Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

single and searching

• 08-04-2012 12:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭

First off I know there has been similar threads like this before but I would really appreciate some advise.

I'm 25, have a good job, I'm independent, educated etc. I have been in two relationships, the last one ended as my ex had to go to the UK for work and although we tried staying togther it just proved too hard. It ended over a year ago.

I am totally disillusioned by the whole dating scene in Dublin and well everywhere I guess. I am an attractive girl (I know this does not make me unique) I have a great personality etc but I am finding it near impossible to find a nice, decent, normal guy.

I regulary get chatted up and I have given my number to a few guys recently, none of which have gotten in contact. Some of these guys tried to kiss me but I don't feel comfortable kissing someone in a pub/nightclub as well, I'm not 17 anymore.

All my friends have partners and I'm beginning to feel really isolated, here I am on another Saturday night, home alone.

I would realy love to meet someone, I know I have so much to offer but I'm beginning to think there's actually something wrong with me at this stage.

I've even tried dating sites but although they may work for some, they haven't worked for me. I don't want to come across as desperate but I would really feel like I'm ready to meet someone.

I know I can come across as a little shy and some men have described me as distant (these are men that do not know me) I just don't like to be overly familiar with someone I don't know too well and I think that's why I can come across like that.

I'm in a job that is quite demanding and I have a lot of after hours meetings etc so it leaves very little time to get involved in any clubs etc.

If anyone has any advise, I'd love to hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭superblu

It's a tough one. I think that normal blokes are so fed up of being shot down by women that instead of trying to meet women they just go out with their mates, skull a skinful of pints and if they happen to meet someone it's a bonus. Be under no illusions there are plenty of nice normal blokes out there only dying to meet somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I know you said you don't like to kiss in a nightclub, which is understandable, but you could be sending mixed messages with this. The guy could think you find him unattractive and therefore not bother texting or calling you afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Kinda feel like I'm in the same situation here. Have tried internet dating and that has resulted in me seeing a few girls (not at the same time) but none of them every really lasted more than a few weeks or months. It was a shame as I was open to things lasting long-term but they just didn't work out.

I suppose what bothers me more is that I just never seem to meet anyone. Most of my mates are settled down now and don't really go out which kind of leaves me in the situation of either having to stay in, or make new friends in order to have people to go out with. But even when I did go out regularly, I never met anyone and started seeing them or anything so part of me thinks it wouldn't matter if I did go out, the result would be the same.

I don't know what advice to give you other than to not give up. Might not be great advice but the way I see it my own options are to give up which probably means spending the rest of my life being single, or keep trying and hoping I will meet someone, sooner rather than later. And I really don't want the whole being single situation to beat me and win! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Thanks for the responses so far.

I do realise there are nice normal guys out there, just wish I could fine one of them:)

I'm not one of these girls who likes "bad boys" or complains when a bad boy treats them badly.

I gave my number to these guys after they tried kissing me, maybe they think i'd be too much hard work.

Also regardless of who chats me up I would never be rude to anyone, even if I don't find someone attractive doesn't mean I can't talk to them.

The internet dating thing is so contrived, also a lot of sites are just turning into pick up joints. Don't get me wrong I have met some nice people off them (also one complete nut) but most of the time the pictures don't exactly match the person and although I am not shallow, I still need to be attracted to someone (I have bee attracted to some conventionally not good looking men)

It just seems that on an average night out, everyone is out to pull and added to that they are drunk and arrogant.

I am the only single person in my work place as well which I get slagged about, I laugh myself but sometimes I feel like asking them what the hell is wrong with me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

If you think you are meeting the wrong types of men on nights out then perhaps change the places you socialise in.

To be honest,if I got chatting to a girl,thought there was something there,tried to kiss her and got knocked back,regardless if she gave me her number or not Id think it was a dead duck and wouldnt bother contacting her because my exact train of thought would be that she had fobbed me off/placated me with giving me her number or she just gave me a fake number.

I can understand where you are coming from in that you arent comfortable kissing someone you have just met,thats fair enough and one should never do things that they arent happy doing however in a night club/bar setting,thats generally how people hook up.Maybe try finding some different social outlets that dont involve alcohol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Regardless of aesthetics or personality, I think finding a partner is really down to two things - opportunity and luck. Meeting someone, being attracted to them and having a snog which develops into something more is really just a matter of luck.

