Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inappropriate Clapping

• 28-03-2012 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Who are these idiots that clap at inappropriate times?

I was on a plane once from Mallorca to London and when the plane landed the passengers burst into a round of applause. What’s with this? The pilot is doing his job. What would happen if the plane crashed? The passengers boo?

Also I’ve been in cinemas where people clap at the end of films. Unless you’re at a film premiere or a film festival and the film was outstanding maybe but I mean there isn’t much call for clapping at the end of Dumb and Dumber 2 in Mullingar is there?

I think there’s this phenomenon of people wanting to start a round of applause. I’m not sure why. I somehow think it’s down to Hollywood films where the main character does a rousing speech and people burst into applause and people want to replicate that. Life however isn’t a Hollywood film and the vast majority of things don’t deserve to be applauded. I’ve noticed people attempting to start a clap at stupid times before. Is it on some self-important bucket list I wonder? Who knows? Also the idiots who want to have the last clap in applause. It was funny in school…for the first time…but not when you’re a full grown adult.

Clapping is a good thing. But if it’s overused it takes away the speciality of it. I mean what’s next? Bursting into a round of applause when a waiter brings over the right food in a restaurant?

I think it should be addressed and the people who start these inappropriate applause should be made accountable. The issue is it possibly misses out on moments when people deserve to be applauded or might take away the speciality of it all.

I’m not suggesting a committee should be set up in the Dáil designating when it is right or not right when to clap. Regulating clapping is maybe not necessary yet but debate is essential as applause at the wrong times is criminal. I’m thinking perhaps the penalty you would receive is the same penalty you get for stealing some bread over in Saudi Arabia but maybe that’s too far (I’m not sure whether Saudi Arabian cuisine means they eat bread or not but I couldn’t think of a better example).

:cool:

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I was on a plane once from Mallorca to London and when the plane landed the passengers burst into a round of applause. What’s with this? The pilot is doing his job. What would happen if the plane crashed? The passengers boo?

Also I’ve been in cinemas where people clap at the end of films. Unless you’re at a film premiere or a film festival and the film was outstanding maybe but I mean there isn’t much call for clapping at the end of Dumb and Dumber 2 in Mullingar is there?

I think there’s this phenomenon of people wanting to start a round of applause. I’m not sure why. I somehow think it’s down to Hollywood films where the main character does a rousing speech and people burst into applause and people want to replicate that. Life however isn’t a Hollywood film and the vast majority of things don’t deserve to be applauded. I’ve noticed people attempting to start a clap at stupid times before. Is it on some self-important bucket list I wonder? Who knows? Also the idiots who want to have the last clap in applause. It was funny in school…for the first time…but not when you’re a full grown adult.

Clapping is a good thing. But if it’s overused it takes away the speciality of it. I mean what’s next? Bursting into a round of applause when a waiter brings over the right food in a restaurant?

I think it should be addressed and the people who start these inappropriate applause should be made accountable. The issue is it possibly misses out on moments when people deserve to be applauded or might take away the speciality of it all.

I’m not suggesting a committee should be set up in the Dáil designating when it is right or not right when to clap. Regulating clapping is maybe not necessary yet but debate is essential as applause at the wrong times is criminal. I’m thinking perhaps the penalty you would receive is the same penalty you get for stealing some bread over in Saudi Arabia but maybe that’s too far (I’m not sure whether Saudi Arabian cuisine means they eat bread or not but I couldn’t think of a better example).

:cool:

*slow hand clap*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭RiseToTheTop

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Two words: American audiences.

Idiots like to clap like their hands are on fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I was on a plane once from Mallorca to London and when the plane landed the passengers burst into a round of applause. What’s with this?

a. People are stupid
    b. If you fly Ryanair, you're happy you landed in one piece
    c. People are stupid.
    d. A combination of a,b,c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

I went to the hunger games last Thursday. the whole place went nuts clapping when it ended. i was confused and angry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Angeles

There's an alternate meaning in this title which takes this thread to a whole different comical level.

I make a point of clapping at the landing of any ryanair flight im on.
    A bitta craic like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

do you clap after shagging a filthy skank whore without a condom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

I got the clap once and it was very inappropiate, should I punish the bitch like they do in Saudi Arabia?

