Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Footballers you have met

• 28-03-2012 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭

I love hearing stories about people meeting footballers and what they were like, who was dead on and who was a prized idiot etc.

What footballers have you met and what were they like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

one that sticks out is i met patrick berger when i was younger i taught he was ****ing huge i was terrified of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The whole Irish team sometime around the 1990 world cup...all of them seemed happy to sign autographs and pose for photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ladjacket

was at a function in the city centre the night that Ireland qualified for Euro 2012 in November there and they all showed up. great nights fun with them, some were a lot more sound than others. McGeady talked for ages, long seemed a cool guy. Surprised by Gibson, heard he was a bit of a.... before but he was grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Ian Harte was a lot taller than i expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Ryan Giggs he kept staring at my Girlfriend though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

MD1990 wrote: »
    2 lies in that post anyway...

MD1990 wrote: »

hardly, shes rotten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Said this story before, but after United v Watford Cup semi few years back we happened to leave when United team was getting on bus.

As Ronaldo was coming out he came over to fans and signed autographs.

Anyway this kid with his grandmother were by themselves as people were trying get his signature, Ronaldo spots the kid, goes into the bus and gets his jersey and gives it to young lad, before staying till everyone got his autograph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,414 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Didn't feel right to mention this in the Celtic thread but I met Neil Lennon and thought he was a bit of a tit.

John Hartson was an absolute gent though and great craic over a few beers, giant of a man too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

Ones that stood out for me as being very sound:

Scott Parker.
    Alan Shearer.
    John Scales.
    Greame Le Saux.

Footballers less friendly and decent...probably the rest of them!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Met Andy Car....oh sorry you said footballer.

RoryMac wrote: »
    Didn't feel right to mention this in the Celtic thread but I met Neil Lennon and thought he was a bit of a tit.

John Hartson was an absolute gent though and great craic over a few beers, giant of a man too

met Lennon the day of the Celtic Rangers game last March where him and Ally McCoist had a run in!

Thought he was quite ignorant but put it down to the pressure he was under, game day, bullets in post etc etc.

Heard then the week after it that a mutual friend had met him few weeks before it and he could not have been nicer, signed autographs, offered to buy drinks etc and asked if they were being looked after in the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Paul McGrath, giant of a man, dead sound too

I met Lenny before too (same friend who knows Ian Harte knows Willie McStay very well so I've been lucky enough to meet lots of football people through him).

I taught he was fairly socially awkward, really introvert which would make sense given his history with depression.

Chris Sutton was sound but always seemed to have an eye out for the women,not good behaviour for a married man.

Hartsons a fecking legend, been on the beer with him twice both times very very messy. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Trilla, of Asca Og fame, hairier than I expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

john aldridge in his bar in liverpool a sounder guy you couldnt meet was buying us beer and talking football all night:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,675 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Met a couple but only one worth chatting about. George Best. Came to my parents house when I was about 15, and I got to make him a cup of tea.

He was quite shy, and an absolute gentleman. The family got about 15mins to chat to him until most people in the street found out he was there, and he then spent about 1hr getting photos taken, signing autographs etc.

My bro also met Overmars when they played Derry City at the Brandywell. Outside the hotel when theywere getting on the bus to go to the game. He stopped to chat and was very nice apparently. HAd to be told to get on the bus as everyone else was on and he seemed to have forgotten that he had a game to go to.

Oh, and also met Alfredo Di Stefano outside the Bernabeu about 5 or 6 yrs ago. I say 'met him', well he was standing chatting to a guy and waiting to get into his car. I walked past, recognised him, said hello, shook his hand, he didn't understand me or wasn't interested in me, I had no camera on me, rushed to a shop to buy a disposable, and when I came back he was gone! By the way, tiny little man. Hard to believe he is considered by many as the greatest ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Does the boards.ie football team count ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Have met a few footballers over the years but mainly ex Liverpool players when over at games including Ian Rush, Jan Molby, Ray Houghton, Alan Kennnedy etc. All decent down to earth guys.