If you don't want to go down that route; the only other way to increase your chances of finding someone you click with is to widen your social circle and meet more people...google, look up the classifieds, see your supermarket notice boards, etc, etc for things happening that fits around your schedule - unfortunately the chances of Mr/Mrs Right-for-now dropping into your lap is fairly remote, you're going to have to do what you can to make it happen.

All the best. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭wivy

Hi OP!
    I feel I could have actually written your post!
    As other posters say, maybe when you don't follow up with a kiss on the night out they think your blowing them off by giving your number instead? Do you ask for their numbers? Maybe if you did and contacted them this might help with this problem?
    Things that I'm trying to do: Get out as much as I can, I've joined the gym, and I'm gonna start approaching more guys on nights out... If theres someone you fancy why dont you go up and get chatting and see how it goes!
    As for people at work.. I feel sometimes people have a real stigma associated with being single! Dont mind them! Many of them wish they were carefree and out and about getting the chance to meet new guys!

Your man is out there somewhere and I think everything happens for a reason.
    Best of luck hun XxX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭zxcvbnm1

I must say I thought you comment re not snogging someone in a pub/nightclub as you're 'not 17 anymore' a strange one.

May I ask what your issue is on this?
    Most people wouldn't share this attitude.

Saying that if you're not comfortable with it then fair enough. But it certainly shouldn't be viewed as an activity only teenagers do - which seems to be what you're suggesting.

Most people would view it as an obvious first step to s relationship with a stranger.
    I think you should let your hair down
    And if you like someone in a night out then snog them. No one is going to judge you on it. It's what most people do.

I have to agree with an earlier poster also. You say you give your number when someone tries to kiss you (after which you don't allow them)
    If that happened to me I definitely wouldn't contact you the next day as I would naturally assume you're not interested. How could I possibly think otherwise?

I really think you need to change this anti-snogging policy you have.

Also - try speeddating. It's a great way to meet people.

I just personally do not feel comfortable kissing a stranger in a pub/club. I don't think this is strange at all. I know plenty of people that feel the same way.

I'm not going going to kiss someone because they are chatting me up.

Also I don't think it's necessarily the first step to a relationship with a stranger, what about getting to know the person? I don't want to come across as a prude as I am far from that but I would have no issue kissing someone if for instance I was to meet up with them after exchanging numbers in a pub/club.

I've explained to guys that I'm not comfortable kissing them in a club but would also say to them to get in contact with me and maybe we could meet up etc. So I can only presume they do not want to meet up and instead were looking to get lucky.

I'm more than likely not going to change my anti -snogging policy as you call it. I have kissed a lot of guys on nights out in the past and the outcome is the same as it is now.

I've done speed dating with some friends and it was great fun but unfortunately the two times I did it the choice wasn't great, that doesn't mean I would rule it out.

I'm glad to see other people are in the same position as me, maybe we should set up our own singles club:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Good on you, blacklilly, for knowing where you stand and being prepared to hold your ground.

I'm the wrong generation for today's singles scene, so can't make helpful comments on how to behave in pubs and clubs. But you can always cast your net wider: there are possibilities for meeting people in all sorts of social groups, like sports clubs, walking groups, dramatic societies, charity organisations, book clubs - the list goes on. Don't go manhunting; that's not the way things work; just be open to possibilities. Connections that you make with people, even non-romantic connections, can ripple out and interesting men will probably come into sight. Then you need a bit of luck!

[The majority of couples I know met outside the pub'n'club scene.]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭_dublinlad_

Hi OP,

In pretty much in the same situation as yourself - except I'm a guy. I'm 25, been in two long term relationships, last one finished a few months ago. Been told I'm a very good looking guy, down to earth, funny etc.. but still find it hard to meet any women I like. Trust me there are plenty of our type out there.

At the end of the day I think finding the right person comes down to luck and persistence. So just keep putting yourself out there.

I do agree with some of the posters about the kissing in bars/clubs thing, there really is nothing childish about it. Try look at it from a guys perspective, take the last guy you spoke to in a nightclub and gave your number to - he may have chatted to maybe 5 women that night or weekend and kissed one or two of them, who do you think he is going to text - the girl he kissed or the girl he didnt? Its just a little kiss, if you find the guy attractive and he seems normal why not?

