Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many & What bikes have you got?!

• 04-04-2012 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭

Hi! Just wondering what bikes everyone have...

I have 2...

1) A Trek 4300 mountainbike: about 7 years old.
    2) A Cube Agree GTC Race... Racing bike: is 1 year old!

There ya go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pjmn

A Trek 7.2 (Hybrid)

An old Raleigh mountainbike...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

A trek 2008 trek 7.2 thats now donated to my dad
    An 1982 Miyata 610 Touring bike - My main set of wheels these days.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Details of mine here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

Trek Madone 5.2 pro
    Boardman Team Carbon
    Unknown brand Mountain Bike
    Unknown brand Folding Bike
    Ducati........sorry wrong forum :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Road
    Scott Addict SL, Campag Record 10, 303s
    Peugeot 501 Steel 1988, Full Ultegra Triple 10
    Specialized S-Work Alum Full Sora Triple 8 (to be sold)
    Langster Single speed (to be sold)
    MTB
    Trek 8500 Alum Hardtail (mid 90s)
    Kona Cowan FS
    No name CF Hardtail, full XTR, Reba.
    Massi CF Hardtail Full Deore 3x9 Hydros (to be sold)
    Projects
    Peugeot 531 rebuild with all new Full Tiagra 3x9 (to be sold)
    British Eagle 531 Touring 3x9 Rebuild, all new. (to be sold)
    Diamond Back Cromo Hardtail early 90s (to be sold)
    Raleigh Steel Fixie (to be sold)

Here be some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Arequipa

Oh my God I have to get more bikes!!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Arequipa wrote: »
    Oh my God I have to get more bikes!!
    We're here to help - what type were you thinking of to start...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Mercian Strada Speciale (80's road bike)
    Carrera Banshee (Frankenstein self built full-susser)
    Carrera Krakken (Hard Tail)
    Giant ATX (T-Mobile livery single speed MTB)

+ the missus' Roadbike and hard tail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Kona Chute
    Specialized Allez Elite
    Genesis Flyer
    Cervelo R3
    Kinesis Crosslight 5T
    Wilier Cento Uno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

cube agree gtc race
    canyon roadlite
    canyon grand canyon al

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Redmond101

Beasty wrote: »
    Details of mine here

That's a fairly significant investment you have there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Redmond101

Details of mine here

That's a fairly significant investment you have there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭C3PO

Pinarello FP5 - Campag 11 speed Record Group
    Felt F35 - Dura Ace Group (except Ultegra Chainset)

Focus CX 3 - 105 Group

Scott Spark 10 - XTR Group
    Specialized Epic - XT etc

Felt BMX - 24" Wheels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

Trek 4.5
    Trek 4500
    Viking Vision 1988
    Storck Vision light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

2009 Focus Cayo 105 *cough* triple
    2009 Felt AR4 Ultegra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

5 working bikes and one Peugeot racer in need of TLC

Hardtail Giant XTC MTB
    Full Sus Cannondale MTB
    Trek 5200 road bike
    Cannondale CX bike
    Langster singlespeed

The Cannondale CX has a dual personality and spends the summer as a touring bike with flat bars and V-brakes. Descending on those crappy canti's with panniers would be no fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Only two at the moment;

2010 Boardman Comp
    2011 Planet X SL Pro Carbon

I spent a few hours mucking about in Kindlestown woods this afternoon with mini-Plastik and I now badly want a hard tail MTB for some trails. But then again, I've carbon clinchers in the post, I need a cassette, tyres, tubes. I need to more carbonify my Planet X. I need new shoes.

So much neeeeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Is this thread the dial-up friendly version of the Boards user fleet thread.:confused:

Planet X Ti Pro Road
    Planet X Ti Sportive
    Felt Dispatch SS
    Eddy Merckx 10th Anniversary limited edition
    Raleigh Road Ace from the 80's. Raced on one back in the day. (picking up this weekend:D)

That's all for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Zen0

No recumbents in any of those collections? No folders. Ye need more bikes lads.

