Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PPL Skill Test Q,sss???

• 28-03-2012 11:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

I have my ppl skil test coming shortly, in there with the hours now, just getting ready.
    Those that went trought the same in ireland can you give me some advice on what should i be looking for, what exactly im gona be asked to do, etc,etc.
    Im just little bit nervous and i really want to do well:cool:

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 eitlean

On the day you're going to be doing essentially two tests:
    1. Navigation
    2. Flying skills
    For navigation: that you plan a route, have your checks to make sure you know where you're going. You know how to get back on track if drift is different from that planned for. That you know what to do when you're asked to do your diversion. In with that, you'll obviously have to do radio calls. And know how to use the VOR instrument. Explain to your examiner what you're doing as you do them so he knows what's going on. Know how to brief him before the test too (seat belts, exits, what to do, what not to do bla bla bla).

For skills: Stalls (clean, approach config. turning), steep turns, steep gliding descents, spiral dive recovery, circuits (full flap, no flap, glide approach), PFLs.

You will also be asked a few questions on general theory. Probably to do with the aircraft.

Do as much revision as you can. Just keep going as hard and nerve racking as it all is. The day will drain you altogether - you'll be grateful to get home and watch any s**te on telly and have a cup of tea.

Some examiners are more anal than others. Do out your paperwork beforehand just in case. Weight and balance checks, take off and landing distances...

Best of luck. Let us know how you get on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭TW Mr Tayto

Things that got me on my test:

Know EVERYTHING your instructor can tell you about the aircraft documents. At PPL level, the examiner needs to see that you're safe. It will be on that examiners shoulders if he/she signs you off, and then you fly an uninsured/unreleased aircraft because you didn't read the documents or didn't check CofA or CRS. Also, check the tech log. Show the examiner that the aircraft has x amount of hours until its next service. (This one didn't catch me out on my test; but soon after)

Know the VFR/SVFR weather minima from S.I. 72 OFF BY HEART. I had the minimum visibility wrong for SVFR. My examiner was nice enough, however. He asked me where I would find that information, I told him, and said check it and come back to me. Once I had shown him that I could correct myself, he was happy.

General things to remember:

Remember that the examiner is a person, a person that (most likely) loves flying; but they will be acting as a passenger. Don't let this fool you though, they'll want to hear you do your verbal checks.
    They know that you are under pressure because it is your first exam. If you make small mistakes (e.g. forgetting to start your stopwatch/timer on a leg), tell them that you have made a mistake, identify it and give them the solution.

Diversions are horrible. I am terrible at them; but you'll be in an area which you have flown many times (at least 45 hours worth) before. Don't forget that.

Remember that you're flying. That should make you happy.

Good luck!
    Don't forget to let us know how you're got on!

PS:
    I'm a heli pilot, but I tried to give you general hints, that should work for fixed wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Xpro

Thanks a lot.
    Im going to do another few hours, not in a mad rush, just want to make everything work out ok. Maybe practice some stalls, pfls and steep glides. I havent done that part in ages, so defo need refreshing up.
    Will keep yous posted:D
    cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Suits

Be able to describe a spin recovery....I was asked that. You dont have to do them as part of your training but....yanno....it happens...:cool:

Suits wrote: »
    Be able to describe a spin recovery....I was asked that. You dont have to do them as part of your training but....yanno....it happens...:cool:
    I hope you don't be flying over my house! If it does happen unintentionally then you have to ask yourself some BIG questions if you know what I mean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Suits

eitlean wrote: »
    I hope you don't be flying over my house! If it does happen unintentionally then you have to ask yourself some BIG questions if you know what I mean...

Can happen easy enough in IMC.

Can it really? Tell me more...

I loved that part of training, spins were good. first one was seriously confusing, but afterwards i enjoyed it alot:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭GoGoGadget

Some really good advice above.

