Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derval O'Rourke charged €10 to train at ALSAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

04072511 wrote: »

I'm not sure I see what's strange about this? Someone that isn't a member of the club which runs the facility turned up and used it. The quotes indicate she knows that the tracks in Ireland aren't public amenities (I wish they were!). Just because you're heading to the Olympics that doesn't change your entitlement to use stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

It's a private facility as far as I know. At the least she should have asked them to use it beforehand. Insurance purposes and all that. I can see why she is annoyed but if an Irish Olympic swimmer went to use a pool in a private gym they'd probably be asked to pay as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

kingQuez wrote: »
    I'm not sure I see what's strange about this? Someone that isn't a member of the club which runs the facility turned up and used it. The quotes indicate she knows that the tracks in Ireland aren't public amenities (I wish they were!). Just because you're heading to the Olympics that doesn't change your entitlement to use stuff.

"Initially he said I just couldn't run at all, and then I tried to persuade him that I'm kind of into the running," O'Rourke explained dryly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

How many people know what Derval looks like?
    I don't. Must be a slow news day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

PLus you can pretty much always hop the wall into morton stadium

Whatever about the 10 euro thing, but trying to kick one of our top athletes off an empty track and try not to let her run at all. How can that be defended? Typical sh1te that goes on in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Whatever about the 10 euro thing, but trying to kick one of our top athletes off an empty track and try not to let her run at all. How can that be defended? Typical sh1te that goes on in Ireland.

A private facility, not publicly funded. Just cause she lives near it doesn't automatically entitle a right to use it. Only polite to ask to use something thats not yours.

Read above. Down to insurance. Seriously, that is the issue here. If she had of alerted them she was using it and signed a disclaimer there would probably be no issue. This is not a public facility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

omg! someone should surely be up in arms. quick, ring Joe Duffy or something

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Saw that on her blog this morning. Seems she took a ''don't you know who I am'' approach to him. Surely she or her coach or someone should have organised it rather than her just walking on to the track unannounced.

A three and a nine. I fold!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

A three and a nine. I fold!

Nah I agree with you, I don't think she should have to pay but she shouldn't just walk onto the track without notifying anyone either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

You'll stumble upon a track and they'll try to kick you off it, but generally I only go kicking and screaming.
    Really? You refuse to pay and need to be dragged off? And you make this a regular thing?
    It was probably a security thing where people come on and destroy the place and stuff, but I definitely wasn't going to set fire to anything
    Well, you should have told him that, you know with the human ability to not be able to lie and all, he would've understood then.
    then I tried to persuade him that I'm kind of into the running," O'Rourke explained dryly.
    Sounds like an absolute weapon tbh
    so I had to pay a tenner
    Tough tits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

"Initially he said I just couldn't run at all, and then I tried to persuade him that I'm kind of into the running," O'Rourke explained dryly.

is that a modern day version of ..."do you not know who I am???"

A few friends and I seen a fenced off astro pitch the other day. We are big into football so we jumped in and had a kick around. The caretaker came out and asked us to move, we argued that we weren't going to light the place on fire and even asked him did he not know who we were. He didn't. One of my friends plays league of Ireland and dryly responded "I'm big into football". We still had to leave. What a disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I'm really getting sick of this crap! We act as if we're a country of dummies and the rest of the world aren't capable of f****ing up at all.

I think she's an arrogant little madam. Yes there should be more public tracks but the one she showed up on wasn't one. I'd know her if she told me her name in an 'Oh yeah, so you are' kind of way but a lot wouldn't. Get over it and pay the measly tenner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It's the typical ****e sense of entitlement. Yes, she's an olympic athlete, but it's not like the gardai flashing their badges to get into nightclubs for free. All of us here would expect to pay for its use.

