Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

milk trolley

• 03-04-2012 5:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭

934-MilkTrolley.jpg

anyone use these, specifically the version with the motorized whisk?

thinking of getting one for mixing up milk replacer for calves

are they worthwhile, reliable etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Got one without the whisk (feeding whole milk)

They are a great job for transporting milk - especially if your sheds and/or parlour are some distance apart as ours are

Not cheap mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭feelgoodinc27

Is there a link for it? Looks handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭bog_savage

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Got one without the whisk (feeding whole milk)

They are a great job for transporting milk - especially if your sheds and/or parlour are some distance apart as ours are

Not cheap mind

Looks good , how much they cost ? And what's capacity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

Getting tired carrying buckets of milk, a trolley like the one from connacht agri would save bit of time and effort, expensive though at 380 euro for non mixer one, holds 160 litres. How do rest of you manage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Getting tired carrying buckets of milk, a trolley like the one from connacht agri would save bit of time and effort, expensive though at 380 euro for non mixer one, holds 160 litres. How do rest of you manage?

Would ye not think of buying a submersible pump and pump the milk from parlour to calf house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Wheelie bin holds 200litres water without getting drownded. We wheel to calf shed and mix there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Ive a 4wheel trolley yoke, similar to one of them old fashioned kids toys, if yas get me, anyways can hold 3 20l buckets in one, handy as ya can just lift the buckets out then. How do ya get the water out of a wheeliebin??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Timmaay wrote: »
    Ive a 4wheel trolley yoke, similar to one of them old fashioned kids toys, if yas get me, anyways can hold 3 20l buckets in one, handy as ya can just lift the buckets out then. How do ya get the water out of a wheeliebin??

A special tool called a Bucket

Would ye not think of buying a submersible pump and pump the milk from parlour to calf house?

Not really practical the way yard is, one calf shed about 150ft away and other is 250ft. 150-160 litres about as much as i'd need still 4 or 5 trips back and forth, could bring it all one time be big help, only a youngish fella but the back is not the best and if i happen to be away ould fella has to do the carrying (although prob as able for it as me).

delaval wrote: »
    Wheelie bin holds 200litres water without getting drownded. We wheel to calf shed and mix there.

Good idea for hot water, it's all whole milk here, if used for milk i'd imagine getting last of it out would be bit of a pain or do you mix the hole lot in the wheelie bin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

At least you realise you need something to make life handier for yourself. How many lads do people know who are going round busting themselves just because it's the way we always did it or we know no other way. Some people are incredibly thick!!

Timmaay wrote: »

After reading this rooted out similar trolley i bought for the mother to use in garden, fair decent size yoke from atlantic home care i think, about 4ft*2ft.
    Only prob is you would need lids for all buckets or maybe 30 litre buckets two thirds full, good few cracks in some of the concrete and nice trail of milk across yard:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Not really practical the way yard is, one calf shed about 150ft away and other is 250ft. 150-160 litres about as much as i'd need still 4 or 5 trips back and forth, could bring it all one time be big help, only a youngish fella but the back is not the best and if i happen to be away ould fella has to do the carrying (although prob as able for it as me).

Got 1 from Wicklow cattle co a couple of years ago and definitely don't regret it. Can't remember what it cost but like you say, what price do you put on your back? The yard between my dairy and calf shed would be far from smooth concrete so the bigger wheels are handy

Rang them today, 400 inc vat, very impressed with the wydale feeders i have last forever. The connacht agri one is bigger which would suit better. There is three 4 inch steps about a foot wide into the dairy, do you think with the big wheels it would be easy enough get it down them.

You'd definitely go down backwards I'd say. I'll throw the tape on it in the morning to see what the clearance is behind the wheels for going down forwards. I've nothing that challenging

delaval wrote: »
    A special tool called a Bucket

Ha brainfart there, I had visions of ya tipping over the whole bin to get water out, or having a tap rigged up on the side of it or something.

After reading this rooted out similar trolley i bought for the mother to use in garden, fair decent size yoke from atlantic home care i think, about 4ft*2ft.
    Only prob is you would need lids for all buckets or maybe 30 litre buckets two thirds full, good few cracks in some of the concrete and nice trail of milk across yard:D

Yeh thats what I have here. And use afew 30l buckets. I've been mainly using the trolley to move around buckets of meal however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

We load a couple of the old creamery
    cans into the transport box behind the tractor, and drive into the passage in the calf shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Have a trolley ere that half an old acid barrel sits into. Fierce handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

IBC tank can also be handy for larger volumes (if you can have pallet forks on loader handy)
    60 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭promises

Brother made one up last week from old metal lying around and 2x 200l barrells with tap at bottom. Has a cage going around outside so the feeders can be hung on and transported with the milk and when not in use will convert to calf transporter. Only cost 60 euro for the wheels, great job so handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Is it easy to push, that's 400kgs full?