One thing that I wasn't expecting for my test, one of the instructors knew the examiner was a big guy and told me to get his weight in advance, so try get this. Turned out I had to do the navigation part then land to fuel up and then do the circuits.

When you call him about booking a test date and your again confirming it know your stuff about weather on the day, my examiner started asking about occluded fronts and other bits over the phone so they're even sussing you out then.

If you can, try get the route off your examiner in advance of the day, they don't have to but chance your arm, it'll take the pressure off on the day. If your unlucky they'll give it to you on short notice, perhaps practice getting it done quickly and accurately so it doesn't stress you on the day.

What I found helpful was writing a list of everything I had to do for the day of the test and what to bring with me. Very easy to miss basic things when the pressure is on, just think of all those people that forget to bring their passport to the airport when they're in a rush before going on holidays!

Also make sure your plane is good to go well in advance, all docs are in date and everything within hours for your test.

They'll try pull that PFL stuff on you by surprise so look out for them scoping out the ground below, you could tighten up the friction nut or keep a hand on the throttle.

I'm sure you know this but a few bits of advice I got before mine were;

1) Safety, examiner wants to know if he'd feel comfortable with you flying his granny

2) If you didn't catch what he said or were unsure ask again

3) If you mess up a manouvre say that you think you can do better and ask if you can repeat it

4) Talk him through your walk around and expect some questions, ie are these fowler flaps or split flaps, what happens if your static vent was blocked etc

5) Make sure you go through safety spiel, they'll tell you to skip it but want to see you attempt it

6) Sit down on your chair at home and go through your entire test in your head over and over from your walk around to landing.

7) Again on safety make sure your clearing your wings on turning and clearing your nose on the climb and doing your look out.

Above all relax, get a good night sleep the night before and make sure you let us know when you pass!

Good luck man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭jasonb

Great thread with great advice.

I'm also hoping to do my Flight Test soon, so I'm noting down everything said here.

Let us know how you get on Xpro!

J.

Thanks for the advice lads,all taken onboard:)

Another question, what is your prefered method on off track calculation?
    Im going with the 1/60 rule, and fan lines, but been told that inverse rule is the best for short tracks?
    I hope i stay on the track while doing my test, wouldnt like to give myself additional workload especially with examiner onboard:o

cheers

I would say if you do go off track just keep it really simple, it's hard enough to work out the 1/60 rule on the ground never mind in the air sitting beside an examiner... :)

You'll prob see where you should be and be able to point it out but by the time you've done any complex calculations you'll be miles off. I found this on pprune, some really good advice and views on it;

http://www.pprune.org/archive/index.php/t-14010.html

Nabbed one of these comments below, I've used this method and found it really useful, got vectored twice on my initial nav leg without a word of explanation, the examiner even had a go at ATC for taking the piss!

SCA - the 'standard closing angle technique'. Simply assess your distance off track in Nm, then use that figure in minutes to get back on track using a 30 deg angle.
    For example: if you are 2Nm off track, turn 30 degrees towards your track and hold that heading for 2 minutes, you will then have rejoined your original track, but remember to correct your heading or you will again drift off track. The angle of 30 degrees works for most light aircraft used for training, but the angle can be worked out for other types if required. 30 deg is the minimum that should be used.

How are you for the diversion calculations?

I came across a handy one from one of my old instructors, you need to draw a compass rose with 45 degree intervals on a blank space on your plog or wherever is handy ie 000, 045, 090.

Then you calculate what hdg you'll need to fly to get the track i.e. after wind and mag var you need to fly hdg 085 to fly a track of 090. Also calculate your speed for each of these i.e. to fly a track of 090 and keep my 100 IAS my GS will be 95.

Once that's done and your in the air and told to divert you just see where you are and where you need to go by simply estimating the true track i.e. you need to fly east on 090, you look at your calculations and see that you should really be flying a hdg of 085 then turn onto the hdg asap. Whip out the ruler/marked pencil and check the distance and using your pre made calculations you see your gs will be 95, quick check on the whizz wheel and hey presto your done!