A few friends and I seen a fenced off astro pitch the other day. We are big into football so we jumped in and had a kick around. The caretaker came out and asked us to move, we argued that we weren't going to light the place on fire and even asked him did he not know who we were. He didn't. One of my friends plays league of Ireland and dryly responded "I'm big into football". We still had to leave. What a disgrace
    I simply can't fathom what right people think they have to use private property just because it's there. It really is mind boggling. What if everyone was allowed to just jump over the fence and play away to their hearts content. Do you think maintenance on a soccer pitch due to wear and tear comes cheap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

MyKeyG wrote: »
    I simply can't fathom what right people think they have to use private property just because it's there. It really is mind boggling. What if everyone was allowed to just jump over the fence and play away to their hearts content. Do you think maintenance on a soccer pitch due to wear and tear comes cheap?

I think your missing the sarcasm there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Its not her track or the AAI's its a private track. If i want to do a run in yoru backgarden is that ok? Total non story - Whats she doing running there anyway the track is in bit and she'll get injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭plodder

I've seen the chap at reception challenging people on the track there recently. So I suspect they are cracking down on free-loaders. Next time I'm there I'm going to tell him, there's someone that looks like Usain Bolt just hopped over the gate to do a sneaky session. Better catch him and get ten euros off him. :pac:

I suppose if she'd phoned ahead, there might not have been a problem. Well, you'd like to think there wouldn't have been ..

I think we should remember that we are all expected to pay to use private facilities as members of Joe public, but Derval is not a regular member of Joe public, she is an elite athlete that will be representing Ireland on a worldwide stage this summer.
    Surely that should see alsaa waving a tender fee and be happy to have her train there (insurance excuse aside)
    Right or wrong, that's my opinion on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

mkdon05 wrote: »
    I think we should remember that we are all expected to pay to use private facilities as members of Joe public, bit Derval is not a regular member of Joe public, she is an elite athlete that will be representing Ireland on a worldwide stage this summer.
    Surely that should see alsaa waving a tender fee and be happy to have her train there (insurance excuse aside)
    So can the irish football team show up now and play in Malahide or the AUL jsut because they want to - Private is private and its only polite to ask before usings something thats not yours..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

MyKeyG wrote: »

Whoosh

Well that post went over your head :)

mkdon05 wrote: »
    I think we should remember that we are all expected to pay to use private facilities as members of Joe public, bit Derval is not a regular member of Joe public, she is an elite athlete that will be representing Ireland on a worldwide stage this summer.

It seems the guy from ALSAA didn't know who she was so he wouldn't have known she was going to the Olympics. This really is a non-story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,871 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I heard her interview and i'm pretty sure she said her ususal track was closed so she hopped the fence to train and got caught....big swinging micky

shels4ever wrote: »
    So can the irish football team show up now and play in Malahide or the AUL jsut because they want to - Private is private and its only polite to ask before usings something thats not yours..

Fair enough, its polite to ask first but if the the Irish squad couldn't use malahide for some reason and went back to there old training area in the AUL, I doubt they would be told to piss off, or charged a fee. (especially as there kit man is heavily involved with the AUL :-) ... )

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Whoosh

Well that post went over your head :)
    Slow day! To be fair I was blinded by indignation when I posted it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

I hope she had the confidence to say: ‘Do I know who I am.’ And the chap had a bit of cop on to say, ‘I can’t see any reason to refuse an Olympic athlete, sure give me a shout when you’re done. Best of luck in the Olympics.’

“Arrogant little madam.” Give over.

If anyone actually cared to read her quotes, she was very reasonable and polite about it. Pointed out to the journalist that it was probably an insurance thing and expressed a wish that there was a track in every public park in order to avoid such problems.

She also said initially they refused to let her run point blank, but after explaining she was training for the Olympics they charged her a tenner which she paid.

I can't see how anyone can therefore suddenly reach for the sexist and belittling insult 'arrogant little madam' when it's clear she was anything but.

I heard her interview and i'm pretty sure she said her ususal track was closed so she hopped the fence to train and got caught....big swinging micky
    You have to wonder would her local track not deserve a bit of negative press for being closed four months before their athlete most expectant to win a medal is running in the Olympics? Sort of like Sunday opening in the run up to Christmas kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Saw that on her blog this morning. Seems she took a ''don't you know who I am'' approach to him.