Hi Dubguy,

I'm not saying there is anything wrong with kissing someone in a club, I must come across as a total prude, it's just something I'm not comfortable with.

If I see people kissing, I don't think to myself "ugh, they should be ashamed of themselves" I'm just not into it, that's all.

I totally take your point about the guy may have kissed one or two girls and who is he going to text and that's fine but I hope some day some guy will think I'm worth it and give me a call regardless.

blacklilly wrote: »
    Hi Dubguy,

I'm not saying there is anything wrong with kissing someone in a club, I must come across as a total prude, it's just something I'm not comfortable with.

If I see people kissing, I don't think to myself "ugh, they should be ashamed of themselves" I'm just not into it, that's all.

I totally take your point about the guy may have kissed one or two girls and who is he going to text and that's fine but I hope some day some guy will think I'm worth it and give me a call regardless.

I can understand your thinking somewhat on the matter. I have been in bars where people are kissing and it can look a little ridiculous at times. I have been in the situation where I had been seeing a girl for a while and whilst in a bar she turns to me for a kiss, you almost feel like looking around to see if anyone is watching before you go for it... as Ive gotten older I tend to find myself saying "sure **** it, I dont care how I look, you only live once" more often.

I dont think the same can really be said for night clubs, on the dance floor the majority of guys and girls that are dancing together have a bit of a kiss and it never looks out of place. Just try not to think about what other people are thinking about you and do what you feel like doing.

Personally, if I was to meet you in a bar and chat with you for an hour or so without a kiss - I would be fine with it. If I liked you and I had your number I would defo give you a text and ask you out. But I'm sure alot of guys wouldnt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 833 ✭✭✭snafuk35

Hi OP.
    The reason people have not called back or because you have not had success in relationships is because you have very clearly been making fatal mistakes with the opposite sex.
    People who have success with the opposite sex have very clearly been doing something right.
    What you have to do is identify precisely how people attract other people and what they say and do to turn a platonic friendship or meeting with an attractive stranger into a kiss, a date, a relationship, romance and marriage.
    Then you need to imitate what romantically successful people do and you will have men in your life.

The reknowned zoologist Desmond Morris, who worked for the Zoological Society of London as Curator of Mammals at the London Zoo, applies his blunt zoological techniques to human behaviour including observing human courtship and he identified 12 stages in human courtship beginning with the first meeting and ending in sexual intercourse.

1. Eye to body
    2. Eye to eye
    3. Voice to voice
    4. Hand to hand
    5. Arm to shoulder
    6. Arm to waist
    7. Mouth to mouth
    8. Hand to head
    9. Hand to body
    10. Mouth to breast
    11. Hand to genitals
    12. Sexual intercourse.

Desmond Morris (1997). Intimate Behavior: A Zoologist's Classic Study of Human Intimacy. p. 73.

In between these stages are "go ahead" signals that let you know you can advance to the next stage comfortably. Morris found that when someone jumps one of these steps usually the other person will stop them and say it is 'too soon.' Perhaps this is where you or a partner have gone wrong? Clearly the guys who got your telephone number and then tried to kiss you publically went too far.

Desmond Morris had proven that human courtship can be studied scientifically in the same way as the behaviour of any other animal and just as animal behavior can be directed so can human behavior. In zoos, rare endangered animals such as pandas and tigers and other creatures have to be induced to mate and zoologists who have studied animal behavior in the wild create the optimum mating conditions. Humans are just the same - the optimum conditions have to be created where mating is more likely to occur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

If all the OP wanted was sexual intercourse, she could have had it in 5 minutes by walking into a club and snogging the first couple of lads her eye falls on.

She wants more and that's the problem.

OP, I would prioritise other activities based on your interests, where you can actually meet people and have a proper conversation without this meat market feeling. I know you said you are hard pressed for time but it will be very difficult to find meaningful contacts otherwise. Hiking, cycling, photography, swimming, movie club - anything like this will give you the opportunity to meet and talk to people without feeling vulnerable due to constant evaluating and thinking whether someone can be the one or not....