Not sure if your already doing something like this but I was initially taught to do all the calculations in flight from scratch and it's very messy... until another instructor showed me how to do it the way I explained above.

I will try the SCA next time im out, see how it goes for me. Ye the 1/60 is fairly complicated especially in the air.

I have done a good few diversions now, i have a marked pen and i pretty much estimate the track by looking it and going over it with the pencil. I never used the whizz wheel for calculating the Eta`s, i was told to use estimated Ground speed. 90kt for crosswind, 60kt headwind and 120kt tailwind..
    Thats actually a good idea to write on the plog, by the time i have all the calcs done, you could be going off track

The other thing is the new 1:500 chart. i dont now if you seen it, but it so cluttered, it is very hard to find stuff on the map. They even have all the model plane airstrips signs up, unused airfields, the stuff you really not gona need. For example around weston area, kilcock, enfield its pretty much impossible to see it on the map. But i was told i cant use the old map

thanks

Yeah it's messy alright but check out the FAA sectionals they're mental! Only thing I would say is get really used to the chart and think about anything on it that might limit you.

http://skyvector.com/ :eek:

Just remembered another thing and it was something I was warned about too, the examiners sometimes try to see if you'll fly close to Clonbullogue as they have fairly intensive para ops (but only really on the weekends).

Also I did hear of one guy who straight after take off was told to cross the railway tracks at Weston and into BAL airspace, he was then told to land and that he had failed!! Maybe it was a spoof or out of context but my examiner tried the Clonbullogue thing so just make sure you're comfortable with the airspace.

Yeah, I was taught to do the 'Wind Compass' too, before every flight. I do it in 30 degree angles, so basically it's just a Circle on my Flight Plan with the correct Heading and Groundspeed at 030, 060, 090 etc. all the way around. I guess doing it at 30 degree intervals instead of 45 just makes it a little more accurate.

One thing is to remember to include the 5 degree variance on the Wind Compass. So, say, for example, that you calculate with the Flight Computer that due to the wind, you should actually fly a heading of 97 degrees if you want to go east. Add the 5 degrees on top of that and then write down 102 beside the 90 degree point on the Wind Compass. Or, to save a bit of space, don't write down 102, write down 12. That also makes the maths easier if you're asked to fly a heading that's between two of your Wind Compass points. If one point says 12 and the next one says 16 and you want to fly halfway between them, you're going to be looking at adding 14 to your heading. Of course, you'd write down -12 or -16 if you were taking it away.

I hope all of that makes sense, it's not always easy to write it down! :)

By the way, I don't know what the story is with sharing files on Boards, but I did a VFR Flight Log in Excel, as the one I got online was missing a few bits ( I thought anyhow! ). It's A4 but designed to be A5 when folded, with one side to plan the flight before hand and the other side to follow while you're flying. It has sections for the Wind Compass, ATIS reports, and a few other bits and bobs. I've also done up a Diversion Calculator in Excel, which has a 1/500000 ruler on the edge, to tell you how long your diversion is, and then a table in the middle which will tell you how long it'll take to do the distances at different groundspeeds. I can post them up here is anyone would like them?

Finally, I have seen that new map, and I agree, it looks more cluttered. I think the colours are stronger and maybe the icons are bigger too? I've been told there's very little difference with the older map ( at least in terms of the actual data on the map, if not how it now all looks ).

J.

Hi J,

That VFR flight log sounds deadly, wouldn't mind a copy of it myself if you don't mind, I'll send you a PM with my email.

Cheers,

GGG

Found this on You Tube :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kr483zBbQKw

It's from the late 90s and it's in the US, but from watching it a lot of it is still relevant. I don't know if they go into so much detail here or not, but I'd imagine if you watch that and think 'yep, I'd be comfortable with those questions' then you're probably fairly comforable for your PPL ( well, on the ground anyhow! ).