Dumb and Dumber 2 is only hitting Mullingar now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I’m not sure why. I somehow think it’s down to Hollywood films where the main character does a rousing speech and people burst into applause and people want to replicate that.

The Hollywood cliché is where after something stupendous happens.
    There is a brief silence.
    One person begins to clap slowly.
    Then everyone joins in completing a rapturous round of applause coupled with cheering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

do you clap after shagging a filthy skank whore without a condom?

in that instance, you'll likely come away with the clap..

a. People are stupid
    c. People are stupid.
    A bitta craic like

I got the clap once and it was very inappropiate, should I punish the bitch like they do in Saudi Arabia?

Dumb and Dumber 2
    is only hitting Mullingar now?

Perhaps they started clapping when it finally finished :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

a. People are stupid
    c. People are stupid.

I was in fact on a British Airways flight so arguably the increased sophistication of the passengers who applauded anyway disappointed me even more.

But I do agree with your points :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

My first experience of a movie in Boston. They dont only clap but give a running commentary through the movie. Very annoying having people cheer/applaud when you are trying to listen to the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Sure why express any emotion at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I do it, but, like, ironically and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

a. People are stupid
    c. People are stupid.

Apparently ryanair are one of the safest carriers to fly with. Its the only thing they dont skimp on. They are still a pack of bastards though.

I've been at funerals where people have burst into applause. That was strange.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I do it, but, like, ironically and stuff.

Well done you...

*slow hand clap*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Ice87

I clapped at the tv last Saturday when Peter Crouch scored.

He was only doing his job and he obviously wouldn't hear it but I couldn't help myself.

Do I have a problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Never really clapped inappropriately...

I've given the clap inappropriately, but I guess that's something a bit different!

(TBH OP, who cares, it's yet another americanism seeping into everything we do, just like is feidir linn :rolleyes: )

When Princess Diana's hearse was being driven to the graveyard, people were clapping along the route.

She can't hear you like! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Well done you...

*slow hand clap*

Ironic slow hand clap or genuine? :confused:

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Ironic slow hand clap or genuine? :confused:

You shall never know..

*cackles evilly*

You shall never know..

*cackles evilly*

Hmmmm.

Hobbes wrote: »
    My first experience of a movie in Boston. They dont only clap but give a running commentary through the movie. Very annoying having people cheer/applaud when you are trying to listen to the movie.

American audiences do seem to be more vocal. They love cheering and wooing and saying "YEAHH!"

The strangest case I've seen of it was when I was at SeaWorld in San Diego. I was in the crowd waiting for Shamu to appear and the trainers appear jeeing up the crowd before Shamu appears. Then the trainer goes "And before we see Shamu, let's give a round of applause to our heroes in Afghanistan!" The place just erupted, everyone out of their seats, people going YEAHH WOO! It was just bizarre. I was hoping to see a whale do some tricks and before I know it I was applauding to America's occupation of Afghanistan! :confused:

American audiences do seem to be more vocal. They love cheering and wooing and saying "YEAHH!"

The strangest case I've seen of it was when I was at SeaWorld in San Diego. I was in the crowd waiting for Shamu to appear and the trainers appear jeeing up the crowd before Shamu appears. Then the trainer goes "And before we see Shamu, let's give a round of applause to our heroes in Afghanistan!" The place just erupted, everyone out of their seats, people going YEAHH WOO! It was just bizarre. I was hoping to see a whale do some tricks and before I know it I was applauding to America's occupation of Afghanistan! :confused:

Have to admit, that's retarded. Hope you didn't clap, the same way I don't stand for the national anthem at the end of a wedding. It's not defiance, it's just bullsh!t I don't believe in so stop judging me on how I react to a f*ckin' song.........<stares> Um, that's for the next session.....Ahem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I went to the hunger games last Thursday. the whole place went nuts clapping when it ended. i was confused and angry

I imagine they were happy it was over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Anybody who claps while laughing loudly at a joke should be horse whipped.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Anybody who claps while laughing loudly at a joke should be horse whipped.

Or clubbed for impersonating a seal?

chin_grin wrote: »
    Or clubbed for impersonating a seal?

or and i apologise in advance cubbed:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

but I mean there isn’t much call for clapping at the end of Dumb and Dumber 2 in Mullingar is there?