Dublad, I don't think the fact that I don't kiss guys in clubs is the reason I'm single. I've never had a relationship through meeting and kissing someone in a pub/club.

It's a pity the guys I gave my number too aren't like you:) I can understand how some guys might not be sure if I'm interested but surely they'd just take a chance and if they don't well I guess they just aren't worth it.

Thanks Mhge, I know I have to get involved in some activity, just have to find the work/life balance first.

Snafuk35, although I understand Morris is probably onto something there in regards to the animal kingdom, I hope us humans are somewhat more intelligent and connected to our emotions and that the choices we make are based on more than just animal instinct.

Dublad, I don't think the fact that I don't kiss guys in clubs is the reason I'm single. I've never had a relationship through meeting and kissing someone in a pub/club.

It's a pity the guys I gave my number too aren't like you:) I can understand how some guys might not be sure if I'm interested but surely they'd just take a chance and if they don't well I guess they just aren't worth it.

I would agree with you that maybe they arent worth it if they dont contact you. I mean not all guys are like me ;) Maybe im just not so adverse to the possibilty of a little rejection as most guys are.

Anyway, good luck on finding that special guy that you deserve... he is out there somewhere :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

I'm a guy in a somewhat similar position.

Most of my friends are settling down and I'm the only single person in work too. Plus I really can't stand clubs. The rare time I've been in them, I'd get some attention and signals from women but I'm just not comfortable in that kind of environment.

Not every guy is the type of person that goes to clubs and tries to lob the gob at random girls.

Some people on here don't seem to get that not everyone is like this. I'm obviously fecking nuts but I have always been the type of person that'd much rather get to know a girl instead of lob the gob first...ask questions later....

Unfortunately the dating scene in this country really does not bode well for people like me. Seems to be completely built around that teenage style club thing.

And if I did randomly find myself in a club and got chatting to sound intelligent girl, I still wouldn't try and 'get stuck in' like seems to be the norm (going by this thread anyway)... and if she gave me her number I would certainly see that as a sign she is interested and I'd try to arrange a proper date with her. But I guess I'm just insane or something... :o

I do wish it just wasn't so taboo to get chatting to people and try for a date with them. Instead everything is built around the idea of downing 10 pints in sound horrible club and then trying to have your way with random drunk women.. This might suit a lot of people but there's a large amount of people it does not suit... and for those people, unless they are luckily enough to randomly meet someone...they generally remain single for a long time...

The online dating scene is a bit cold or appears to really be just a virtual version of a club anyway.

Tbh op I disagree with others on here and think the reason the guys didn't text you when you gave their number was cause they were looking for a one night stand.

Sisko wrote: »
    I'm a guy in a somewhat similar position.

Most of my friends are settling down and I'm the only single person in work too. Plus I really can't stand clubs. The rare time I've been in them, I'd get some attention and signals from women but I'm just not comfortable in that kind of environment.

Not every guy is the type of person that goes to clubs and tries to lob the gob at random girls.

Some people on here don't seem to get that not everyone is like this. I'm obviously fecking nuts but I have always been the type of person that'd much rather get to know a girl instead of lob the gob first...ask questions later....

Unfortunately the dating scene in this country really does not bode well for people like me. Seems to be completely built around that teenage style club thing.

And if I did randomly find myself in a club and got chatting to sound intelligent girl, I still wouldn't try and 'get stuck in' like seems to be the norm (going by this thread anyway)... and if she gave me her number I would certainly see that as a sign she is interested and I'd try to arrange a proper date with her. But I guess I'm just insane or something... :o

I do wish it just wasn't so taboo to get chatting to people and try for a date with them. Instead everything is built around the idea of downing 10 pints in sound horrible club and then trying to have your way with random drunk women.. This might suit a lot of people but there's a large amount of people it does not suit... and for those people, unless they are luckily enough to randomly meet someone...they generally remain single for a long time...

The online dating scene is a bit cold or appears to really be just a virtual version of a club anyway.

Tbh op I disagree with others on here and think the reason the guys didn't text you when you gave their number was cause they were looking for a one night stand.

Sisko I agree, i would be pretty certain these guys were looking for a one night stand
    Its good to hear that some guys are the sme as me as in they don't lob the gob at any.opportunity

I was out last night and got talking to a few guys, pub setting and next thing this guy tries to kiss me, whats wrong with just talking to someone!

