Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster vs Munster - British & Irish Cup Semi Final - Friday, 6th April RDS KO 6pm

• 02-04-2012 3:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

If you still haven't got enough of your Leinster v Munster fix yet, there's going to be a cracker on in the RDS this weekend, with tickets available at the gate for €10 (adult) and €5 (child) with unreserved seating (so show up early and sit on the half way line in the anglesea stand if you like! :)) It's the perfect warm-up / continued fix of rugby at my favourite time of year, before the main event of Leinster v Cardiff Heineken Cup Quarter Final on the following evening.

It's on good Friday, but WILL be serving alcohol from an hour before the game to an hour after the game and all the time in between and is something to do on an otherwise pretty quite Friday evening.

Should be a great game and really looking forward to it, I'm hoping there'll be a big crowd, and maybe the booze, seating, ability to pay at the gate, and the great rugby on show will be enough to near fill the RDS. The game is not on TV or any highlights package, so hope as many Leinster fans (and Munster :o) can make it along. It's free in to all season ticket holders.

I'd hazard a guess at the Leinster team being along the lines of:

1. McGrath
    2. Dundon
    3. Hagan / White
    4. Browne
    5. Flanagan
    6. Ruddock
    7. Ryan
    8. Auva'a

9. Cooney
    10. Berquist
    11. Carr
    12. O'Shea / Reid
    13. Macken
    14. Hudson
    15. Conway

16. Sexton 17. O'Connell 18. Furlong 19. Marshall 20.Gilsenan / Murphy 21. McGrath 22. O'Shea / Reid 23. Boyle

Pretty exciting team with some future stars on show, and a massive game in the context of the competition, with the winner (afaik) getting a home final, and potentially a very worthwhile piece of silverwate imho!

Anyone care to hazard a guess at what the Munster line-up might look like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

actually really looking forward to this, should be a good game and hopefully the lure of booze will bring people out that mightn't of come out otherwise. Going to try the grand stand as I haven't been in that yet

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

From what I've read this morning so far they've sold 1000 tickets. Although it is open for Season ticket holders as well.

Going to be heading into this with a few people. Get in early enough as well to get a good spot to sit... and a fair few drinks in.

:cool:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,187 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Heading to this. Looking forward to it - that's a quality side Leinster could potentially be putting out.

Few beers won't hurt either :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Pretty terrible to have to admit this will be my first time in the RDS this season. I'm flying back early for it especially!

Looking forward to teaching them another lesson. Personally hope Noel Reid plays 10. We should be using this competition for IQ players + projects only imo. I'd agree with the rest of the team.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

There'd be no harm in getting some game time from Berquist really considering how much of the season he missed out on with injury.

I'd suggest we turn this into a mini rugby forum beers but I would have to out myself as a boardsie to my friends :D

There'd be no harm in getting some game time from Berquist really considering how much of the season he missed out on with injury.

agree with this as with one injury to Sexton or madigan and he could yet be playing a vital part this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I'm pretty sure its a 22 man squad for B&I cup

I wouldn't be surprised to see EOM or DKearney included since I doubt they will make the HEC23 but I would expect one to kept in reserve in case of a late injury in the backs.

Also I wouldn't surprised to see Ruddock or Ryan kept out of this game for the same reason to be a reserve for the HEC23. Ruddock has been a reserve for a few games that he didn't make the 23.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Will be interesting to see the sides, Munster haven't lost to Leinster at this level for a few years, which is odd considering the disparity in their Academies. We'll be missing our second row though, and generally Munster A haven't been much use this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Is Furlong fit again?

You'd have to think Leinster would win this comfortably, scarily strong lineup, of the 23 mentioned above only Furlong, Gilsenan, Mcgrath and Boyle have no senior appearances and 3 of those are among the best prospects in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

From a leinster point of view it all depends on who is playing in the HC game the next day, same with Munster. From what I have seen Leinster have a good squad for the B&I cup so I would expect a win. Munster will be up for match after losing this weekend but a good team and playing in RDS should help Leinster

Would expect a big crowd with drink been served, will have standard crowd plus a few season ticket holders looking to start a good weekend and then of course the random people just in for beer as it is Good Friday. I remember last year and on the Thursday before Good Friday the Garda where helping with traffic in and out of local Molleys.....what Irish people will do for drink:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Or buying a train and/or plane ticket to get booze! :D

I'd like to see this team:

15. Conway
    14. D. Kearney
    13. Macken
    12. O'Shea
    11. Hudson

10. Reid
    09. Cooney

08. Auva'a
    07. Gilsenan
    06. Ruddock
    05. Flanagan
    04. Keogh
    03. Hagan
    02. Dundon
    01. McGrath

16. Sexton
    17. O'Connell
    18. Conan
    19. Murphy
    20. McGrath
    21. Berquest
    22. Marshall

Ruddock, even if he is a tad short, can defo double up in the second row if need be. Might be a tad light on props tho...

