Bridge Milers and Olympic Harriers 10k - Sixmilebridge 18/05/2012

• 28-03-2012 10:19PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

This year Bridge Milers Running Club are teaming up with the other running club in the village, Olympic Harriers A.C. to co-host a 10k road race and 5k fun run/walk.
    This promises to be a great event, with the course accurately measured and A.A.I permitted. There will be pacers running to help athletes achieve sub 40/45/50/55/60 mins.
    Along with prizes for 1st/2nd/3rd male and female, and trophies for 1st/2nd/3rd teams.....there will be a bonus €400 prize to the athlete who runs the fastest 10k time in the last 12 months in either Clare or Limerick!:)

Here is the link to Run Ireland:
    http://www.runireland.com/events/sixmilebridge-10k-road-race-and-5k-fun-runwalk

You can also get more information on our facebook pages....Bridge Milers Sixmilebridge and Olympic Harriers A.C.

Rate this race 5 votes

Scenery
    0% 0 votes
    PB Potential
    0% 0 votes
    Organistaion
    0% 0 votes
    Value
    100% 5 votes
    Atmosphere
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭OldGuysRule

Rally looking forward to it again this year. BridgeMilers really put on a great 10k event last year, did over a dozen 10ks last year and without a doubt, it was the best.

Great cause being raised for as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭runningcoach

For further details on the Race Please check out the following site

www.sixmilebridge10k.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

How did the pacers work out last year?

Still haven't got an official sub-40 so might be a nice way to start of the summer race season (assuming my legs haven't imploded after London)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

I used the pacers last year. Runningcoach paced the 50 minute group but through no fault of his own he was running solo for the last km or so.

The start was really well organised. If I remember correctly they split the start into expected finish times thus eliminating "slower" runners from clogging up the start. Great course. No real hills and a fast finish after the last small incline. Well worth a punt for breaking the 40 minute mark

Nice one....I was comfortably sub-40 for 10k in the Dungarvan 10 miler in January so should be no bother hopefully next month.

Will be taking a few days off after the marathon and then back doing some speed work

dev123 wrote: »
    I used the pacers last year. Runningcoach paced the 50 minute group but through no fault of his own he was running solo for the last km or so.

The start was really well organised. If I remember correctly they split the start into expected finish times thus eliminating "slower" runners from clogging up the start. Great course. No real hills and a fast finish after the last small incline. Well worth a punt for breaking the 40 minute mark

We have changed the course this year - details and profile of the new course are up on the website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭slayer91

Is the new course easier or harder than last years one???

slayer91 wrote: »
    Is the new course easier or harder than last years one???

Not much in the difference really - however if the temperture is lower than last years race (26 degrees) it should be a easier race :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭BobMc

heat was killer last year allright, probably nicest day we had all summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Barnacle123

For all following this thread:

The criteria for winning the €400 bonus first place money has been changed as follows:

In order to win the €400, the athlete who wins the race must do so beating a time of 31mins and 31 secs.
    (This was one of Niall Cusacks 10k split times when he won the Boston marathon in 1974, and Niall has come on board to support the event!)

Please spread the word as we are hoping to attract a great crowd and all monies raised will go to our two chosen charities.
    Check out www.sixmilebridge10k.com for further information:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭ger664

Anyone wanting to run the course, the bridge milers are having a training run around it tomorrow evening @ 7pm from Main GAA Pitch (on the hill we all hate).

Luckily the race route does not include that hill!:D
    I'll be there tomorrow evening, looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭PWEI

For all following this thread:

The criteria for winning the €400 bonus first place money has been changed as follows:

In order to win the €400, the athlete who wins the race must do so beating a time of 31mins and 31 secs.
    (This was one of Niall Cusacks 10k split times when he won the Boston marathon in 1974, and Niall has come on board to support the event!)

Bad form changing the prize structure when ye announced online that your paying out for the best performance in Clare & Limerick in the last year.

PWEI wrote: »
    Bad form changing the prize structure when ye announced online that your paying out for the best performance in Clare & Limerick in the last year.

At least this way they get entry fee for all the bandits rather then it going to an unamed shorter 10K:D

No I disagree. It would only be bad form if we changed the prize structure without communicating it to the particapants in plenty of time before race day.

Sorry, that you feel it's bad form. The current criteria only makes it easier for someone to win the €400. All they have to do is win the race in a time of less than 31mins and 31secs.
    Previously, the winner would have to have beaten the fastest time in Clare/Limerick in the past year, and there was a sub 30mins in the Clare 10k last June!

We are looking forward to a great event, and the last thing we want is to have any bad feeling, so I hope this explains things for you:)

The current criteria only makes it easier for someone to win the €400. All they have to do is win the race in a time of less than 31mins and 31secs.

That must be a contender for understatement of the year :D

AFAIK, there's probably (at most) about half a dozen runners in the region who might possibly be affected by this titanic change of the rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭PWEI

Sorry, that you feel it's bad form. The current criteria only makes it easier for someone to win the €400. All they have to do is win the race in a time of less than 31mins and 31secs.
    Previously, the winner would have to have beaten the fastest time in Clare/Limerick in the past year, and there was a sub 30mins in the Clare 10k last June!

We are looking forward to a great event, and the last thing we want is to have any bad feeling, so I hope this explains things for you:)

Why bother advertising such a thing in the first place? It looks like it was a publicity stunt to get the attention of some of the elite athletes so your race would be the talk of the athletics community in Munster. If anything changing the prize structure the way ye did would turn the elite athletes off this race.

To be honest we will not know if elite athletes are turned off or not about prize struture until race night.

In the meantime appreciate if you give us the benefit of the doubt ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭mo_bhicycle

Would this be considered a fast / medium / slow course?

Medium. Faster than last years course but certainly not pancake flat .

Check out the course profile on www.sixmilebridge10k.com

If you live near the bridge by all means come along and try out the course with Bridge Milers and Olympic Harriers on Tuesday nights (May 1st and May 8th) @ 7pm outside the main GAA pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 love not hate

Sounds about right to me, well said

IMO it will take a hell lot more then that to stop elites running a race where their is €400 up for grabs.

I was going to enter but it seems to be aimed a bit higher than my standard.

Think i will stick to my usual few laps around the field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

Sounds about right to me, well said
    I was going to enter but it seems to be aimed a bit higher than my standard.
    Think i will stick to my usual few laps around the field

Where's the love, love not hate?!?!?!?

Your first three posts on boards are confined to this thread. Seems a bit strange :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭redved

Does anyone know what the different pacing groups are?
    Had a quick look on the website but couldn't see any details, thanks

redved wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the different pacing groups are?
    Had a quick look on the website but couldn't see any details, thanks

Sub 40/45/50/55/60 mins

I will post all the pacer details by the end of the week.

dev123 wrote: »
    Where's the love, love not hate?!?!?!?

Your first three posts on boards are confined to this thread. Seems a bit strange :rolleyes:

That's because I am new to boards! To be honest it took me an hour to figure out how to post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭OldGuysRule

Fair bit of interest growing in the run / race now, looks like it is going to be a great turnout. I am looking forward to the atmosphere, the Bridge Milers have run a fair few events over the past two years now and I hope this one will be as good.

'love not hate' - why not come along, at any decent 10k event, the majority of the crowd are not elite and are there for the run, the craic / atmosphere, to raise funds for charity or to see another part of the country!

PS For someone new to boards and who took an hour to figure out how to post, you did well in your first post as you quoted perfectly and even managed to include a smiley in the header! ??