One odd occasion was meeting Damien Duff though when at the funeral of his ex girlfriends' grandfather in Mayo. Remember people saying he wouldnt turn up as he had a CL game in (afaik) Spain, when he was still with Chelsea. But lone behold, there he was on the morning of the funeral (private jet at the back of the church:p). Sound fella the Duffer, bought everyone a drink in the pub afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

The Newcastle squad were in Dublin on a bit of a session just before christmas 2010. I met some friends who were still in christmas party mode from the night before in the quays bar - one of them was sending me drunken texts about how he was going to bash some bloke in the bar if he looked at him again. . .some bloke turned out to be joey barton (he didn't bash him).

anyway, they were all there (including alan smith, hadn't heard of him in yonks). the soundest of the lot were kevin nolan and steve harper, they actually had a pint with us and were chatting away. i was trying to get guitierres involved but he wasn't drinking and he left early :(

There have been a fair few others i've bumped into on my travels but nothing as interesting as above - well apart from telling a friend, quite loudly (had a couple of pints awaiting a flight), not to bother getting kenny millers autograph ("coz he's sh!t") while she was in the middle of getting stephen pearson's whom he was standing beside :D

NIMAN wrote: »
    Met a couple but only one worth chatting about. George Best. Came to my parents house when I was about 15, and I got to make him a cup of tea.

He was quite shy, and an absolute gentleman. The family got about 15mins to chat to him until most people in the street found out he was there, and he then spent about 1hr getting photos taken, signing autographs etc.

We have a winner!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

A girl who used to date Sami Hyypia when they were teenagers. She was super hot but desperately dull.

Look, we all know that's where this thread was going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I met Niall Quinn outside a pub in Kilkenny back around the time of the 2002 World Cup. I was about 12 then and I was only up to his elbow. The chap was massive. Got his autograph and lost it again a day later.

I went to an Ireland u-21s match versus Cyprus (I think) in Buckley Park back in 95/96. I was a huge Packie Bonner fan then. He was at the match down near the bench. Everyone was going up to him and getting things signed. I almost shat my pants. I couldn't go up to him. The nerves got the best of me. I was only 6.

I've 'met' pretty much all of the United team after matches down at the back entrance to the stadium.

I was over at Paul Scholes' testimonial in August and there were a lot of legends around then. Pele and King Eric walked by me. Schmeichel and Ronnie Johnsen stopped off for autographs.

When we were walking back to the train station Michel Salgado came out of one of the side doors. Got his autograph and a picture. A woman standing beside me asked practically right under Salgado's face who was he. Got a good laugh from that.

Sir Bobby also came out of that door. Thankfully no one chased after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Met Paul McGrath few weeks ago here in Cork, dead sound and polite. Took his time signing Villa jersey and chatting away.

Chatted to Dean Richards (R.I.P.) a few years ago in Heathrow airport for about 20 minutes when we were getting the same flight. One of the nicest footballers I've ever come across. Was genuinely very sad when I heard he had passed away.

Thomas Hitzlsperger, a few years ago, autographed a photo for me at half time during international U-21 match in Cork. When he was walking away he shouted "Up the Villa", and scared the bejaysus out of a steward who was walking right behind him at the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,675 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Thing is, all the family have photos taken with him, I haven't for some reason.

So can't actually prove it!

btw, he spilled milk on my ma's sofa too. His da was with him, also was a gentleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Jason McAteer...sound
    Andy Johnson....sound
    Shay Given...sound
    Steve Carr...sound
    The Gaffer...sound but i was only 12
    James Beattie...mad for beer
    Eddie Mcgoldrick...eh bit of an attitude tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Pepe Reina.

Seemed sound. Got a photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,414 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Ladjacket wrote: »

met Lennon the day of the Celtic Rangers game last March where him and Ally McCoist had a run in!

Thought he was quite ignorant but put it down to the pressure he was under, game day, bullets in post etc etc.

Heard then the week after it that a mutual friend had met him few weeks before it and he could not have been nicer, signed autographs, offered to buy drinks etc and asked if they were being looked after in the club.