I cant see the original pic of trolley.
    is it anything like the one JFC make
    http://www.jfc.ie/Agri-Milk%20Kart.html

http://www.jfc.ie/Images/milk%20kart%20new.jpg
    milk%20kart%20new.jpg

=======================
    This pic I added later
    show_image_in_imgtag.php?filename=resized%2F165_Litre_Mobile_513633689f0bd_220x220.jpg&newxsize=220&newysize=220&fileout=

http://www.connachtagri.ie/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.browse&category_id=9&Itemid=6

Just rang JFC , that one is 429 Inc vat.

Glanbia are doing that one for 399 including vat and 599 for one with agitator both hold (125 litres)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭billie holiday

get the trolley asap. its a complete no brainer.
    i have a dutch model with small wheels i mounted mine on the frame of a jfc wheelbarrow for stability over rough surfaces.
    also get the powder mixer version. its better looking at it than for it.
    considering the cost of other farm inputs 5 or 600 is money well spent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭farmerjack

Bought the mixer trolley this year €600, I'm raging I hadn't bought it before now feeding 30 heifers in about 10 minutes-great job!

Stanton-%2528KiwiKit-9%2529-%2528Small%2529__56677.1372695710.1280.1280.jpg
    I think I paid over 1000 for one of these
    There is a tap on back (as can be seen in this picture) that can be used to take milk out to buckets,also it is possible to feed calf's that are still inside in big sheds or out in the fields.
    Thought it might be worth considering - can be a bitch to clean but compared to trolley it is expensive but can do a lot more than just cart milk.

Anything is better than carrying buckets

Considered making up something but have'nt the time, hell of a long list of repairs to get through first.
    Ordered the connacht agri one today, non mixer one 395 euro delivered.
    Never used milk replacer so can't justify the extra 200 for mixer model.
    Thanks for all the replies.

Forgot to reply on the steps even though I measured it the other morning. Bit late now but however, the base of the Connacht agri one looks the same as my one,it's the heel that would cause the bother. It's about 15" behind the centre of the wheel and when travelling along it's about 5" off the ground. So you'll be grand going down the first step but the wheel will be going down the second step before the heel is clear off the first step. You'll probably get along fine by sliding the heel along to the top of the step

I have another door where the radiator of old compressor used to be, if steps prove awkward I can put a ramp there.

So you'll be grand going down the first step but the wheel will be going down the second step before the heel is clear off the first step. You'll probably get along fine by sliding the heel along to the top of the step
    just wondering would backing down the steps be any better.??
    just from looking at the pictures the JFC one looks easier for lugging around negotiating steps etc,
    Another thought i fill the calf feeder outside the dairy using a long red ESB ducting pipe one end in feeder and the spout that usually goes into the bulk tank in the other end.

Considered making up something but have'nt the time, hell of a long list of repairs to get through first.
    Ordered the connacht agri one today, non mixer one 395 euro delivered.
    Never used milk replacer so can't justify the extra 200 for mixer model.
    Thanks for all the replies.

How is the trollie going.
    Weather looking not suitable for getting calves out so i am considering a trolly myself.

Is that trolly stable and sturdy.?
    show_image_in_imgtag.php?filename=resized%2F165_Litre_Mobile_513633689f0bd_220x220.jpg&newxsize=220&newysize=220&fileout=
    I havent seen one in real life but I would be concerned regarding the handle

Hugh 2 wrote: »
    How is the trollie going.
    Weather looking not suitable for getting calves out so i am considering a trolly myself.

Is that trolly stable and sturdy.?
    I havent seen one in real life but I would be concerned regarding the handle

That's the one but still have'nt got it, rang today to see what the story, were out of stock and will have it tomorrow, seemingly bit of a go on them.
    Talking to fella that has the wydale one which is very similar and said to be carefull with it as they are bit top heavy, know more tomorrow hopefully.

That's the one but still have'nt got it, rang today to see what the story, were out of stock and will have it tomorrow, seemingly bit of a go on them.
    Talking to fella that has the wydale one which is very similar and said to be carefull with it as they are bit top heavy, know more tomorrow hopefully.
    th?id=H.4621291568303053&pid=15.1
    I would say so that Wydale make them and Connacht Agri distribute them.

They just look the same to me.

Ps look forward to hearing how you get on with it.
    Regards
    Hugh 2