Maybe someone who's done their PPL here could comment? Thanks!

J.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 poiuytsam

using the 1/60 rule in the air is a waste of time , if you are navagiating using DR , you should draw fan lines on your chart in advance. Also when nagagiating , just pick reference points straight ahead and fly point to point.
    Flying is really about good habits !! ie good procedures. Checklist , also understanding the limits of your aircraft and you!! Wx limitations .

Right a quick update, nearly 50 hours on board now, pretty much all is done, im just waiting to do my last solo.
    3 weeks ago i did weston-Sligo-Knock route and then i was to do it on my own, but weather prevented it. Still waiting on weather to improve, dissapointing:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 poiuytsam

Hi Xpro

Dont worry it will happen and I am sure you have heard the saying , its better to wish you were up there , rather than be up there wishing you were on the ground.
    Wx should be getting bett all the time , VFR getting later every day , Sligo can be a tricky airport in bad weather, so just keep current and it will happen

Cheers,
    Hopefully the weather will improve soon and will get some more flying done:)

Hey Xpro...

Have you had any luck with that Long Nav yet? Mine was Weston - Knock - Abbeyshrule. I got lucky with the weather for mine, as it's not easy getting to Knock, always seems to be cloudy! I had a cool moment after I landed though, I was back-taxying to leave the runway and I was told to stop to let the Ryanair flight out onto the runway, kinda cool sharing a runway with a 737!

Anyhow, I got the ground portion of my Flight Test Check Ride done today, unfortunately the weather wasn't good for the flight portion. Once I get that done ( and if it goes well ) then it's time for the Flight Test itself.

Hope you get your Long Nav done soon...

J.

jasonb wrote: »
    Hey Xpro...

Have you had any luck with that Long Nav yet? Mine was Weston - Knock - Abbeyshrule. I got lucky with the weather for mine, as it's not easy getting to Knock, always seems to be cloudy! I had a cool moment after I landed though, I was back-taxying to leave the runway and I was told to stop to let the Ryanair flight out onto the runway, kinda cool sharing a runway with a 737!

Anyhow, I got the ground portion of my Flight Test Check Ride done today, unfortunately the weather wasn't good for the flight portion. Once I get that done ( and if it goes well ) then it's time for the Flight Test itself.

Hope you get your Long Nav done soon...

J.

So you are nearly there yourself, id say it was cool seeing ryanair plane on the same runway.
    I still havent done my long nav, weather wasnt great at all, low cloud base now for nearly a month. I did some local instrument flying today, just keeping on top of it.

Let us know how you get on with your test, if you get it done before me.

Cheers

Yeah, I got lucky with the weather earlier in the year, but it's been a lot tougher recently to get good conditions.

Money is an issue too ( when isn't it? ) so I can't really afford to spend any more, apart from on the Check Ride and the Test itself ( which, with Examiner Fees, License Fees and renting the aircraft itself, is gonna cost about a grand I reckon! ).

If it does drag out much more I will have to do a little flying just to keep my hand in, like you said, but I'm gonna be optimistic and keep my fingers crossed!

J.

P.S. I'm gonna get the latest map as well, don't want the Examiner asking why I'm using an old map!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

By the way, I don't know what the story is with sharing files on Boards, but I did a VFR Flight Log in Excel

If you created it there's no issue sharing something just post a link to where its stored.

Great thread, thanks all.

Thanks for clarifying that pclancy. At the moment I don't have anywhere online to store the VFR Log, but if anyone wants it just let me know. I recently changed it a bit, to make it a little easier to use while flying.

Got my Flight Test check-ride done yesterday. It was a complicated flight, through the Romeos, down past Naas, avoiding the Curragh, over Kilrush, heading towards Clonbulloge, it was active so we diverted south to Castledermot, and then back up, Romeos were active so they requested me to go down to 1000ft, so back via Naas and Clane but avoiding flying over the towns themselves at that height etc.