You've a lot to answer for if you were the one to upset Lennon before that game :)

I met a few of the players at a Celtic Player of the Year awards in Citywest at the end of Strachan's 2nd season, Lennon had no interest mixing with fans there and couldn't wait to get away, Maloney was full of himself too. Ross Wallace was sound along with Hartson.

Hartson propped up the bar for the night buying drinks and cracking jokes but he did tell me he wasn't leaving Celtic and then left a few months later!

Missus won an all expenses trip to the first home game of the following season on the night so great night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Geoff Hurst - nice fella.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Thing is, all the family have photos taken with him, I haven't for some reason.

So can't actually prove it!

btw, he spilled milk on my ma's sofa too. His da was with him, also was a gentleman.

do you mind me asking why he was in yer gaff? just a bit random like!

met paolo di canio when he played for Celtic in that little 4 team tournament at Lansdowne Rd years ago.

Not a footballer but i met that Fraser Robertson lad off Sky Sports news (think thats his name) on the lash in november, I asked him if he likes covering the irish games for SSN. He held up 4 bottles of beer and just said, 'you irish love beer, so i love you'.

Then seemed to fall asleep.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Jason McAteer...sound
    Andy Johnson....sound
    Shay Given...sound
    Steve Carr...sound
    The Gaffer...sound but i was only 12
    James Beattie...mad for beer
    Eddie Mcgoldrick...eh bit of an attitude tbh
    Because nobody knew who he was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Spot on actually met him twice and both times he was dead on got my jersey signed the 1st time (i was about 12) and he seemed dead genuine

Also met Babb and Mcateer round the time of USA 94 think it was the aftermath when they had some silly book together with Gary Kelly, The pair of them were really nice but the one memorie that sticks out was Jason asking how long have i supported Liverpool when i was wearing an Aston villa jersey at the time :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

Went to Steve Stauntons homecoming after the 2002 WC got pics and got him to sign my jersey.

I also met Ray Parlour in Portugal whilst on hols in 2009 thought he was sound enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

I met aldridge when I was 12, I was in the same bar as him while united beat newcastle in the cup final in 99, The bar erupted when the second went in and Aldridge looked ready to commit mass murder.

I met Dennis law when I was very young around 8 got him to sign a jersey, from what I recall he was sound and a very small man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭FYG

Managed to get tickets to the Player's Lounge in Stamford Bridge from a friend a few years ago.

Met quite a few of the players, though I was young at the time.

Ashley Cole, SWP, and in particular John Terry were sound out and had no problem posing for a picture and signing an autograph.

Frank Lampard wasn't very friendly though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Have often got chatting to Paul McGrath. He is currently living in Wexford and would regularly watch the Wexford footballers in the Park. Absolute gentleman.

Will add Keith Andrews to my list tomorrow when I get talking to him at the Off the Ball roadshow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I work closely with professional footballers at the moment, some of whom played in the Prem in their day (Liam Miller and Jacob Burns for example). Haven't really met any dickheads, though Robbie Fowler wasn't the soundest of blokes and Harry Kewell was pretty angry cause his team had just gotten a hiding which is fair enough.

Met Cafu and Serginho in a shopping centre in Chicago but I don't know what they were like as neither spoke English. Got me a photo with them though.

The usual Irish squads and LoI players in there as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

see, does getting an aurograph count as metting a player? as in, you spend 10 seconds with them in the company of loads of other people.

i stayed in same hotel as the irish team in bratislava when the double header was on in september 07 so i got to speak to a good few of them. at 6.30 am when we were coming home from the nightclub, we were greeted at the door of the hotel by 3 of the team, really really drunk and chatted away to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

Packie Bonner is an ignorant **** :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

Spot on actually met him twice and both times he was dead on got my jersey signed the 1st time (i was about 12) and he seemed dead genuine

Also met Babb and Mcateer round the time of USA 94 think it was the aftermath when they had some silly book together with Gary Kelly, The pair of them were really nice but the one memorie that sticks out was Jason asking how long have i supported Liverpool when i was wearing an Aston villa jersey at the time :eek:
    Wasnt Eason's on O'Connell street? Meet them doing the same thing they were going up an escalator I was going down the other escalator with the Ma, and one of them wolf whistled at her, we went back up to see what was going on and they were signing the book, when I got there I asked McAteer are you not going to whistle at the ma now with a thick head on me but only joking, he just laughed and said I didn't think she'd come back, looked embarrassed but good laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

What's all this about sound footballers?

