Skid....but there has to be a time...and his interview with Bertie and Marian really was too fawning......:rolleyes:

Sometimes there has to be a time.....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,708 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Making money from been a fecking eejit..

That should be 'being'!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Dear god almighty what is this.

It's life Jim...but not as you know it...:p

Is it just me or is this girl the spitting image of Jordan?

MrsD, There isn't a bit of drying out tonight, it'll keep until tomorrow :)
    The weather is pretty good here ;)

One of the SNS researchers must spend all week watching ITV2. They have a Z List 'Reality' TV person on virtually every week.

Is it just me or is this girl the spitting image of Jordan?

A ringer for her!

The weather is pretty good here ;)
    TONIGHT ... Clear intervals, quite cold with frosts developing and lows between -3 and +2 C.

SUNDAY ... Clear and quite cold to start, then sunny with increasing cloud, light winds most of the day becoming southeast to south by evening and increasing to 20-40 mph as rain (sleet higher northern locations) spreads in from west. Highs 9-12 C but may be achieved late after quite a cool mid-day 7-9 C.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055579971

Fair enough, but don't forget to get up at a decent hour tomorrow to bring it back in, before the sleet and rain comes in :)

Am so glad that I do not have to wake up and listen to that voice.....

No doubt she will be a trillionaire by next week.....:)

murpho999 wrote: »
    That should be 'being'!;)

Im studying psychology... but my bad i suppose..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055579971

Fair enough, but don't forget to get up at a decent hour tomorrow to bring it back in, before the sleet and rain comes in :)
    Ah, I'll take the washing in when I'm heading to bed at about 3am :p:D

I'm looking forward to Mike Murphy, have to say I like him and find him interesting. And, I love his voice and way of speaking. Is there a list of paintings that's up for this Ireland's Favorite Paintings?:confused:

I love this one's shoes btw! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

Are lobotomies still being carried out? She's surely had that procedure.

Thanks for the weather Skid.....took in the "smalls" there..........:)