There's your problem.

Right there. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Maybe you could tell us, you seem to be exposed to more of them than the rest of us are.

There's your answer right there mate, all glad to be 'ome to a nice cuppa tea, no more of yer foreign muck now mate, eh? Get the kettle on for a nice cuppa Rosie there Gertie (if it still fits yer after all that foreign Spanish paella stuff, eh, eh?) Oh ya gotta larf aintcha, eh, aintcha?

Again the answer is self evident. If I was trapped in a cinema in Mullingar watching D&D 2, I'd clap too at the thoughts of freedom and driving home to civilisation.

I think there’s this phenomenon of people wanting to start a round of applause. I’m not sure why. I somehow think it’s down to Hollywood films where the main character does a rousing speech and people burst into applause and people want to replicate that. Life however isn’t a Hollywood film and the vast majority of things don’t deserve to be applauded.

I think you spend too much time in that picture-house in Mullingar. Try and get out more.

I’ve noticed people attempting to start a clap at stupid times before. Is it on some self-important bucket list I wonder? Who knows? Also the idiots who want to have the last clap in applause. It was funny in school…for the first time…but not when you’re a full grown adult.

It's a while since I've had a clap, I'm being more careful now with all the anti-biotic resistant bugs around.

I've been in a few places where that might be deemed an appropriate response, even on good nights.

No sooner said that done, off you go on your happy-clappy invetigatory mission and report back when the first €300 million is gone and we'll organise another hand-out. D'ja gerra - hand-out, sure isn't it gas?

Sure as yer wan in France said fado fado before she lost the head completely, "If the feckers have no bread, let them eat cake". That'll surely get a round of applause.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

:D :eek:

Erm ok... I'm not sure what to say about that. I don't think it even warrants a worthy response :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

'Clap away ya big bunch of nutters'

Would be my thoughts to those scenarios OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Lash_Alert

A bitta craic like

A bitta craic? Id hate to be your mate.

Have seen it in the cinema once or twice, usually down the country. Ennis is one i remember clearly. Ryanair flights ALWAYS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Formosa

I was at some golf tournament or other in Mount Juliet a few years back, sitting at one of the par 3 greens.

To combat the boredom, I started a clapping challenge with my friend.

Be the first to applaud the golfers walking towards the green and start off a round of applause among the crowd.

Start too early and no-one joins in and you look like a right cock. Leave it to late and it’s started before you, you lose.

Nerve wracking stuff, factors to be considered included brilliance or otherwise of shot, profile of golfers and positioning on the leaderboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

The most inappropriate clapping I've seen was at a showjumping event years ago. A rider (who was pretty well-known at the time as I recall) had a fall and was unconscious and seemed in a bad way. His daughter ran out to him crying and screaming for someone to get help for some time. It took an uncomfortable and scary few minutes for an ambulance to arrive, and when it did, lots of people clapped and cheered sarcastically, as though to criticise the driver for taking too long.
    I was just a kid, and maybe naive, but that seemed really wrong to me. Even to genuinely applaud the ambulance would have seemed weird, but the sarcastic cheering just seemed completely inappropriate. It was as though people were more concerned with getting a dig in than with the welfare of the rider (who was taken to hospital and was ok).

A case of inappropriate cheering, if not clapping, was at a Radiohead concert in Dublin a few years ago, when they played the song "How to Disappear Completely."
    For those not in the know, the song is quiet a serious, depressing song, about Thom Yorke's feelings of pressure, depression and existential angst while touring. The song is partly based on a dream of his where he helplessly floated down the River Liffey, unable to move.
    It's not a cheerful song, and contains the lyrics

"I walk through walls,
    float down the Liffey,
    I'm not here,
    This isn't happening."

The crowd erupted in roars of delight at the mention of the Liffey.
    It seemed really inappropriate due to the personal nature of the song, and the less-than-ideal presentation of the Liffey.
    Why would even the most diehard Dub want to cheer at a mention of the Liffey anyway? Who's proud of it!?