I have only two myself, one year old Lapierre road bike and beloved frankenbike commuter built up on 15 year old Cannondale mountain bike frame with components ranging from 6 months to 25 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

only 2

a Specialized Hardrock
    and a Litespeed Sirius.
    Had a KTM Life Motion for 2 days before a man with a van took an angle grinder to the lock on it in the underground car park in work. Sickener.
    Currently saving for a Canyon, can't decide on the Roadlite of Ultimate AL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Tomred13

MTB:
    Kona Kula Deluxe
    Klein Pulse Comp
    ROAD:
    Tomasini, Columbus Genius
    Basso (Vintage Frame)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Details of mine here

wow...
    There must be €20,000 of bikes there! The Cervelo S5 is awesome btw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

I have only two:

1. Cannondale CAAD 10 - currently in everyday use, i.e. commuting and weekend spins.

2. Cannondale SuperSix - it was my first road bike (bought last) year and all the components has been removed from the bike to be put into the CAAD 10 (which originally came with Shimano 105), including wheels. So there is only frameset left at the moment with a saddle. I was planning to rebuild this bike with new components, but I am not sure where to go with this. The problem I see is that it would cost so much money and the CAAD 10 does everything I need it to do at the moment.

Oh, forgot my third bike:

3. Raleigh X-1. Used as a short distance commuter years ago when I lived in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

About 14 at the last count :o

I collect/restore vintage roadsters. I have 2 wartime Elswick-Hoppers, 1 1930s (I think, more research required) Humber, a 1950s Rudge 3 speed, a 1970 Batavus, and a few later 3 speed roadsters.

I also have a 531 framed Carlton fixed gear (my favourite bike), a 1970s Peugeot touring bike, a late 1970s Viking Superstar (Northern Ireland built model), a late 1980s Peugeot racing bike, a 1975 Viscount Aerospace, another no-name brand 1970s "gas pipe" road bike built as a fixed gear which I ride during the winter months and a 1971 Dublin built Raleigh Twenty folding bike (which has been in the family since new, in my care since I was about 9).

They all get used, at least occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,578 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Donie75

Specialized Secteur Elite - bought this in 2010 as my first road bike. Recently swapped the groupset onto my new frame. Will be my winter bike.

Dolan Hercules SE - Recently built up with the kit off the spesh. Planning to move that kit back to the Spesh. Currently collecting up Ultegra 6700 bits.

Cube Acid - Bought secondhand to replace a Hybrid I never used. Hoping to get into more MTB stuff this year.

I fancy building up a Fixie/SS at some stage but I don't know if I'd get the use out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

3 at the moment.
    Ridley Eos (2011), bought last year on the BTW scheme.
    Raleigh Elan (1993). Bought new in '93, sold shortly afterwards, bought back last December.
    Benotto track bike (c.1981), currently set up as single speed with front brake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

Giant Defy 2.5 (2009)
    Giant Trance X4 (2009)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

boardman pro carbon
    boardman team carbon
    harry quinn 531 undergoing restoration
    531 mountain bike i bought in 1992
    decathlon mountain bike tha lets me out during the winter

think thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Specialized Langster - single speed commuter, rack and panniers and all that jazz
    Specialized Allez Comp - racing bike last year, training/sportive bike this year
    Felt F1 - racing bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Giant MCR singlespeed
    Scott SUB 10 hybrid
    Canyon carbon racing bike

I know I know, I need more...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Only 2 at the moment...

Peugeot 501 fixie commuter
    BMC Streetracer SR01 105 road bike

Been toying with a few different ideas for during the summer, but lack of money is the usual drawback. If only I didn't have to eat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Cervelo s1 - Dura Ace, Powertap Wheels
    Cervelo s2 - Sram Red, Zipp 808 tubs
    Cervelo R3sl - Sram Red, Reynolds 46Dvtul
    Cervelo P4 - Sram Red Black, Zipp 900/808

And in the non Cervelo category

Trek Madone 5.2 - Dura Ace 7800, zipp 404 tubs

Ribble sl with Microshift, Reynolds assault clinchers lives on turbo trainer.

Beone team mountainside for the annual pilgrimage to ballyhoura.

And one brand x alu frame with dura ace 7700 that will make someone a nice entry.bike when I sell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Quigs - what do you mainly use the various bikes for? They all seem so high-end that I'm struggling to see where each one comes into its own (other than the TT bike).

Of course, "I ride whichever one I like the look of" is perfectly acceptable as an answer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Quigs - what do you mainly use the various bikes for? They all seem so high-end that I'm struggling to see where each one comes into its own (other than the TT bike).