OK. I am think you are taring all guys in clubs with the same brush here. Sure there are alot of sleeze bags that are just looking for a one night stand, but there are lots of decent guys there too.

When I go on a night in to town I go to have the craic with the lads and what ever more happens - happens. If I happen to get talking to a nice girl in a bar, I will continue to just talk to her. If she gives me signals that she would like to kiss I go for it, sure its just a kiss. I generally have no expectations whilst talking to a girl. Same applies to clubs, usually head to the dance floor with friends, some times bump into a girl and start dancing with her... usually ends in kissing... then leave with her, we chat, exchange numbers and if im interested in seeing her again I will call her up another day.

I think my attitude is generally the norm with most guys. I dont see it as imature or embarrising, its a healthy way to have a good time and meet girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 kapowski

I can totally relate to Blacklillys situation. I’m in similar situation all my friends are settled and when they have free time from work etc they want to spend it with their partner and that’s understandable. I find bank holidays and holidays hard to manage as everyone has their own plans.
    I think it’s a bit of luck and confidence at the end of the day to meet someone in a club/pub. Usually the guys that approach you are looking for a one night stand and if you aren’t willing they move on. I suppose you can understand they have their own priorities there. It seems to be the normal in clubs. I think joining groups to extend your social circle is the way to go and if a relationship starts that’s a bonus. This can be difficult in itself in trying to find the right group. Any ideas???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Blacklilly, I am 40, single and female. I went through what you're going through at 25. I've had several relationships and from my experience most Irish guys I met were into one night stands and/or had alcoholic tendencies. The good ones get snapped up in college and are most often gone before 25. Or else they emigrate.

My better relationships were with foreign guys. I would advise you to emigrate because you sound like somebody who would get on better with foreign guys who aren't into getting drunk every night. Foreign guys can be passionate and like sex as much as Irish guys (but tend to be better at it), but they generally don't take the farmyard caveman approach unless they're going native in Cafe en Seine.

I think you need to get away from Ireland. I would advise you to do so if you can. I wish I had.

As for groups, it's the same all over. If most people in the groups are Irish it's rare for people to get together. Sometimes they do, but in those cases there's often a significant age gap between the couple (ie the guy is 12 or more years older). Would you be willing to date somebody a lot older, Blacklilly? Lots of guys in their early to mid-30s are looking to settle down and would love a 25 year old who wants the same thing. Then again a lot of guys in that age group are emigrating.

All things considered, I would seriously consider leaving Ireland and going to a place where the outlook and attitude is less insular.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Emme wrote: »
    Blacklilly, I am 40, single and female. I went through what you're going through at 25. I've had several relationships and from my experience most Irish guys I met were into one night stands and/or had alcoholic tendencies. The good ones get snapped up in college and are most often gone before 25. Or else they emigrate.

My better relationships were with foreign guys. I would advise you to emigrate because you sound like somebody who would get on better with foreign guys who aren't into getting drunk every night. Foreign guys can be passionate and like sex as much as Irish guys (but tend to be better at it), but they generally don't take the farmyard caveman approach unless they're going native in Cafe en Seine.

I think you need to get away from Ireland. I would advise you to do so if you can. I wish I had.

As for groups, it's the same all over. If most people in the groups are Irish it's rare for people to get together. Sometimes they do, but in those cases there's often a significant age gap between the couple (ie the guy is 12 or more years older). Would you be willing to date somebody a lot older, Blacklilly? Lots of guys in their early to mid-30s are looking to settle down and would love a 25 year old who wants the same thing. Then again a lot of guys in that age group are emigrating.

All things considered, I would seriously consider leaving Ireland and going to a place where the outlook and attitude is less insular.

I can taste your bitterness. Not all Irish men are the same, love.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I can taste your bitterness. Not all Irish men are the same, love.

With a name like BraziliaNZ you're well qualified to comment. I was giving the OP some advice, you wouldn't want her to wind up like me - 40, bitter and at the mercy of smartasses like you, would you?

OP, the attitude towards women in this country stinks, and it gets worse as you get older. The pub/club scene isn't great for meeting guys, most there are looking for one night stands. I understand your dilemma, if you're working long hours it's hard to join clubs etc. It might be worthwhile cutting back on the hours you work and taking up an adventure sport or some other activity where positive healthy guys hang out. However, it's important to have an interest in the activity first. I would recommend rock-climbing rather than hillwalking.