From what I hear she is well known for taking this approach and for trying to get away without paying.

If ALSAA had an ounce of sense they'd invite her to use the facility whenever she likes. That article makes them look like a crusty old private gentleman's club (which in fairness they aren't).

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    I hope she had the confidence to say: ‘Do I know who I am.’ And the chap had a bit of cop on to say, ‘I can’t see any reason to refuse an Olympic athlete, sure give me a shout when you’re done. Best of luck in the Olympics.’

“Arrogant little madam.” Give over.

If anyone actually cared to read her quotes, she was very reasonable and polite about it. Pointed out to the journalist that it was probably an insurance thing and expressed a wish that there was a track in every public park in order to avoid such problems.

She also said initially they refused to let her run point blank, but after explaining she was training for the Olympics they charged her a tenner which she paid.

I can't see how anyone can therefore suddenly reach for the sexist and belittling insult 'arrogant little madam' when it's clear she was anything but.
    Since when is the expression 'little madam' sexist? I would put it on par with calling a man 'tough guy' when he acts ridiculously macho. So please don't dare call me sexist just because A) You don't like my opinion, and B) Because you're evidently the type of person who isn't satisfied with the amount of sexism, racism and every other ism in the world so you need to go looking for it in every nook and cranny.

The fact that she said anything at all is the issue. If it's no big deal then why say anything? Just pay your tenner and get on with it.

'I'm kind of into the running' as another poster mentioned is like saying 'don't you know who I am'. That in my book is arrogance. And before you waste my time with 'maybe she just wanted to tell him she was into running' then save your fingers as that much was obvious when he found her actually running on the track!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

The security dude was doing his job. The reality of the world is that most people in that kind of role have rules and regulations to adhere to, one of which I'd imagine is ensuring that only members or paid up guests, whatever the policy is, use the facility. It's not worth their job letting people in for nothing and most people wouldn't expect to use a facility for nothing.

It's a nothing story. I heard her interview on Newstalk last night and laughed at her struggling to find non running related metaphors for how she feels after a tough session. At one stage she said something along the lines of "for a non athlete it's like how you feel coming out of the gym after a really tough session". Thanks for clearing that up Derval!

Best of luck to her in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

from reading this thread the scenario seems to play out a bit like

" hey get off the track!"
    "wha? I am going to the olymics ya ignorant git, I can do what i want!!"
    "I dont care who you are, rules are rules now pay up or GTFO!"

I am sure the incident was much less dramatic than that and has been blown up by the reporter. Both sides have to admit some fault in this although technically the facillty didnt do anything wrong.A quick word at reception prior to using the track probably could have avoided any situation but still...

Overall as has been said , its a non story.

BobMac104 wrote: »
    from reading this thread the scenario seems to play out a bit like

" hey get off the track!"
    "wha? I am going to the olymics ya ignorant git, I can do what i want!!"
    "I dont care who you are, rules are rules now pay up or GTFO!"

I am sure the incident was much less dramatic than that and has been blown up by the reporter. Both sides have to admit some fault in this although technically the facillty didnt do anything wrong.A quick word at reception prior to using the track probably could have avoided any situation but still...

Overall as has been said , its a non story.
    I'm inclined to agree expressions like 'someone tried to throw Derval O'Rourke off an Irish track last weekend... for training. are quite sensational and conjures up images of her being restrained and forced off the property by security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭runjb

I think calling Derval an 'arrogant little madame' isn't really appropriate here! Okay she should have went and asked permission beforehand but nevertheless I think remarks about her character are not fair.

Derval is one of our few world class athletes and for god's sake, she was just trying to train. This has been blown out of proportion completely, she paid and rightly brought it up as an issue for many of Ireland's top athletes. She mentions that it happens them a few times a year, where they are kicked of various tracks. I would also agree with her comments that more running tracks in Ireland should be open to the public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

I believe it kicked off because she had her dog with her. If true, then fair play, no place for a dog on a track. If I was a caretaker there I would have given the dog the Jack Black treatment from Anchorman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

runjb wrote: »
    I think calling Derval an 'arrogant little madame' isn't really appropriate here! Okay she should have went and asked permission beforehand but nevertheless I think remarks about her character are not fair.

