Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running Lessons from GAA Players

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Roscommon players too :eek: I wouldn't even take GAA lessons from them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Running School for Kids – 6 Sessions €210 / 12 Sessions €450

When working with children we deal with them as individuals and based on their age, ability and goals we will tailor the sessions to what they need and of course what they are going to enjoy the most. The sessions will include work to improve running technique, Dynamic Movement Skills to work on agility and coordination and balance work. Particularly in our 12 session package we will then progress on to help improve speed and quick feet specific to the sport(s) they play.

Wow!!, I think my local club is well undercharging kids to train with us, I'm going to suggest that we bump up the existing cost of €2/session to 30quid! Also, what sort of pricing structure are they using, 6 sessions at 210 works out at 35/session, but the 12 work out at 37.50 each!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

I actually have heard of this before but the guys in Ireland have bought a franchise.

I would find it very difficult to take a GAA player serious in running technique but would be intersted tohear fromanyone who has gone.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXFQfxIFcN4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Ah here, we all know if you've played a bit of GAA you should be good for a 2:3x marathon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Ah now folks be fair, I ran a 5k a few weeks ago and a guy dressed head to toe in GAA gear led the race.....for about 1/2 a mile before blowing up and falling back, never to be seen again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I bet you guys all suck at Gaelic football and hurling. :)

Ssssshhhh, don't tell anyone! :) At least we don't try to play it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

No, have one underage Fotball County Championship and 2 for hurling, :D but then again I do suck at running:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

There's a reason why we prefer running :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I'm great at gaaaaa I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Yup that is why I am setting up a camp for those who want to improve their GAA Skills with me running for my county at juvenille level:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

could be a runner who also plays GAA,,(feckin runnin snobs)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I see 3 guys with education in sports science and exercise physiology rather than GAA players. I suggest they are more qualified to offer their services than pretty much everyone posting here, runners or not.

I'm sure if the product the are offering is not up to scratch, the business will not go well. I wouldn't be judging them because they are GAA people.

ecoli wrote: »
    Yup that is why I am setting up a camp for those who want to improve their GAA Skills with me running for my county at juvenille level:p

I'm sure you are being tongue in cheek here but you cannot compare wining a minor All Ireland title with running an inter counties at juvenile level. Pretty much everyone who shows up gets to run for their county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I see 3 guys with education in sports science and exercise physiology rather than GAA players. I suggest they are more qualified to offer their services than pretty much everyone posting here, runners or not.

I'm sure if the product the are offering is not up to scratch, the business will not go well. I wouldn't be judging them because they are GAA people.

I'm sure you are being tongue in cheek here but you cannot compare wining a minor All Ireland title with running an inter counties at juvenile level. Pretty much everyone who shows up gets to run for their county.

Was blocked from the link in work. Ill get back to my corner:(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Then I wouldn't have had a witty thread title to go along with something that commonly comes up on here.

I think you're missing the humour in most peoples posts as well...

However, a few points;
    • They talk about their sports science degrees and their football. Says nothing about running in their history which is offputting.
    • A degree is a piece of paper. Some serious tripe comes from the mouths of some sports science graduates.
    • Don't know where one of them is doing is Exercise Physiology masters but I know a few people who have done the Exercise Physiology masters in Trinners and not one of them would be able to give me advice on running better. It wasn't their specialist subject, I'm assuming it not his either as if it was and I was writing his bio I'd say "He is currently studying for his Masters in Exercise Physiology where his area of research is "how perfecting your running technique can help prevent injury" or some such tripe.

There is nothing in those bios to suggest any of them are in any way qualified to coach running.

Anyway, running school? seriously?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Put one foot in front of the other.

Now the other foot.

Repeat.

Now do it quicker.

That will be €100 from each of you that has read this thread please.

Tune in next week for a lesson on how to stop.

There is nothing in those bios to suggest any of them are in any way qualified to coach running.

Yes, no mention at all of any AAI coaching accreditations, or something similar.

Chancing their arms I think looking at those prices.

I think you're missing the humour in most peoples posts as well...

No, I can see the humour but also the couple that are more serious in just writing something off because it is the GAA.
    • They talk about their sports science degrees and their football. Says nothing about running in their history which is offputting.
    • A degree is a piece of paper. Some serious tripe comes from the mouths of some sports science graduates.

I agree with you 100%. The part in bold sums up my opinion of it.

It's just the idea from some that it can be dismissed off hand because there is a GAA connection.

In fairness to that people invovled, considering how the GAA is viewed, especially in a place like Roscommon, focussing on your inter country experience is just smart marketing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

robinph wrote: »
    Put one foot in front of the other.

Now the other foot.

Repeat.

Now do it quicker.

That will be €100 from each of you that has read this thread please.

Tune in next week for a lesson on how to stop.

I tripped over me laces sir. Please don't give me an F. :(

Maybe this is an alternative way of getting people to join clubs that we missed coming up with in the other thread...charge them some daft fee and tell them your a running university.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Maybe the aim of the school is to teach the local GAA players proper racing strategy to do better in the parish 10k. Like how not to go out like the clappers for the first 400m before falling in the ditch.
    Hopefully there'll be a lesson on running attire too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

To play devils advocate here...

