Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheeler Dealers - Renault Alpine

• 10-04-2012 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭

Now that was a great episode :D

2 things though - what happened to Ed's favourite task of adjusting the lights for UK roads? He didn't do it either with the Fiat Dino.

A buyer who didn't want to appear on camera? More like a buyer who doesn't exist!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

There was a lotmore work done to that car than was shown. The for sale ad. mentioned suspension bushes, and cylinder head work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

btw has anyone seen an episode with merc 190 cosworth? at the beginning they say it has a problem with cold start valve but they dont mention it when fixing so does this mean that they didnt do it?

sorry for OT OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Is it up on you tube yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

BX 19 wrote: »
    Is it up on you tube yet?

Nope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Hardly worth doing for zero profit. Say it'd be a nightmare to keep on the road.

I don't thank that was the original plan ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

cant see the point in WD anymore. Used to be about saving tired classics for s,mall money and putting back on the road. Now its about buying almost perfect cars for mega bucks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

There used to be an Alpine around Dublin years ago. Haven't seen it in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

There's 3 Alpines that I know of down here.

Agree with Corktina though, some of the episodes recently have been wasting 20 minutes of on air time with compression tests, feels like filler. But I still love it. Cancelled my Sky last month, so I'll have to start watching this online from next week on :/

corktina wrote: »
    cant see the point in WD anymore. Used to be about saving tired classics for s,mall money and putting back on the road. Now its about buying almost perfect cars for mega bucks

That's a good point. It seems as though there's no budget at all these days, but last night, Ed repainted the centre caps instead of buying new ones although IIRC he said they're not made anymore and the wheels weren't refurbished (and they could have done with it).

The show has kind of lost its DIY spirit and is more about spending big and doing f-all to the car. Hardly the climate do be doing that in :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Is Mike wearing fake tan?

BTW there used to be an Alpine just like that in Nenagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

You could really see the delorium breed in it couldnt you, i love the show but would like to see them drag it back a small bit, what happened to the 5k budget???

It's easier to see the DeLorean breed in it :p

Sorry that was unforgivable

i love the show but would like to see them drag it back a small bit, what happened to the 5k budget???
    It used to be £1,000 in the first series.

Karsini wrote: »

Well if this weeks was anything to go by maybe they need to rethink the budget???

Karsini wrote: »

I remember that. I seem to remember a manky mk2 golf gti being done.

but wasnt the first series shot back in the 90's? 1000 pounds then is like 5 grand now so i guess the lads took the inflation into consideration, that's why their budget keeps going up

good show anyway

I'm watching it now actually, a Mk1 Golf GTI. 5th episode of series 1.
    voojeq wrote: »
    but wasnt the first series shot back in the 90's? 1000 pounds then is like 5 grand now so i guess the lads took the inflation into consideration, that's why their budget keeps going up

good show anyway
    First series was 2003. Not a single grey hair on Edd.

the old series is good, the one with mx5 is worth a look, quite a lot of these here =]

good show anyway

Annoying mike has been on his laptop to much in greasy spooners , ed has been doing the grafting , id like to see a eposode where ed gets mikes head and jams it in a door .... Only kidding folks .. I know this is a family show

I think the 1st car they ever did was an orange MG BGT which they resprayed red. From what I can see, the intro for each series uses the first car they do in the series.

good show anyway

Nope, 2003. The budget increased each series in line with the show's popularity I would say, moreso than inflation.

the old series is good, the one with mx5 is worth a look, quite a lot of these here =]

My favorite was the bentley, what a car for the money!!!!! Although im way to young to own one it was a fab car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I think the 1st car they ever did was an orange MG BGT which they resprayed red. From what I can see, the intro for each series uses the first car they do in the series.

First episode was a 924.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

RENAULT-ALPINE-CONCEPT-renault-10950094-1280-853.jpg

New alpine, One i drive

Nice car........ Wwwwwhere da ya put the batterys!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

He was trying to pull the wool over Edds eyes by driving the car up to the workshop even though it had overheated.