Derval is one of our few world class athletes and for god's sake, she was just trying to train. This has been blown out of proportion completely, she paid and rightly brought it up as an issue for many of Ireland's top athletes. She mentions that it happens them a few times a year, where they are kicked of various tracks. I would also agree with her comments that more running tracks in Ireland should be open to the public.

From what I hear international atheltes can pay for a track and other expenses and then claim the money back from the AAI, just some Athletes prefer not to have that hassle and try the old 'Do you know who I am, give me a freebie' line.

runjb wrote: »

Inappropriate? Fine, in your opinion. But sexist? I draw the line there.

When Roy Keane demanded better training facilities he was called a whinger, a moaner, a Prima Donna and arrogant! I certainly have no problem calling 'Derval' out on it. 'I'm kind of into the running' is arrogant in my book or at the very least sardonic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Derval surely must realise that nothing is free in this world. The article paints the picture that Derval was ignorant and clueless to the fact that this track was not a free for all. Her comments come across as pretty clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

plodder wrote: »
    If ALSAA had an ounce of sense they'd invite her to use the facility whenever she likes. That article makes them look like a crusty old private gentleman's club (which in fairness they aren't).

I'd agree with that. In an ideal world tracks should be open to the public like in other countries mentioned in the article. But the reality is its Ireland and if you leave something like a running track open to the public it'll be used as a drinking ground, set on fire, pissed on, and in general vandalised. I dont know what that says about us as a nation, not good anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Very few people in Ireland would know Derval O'Rourke, so it is very understandable that she was asked to leave. From my knowledge of her, I'd say she gave the security chap dogs abuse ( kicking and screaming - her words ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Murta

I wonder is there a reason why Derval "just turns up" to use a track. Possibly to ensure a crowd hasn't gathered there to watch or attempt to train alongside her. If she rings and aranged time in advance, what's to stop the club passing it onto their members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Murta wrote: »
    I wonder is there a reason why Derval "just turns up" to use a track. Possibly to ensure a crowd hasn't gathered there to watch or attempt to train alongside her. If she rings and aranged time in advance, what's to stop the club passing it onto their members.

Sorry, are you having a laugh. There is no danger of a crowd gathering to see an irish athlete train. This isn't Barcelona FC we are talking about. Santry was closed probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

Very few people in Ireland would know Derval O'Rourke

I disagree, we don't have that many former world champions. Most people in Ireland know who she is.

Begrudgery is alive and kicking on this thread.

notsofast wrote: »
    I disagree, we don't have that many former world champions. Most people in Ireland know who she is.

Begrudgery is alive and kicking on this thread.
    If people don't know who she is it's not for you to say they're being begrudging, stop sulking! Personally I wouldn't know her unless I was reminded. She's nowhere near as well known as many of our football and rugby stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I know her because I follow sport in general, and track and field. Many would not be able to place her or recognise her despite her being a high profile Irish track star.

To compare: I would say Katie Taylor would be a lot more known on this island than Derval.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

It's sad generally that tracks can't be open to those genuinely wanting to train, be it elite athletes or joggers doing laps. Sure, restrict usage when there are block bookings at evenings/weekends but otherwise where's the harm?

There's minimal wear and tear on a track as long as people stick to the outer lanes. Why try and screw someone for a tenner in the middle of the day when there's no one else about?

I don't know if this is an Irish thing but I'm guessing your average British track would be open to all comers.

There's nothing sadder than an empty track.

walshb wrote: »
    I know her because I follow sport in general, and track and field. Many would not be able to place her or recognise her despite her being a high profile Irish track star.

To compare: I would say Katie Taylor would be a lot more known on this island than Derval.
    I'd say they are quite comparable actually. O'Rourke might pip it because women's athletics is a much higher profile sport than women's boxing.