These guy's are sports scientists.
    They see the upsurge in the popularity of running.
    They see an opportunity to market their services at runners in order to make a few euro.

Sure they can't 'coach' running but they probably know as well as anyone how to improve someones fitness therefore improving their running times. Paying a tenner for a boot camp or €150 for an hour of chi-running is no more or less of a gimmick.

Yeah....more fool anyone who doesn't take to their local club in order to further their running, their money, their choice.

As for people knocking the GAA element to these guys background, these guys have played inter county GAA and you can be sure that players playing top level GAA is this country can knock out on average a 18 min 5k or a 37 min 10k, which is a lot more than some of the so called seasoned 'runners' posting here can do judging by their logs.

happygoose wrote: »
    To play devils advocate here...

These guy's are sports scientists.
    They see the upsurge in the popularity of running.
    They see an opportunity to market their services at runners in order to make a few euro.

Sure they can't 'coach' running but they probably know as well as anyone how to improve someones fitness therefore improving their running times. Paying a tenner for a boot camp or €150 for an hour of chi-running is no more or less of a gimmick.

Yeah....more fool anyone who doesn't take to their local club in order to further their running, their money, their choice.

As for people knocking the GAA element to these guys background, these guys have played inter county GAA and you can be sure that players playing top level GAA is this country can knock out on average a 18 min 5k or a 37 min 10k, which is a lot more than some of the so called seasoned 'runners' posting here can do judging by their logs.

Are you one of the players? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

I'm even worse, a washed up GAA player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

I would agree with most of what you posted but have to disagree on this one point. I'm sure there are current players who can knock these times out but they are definitely not the average intercounty player. I base this on a number of races I've ran where intercounty players have also ran. The most recent I witnessed was a 5k on new years day. Four members of the Dublin football team failed to break 20. They don't train for 5ks and I'm sure if they trained specifically for it then maybe they could bang out 18 for 5k and 37 for 10k but as I said it is my experience the average GAA (and indeed soccer) player cannot do this. In terms of runners their fitness is probably more akin to 400 metre runners. They do short explosive burst and do a lot of them in the course of a match but it's never continuous 6 minute mileing. Just my opinion. I've no stats to back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭ChickenTikka

I'm not so sure they could. They're not training their energy systems for 37 minutes non-stop effort. They're training to be fast and quick over short distances with opportunity to recover. I'd say 40 to 42 mins would be more like it.

Regarding the running school, I think people should be open minded. I know of several juvenile athletes who availed of it. Its a service, just like a physio, nutritionalist, sports phychologist etc. It may help some, it may not. People can review what's offered and decide for themselves whether to avail of it or not. I agree its expensive ... but its up to parents to decide whether or not to avail of it.

Most likely similar expertise is available in the local athletic club but perhaps not at the same 1-to-1 level and most likely not with video analysis of running technique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Science background, elite sportspeople who have performed at the top end of their game. Not too many of them around here so hard to knock here. Much to be learned from GAA I'd say as regards application and dedication to your sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

thirtyfoot wrote: »
    Science background, elite sportspeople who have performed at the top end of their game. Not too many of them around here so hard to knock here. Much to be learned from GAA I'd say as regards application and dedication to your sport.

Perhaps. But wouldn't it be cheaper to sign up with your nearest Athletics club for an entire year? And wouldn't your local Athletics club have a lot more expertise in the area?

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Perhaps. But wouldn't it be cheaper to sign up with your nearest Athletics club for an entire year? And wouldn't your local Athletics club have a lot more expertise in the area?

Agreed. Let's not ignore expertise from other sports though.

Absolute BS of the highest order.

Kenny Egan ran the Great Ireland Run one year in 45 minutes. I'd imagine he'd be as fit as the very fittest GAA players.

I would agree with most of what you posted but have to disagree on this one point. I'm sure there are current players who can knock these times out but they are definitely not the average intercounty player. I base this on a number of races I've ran where intercounty players have also ran. The most recent I witnessed was a 5k on new years day. Four members of the Dublin football team failed to break 20. They don't train for 5ks and I'm sure if they trained specifically for it then maybe they could bang out 18 for 5k and 37 for 10k but as I said it is my experience the average GAA (and indeed soccer) player cannot do this. In terms of runners their fitness is probably more akin to 400 metre runners. They do short explosive burst and do a lot of them in the course of a match but it's never continuous 6 minute mileing. Just my opinion. I've no stats to back it up.

Agreed. Peter Cannavan was running 4 hour + marathons just after her retired from GAA.

I'd say their fitness would be more akin to 100 and 200 runners to be honest, rather than 400. I doubt they'd have the proper speed endurance (not to mention proper sprinting form) to run fast for 50-60 seconds. But like yourself, no stats, just my opinion.

Bit of a stretch calling Roscommon football the top end of the game. :)

04072511 wrote: »

Kenny Egan ran the Great Ireland Run one year in 45 minutes. I'd imagine he'd be as fit as the very fittest GAA players.