Cmon lads, dish the dirt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I've met very few but I'll always remember meeting Dwight Yorke. Was a bit after my Communion, so I was like 8 and my mam brought me into town to spend the money. First stop Champion Sports, head upstairs to see loads of photographers around somebody who was just about to leave. I recognised him, mam got him to stop and shake hands and just asking me did I play. none of us had pens/camera, he apologised for not having anything on him. Thought he was really cool, obviously Fergie felt differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

Ladjacket wrote: »

Met him out one night with Jackie Mc and a few mates, decided to bite the bullet and say hello after a brief chat went back to the lads. About 10 mins later he came over to our table talked a bit about Dublin, Celtic and life in Edinburgh had some shots with us and bit of crack for half hour or do.

Jackie Mc just shook my hand and turned away......, was a tit

Had a session with Liam Gallagher once but that's 4 another thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

Ashley Cole who is surprisingly a very laid back guy and very easy to talk to..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Yeah probaly the same tour met him in Easons in limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Roy Keane chatted up my wife in a bar in Edinburgh when he was on cruches playing for Man United. Aparantly he was up for the Celtic v Rangers game. This was about 14 years ago which would have been during his Harland injury. I growled at him and he backed away :)

I met Henrik Larsson & Steve Guppy in the Hilton Hotel, Glasgow and took a couple of photos of them with my wife

I met Danny McGrain a few times as his wife worked in our office. He got the Celtic team to sign a Celtic jersey and ball for me when I was made redundant 7 years ago. A great guy is Danny. I met Aiden McGeady, Chris Sutton, John Hartson at various Celtic supporters club functions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭eurokev

Corholio wrote: »
    Met Paul McGrath few weeks ago here in Cork, dead sound and polite. Took his time signing Villa jersey and chatting away.

Chatted to Dean Richards (R.I.P.) a few years ago in Heathrow airport for about 20 minutes when we were getting the same flight. One of the nicest footballers I've ever come across. Was genuinely very sad when I heard he had passed away.

Thomas Hitzlsperger, a few years ago, autographed a photo for me at half time during international U-21 match in Cork. When he was walking away he shouted "Up the Villa", and scared the bejaysus out of a steward who was walking right behind him at the time!

Met dean richards years ago too when cork city played wolves. He was only starting out but was head and shoulders above anyone else. What a player. Signed my city tshirt too but unfortunately thats gone now. Sound from what I remember RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

You know they say you should never meet your hero's. Well I bumped into Kevin Sheedy in Liverpool and he couldn't have been nicer. Posed for a photo, chatted with me for about 20 minutes and was a total gent. I've been lucky enough to meet him twice after that.

Lee Carsley is also a good laugh.

Met Mark Lawrenson checking into the Plaza in Tallaght. He said hello.

Bumped into Steve Bruce (locked) at Jury's across from Croke Park before an Ireland game.

Jack Charlton is a bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I met Steve Staunton once.

In 2003, Longford Town won the FAI Cup against Pats. The next day, myself and the family went to Dublin to stay in Citywest for a few nights. We went down to the pool in the afternoon and I was in the changing rooms talking to my Dad about the super win the day before. And then the Pats Keeper walked in. Followed by Fahey. I remembered him because he was sent off and had the scummiest head on him. Then the whole team arrived. I was wearing a Town jersey. Most of the Pats team congratulated me, including the manager and backroom staff. I was so happy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Met the Irish squad as they went to mass from their base in Lucan (Finnstown House) a few days before they travelled to Italy 1990. We waited hours outside and Bonner (my hero at the time) walked by everyone and even angrily told people to leave him alone. Shocking tbh, I can understand players being a bit peed off, but he completely lost it after just two seconds. A far cry from Keadue Rovers Packie.

Chris Hughton on the other hand, sat on a wall and spent two hours signing for every single kid who was there. All other players were long gone. Gent.