Sneaky SOB:rolleyes:

First episode was a 924.

Oh right, cheers! To be honest, I don't remember it :(

I remember the brown one they repainted, the one they turned into a track car and the 911 Targa.

I would LOVE to see them do an FD RX-7!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Stainless_Steel

Anyone else think the French lad Bruno looks like he could be fat mike's da?!

I hate fat mike. Little annoying fat twat. Sitting on cars and denting the bonnets the little runt.

Love the show though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭eg6 vtec

i only seen the last few minutes of it lastnight and that was the 1st thing i thought of when i seen him :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

That French fella spoke better English :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

How come Edd isn't listed as the mechanic in the end credits, a guy named Paul is?

Somebody told me that all the buyers are fake and apparently one was fat Mike's wife

Boom.

Anyone see last night's episode?

How the feck did Mike drive his Mitsi to see the 914 but end up going back in the van with paul the bore????

I missed it :(

Have it in the Sky+ for the Friday night repeat. I'm putting it on series link from now on!

Did ye see the latest one? Porsche 914.
    A bit stupid at the end who the buyer was

I am sure Paul is saying the same thing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

You're probably ignoring the other 2-3 vehicles they'd have with them for camera/sound guys, surely one of them has a driving license :pac:

Well done mr. holmes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Dawn Rider

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Is Mike wearing fake tan?

This may have been recorded soon after he came back from Afghanistan.

I haven't seen any of this series yet and it has changed a bit from when it started, but it's still miles better than that other show with the Indian bloke and the East End 'mechanic'

Dawn Rider wrote: »
    This may have been recorded soon after he came back from Afghanistan.

I haven't seen any of this series yet and it has changed a bit from when it started, but it's still miles better than that other show with the Indian bloke and the East End 'mechanic'

Chop Shop.........what a load of cack!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Dawn Rider

Chop Shop.........what a load of cack!!!

That's the one! Thanks.

For some reason I had Bhangra Bangers in my head. :o

Dawn Rider wrote: »
    That's the one! Thanks.

For some reason I had Bhangra Bangers in my head. :o

It started out as Bangla Bangers when they were in Bangladesh. Either after the 1st series or when it moved to England it was called chop shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

There had to be a lot more work done on the 914 than was shown. How could they not at least change the brake fluid on a car that was sitting for 10 years. It's likely that the brake lines were also knackered never mind the pads and disks.

The front bumper also looked resprayed and they didn't mention that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

It started out as Bangla Bangers when they were in Bangladesh. Either after the 1st series or when it moved to England it was called chop shop.

That programme was shocking the hack of most the things they came up with, id also say most them wouldnt be the safest of things to be sat in if you were invloved in a crash of any kind.

ksimpson wrote: »
    There had to be a lot more work done on the 914 than was shown. How could they not at least change the brake fluid on a car that was sitting for 10 years. It's likely that the brake lines were also knackered never mind the pads and disks.

The front bumper also looked resprayed and they didn't mention that either.

A lot more work happens on each of the cars than what's shown. They take the main parts to make up the show and in the ad on websites it states everything that was done.

I would say the front bumper got some back to black or something like that. It also could very well have been resprayed too or Ed maybe MOP'd it after the bodywork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Just saw it now - great car, great episode!

Loved how Edd got the wheel bearing out like a boss :cool:

unkel wrote: »
    Just saw it now - great car, great episode!

Loved how Edd got the wheel bearing out like a boss :cool:

It's only in this series that he has used that grabber thing like you'd see in those machines with teddy bears in them where you never win anything :D

EDIT: You're talking about something totally different!

It's only in this series that he has used that grabber thing like you'd see in those machines with teddy bears in them where you never win anything :D

EDIT: You're talking about something totally different!

The box iron welded tool?

Ed china is a legend. Complete Mygyver moment there.