Of course, "I ride whichever one I like the look of" is perfectly acceptable as an answer!

Well, I am going to sell the brand x and give the Madone (without zipps) to someone as a present. Mtb for off-road, the old ribble is a permanent fixture on the tacx imagic.

P4 for TTs which I do a fair few of. S1 is the winter trainer, tough, aluminium, heavy powertap wheels and a compact and older, better and tougher 7800 kit.

The r3sl was the good bike. So the only extravagance is the s2 which was got a use up a bike scheme when there was a threat of redundancy a while back.. so I er.. cycle that to work or something.

Apart from that, I just love bikes. Cycling.... not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

2009 Kona Kapu
    19156_1347133719579_1268386025_31034296_6183871_n.jpg

19156_1347133759580_1268386025_31034297_1656643_n.jpg

2007 Kona Hei Hei

I bought the frame and fork and got my own spec put on it (Dripping in carbon and shimano xt)

19156_1347136079638_1268386025_31034303_8241269_n.jpg
    19156_1347136199641_1268386025_31034306_4945885_n.jpg
    19156_1347136279643_1268386025_31034307_2115826_n.jpg

2010 Dawes Ultra Galaxy

185365_2334243036695_1268386025_32865143_1335027_n.jpg
    223049_2334238836590_1268386025_32865128_8116429_n.jpg

Cooper T100 Sebring

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS61aQGwz-LRPKF8elSnYFwxwMvGC5IFca1_IXgqoKzH0vwiW52Ng

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Wilier Mortirolo (the good bike)
    Canyon Ultimate Alu (the training bike)
    Bianchi Pista Concept (the track bike)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

Ridley Noah (good bike)
    Orbea Orca ( other good bike)
    Fondriest max carb ( turbo bike)
    Wilier izoard (winter bike)
    Giant trinity (tt)
    Kellys Mobster ( mtb)

That's it for now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

- Enigma Esprit, travel and all-round fun bike.
    - Canyon Ultimate AL, suffering bike.
    - Planet-X Stealth, torturing bike.
    - On One Pompetamine Versa Alfine 11, winter commuting misery bike.
    - Haro Pro XL+, bleedin' deadly BMX.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭okane1

Canyon Roadlite 6
    GT Aggressor 2
    Raleigh Firefly single speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭furiousox

Canyon UCF Pro
    Giant TCR T-Mobile (currently for sale!)

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭BDK

LOOK 595
    Boardman team carbon
    Giant XTC hardtail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

I have 2...

1) A Trek 4300 mountainbike: about 7 years old.
    2) A Cube Agree GTC Race... Racing bike: is 1 year old!

There ya go!

The Correct number of bikes is n + 1 (where "n" is the number of bikes you currently own)

Have you not read the rules? :)

BTW..I have 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Orbea Aqua - training, winter and poor weather bike. Formerly my commuter.

Dolan Hercules SL - former good bike. Now predominantly on the turbo. May use this for racing in the county summer league & TT's.

Kuota Kebel - Good bike. Only for nice weather.

wow...
    There must be €20,000 of bikes there! The Cervelo S5 is awesome btw...
    Let me put it this way ...

My bikes (in total) cost (quite a bit) less than half as much as my car cost

My bikes (in total) travel further than my car

Each of my bikes (hopefully) will last longer than my car.

My bikes are easier to maintain than my car (in fact I can do pretty much all of it myself)

My bikes (with a bit of luck) will add a few years to my life

My bikes are therefore better value than my car

QED

(not tht I feel any need to justify spending so much on my bikes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

@Beasty,

Sell the bleedin' car then.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

The car is for getting to sportives though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭SWL

Wilier Mortirolo (the good bike)
    Canyon Ultimate Alu (the training bike)
    Bianchi Pista Concept (the track bike)

Sorry for going off topic - but how do you find the ride on the Canyon harsh or ok?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

SWL wrote: »
    Sorry for going off topic - but how do you find the ride on the Canyon harsh or ok?

I haven't ridden it yet! I only got it two weeks ago and was sent the wrong bottom bracket cups so I'm waiting for the right ones to finish building it up.

Lumen would be able to answer your question though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 113 ✭✭Rob987

Hey Arequipa!

Trek Madone 5.2 sl
    Trek Madone 5.9 sslx

Rob