Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your favourite Irish International Soccer Song

• 12-04-2012 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭

Which is your favorite Irish soccer song? Please add your vote the more the merrier!!!

What is your favourite Irish Soccer song? 68 votes

Put em under pressure
    0%
    Ole Ole Ole
    63%
    SickBoyPalefacecournioniDempseyThe_B_ManStickyMcGintyapplehunterelefantrcsgustavoPaparazzoretalivityJesus Weptxtal191JerryHandbagThe DavestatorMr AlanKingdomYidrobby^5Kess73 43 votes
    Joxer goes to Stuttgart
    10%
    keith16callaway92eagle eyeGlico MananirishladScummyManLostBoy101 7 votes
    Give it a lash Jack
    25%
    super_furryRaskolnikovDr.Winston O'BoogieredzerdrogsugarmanHank ScorpioHalloweenJackborn2bwildVurnon San BenitodoncarlosRedzer7JiggaDigitsInsane Ramblingft9Paully Dshankespony 17 votes
    Other
    1%
    pistolpetes11 1 vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You'll Never Walk Alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Sasquatch76

Alive alive oh, alive alive oh,
    Stephen Ireland's two grannies,
    Alive alive oh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Give it a lash Jack
    I like the one where everyone says Olé.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

We all dream of a team of Gary Breens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

joshrogan wrote: »
    We all dream of a team of Gary Breens

Only at 4am on a Sunday morning.

To answer the original question, they're all f**king crap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Give it a lash Jack

pure class!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

None of them, there all cringeworthy shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

Can't think of any good Ireland songs. I prefer World in Motion tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Ole Ole Ole

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

Give it a lash Jack
    Yes liked world in motion aswell, reminded me i spotted John Barnes in Abu Dhabi airport a few weeks ago and celtic had just gotten pumped by rangers the day before. If only Henrik didnt break his leg where would Barnsey be now!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Niall Quinn's Disco Pants.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Banned.
    From the Sunshine, Lollipops and Rainbows forum?

homer-simpson-oh-no.jpg

(of course we're going to have to change the lyrics this year to "We're going to sit back and defend in numbers")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,181 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

nuxxx wrote: »

This end thread:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Joxer goes to Stuttgart

And I suppose you've never sang one of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Joxer goes to Stuttgart
    bryaner wrote: »
    Really like that. I'll embed it for you.

eagle eye wrote: »

Thanks I forgot in my haste..

eagle eye wrote: »

I was talking to his brother over the weekend told him he should be marketing it better, I think it has potential..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Joxer goes to Stuttgart
    bryaner wrote: »
    I was talking to his brother over the weekend told him he should be marketing it better, I think it has potential..
    I agree, its a very nice tune. Its using the music and some of the lyrics of The Star of the County Down but its a nice tune and the lyrics are good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Ole Ole Ole
    When I was younger I loved Joxer goes to Stuttgart, now I cringe when I hear it. Put em under pressure is legendary though, except for the "Ole" bit at the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Roy Keane is a traitor
    He wears a traitors hat
    He went all the way to Saipan
    Said he didnt fancy that
    He wouldnt play for Ireland in Korea and Japan
    Hes just a Cork knacker, hes not an irishman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭DoctorGonzo08

I loved the "We Love You" song that was borrowed from St. Pauli's tribute to Celtic. I have since heard it being taken up by various clubs in England this year. First time I heard it was when I was at the away game to Cyprus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

The only one I like is the Gary Breen one. Fúcking hate the stand up for the boys in green but then again with a few pints in you at 3am in Talinn it can get addictive/repetitive!

We need a Bernie Slaven or Eddie McGoldrick song badly!
    CiaranC wrote: »
    Roy Keane is a traitor
    He wears a traitors hat
    He went all the way to Saipan
    Said he didnt fancy that
    He wouldnt play for Ireland in Korea and Japan
    Hes just a Cork knacker, hes not an irishman

lol good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I like the one where everyone says Olé.

I only know the chorus. The verses were just too difficult. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Ole Ole Ole
    Put em under pressure wins hands down for me.
    The haunting Enya vocals at the start that get smashed by Jacks soundbite and the Horslips guitar riff is one of my favourite moments in any song.
    Heard it randomly in work once in the middle of a miserable day and just looked around and seen everybody's face was instantly happier.Love it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Give it a lash Jack
    kitakyushu wrote: »

(of course we're going to have to change the lyrics this year to "We're going to sit back and defend in numbers")

Love this tune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Hes big, hes tall, he'll win the route one ball

folan_1.jpg

Not a song :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Give it a lash Jack
    Quite surprised that Put em under Pressure is the most popular song so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Ole Ole Ole
    Aren't 'Put em under Pressure' and 'Ole Ole Ole' the same song?

Give it a lash Jack
    You could be right but wikipedia (i know) says different

Video for Rocky Road to Poland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Ole Ole Ole
    Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

It's kind of depressing that the 'highlights' we see from our qualifying campaign our a couple of average saves, a goal-line clearance, a tap-in from a goalkeeping error and a header.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Ole Ole Ole
    Best are put em under pressure, and give it a lash Jack.
    we could do with new lyrics though.

Hint: David Villa rhymes with "see ya". ;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Maradona Hand of God.
    Brady should be in the squad.

That song had everything.

This is the new anthem right?

Use your inner Gary Breen.

carlop wrote: »
    It's kind of depressing that the 'highlights' we see from our qualifying campaign our a couple of average saves, a goal-line clearance, a tap-in from a goalkeeping error and a header.

Having watched all 1080+ minutes of our qualifying campaign I'd say depressing ... but fair.

==

Like the Damo song btw (the actual Rocky Road bits rather than all those plugged in 'Ireland Ireland' bits)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

kitakyushu wrote: »
    Having watched all 1080+ minutes of our qualifying campaign I'd say depressing ... but fair.

==

Like the Damo song btw (the actual Rocky Road bits rather than all those plugged in 'Ireland Ireland' bits)

Yeah I know, they weren't exactly spoilt for choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Andy Reid on guitar there? Trap pulling a Mancini :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

The game to the we didn't start a fire tune is the best Irish song.
    Jackie Carlton eoin hand, johnny Gilles, Ireland ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

May not be a song but its always a bit of craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

still think this is the best international song pity its english.

why cant us irish write a catchy song like that

Give it a lash Jack
    ricero can you try and link again!!!

Give it a lash Jack
    oops sorry just got it there, was one of my favourites haven't heard any english ones yet!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Ole Ole Ole
    Put em under pressure, without a doubt!! It sh!ts all over England's New Order nonsense!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

darkman2 wrote: »

53 seconds in before i punched the monitor.

Anyone beat that?