It went well enough, had a little problem with the PFL / Glides ( in both cases being a little too high ). But the CFI was happy enough to sign me off, and I'll be putting my application in to the IAA this week. I'll fly once or twice more before the test to practise a few things, even though my wallet ( well, lets be honest, my wallet is well empty, it's my credit card now! ) would prefer me not to.

Keeping my fingers crossed that my nerves don't ruin it for me on the day. After 2.5 years and 56 hours, it's *this* close now!

J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

Good luck man.

Thanks for clarifying that pclancy. At the moment I don't have anywhere online to store the VFR Log, but if anyone wants it just let me know. I recently changed it a bit, to make it a little easier to use while flying.

Got my Flight Test check-ride done yesterday. It was a complicated flight, through the Romeos, down past Naas, avoiding the Curragh, over Kilrush, heading towards Clonbulloge, it was active so we diverted south to Castledermot, and then back up, Romeos were active so they requested me to go down to 1000ft, so back via Naas and Clane but avoiding flying over the towns themselves at that height etc.

It went well enough, had a little problem with the PFL / Glides ( in both cases being a little too high ). But the CFI was happy enough to sign me off, and I'll be putting my application in to the IAA this week. I'll fly once or twice more before the test to practise a few things, even though my wallet ( well, lets be honest, my wallet is well empty, it's my credit card now! ) would prefer me not to.

Keeping my fingers crossed that my nerves don't ruin it for me on the day. After 2.5 years and 56 hours, it's *this* close now!

J.

Fair play , nearly there now you are. Good luck with it:)

I think i might have seen you around clane area ( was it Piper Warrior?), which was very unusal to see a plane other then pc-9 or aircorps cessna flying around clane.

Im still waiting on my solo X-country, weather is just miserable for the last month. I have done some instrument flying, i think i need 5 hours so another hour of that and im done then.

Booked for sunday again, hopefully the sun be out:rolleyes:

cheers

Yeah, that was probably me near Clane. I would have been to the west of Clane heading south at 2000ft at around 1:30 and then again to the west of Clane, heading north at 1000ft at around 2:30 or so. The Piper Warrior is white / wine.

Yeah, the weather has been crap, it really has, hopefully it might improve a bit soon.

I don't want to drag up an old thread that got quite narky, but you don't actually need to have 5 hours of Instrument Flying anymore, that's not an IAA requirement. You do need to be able to pass the Instrument Flying section of the test, and obviously any practise you do can only improve you as a pilot, but that 5 hour 'minimum' IAA requirement isn't valid anymore, just so you know.

Hope you get to do your long nav soon, it's a pain waiting around. I was in the IAA this morning with my paper work, so now I'm waiting for it to be processed and for the IAA Instructor to get in touch....

J.

Keep us posted. Hope all goes well. Good luck!

You too Xpro, hope you get to do your long nav soon!

J.

Well, after putting in my application on Tuesday, the IAA Instructor rang me yesterday & we're looking at Thursday or Friday for the Flight Test, weather permitting of course. Hoping to get one more lesson done on Tuesday or Wednesday just to practice a few things.

Fingers crossed the weather is either obviously ok or obviously crap, I hate it when it's not great but not bad either & I have to make the call!

J.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

I can't add to all the advice above, but I do find this one sentence will get you through:

If you make a mistake, acknowledge it, THEN FORGET ABOUT IT AND MOVE ON!

I found that this motto was THE most important thing to remember, and it also relexed me going into the test. It's all too easy to let a mistake eat away at you for the rest of the flight, diverting your attention and hence leading to further mistakes. Then you're in a spiral dive alright, and it's very hard to recover from it. If an examiner sees though that you can keep your cool then that's most of the job done.

Good luck

Good advice, thanks!

The weather seemed decent enough on Sunday, did you get your long nav done Xpro?

J.