.ak wrote: »
    22. Marshall
    Marshall??? The only one I know is Ben Marshall the back row in the academy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

We've converted him. You can't win rugby matches without big backs.

Hard to know who they'll pick on the bench out of the props. Tracy and Moore were there against Connacht. I think Tracy will be there as he's a specialist loosehead. Moore is doing well by all accounts this year... Furlong is younger and hasn't really featured due to injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

The makeup of the Munster squad should be interesting. Due to injuries and chances being taken, many of the Leinster lad's former U20's teammates will be involved in Munster's HEC campaign rather than with the A squads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Sean Scanlon, Luke O'Dea, Will Chambers, JJ Hanrahan, Ronan O'Mahony, Scott Deasy, Duncan Williams
    Dave Kilcoyne, Sean Henry, Christy Condon, Dave Foley, Ian Nagle, Billy Holland (Capt.) Brian O'Hara, Paddy Butler

Replacements: Mike Sherry, John Ryan, Brian Hayes, Shane Buckley, Cathal Sheridan, Declan Cusack, Ivan Dineen

This was the Munster A side that played Ulster in the quarter final back in January.

Many of those players (such as Williams and Holland) could be available depending on injuries to the HEC team. Chambers is back in Oz and LOD picked up a knock recently, Foley is out with a dislocated shoulder.

Tokula will probably get a run at 13. Leinster could have O'Malley involved!

Sean Scanlon, Luke O'Dea, Will Chambers, JJ Hanrahan, Ronan O'Mahony, Scott Deasy, Duncan Williams
    Dave Kilcoyne, Sean Henry, Christy Condon, Dave Foley, Ian Nagle, Billy Holland (Capt.) Brian O'Hara, Paddy Butler

Replacements: Mike Sherry, John Ryan, Brian Hayes, Shane Buckley, Cathal Sheridan, Declan Cusack, Ivan Dineen

This was the Munster A side that played Ulster in the quarter final back in January.

Many of those players (such as Williams and Holland) could be available depending on injuries to the HEC team. Chambers is back in Oz and LOD picked up a knock recently, Foley is out with a dislocated shoulder.

Tokula will probably get a run at 13. Leinster could have O'Malley involved!

Likely to be out injured, but I'd like to think either way they'd give the O' Shea-Macken partnership a run out, they've started together in every B & I Cup game this year as well as two senior games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

He may be an injury doubt, but I would love to see O'Malley's attempt to tear apart Tokula.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Tox56 wrote: »
    He may be an injury doubt, but I would love to see O'Malley's attempt to tear apart Tokula.

Dont think EOMs the type of player that tears apart his opposite number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

shuffol wrote: »
    Tox56 wrote: »

Dont think EOMs the type of player that tears apart his opposite number.

Good step, awareness and distribution he can maybe calmly slice him apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

...I'd like to see this team:

...07. Gilsenan...

Interesting - but I suspect we'll see Ryan at 7. He's had a long lay off and has looked off the pace since he came back. He probably needs this game especially as we will likely need Ryan much more than Gilsenan for the rest of the season in the Heineken and Pro12.

Hype710 wrote: »
    We've converted him. You can't win rugby matches without big backs.

Meant Cathal Marsh obviously.

ambid wrote: »
    Interesting - but I suspect we'll see Ryan at 7. He's had a long lay off and has looked off the pace since he came back. He probably needs this game especially as we will likely need Ryan much more than Gilsenan for the rest of the season in the Heineken and Pro12.

True. But at this level I'd almost rate Gilly over him. Ryan has become a 'solid' player, and probably rightly so as he seems to be converting his game from the mobile flanker to one who has discovered the dark arts... :P Also seems unfair on Gilly not getting the game after pretty much destroying Pontypridd's pack. For the long run tho maybe it would be better to get Ryan match fit for any potential further knock out games with the senior team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I'd suggest we turn this into a mini rugby forum beers but I would have to out myself as a boardsie to my friends :D
    Great idea! Come out and.be proud!

Heading for the terrace myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Have Leinster confirmed its open? The OLSC said they believe it is but haven't heard official confirmation yet. It'd be weird not to be there for a game though.

I reckon we'll see a very good turn out. There's normally only 2 or 3 of us head to the A games but there should be 9 or 10 of us heading to this one if not more. The interest seems to be there. The beer should help a bit too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 jediyoda

Cooney broke his jaw on saturday playing for landsdowne

jediyoda wrote: »
    That's a game changer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I'll be wandering along too

jediyoda wrote: »

Agh what is it with pivotal half backs and breaking their jaws before semi's? Big step up for McGrath ... He'll need to improve his delivery big time tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Although I never like to see any player get injured, and Cooney has shown a lot of promise this season, I'm also very excited to see McGrath get a start. Massive challenge for him, but given his promise and only 18 or 19 years old, this is a major oppertunity for him now to make a step up to the next level. I think he's been massively impressive all season for the A's and in Irish games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

shuffol wrote: »
    Is Furlong fit again?