If you can't cut back on the work hours and your only option is pubs/clubs it might be a good idea to go abroad for a few years. Being treated like a dumb piece of meat wears down your self-esteem and isn't good for you in the long term.

Would a networking club help you with your work? Some people join networking clubs for professional reason but end up making friends or meeting partners through it. That might be more civilised than the pub/club scenario. People in clubs like that would work long hours like you and their events take place in the evenings after work.

Sisko is right when he says that online dating is a virtual version of a club. I don't know what it's like for people in their 20s but once you're into your 30s and beyond it's littered with married people looking for a bit on the side. Not healthy but some lucky people meet their other halves online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Lets all emigrate because we are single and can't find anyone.what an attitude.
    No wonder your single.

Op what about dating someone from boards? seems like there are a good few decent blokes in here.just a suggestion.

Being treated like a dumb piece of meat wears down your self-esteem and isn't good for you in the long term.

You can't apply your own experiences to an entire demograph - i.e. Irish males. I am Irish regardless of my name and I live abroad but I can't see how we are any different to other men. Ok maybe non English speaking males drink less than us but that's about it.

That's not about it. I've found that foreign guys are happier to have a conversation with a woman and treat them like people, not pieces of meat. They don't need to drink 10 pints before they can show an interest in a woman and are more honest and open about their intentions.

My experience has been that Irish men want one night stands but are rarely upfront about it, shy away from commitment and a disproportionate amount of Irish people (male and female) have problems with substance abuse. That makes it more difficult to find somebody in this country who doesn't have a drink problem.

That's not about it. I've found that foreign guys are happier to have a conversation with a woman and treat them like people, not pieces of meat. They don't need to drink 10 pints before they can show an interest in a woman and are more honest and open about their intentions.

My experience has been that Irish men want one night stands, shy away from commitment and a disproportionate amount of Irish people (male and female) have problems with substance abuse. That makes it more difficult to find somebody in this country who doesn't have a drink problem.

Ok well I guess you're screwed then. Most of my friends these days are happily married though, so chin up OP it'll happen in time.

My experience has been that Irish men want one night stands, shy away from commitment and a disproportionate amount of Irish people (male and female) have problems with substance abuse. That makes it more difficult to find somebody in this country who doesn't have a drink problem.

Ok well I guess you're screwed then. Most of my friends these days are happily married though, so chin up OP it'll happen in time.

I haven't lost all hope in Irish men just yet:-)

OK folks - enough of the off-topic bickering. If you have an issue with a post or poster then follow site-rules and report it.

Emme - do not use crass generalisations or lazy stereotyping likely to offend, it's known as flaming and is against site rules...if you wouldn't like someone posting similar about your gender/race/nationality/etc - don't post it.

If you haven't already done so, please take the time to read the [URL=" http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056181484"]forum rules[/URL] in the charter before posting again.

Many thanks.

As per site policy, if you have an issue with any moderator instruction or request please contact a relevant moderator via PM - DO NOT drag the thread further off-topic by responding on-thread

And you shouldnt!! There are great single Irish guys out there (I mean look at me ;) ) There might not be many of them, but that makes it all the better when you do eventually find one :)

PS, when you do eventually find one - let me know. Maybe there will some nice girls hanging around that same spot also ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭mrduffy

blacklilly I have the same problem as you except I am a man and I get uncomfortable in unfamilar surroundings not been able to kiss its like a sixth sense. Lots of women than think I am not interested.

And you shouldnt!! There are great single Irish guys out there (I mean look at me ;) ) There might not be many of them, but that makes it all the better when you do eventually find one :)

PS, when you do eventually find one - let me know. Maybe there will some nice girls hanging around that same spot also ;)

Maybe we should get together lol.

Yeah I know there's lots of nice guys and seeing as Im a nice girl hopefully I'll attract some of them. I'll let you know when and if I find someone:-)

Folks, this is an advice forum, not a pick-up joint...please use the PM function or appropriate forum for chatting.

As the thread seems to have run it's course, I'll lock.

Best of luck OP.