Good advice, thanks!

The weather seemed decent enough on Sunday, did you get your long nav done Xpro?

J.

Yes i finally got the x-country done.With 2 stops, one in sligo for refuelling and touch and go in knock, then back to weston.
    Was good craic, weather was great on sunday so it all went to plan:)
    Now just a few lessons to brush up my skills,mock test and then i`ll be onto an examiner.

How did you get on or still waiting for the test?

Nice one, glad to hear you got it done!

My exam is booked for tomorrow, so fingers crossed the weather improves like it's meant to! The examiner has given me the weight to use, but not the destination. I'll be there early tomorrow to get as much done as I can before he arrives, so hopefully I'll only need to do the actual flight plan once he tells me the destination...

J.

Sorry for the delay in replying here. I had to cancel my flight test about an hour after my last message as an appointment came up for the same day that I couldn't cancel.

However, I did the flight test today and I'm happy to say that I passed! Lovely day for flying, slightly hazy but that's all. Everything went well, the Examiner was a gentleman, very calm and relaxed which helped me a lot. So I never really got too nervous, which meant that I flew well, which meant that I got less nervous, and it all just came together. Got a fright when I did my first Hasell checks and there was an aircraft right behind me! But I used it to show how important the Hasell checks are! :)

It's taken 2 and a half years, but I finally have my PPL and I'm looking forward to flying a few friends! Thanks to everyone here for their support and advice and I hope it goes well for you Xpro!

J.

Fair play, its a nice achievment:)

I have my mock test tommorow, and if that goes ok i get signed of by the CFI and then i can call the examiner myself. weather is nice hopefully all goes well:D

Any pointers Jason? How long did the test last,etc?

cheers
    Sorry for the delay in replying here. I had to cancel my flight test about an hour after my last message as an appointment came up for the same day that I couldn't cancel.

However, I did the flight test today and I'm happy to say that I passed! Lovely day for flying, slightly hazy but that's all. Everything went well, the Examiner was a gentleman, very calm and relaxed which helped me a lot. So I never really got too nervous, which meant that I flew well, which meant that I got less nervous, and it all just came together. Got a fright when I did my first Hasell checks and there was an aircraft right behind me! But I used it to show how important the Hasell checks are! :)

It's taken 2 and a half years, but I finally have my PPL and I'm looking forward to flying a few friends! Thanks to everyone here for their support and advice and I hope it goes well for you Xpro!

J.

Thanks XPro, fingers crossed for you tomorrow.

From what I've heard, it varies from examiner to examiner, but here's how mine went :

I had the aircraft booked from 1, and he said he'd meet me at 12. He rang at about 9:30 to tell me where to plan to ( Galway ). I was in Weston from 10 onwards doing all the planning etc.

We met at 12 and he went through the test sheet with me, what skills I had to perform, what the tolerances were etc. I went through the plan with him, discussed the weather enroute ( no problems with *that* yesterday! ) and we went through the performance calculations.

Then I went out and did my checks on the aircraft, gave him a passenger briefing ( like keeping his hands / feet clear of the controls, how to close / open the door etc. ). After the power checks I also gave him the Power Failure on takeoff briefing.

Off we went, heading out to Kilcock, then Enfield, and then towards Galway. R16 wasn't active, so that helped. Got as far as Tyrrellspass and I was right on track and on time so he was happy with that. He then got me to head north ( to the West of Mullingar ) and we did all of the upper air work there ( turns, stalls etc ).He didn't remind me to do the Hasell checks ( though he did remind me on the ground before hand that I wasn't to do anything he asked until I was comfortable to do it ).

We came back towards Kilbeggan and he asked me to divert to Kells. I planned all that out and got to Kells within a min of the ETA, so he was happy with that. Headed back towards Weston using VOR for a while and then he told me to do whatever I'd normally do to rejoin Weston.