I don't know. I went to school (and worked) with a guy who was playing junior football and he ran a 56 minute 10 miler. He could also run a 4:30 mile.

I suppose he could have been an exception, but I'm sure there are more like him, especially at inter county level.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I don't know. I went to school (and worked) with a guy who was playing junior football and he ran a 56 minute 10 miler. He could also run a 4:30 mile.

I suppose he could have been an exception, but I'm sure there are more like him, especially at inter county level.

He could have had a talent for running but chose GAA. My dad has a friend who back in the day played for Sligo in Gaelic Football. He ran the Boston Marathon in 2:30 and got offered a scholarship in the States. Turned it down to focus on the football.

David Gillick played GAA. There are some in the GAA who might have a talent towards running. However the average GAA player would not be in 37 minute shape. No way.

Bit of a stretch calling Roscommon football the top end of the game. :)

If you play inter-county you are at the top of your game. You request respect for our athletes. Respect the elite in other sports. David Matthews says GAA is akin to middle distance energy systems so these guys are fit. Many GAA teams have the top athletics or S&C coaches working with them, makes sense they will be in super shape for their sport. I used to have an ignorance of the levels in GAA.

However the average GAA player would not be in 37 minute shape. No way.

But you weren't mentioning average players when you said this:

I'd lay money you'd get many inter-county players to run faster than that.

I'd say their fitness would be more akin to 100 and 200 runners to be honest, rather than 400. I doubt they'd have the proper speed endurance (not to mention proper sprinting form) to run fast for 50-60 seconds. But like yourself, no stats, just my opinion.

David Matthews (NR in the 800 and 1000) wrote recently that he believes 800 meter training is the best possible fitness level for GAA: the perfect belnd of speed and endurance. He is working with some teams now and says players display these attricbutes. The type of speed endurance that you mention is exactly what they have.

The GAA has moved on in leaps and bounds from the days of lads running laps of a muddy pitch to get fit. If you consider that Bryan Cullen (GAA player and sports science grad from DCU) is currently employed as fitness coach to the Leinster rugby side, it's fair to say there is plenty to be learned from the background.

A top hurler will cover on average 10k in a game in 70mins. This is essentially a 70min fartlek with a large dose of physical contact and a small bit of application of skill. Pretty impressive aerobic capability I'd say.

True, but dont disregard the recovery time of 15 minutes in the middle of that 70 minutes. Is it really 10k though? Surprised by that. Not saying its not true but the likes of Stephen Gerard cover 10k in a 90 minute match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭RandyMann

Not really relevant to compare boxing with running then football.

RandyMann wrote: »
    Not really viable to compare boxing with running then football.

IMO boxers are up there among the fittest of all sportspeople.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

I think theres more to it than "coaching" someone to do a 5k. I think its the actual technique in running as opposed to improving times.

There is quite a lot to this science. Some people may be running in a style which increases the risk of injury while others could improve times by making adjustments to their stride patterns etc.

I was talking to a GAA inter county referee recently who is 50+ in age and he told me they put on a gps on him to record the distance he covered in a match which recorded 9 miles in a game. A 70 min fartltek in reality.
    I have a lot of respect for the GAA and their fitness levels.

IMO boxers are up there among the fittest of all sportspeople.
    Fit at boxing for sure, but they dont make great runners. I used to box but I struggled where it came to middle distance running.

RandyMann wrote: »
    I was talking to a GAA inter county referee recently who is 50+ in age and he told me they put on a gps on him to record the distance he covered in a match which recorded 9 miles in a game. A 70 min fartltek in reality.
    I have a lot of respect for the GAA and their fitness levels.

Sorry but that's pure bullsh1t. 9Km perhaps. Not 9 miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Egan is actually a decent runner. Ran a 10k in blessington 2 years ago under 40 mins. I think he even started the race and still ran that time. He was also a bold boy at that time i think riding and drinking for Ireland :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Sorry but that's pure bullsh1t. 9Km perhaps. Not 9 miles.

I've heard this type of stuff before, except from rugby players claiming they did closer to 10miles+ in any given game.

And we all know how accurate a Garmin is when running round in small circles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

robinph wrote: »
    And we all know how accurate a Garmin is when running round in small circles.
    I think there are a lot of myths and half truths concerning sports science particularly its usefullness to non elite runners. There is a huge market to be tapped into now of entry level runners. Some shrewd busines people are making money selling products and services that have no real value. For instance the issue of stride pattern/length which is almost impossible to change and would most likely be counterproductive if it was. Most experienced runners know the ins and outs but the wave of newbies seem to think improvement can be bought. Maybe it can to a point but running is a simple sport, train consistantly and you improve. An untrained person can make huge improvements no matter what training programe they adhere to. I wonder would the Running School be of any use to a 31 minute 10k runner wishing to lower their pb? Doubtfull.

ultrapercy wrote: »
    I wonder would the Running School be of any use to a 31 minute 10k runner wishing to lower their pb? Doubtfull.
    They will run faster due to their wallet being significantly lighter.