Going to the cinema in America was strange at first, with the talking but especially the clapping. I was in New York for the summer a few years ago, and staying between two cinemas owned by the same company, with all the major releases divided between the two.
    I got used to the polite clapping at the end, but what I always found weird was clapping during the film for a rousing speech, a well-executed stunt or even a special effect. The strangest one for me was during The Italian Job, when some minis come out of a storm drain in slow-motion and quite a few people clapped politely.
    I feel a bit conflicted about it. Mostly I think it's ridiculous, but I also think that at least it's positive, and it's their way of saying "well done" to the filmmakers, and showing their appreciation.
    I did have a great experience once though. The two cinemas were close to each other but in two very different areas: one very well-off where they showed family films and "prestige" films, and the other in a much poorer area where they showed all the action films and crappy comedies.
    For some reason I went to see Freddy vs. Jason, which was being shown in the poorer area.
    Everyone seemed to be talking at first which was annoying, but the film was so ridiculous that the running commentary warning characters about to be killed, cheering on Freddy or Jason, or expressing surprise that a big hit hadn't killed one of them was the best part of the film. It only got better as the film went on and it basically became a long fight between the two (eh, spoiler?). Even those who had been sitting quietly got in on the act, maybe because they realised how crap the film was on its own. Almost everyone was standing up, shouting, cheering their favourite monster on, and at the very end when there's a cheeky little twist, the place erupted and the film got a rapturous standing ovation. To this day it's the only standing ovation I've seen in a cinema.
    It was one of the worst films I've seen in a cinema, but one of my best experiences in a cinema. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

I started 'the clap' after Christmas mass in the local parish a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

thats hilarious post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

What would happen if the plane crashed? The passengers boo?

I doubt it since they'd probably be dead or unconscious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Whenever there is clapping to be done my brother wants to do the loudest clapping :D
    He really hammers it out!!!
    Hilarious!!!

Or just when everybody has stopped we give a few more claps for good measure.

Be inappropriate sometime - it's fun!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

in a restaurant or a bar, when you hear the crashing of dishes/glasses from the kitchen area or from behind the bar, and all the customers break out in applause. totally inappropriate but very funny

I wouldnt really class them as inappropriate times. When somebody is being lowered into a grave would be Inappropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

The crowd erupted in roars of delight at the mention of the Liffey.
    It seemed really inappropriate due to the personal nature of the song, and the less-than-ideal presentation of the Liffey.
    Why would even the most diehard Dub want to cheer at a mention of the Liffey anyway? Who's proud of it!?

I never got this about crowds at gigs.

A member of the band starts talking "So I was in the pub before the show having a GUINNESS!" which is followed by screams and shouts from the crowd "YEEEEAAAH WOOOOOOH! GUINNESS!! YEAH!!" and then the chants starts "OLE, OLE, OLE, OLE!"

Wrecks my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭bizzo

I have two stories about this kinda thing.

I was in Canada on a holiday visa in 2005. I went to see Wedding crashers with my two friends. Now this film is funny but i didnt feel the need to start whooping at the screen at regular intervals. Now a few randomers starting doing it but thought nothing of it. Then the scene near the end at the church where V Vaughan knocks out B Cooper with a punch prompted one guy to stand up screaming while clapping and shouting and swearing(all at the same time). Scared the hell out of me.

Second story was a few month back at the liberty stadium in Swansea where Swansea are playing Aston Villa and its the morning that Gary Speeds suicide was announced( the Wales football team manager). The stadium announcer comes on the tannoy to speak about Gary Speed and speak of his achievements before telling us that there would be 1 minutes silence to remember him. So the whistle goes and the stadium falls quiet.... for about 5 seconds before 1 guy out of 18000(who happened to be about 4rows in front of me) starts a slow clap... and noone joins the guy for about 10 seconds. After about 5 seconds he bows his head presumably to pray that some one joins him and then suddenly the whole stadium erupted in cheers for him. He was a brave man to try the clap.

Was at a First Division Football match back in the early 90's and former England 'Legend' Ray Wilkins was in the twilight of his career.

He was out doing an early warm up and whenever he stopped to stretch the crowd burst into applause. Really weird. I'm sure he appreciated but clapping at him stretching??? :rolleyes:

Suppose it's better clapping than shouting "Come on vicky ye geebag, lets get down to the pool and ride the micky off some dego hot stuff"

true story.:o