Once we rejoined I did a touch and go ( full flaps - which was close enough to the numbers to also be my 'short field' ) then a flapless and then a glide. The glide was my worst of the three landings, but it was fine really, if my engine died and I landed like that I'd be delighted! :)

After that it was taxying back and shutdown checks and he told me I'd passed. We started up at 13:25 and shutdown at 15:15, so that was 1:50. A little more paperwork and I was all done. All told, I got to Weston at 10, met him at 12, on my way home at 4:30!

Hope that helps a bit, feel free to ask any questions. Basically the guy was really sound and as long as you were in control and safe he was happy. PM me the name of your examiner when you get it ( in case it's the same guy I got ). Thanks!

J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭byebye

Congrats on passing! you got a nice day for it! :)

J.

Finally after all the bad weather and waiting and waiting, i had my flight test yesterday and i passed. :D
    Everything worked out well, weather was just about there with sufficient cloudbase and light winds so that helped alot.

Delighted now. :cool:

Thanks for all the advice , really appreciate it

Fari play Xpro!

Glad you finally got it all done, it's a pain waiting around, isn't it? Always good to have decent calm weather, so you're not worrying to much about crosswinds etc.

Enjoy your flying now, it's weird when you first fly with someone who's not an Instructor! :)

J.

Fari play Xpro!

Glad you finally got it all done, it's a pain waiting around, isn't it? Always good to have decent calm weather, so you're not worrying to much about crosswinds etc.

Enjoy your flying now, it's weird when you first fly with someone who's not an Instructor! :)

J.

Thanks,

Weather was good atleast, we had some showers passing by, but nothing major.

Just need to wait for my licence now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 821 ✭✭✭eatmyshorts

Xpro wrote: »
    Fari play Xpro!

J.

Thanks,

Weather was good atleast, we had some showers passing by, but nothing major.

Just need to wait for my licence now.

Congratulations on passing.
    I remember doing my PPL skills test...15 years ago yesterday in fact! 15 years, 8000 hours, 6 type ratings and endless skills tests later and I still can recall it!y
    All I can add is he wods an experienced G lyer gave me afterwards..."Now the real learning begins..A PPL can be a licence to kill".
    Having the licence but only a little experience can be a recipe for disaster. Keep learning and always trust your instincts. Never be pushed into going on when everything says "turn back"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭No.username

Hey, how long after submitting your application does it usually take for the examiner to get in touch with you? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭LeftBase

Hey, how long after submitting your application does it usually take for the examiner to get in touch with you? Thanks

Mine took 5 days. Give it about a week or so. Depends what he has on and where he works.(ie: an airline captain on a 5 on 4 off may have just started his 5 on today so wont be free to contact you until after etc)

I went into the iaa offices myself on monday, gave them the application form and paid for, and the examiner rang me on thursday to organize the test. I had my test completed on sunday and got the licence following wenesday.
    If you visit them rather then posting stuff the whole process is much quicker.
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭LeftBase

Xpro wrote: »
    I went into the iaa offices myself on monday, gave them the application form and paid for, and the examiner rang me on thursday to organize the test. I had my test completed on sunday and got the licence following wenesday.
    If you visit them rather then posting stuff the whole process is much quicker.
    Cheers

I know 3 Ryanair FOs who flew back from Pisa to hand their documents in to get their TRs on their licences!:pac:

Cheers guys, I was told by my instructor its best to bring all the forms etc. in personally, which i did last week, so its only been 7 days now. I'm not complaining that i haven't been contacted yet, i'm just seeing what the usual wait time is. Anyway the weather looks pure sh1t for the next week :( thanks for your replies!

Ok, so I have my skills test next weekend and I 'm just wondering can anyone give me any tips on what to revise. I quite happy with the practical flying side of things and i'll be taking another lesson before the test, but what should I be revising in order to get through the briefing and walk-around? Weather, air law, technical??? In your experience, what did your examiner grill you the most on? Thanks