You'd have to think Leinster would win this comfortably, scarily strong lineup, of the 23 mentioned above only Furlong, Gilsenan, Mcgrath and Boyle have no senior appearances and 3 of those are among the best prospects in the country.

yeah Furlong has been playing 20's and 2nds in Clontarf for the last 3 weekends, he was on the bench for the firsts last sat also.

this game might be a bit soon for him though.

• Someone please please please record this for the ex-pats

Someone please please please record this for the ex-pats

AFAIK it's not being televised at all. :( Sorry dude. I'll try and grab some videos with my phone... Although the copious amount of pints might have something to say about the quality of said vids....

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Although I never like to see any player get injured, and Cooney has shown a lot of promise this season, I'm also very excited to see McGrath get a start. Massive challenge for him, but given his promise and only 18 or 19 years old, this is a major oppertunity for him now to make a step up to the next level. I think he's been massively impressive all season for the A's and in Irish games.

Yeah he definately has, and don't get me wrong, I totally buy into the fact he is the Second Coming and all that... :D Buut... Cooney has been more than impressive all season, even in the senior games. I think Munster will be licking their lips - McGrath is a dangerous scrumhalf, but his delivery has been poor lately, especially in the England game. I think they'll target that, wouldn't be too surprised to see a few intercepts from loose passes... I'd much rather see McGrath come on after 60 or so minutes and run riot against a tired pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Yeah he definately has, and don't get me wrong, I totally buy into the fact he is the Second Coming and all that... :D Buut... Cooney has been more than impressive all season, even in the senior games. I think Munster will be licking their lips - McGrath is a dangerous scrumhalf, but his delivery has been poor lately, especially in the England game. I think they'll target that, wouldn't be too surprised to see a few intercepts from loose passes... I'd much rather see McGrath come on after 60 or so minutes and run riot against a tired pack.

Yeah disappointed Cooney is missing. He'd been doing well for the As. But hopefully McGrath can do the business. Anyone know who will bench at SH so?

molloyjh wrote: »
    Yeah disappointed Cooney is missing. He'd been doing well for the As. But hopefully McGrath can do the business. Anyone know who will bench at SH so?

Good question. AFAIK we only have four actual SHs in both squads now. With Cooney out, and Reddan and Boss likely to feature in the Cardiff game, that leaves just McGrath. Would they move Reid in there if needed? Can't think of anyone that's played at SH before in schools..

• I've been asked to fly back for the game as emergency SH cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Good question. AFAIK we only have four actual SHs in both squads now. With Cooney out, and Reddan and Boss likely to feature in the Cardiff game, that leaves just McGrath. Would they move Reid in there if needed? Can't think of anyone that's played at SH before in schools..

Cathal Marsh used be a 9 for michaels and mcgrath was 10 for them.

is Peter du Toit still involved with the academy? (Kings Hos and UCD scrum half) ireland u20's last year i think

• bamboozle wrote: »
    Cathal Marsh used be a 9 for michaels and mcgrath was 10 for them.

is Peter du Toit still involved with the academy? (Kings Hos and UCD scrum half) ireland u20's last year i think

playing in South Africa

http://www.irishrugby.ie/club/news/26104.php

Seems to be playing for UCD. Will be interesting to see who they go for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭nathan99

Does any one know if this is gonna be on tv?

nathan99 wrote: »
    Does any one know if this is gonna be on tv?
    no its not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,981 ✭✭✭✭phog

I'm heading to the game and would normally use "free" on street parking or park in the C of I church at the corner of Anglesea Rd when it's open.

What are the best oprions for Friday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

phog wrote: »
    I'm heading to the game and would normally use "free" on street parking or park in the C of I church at the corner of Anglesea Rd when it's open.

What are the best oprions for Friday?
    Parking around the RDS should be ok. Try Herbert park area. That's where I park when driving to games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

I usually park around the american embassy area if I'm driving into a game.

The one thing to note is that some people mistake good friday as a public holiday as they get the day off work, however it isn't so doesn't fall under Sunday free parking so with a 6 O'clock kickoff you may have to pay for a couple of hours parking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭dtpc191991

What about Conway on the wing or is he not ready, Leinster and Ireland have a world class prospect there.

dtpc191991 wrote: »
    What about Conway on the wing or is he not ready, Leinster and Ireland have a world class prospect there.
    He is more likely to be at FB, assuming the back three is himself Carr and Hudson he is the most likely to be at 15. If D Kearney is available he might play 15 and Conway is likley to be at 14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,981 ✭✭✭✭phog

The one thing to note is that some people mistake good friday as a public holiday as they get the day off work, however it isn't so doesn't fall under Sunday free parking so with a 6 O'clock kickoff you may have to pay for a couple of hours parking

That's kind of why I asked the question - is there a maximum time you can pay/stay for? I thought one time I couldn't feed the meter enough for the time I needed for pre-match and match time parking.